A place to show your beautiful kitchen....

summerice

Hi Hermit crab

what do u mean by backing? the one like jean's pic? My advice is u better check will the solid surface get stain easy. Coz from my own experience my counter top solid surface kind of stain easily.

Example that time when i was doing cleaning after reno, while cleaning the top cabinets i step a little onto the solid surface. As my feet are a little wet it create the stain marks(like when u mop the floor n then if u dont wash ur feet it will leave the dirty marking), when i try to clean it up its kind of difficult have to use lots of strength. To me i feel the solid surface is very porous.

Another issue that time we are thinking of getting glass backsplash also but not sure can the glass withstand the heat from all the cooking? I think they are using normal glass only right?

sandsand

summer|ce: hee.. yesh, thats my messy work desk in the back ground.. haha.. cos my FH didnt get a chance to see the ghost shakers and he wanted to consider that , so i no choice had to take a pic at work to show him what i mean.. haha..

I was contemplating tempered glass for the backing too, but my ID says still a bit dangerous, even if they do use tempered glass meant to withstand heat, there is still a chance it may shatter.. i read in a thread here, that someone's tempered glass cooker hob cracked... imagine, cooker hob glass should be sturdy cos its nearest the fire but it still shattered..

summer|ce: so it was very hard to remove ur foot stain ah? =) i remember my old place, the cabinets right on top, there was a set of foot prints on the cabinet surface... we do not know how it came about.. haha...

summerice

hehehe ribbons ya lor hard leh...but i buy the magic sponge liao yea....havent try it though. maybe the contractor stand on it lor. ai ya my desk also not any better. all full of shit n its not mine and i cannot throw away.

ya i read about it also the hob crack. Thats why lor i didnt use glass backsplash plus its more ex leh...i use tiles better. Imagine if crack some part n some part still o.k wha then have to change the whole damn pc will be very ex and very troublesome coz they have to dig out the not crack ones.

twinnie07

hey gers, suggest use stainless stain for hob area. Not so hard to clean though.. tiles have grout prob. stainless steel spare u the prob.

summerice

LoveMe hehehe my hb say its just a matter of time b4 tiles get scratch or grout turn yellow so it doesnt matter to him. i also dont bother lor coz if all turn together then will be o.k lar if someturn yellow some dont then shit lor

twinnie07

summerice, u so funny. well, my bathroom tiles faced the prob of yellowish grout due to the wrong detergent used. Just one week, it's yellowish. sad. i tell u.. tiles are real hard to maintain than glass or steel. i'm speaking from experience.

summerice

Loveme i know coz lately we always go up n mop the floor so the common toilet is use more frequent. I notice the some grout turn a little dirty so i use the brush to scrab it. we purposely buy those hard brush so that its easier to wash the toilet floor.
I think as long as u see a bit dirty then scrab it, should be o.k

sharebear

hi ribbons
thks for the zheng4 ju4, really look like ghosts...!

wat brand of stove & hob did u buy & can recommend? less than $300 hopefully, thks!

chocolatier

Hi summerice

Saw from Jean's pic that she's using s/s for the 'wall' of the cabinets. But i'm scared that it will be prone to scratches and difficult to clean (if using non-abrasive cleaning stuff).

For the backsplash used at the hob area, i'll be getting from bellari. Are you using the s/s hob since u dun wana have shattered glass hob?

Oh! Didnt know that solid surface is that easily stained! OMG! Then practically cant put anything on the top!

jgal

jac.. I dun think $300 can get you hob & hod. I think it only enuff for hob.

Hermit : yeah. S/S is more difficult to maintane. I have to clean mine everytime i cook.. and it has some oil strain. but then, it still safer than glass.

Soild surface/Granite sure will stain one. Thus, need to get the patterned ones.. then it wont look so obivous.

summerice

loveme ya plus my top cabinet not the whole thing so a bit funny mah if i back the backsplash.

Jgal can join meh i thought only register?

chocolatier

summerice
wat backing did you use? It looks like solid surface material?

Oh! I'm at a loss as to wat material to use for the backing. Glass is too exp. Also replacement for cracked glass is exp too.

sandsand

piggypig... haha... just tiling also good lah..

but use tempered glass also got to clean what...... right? and S/S is 'safer' cps of the way its mounted onto the wall? thats what i feel lah..

summerice

hermit they are tiles...see the other side of the walls. hehe cos my hb wanted white tