A Place To Vent Anger on Monster In Laws

lizray

Hi Rong Ruo

Don't be discouraged by your MIL. Tell him, you will be the only one that he has to look up to take care of him not his mum (who is already so old). So he better be nicer to you.

P/S: if you wan to get re-sale flat or condo please email ([email protected]) me, my hubby is in property. I try to ask for some discount for you... hahaha.

subayai

i hv a difficult MIL 2 and she's always trying to dictate the way we live. i had foreseen it and got my hb to buy our own place before marriage, which is a super good move. however, due 2 my late shift(ends around 10pm alternate weeks), my hb is always back to his mother's place 4 dinner. my hb is the mommy's boy type and he doesn't know how to live on his own...(he will go without meals from morning till night if he does not go home for dinner) I have been trying to cook for him whenever i come back early. but the week im on late shift, it's just not possible. and the problem now is he doesn't even want to bring over his stuff(we have moved in about 2 months) and he goes back home to get 1 shirt and 1 pair of pants just to get ready for work the next day. he's literally staying at his own place still. I am not sure whether he will grow up if I stay in this job and he continues to have the habit of going home...sometimes when i was home early and my hb didn't go back, my MIL will call and ask why he's not back home for dinner. i feel very sian, bcuz i dun feel we have embarked on our next journey together.at our own place, i do most of the housework because he doesn't come back until im back and he leaves the house around 6am+. so he has no time to be home for any house responsibilty...

I am feeling lost and not sure whether getting pregnant will help my hb to grow up and take up the responsibility at home. but then it could be worse if my hb still can't take care of me and bb, but his mom takes a BIG role taking care of our bb and stuff...that will be a huge turn off...

could someone advise me pls?

Bubbletea,

Baby is not the solution to marriage problems. Please solve your marriage problems first before planning for a baby. Have u have an open talk with him on your concerns? I see no harm going back to parent's house to have dinner occasionally. On the house chores, you can consider engaging a part-time cleaner to come over on weekends.

Ps: I'm a fan of bubble tea lol.

clipperjunk

please don't use children as your tool or means to change your hb...you will regret it...you can't change a mommy's boy overnight or even 9 months...worse you'll end up having to fight control over the baby with your mil because your hb will be so afraid of his mummy to oppose her...please don't get pregnant now....read other threads how their in laws are causing big problems over baby issues....

rong_ruo

Hi Liz,
Currently property is still going strong and my hb insists on getting a condo instead of a HDB. So i now trying to get hime to buy a resale then. If not by the time i wait till the condo is completed, dunno wat will happen. Maybe he will change his mind again.

Actually i was thinking tt if he does not want to move out, i can move out on my end and stayed on my own. Is that beri weird? But i seriously have no wish to continue staying there.

Btw, my MIL blacked faced to me again. Sianz... all becoz i went out w hb last nite. How come she juz cant see the point tt her son is married and needs to have a life of his own. Damn sianz ah.... And the worst part tt no one wan to let her know this pt. Not even my SILs lor... sigh..

gigi20

i'm not staying with my in-laws but my mil is here to stay with me temporarily till her new house is ready. and my nightmare is here!!! there are 101 things i want to say hhaha.. worse, my bil's baby is also here staying with me!! and she always let the baby cry so loud till it woke up my baby.. so pissed off!! she feeds the baby porridge in the room, keep the milk in the room, doesnt help to do housework.. worse, when she needs to use the toilet, she doesnt close the door!!! i told my hubby then ask her not to close the door as well when using public toilet.. is it her or just me??? she will bang the door so loud when she closes it... really cant stand it lor.. once, i even caught her putting her worn panty back into the cupboard without washing!! though its only for 3-4 mths, but i really cant stand it lor.... i see her face i will hate it... and best part is, she can go and complain to hubby that i dun talk to her, treat her as invisible, etc etc.. really can faintz... i wonder how u gals out there can tahan your mils.... really admire u all!

lizray

Hi Rong Ruo

Sorry for the late reply.

I personally feel that u could get a resale flat first.

then when u and ur hubby is ready for condo, dun sell the flat. You can rent it out for extra $$

Whatmore, resale flat's price now is pretty soft. COV has decreased alot this time round. Best time to look into getting a small unit for 2 people.

Or

You could rent a condo or a flat to stay away from ur in-law...

lizray

Hi Gigi

Welcome to the clan... hahaha.
Dun complaint la... urs is only for a short period. Very fast they will be moving out.

gigi20

Hi Liz

yea i know i shouldnt complain.. as compared to u gals out there, i am more 'forunate'.. but cant help it lah... hhaha

sunshinepeach

Oh no.. i also never think too much abt the bb issues.. Hubby and I are trying for a bb.. Hopefully, my in laws will not meddle in how i take care of my bb in future..

Furthermore, i had decided to go back to my mum's place for confinement. Hubby has agreed to it cos he felt that my mama is more capable of taking care of me and the bb... Hopefully, they wont be unhappy with the arrangments when the time comes..

flowerygal

Took me sme time to read most of e posts here. i realized tat i m in almost similar situation as pinkbuttons having similar MIL of e same age. The way they speak & behave almost e same. The problem is tat she & my inlaw family come & stay at my matrimonial home too. PIL & 2 younger BILs. Initially also had my BIL's exgf stayin w us bt later they broke off. They come ovr when my baby was born. So tat time headcount was 3 + 5. Nw is 2 + 4. My bb nw stayin w my own parents.

If all of u r willing to hear my long story.

It all begin when me & my hus decided to get a flat of our own b4 married. We got a queue no. & hvent select e flat. My then bf's mum who's my MIL nw was so extremely upset, cried & threatened to disown my hus beco he din consult her earlier & she had wanted us to buy TPY area. Gosh, its nt as if shes my hus?? She is starting to interfere in our affairs liao. Then my hus panicked on e day of flat selection & wana withdraw. i told him tat it wasnt easy 4 us 2 cme so far. Then we made a small bet & thank God we got it. Guess wat, after tat we managed to convince her tat we had made e right choice as our blk is surrounded by nearby amenties & she was sooooo impressed. 360 degrees change. Then she quickly wanted us to renovate our plc after our ROM for our customary wedding. She volunteered to loan us 2 pay for our reno (i dun wan bt hus dun mind) bt gues wat, she sourced for contractor & then negotiated & even decide most of e designs & items. i was so damn angry w her & my hus. So much demanding T&C. The contractor also scared of my demanding MIL. Bt i cant offend her u see. She likes 2 dominate evrythin & as DIL i cant say no rite? Its nt as if she is paying for free? We r repayin her evry mth w/o fail. Even wedding banquet venue also. Then i told my hus i had enu of her, i rather my mum pay for our banquet so tat we can decide wat we wana do. Gosh, she even dare to interfere w e banquet details too! Terrible. Lots of nonsense. Then i tot it was ovr when my banquet was ovr. She din stop.

flowerygal

sm,

Typed until i tired..thus paused awhile 1st..

Here's 2nd part:

Then i decided to try 4 bb & i got successfully preg. My PILs said they prefer boy. i was so angry. i tot they r supposed to expect a gal sinc they alredi got 3 boys? Wat if its a gal? Then my MIL said wana rent out their whole flat & shift in 2gether w us provided my FIL agree. My FIL kept sayin no way & got angry evrytime tis issue was brought up. Fyi, my inlaws r divorced bt got bac 2gether then later MIL siao alredi & had cold war w my FIL. They hardly tok & slept in diff rm at their plc. It was a relief when my FIL said no. Later, My inlaws were ovrly elated when they noe i was expecting a boy. Gues wat, 1 mth b4 i delivered, suddenly my FIL arranged logistics to shift evrythin to my plc! So shocked! I tot he dun wana shift to my plc? Nw e whole clan is cmin? Where is my bb gona to sleep? No room of his own? i wun hv privacy? i tot my intention of owning my own plc is to live 2gether w my hus & son only? i may as well stay w em at their plc & rent out my own flat? Did i make any mistake?

Flowergal,
You and hubby should stop accepting MIL's loans for your renovation whatever. Why? Your MIL seems to be thinking that she has the right to decide on these matters because she pays them for both of you.

Your hubby is dependent on his parents for their financial aids, of course he doesn't dare to go against their wishes.

flowerygal

Green,
We were unable to reject MIL's offer to renovate our plc. She wil kill us. We did tried 2 explain tat we dun wan to rush. i dun wana stress so much to prepare for wedding & flat all at e same time. Bt she planned for us long time ago & looked for contractor. She is determined to do up our plc asap beco she wanted to use our plc for customary ceremony. Her flat was too utterly horrifying to let relatives & frens see. Believe me. i dun even dare to step into e hse. Actuali our initial plan was to slowly do up our flat after wedding. As a matter of fact, even if she did nt fork out $ for our reno, she will still wana decide on our affairs. Even e wedding banquet was paid by my mum bt she insisted to decide on hw it shd be. She was so angry when we did nt asked her to come along for our rehearsal (i tot usuli e couple onli?). Bt she stil came along eventually coz she wan our wedding to be her way.

Las yr, similar incident happened to MIL's sis. MIL heard tat she intended to renovate her flat, so MIL took e initiative to look for contractor & then insisted her sis to engage e contractor. Bt alas her sis rejected & guess wat hapen later? She fell out w her sis. After tat they dun speak to ea other again. Tats wat MIL's sis told me. She always wan ppl to listen & do watevr she wans. Dominating.

Even after i had jus given birth to my bb, gues wat? She visited me & the time was due to breastfeed my bb. She din go away! She stayed & watched me how i fed my bb!!! Gosh...she reli wana take control of evry1. Believe me, all e relatives r scared of her coz she control evry1 includin her own MIL. Veri powerful.

Flowergal,
Your mil sounds like a drama queen.

Hope your hubby be assertive and convince his parents not to move over to your place. He has to be firm on this. It's better for the son to handle his parents than the Dil.

crystal_cloud

emm flowergal,

sounds like my MIL...green, does it ring a tinkle.. :p

anyway, kan kai dian...no way out de, flower gal

at times, try progressively to be firm..

if not sooner or later, u will have to report to her like to your boss.

first thing first, the son/ husband should stand firm and speak up.

flowerygal

Green & pink cloud,
If u had seen my 1st post, they alredi shifted into my hse. Tat was late 2007. Was tryin 2 tell my story bit by bit. Nw they stil hapily stayin & e conditions of my flat is deterioting each day. My MIL is a violent monster & dun do much hsewrk & e whole clan messed up & spoilt much of my stuffs alredi. Almost evry wk sure got smethin hapen. U wun dare 2 imagine wat a big mess it is.

When i noe my hus 9yrs ago, i was always obeyin 2 wat she wan fr me & asked my then bf to be filial to her (cos my hus veri lazy). Thus she was impressed by me & noe i always "listen" to her. She told others tat i was her 'DIL' even thog we aint married yet. Pampered me alot n She gave me diamond jewelleries & etc. Bt after tat i returned 2 her coz i scared to lose em. All these hapen when i was tryin 2 be a gd DIL. Tats y she climbed all ovr my head & took ovr my role as wife, mother & mistress of e hse. She took my bb away to sleep w her, cared & played w him when i was on maternity leave. I dun get much chance to get near him. i cried almost evrydy. Possessive coz he was a gd boy. As if my responsibility is to bear her a grandson & tats it.

After e initial few mths of them stayin w me, i told my hus tat i had enu & he beter tell his mum to move out. She got extremely upset & called up my mum & said all kinds of offensive stuffs tat u wun imagine of. As if my mum offended her??? Its btw me & her, y shd she terriorise my mum & bullied her?? Actuali she intended to call my mum to oomplain abt me bt then she realised tat my mum does nt agreed w wat she said. My poor mum. She cursed my mum all e way non-stop & my mum had 2 hang up e call 2 stop. Made her so upset. Eg of wat she said is: 1) "Me & my hus have very good s_ _ life, you envious of me ah!" 2) "Your daughter will get her cpf back" - indicate tat she will get her son to divorce me & flat will be sold. Kept arguing w my mum nonstop. Then after tat she called me. Gues wat was e opening sentence? "You are a stinky bad apple!"...then cursed n cursed nonstop & i kept cryin nonstop in public as i was outside. She was reli out of her mind & sayin all kinds of terrible words fr her mouth. She always misunderstood ppl & accused ppl of gg against her. Terror. i reli got e shock of my life. I tot tat was it...bt it din end.

When i got hm in e evening, i saw my clothes bein threw onto my baby's cotbed. Then ard MidNite as i was inside my bedrm w my hus, she suddenly charged into my rm swinging my door so extremely hard to e wall until both of us jumped up coz so loud. Then she screamed loudly "You stinky bad apple! Dun u dare 2 throw my things out of my hse!" I was tinkin to myself...who wil wana touch her filty things? Then after tat my hus leaded her out to protect me bt she kept screaming askin me nt 2 be a mousy & shd cme out & face her. I did and sat dwn in e dining area w FIL who was drowning himself w beer (evrynite). Then she grabbed a knife & hit my tiles, my countertop, then kept slashing my sofa violently. Then threatening nonstop. She rattled nonstop for a long time till wee hrs screaming loudly. No1 dare to call police. Lastly, she said she is a Cinderella & i m e evil MIL/daughter. Haiz...i tot it shd be e opposite?

After e whole terrible incident, i had nitemares of her frequently till today.

Anyway, since young she has been quite a bad tempered, violent woman according to her sis & my hus. Imagine, my FIL was also attacked by her using a scissor & slashed his neck. He bled so much & went to e hosp. The wound was veri suspicious & police was alerted. Bt FIL defended MIL & said he was accidently hurted by smethin.

Evry1 is used to her violent acts alredi. She frequently vented her anger. My 2nd BIL is similar to her. He violently slapped his exgf when she stayed at my plc. These ppl r scary. Tis BIL stole alot of my cash fr my locked drawers. Sneaked into my rm many times even when i was asleep too. Ever took drugs & etc. Stole alot of my stuffs. Abt my FIL, he has to drink alcohol evrynite to numb himself. He & MIL dun reli tok evrsinc they were divorced. Dun ask me y they stil stayin 2geter for so long. Complicated. Lastly, abt my 2nd BIL, he is adopted. He is e onli normal person in e hse.

Well if it escalates to physical abuse, no choice you have to protect your own and ur family's welfare. Police. Your husband gotto know what's at stake when the knife is brought out.

If ur hubby is still doing nothing, he's good for nothing. It's just gonna encourage her to act more to her nature.

Flowergal, such an environment of violence, drink bingeing, drugs, theft, etc... is definitely not healthy for your bb's upbringing... would be good to do something about it earliest possible... unless you want your bb to grow up thinking that all these are normal...

flowergirl, your current home environment is not conducive for anyone let alone your little boy to be exposed to. your MIL sounds crazy and aren't you worried that one day, she might fly off the handle and really hurt (kill) someone? as it is, she had already injured your FIL before .. please think of your child's welfare. i am surprised that your husband is ok with all of this, happening around his family. just because 'everyone' is used to her violent acts, doesn't mean that you should just let it be. i agree with everyone - you should do something about it. this is your life, your baby's life too ..

clipperjunk

your destiny is in your hands, you should move out and give your hb the ultimatum...else you dump the family and get custody of your son...citing violence at home...get evidence if you can...

flyingstar

In the first place your hb should not have allowed your in-laws to move in. Once they move in, there will be another string of problems with them.

It seems that your MIL is really very dramatic. Maybe you can reason out with your hb. You have a BIL who does drugs, steals. You have a MIL who goes into hysterics by tearing the house down. Can your hb foresee putting your child through all these?

This kind of environment can affect a child badly, especially in the early stages. I hope your hb can understand that for the sake of the child, you all have to move out.

flowerygal

Really thank all of u for ur kind support & advice. It is indeed scary to live w such inlaws. I am not brought up in such violent environment so definitely i was shocked to death by the series of events happening too frequently. In the past when i was still unmarried, things were still manageable as she dare not do anything to me as i was 'filial' and did whatever she said. I even helped out at her food stalls whenever i can. Cleaned her flat when i stayed over during weekends. So she knew tat i dare not protest if she make any request coz i have to obey her. I assumed tat she expected me to obey her no matter what because i am already 'married' into her family. I 'belong' to her, so is my baby boy. Once, she did something very terrible to my infant boy & i was very extremely unhappy. i kept quiet. Almost can cause him to have health problems. She also did a series of harmful acts my boy & i could not tolerate anymore. She was arrogant & did not even feel sorry for what she had done. Cold war started after i gently told her off. I had never raised my voice at her but showing her my unhappiness but then suddenly she flew into huge rage & guess what i did? i went to her room, held her hands & apologised to her.

Another incident happened in my home was btw my FIL & MIL. She told my FIL to help her bank in some cash. But my FIL did not take any receipt & she flew into huge rage & screamed at him so loudly ard midnite. My poor infant baby was sleeping in their room. Her voice was so loud until i think the whole estate can hear because i was trying to sleep in my room with my door closed already. My hus was working late thus not at home. She kept scolding him non-stop until he had to run to my 2nd BIL's room to hide from her. She did not stop! She kept screaming & then charged into the room & scolded him again. I was so scared until i was trembling on my bed with my blankets. Really trembling! i had never heard such horrifying screamings before in my entire life. Last time my parents ever quarrel loudly but not this great! My MIL behaves like a man & FIL behaves like a woman.

My FIL is not exactly any better too as he also angered me by taking my stuffs & used without my permission. Even my confinement tonic wine & etc were finished by him. He did alot of 'installations' of unnecessary things to my home too. Once, he installed the clock onto my wall very poorly & suddenly it fell & shattered into pcs near my baby! Thank God my baby was safe. Then 2nd time happened again & the clock glass shattered into bits again....the way he installed really poor. He used adhesive! No nails! Then he also adjusted the kitchen water tap as well to make the water flow so small. You will not believe how small it can be. Must have patient to wash the dishes.

Anyway, i do not have the authority to do anything to protect my flat now. As a matter of fact, i do not even have the space to do my laundry & had to dry my clothings in my room. i also had to avoid seeing my MIL thus hide in my room all the time. Really a monster thus gota hide in fear.

laundry_woes

Ur baby was in the same room while ur MIL was having a crazed fit & u were in ur own room cowering under the sheets?? Wat kinda mother are u?

I hv the same question as clipperjunk. Nonid to write TCS script here. Wat are u going to do abt it? U hv an infant son now.

flowerygal

Yup, like wat e subject is, i m venting my anger here. Destress.

Now my bb is more than a yr old and well, he is still staying w my parents. It wasnt easy for me to take him away from my home when he was 5mths old. After all, my MIL was e one taking care of him.

laundry_woes,
Its hard 4 u 2 understd when u aint in my shoes. My MIL was so extremely aggitated at tat time & thank God my boy was amazingly sound asleep. Which was y i din do anything. Of coz if he suddenly woke up & cry, i probably will run 2 him already. No worries. So tats y when i got e opportunity, i quickly brought my son out of this terrible hse after discussing with my hus. I dun wan him to be involved at all. My hus made big mistake.

Anyway, i had been seeing a counsellor at a family service centre. She said she had not seen such a case before. She gave me a few options. i can apply PPO against her. Moreover, this flat is also under my name. i had pics of the disfigured sofa & how messy the house is. She said usually such violent people will get scared in the name of law. Because there are many married men who physically abused their wives whom she had handled. They got scared the moment law is mentioned.

Do i really have to resort to doing all these? Why is she making things so hard for me & family? Last time my hus told her that i am going to divorce, guess what she said? "Don't worry! No big deal!" Gosh, she's a divorcee already & she has such evil heart to see her own son divorce as well?

clipperjunk

at least the child is safe...but that is still not the solution...seems like you are too meek to do anything...the one to see a counsellor should be you mil instead...you will need to find a way to get her out of the home otherwise your son might well be an orphan as he doesn't live with the parents

........one way is to sell the flat, move in with your parents temporarily and then buy another unit when your in laws have settled their own living situation...

flowerygal

The problem is tat we cant sell the flat coz it is less than 5yrs. Cant move in with my parents because they are staying with my 2nd bro & there is no room available.

Well, my MIL should be the one seeing counsellor & psychiatrist instead. Some time ago, her bro asked my hus to take her to see psychiatrist then she got to find out about it. She got raged up and screwed her bro & his family. Tough woman.

I always been a softhearted person thus hard to deal with such people coz no guts to do so. Also cant count on my hus coz he's also no guts. If we have guts, all these will not be happening & we are so miserable because of him.

flowerygal

My MIL dislike people who go against her & will make sure they be miserable should anyone offend her. She was e one who arranged everything without our control.....we did not even take her $$$. She was the one liaising with the contractor & paid him. Decided on the design & tiles & everything. Choosing of furniture too. Any MIL who is so dominating? Of course i had wanted to throw her $$$ back to her face after that but guess what she said? From her point of view, because she is the mother. I married into her family, i am her daughter-in-law & my son is her grandson. We already repaid her alot as a matter of fact but because my hus is her son & he owes her forever & he has to repay her till death.... But she is refusing to move out regardless of everything. She wants to make use of her eldest son to earn more $$. She is a "rich" lady and wants to make her $$ grow more & more.

Jus to add in, last time, she had wanted to purchase resale flat "for us" at Toa Payoh but luckily did not go thru because the owner decided not to sell. My hus was still a student. She wants to make use of us to get the flat. Why must she dominating over us? We do not even have the rights to chose our own flat?

Not to forget it was because of my son that she wish to kill two birds with 1 stone? Even if she is not the one paying for the renovation, she will still move in together with her whole family. Because she likes to take advantage of people. Her sis & her bro's wife related how terrible she was. Last time, she also took advantage of them too. As for my MIL's MIL, she also dislike her terribly because she suffered under her hands too. Lots of stories told by her relatives to me.

You cannot reject the stuffs that she give to you. She will get extremely angry. Many years back, she gave me a bag but i seldom use She noticed that i did not use it most of the time & got very angry! She expect people to accept the gifts from her & use it everyday. Even the diamond necklaces that she had given to me had to be worn 24hrs everyday. Imagine i was just her son's gf at that time?

flowergal, even though your MIL is a tyrant and you have posted all the instances that supports her 'insanity', i think that you are at fault too for allowing her to get her way in the end. you are too scared to make any decisions, lest there's a cold war between the two of you but i think that this is the best way for you to regain some kind of normalcy in your family life. how long are you going to stay scared of her? how long can you let your son stay away from you? etc etc etc ... think about it. it's time you take charge of the situation ..

flowerygal

Definitely i admit tat i m too weak 2 guard myself against her in e 1st plc which allowed her to do anything she wish. Tats y my FIL said tat she is like dowager empress. Nobody dares to 'offend' her. So far, nobody dare to argue & be fiercer than her. Nt tat i noe of. Once, she anyhw accused a insurance agent tat she had done wrong against her, the agent quickly went to visit her to explain things clearly. Coz she misunderstood ppl easily. The problem is tat she constantly misunderstand ppl & tis creates alot of unhappiness inside her all e time. Another time, she bought alot of bank bonds & again she misunderstood e bank policy & kept calling & visiting the bank to expect a good ans from them why she did not get the amount of $$ that she is supposed to get. Shes thinks that she is right and everyone is wrong. She expects people to heed her advice & follow her instructions exactly. So she always get wat she wants by acting this way.

Jus wondering how to gain enough guts to tackle this problem of mine? Any suggestions?

september

unless, u be more siao and fierce than her...

tat is wen her siaoness act up again, u react in a more crazy her than her to scare her off...for example, if she threaten to kill u, u go take a knife and ask her to do it...

but this might backfire too...and nt really a good move too..coz ur hb might be angry wif u after tat..

however, i dun tink there is much u can do unless, u really wan to be firm on ur stand and wif ur hb siding ask her to move back to her own hse lor...

zenteno

Hi, just joined in.. wha, I am really shocked after reading..

flowergal, I hope things are better after seeing a counsellor. well, i can understand that is easy to hear others advice but whether to carry out action is another issue. you're soft hearted and didnt want things to turn out so ugly.. actually I really feel so sorry for your husband family..btw, do u have any religion? perhaps u can pray/chant & seek for guidance from fellow believers.. well, i dont really know how to explain here.. sometimes we just need to have a strong faith to overcome everything. It's not as easy to get rid of your MIL.. I also hope they will change for the better.

flowerygal

Diana & Ling,

Actually if i m more fierce than her, in e 1st plc she wun even can step into my hse liao. My hus did tried to stand up & told her 2 shift out bt she refused thus made her blown up. Thus there's little tat he can do. Hw hostile can he be since she is his mum? I also cant be rash in my acts otherwise really backfire because she can call police & said i am threatening her? She is capable of calling police because last time she anyhow accused my FIL of wrongdoing & called the police? Siao woman. She even accused her own sis seducing her hus & had affair behind her. Gosh. So impossible. Its all in her head. Something wrong. Once, i was happily chatting with her while ironing, saying that the material is so terrible & i had to iron so much. Guess what she thought? She thought that i am hinting her to iron for me next time! i was just trying to chit chat with her coz she was looking at me. It was never my intention & btw, she dun like to do housework hor! How can i expect such from her? She also terrible in doing chores, messing up the house instead of tidying. Funny. Fyi, she seldom do chores & dun even iron her own hus's clothings. As for dishes, she left it overnight.

According to her sis, she is like that since very young. Always anyhow accuse people of being bad to her when nothing such happen. All the family members are even-tempered except her. But they give in to her all the time & allowed her to bully them. So it worsen as day goes by. Her character is like that. Unless last time her parents bring her to see psychiatrist then perhaps can control. She is an AhLian. A nasty one.

Actually initiately i should have called the police when she turned violent but i did not. I was hoping her conscience will hit her hard for bullying me & move out gradually but so long had passed & my r/s with my hus & son is deteriorating and i really had enough work & motherhood stress to cope liao. She is still happily staying & the rest here & i am having such a tough time making my own family so miserable. Its high time to do something already. I will apply PPO against her soon. Soon....but its hard to make appointment with counsellor coz they are very busy. My appmt is in early Feb & my counsellor will help me to apply.

Meanwhile, i must be mentally prepared..my hus warned me liao. She will turn very nasty....

zenteno

I am glad that at least you have plans in mind. Take one step at a time and update us.. Take care, gal.

I think things will turn out fine if you and your husband stand by each other and overcome this problem. Most impt, is the two of u.. have to be understanding towards each other, like what u mentioned.. is his mum so cant expect him to be so hostile.. on the other hand, is both of ya family & u are his wife so he cant just dont do anything. try to put yourselves in each other shoes and be more encouraging and supportive.. be optimistic, yea!!

flowerygal

Well, its quite hard as my hus is rather uncooperative at times too. He dun wana get involve u see. He gets frustrated every time i mentioned about how his family ruined this or that. But then, cant be helped right? How to endure these people? Even sleeping at night also feel insecure because his 2nd bro may creep into my room anytime he likes. How to tolerate all these nonsense? If anyone dare to stay in the house for just 1 night? Take risks everyday. Sometimes i thought all these happen in dramas on tv. Which is why i wonder how come my story is so long. Too much stories to tell. Nonstop. Its torturing.

zenteno

hmm.. so what do u have in mind now?? seriously, can u tolerate and endure all these?? If no, u intend to carry on like this??

flowerygal

Hmm, now waiting for my appointment with my family counsellor in early Feb. Meanwhile still enduring. Sometimes i tot i may get used to all these but i don't.

Beco i dun like unhappiness & living with 'violent' thinking people. Perhaps i dun like ahbengs & ahlians since young. That's me. I dun like to miggle with such & get involve with their activities.

clipperjunk

i think the wrong person is being counseled...i guess you just need an outlet to air out your grievances...but at the end of the day, you've got to act...

zenteno

gal, u definitely cant endure unless u hack care but that is impossible..

I agree with clipper, "at the end of the day, you've got to act"

dodolet

Maybe you can your hubby u suffering from post natal depression and you cannot take it anymore? I am thinking it would do u and ur baby good to stay with ur parents.

My mom is a smaller scale version of ur MIL. I had "conditioned" my mom to know that I am not a push over will fight will for will. I learned to draw my boundaries with her too and she had affected me emotionally till it had impeded and affected me in many ways.

flowerygal

Already tried to hack care but it is too hard & endured too long. When i witnessed how she handled my baby & messed up my whole house, it is too unbearable. Sometimes i wonder whether she is from hell. How can she expect an infant to lift up his head at 1mth plus? Everyday she pulled his hands to force him to lift his head & body up. I was horrified. This is only 1 example.

After all these episodes, i realised that i have to treasure whatever i have...in the past i did not realise that the little freedom i once have is so much better than now.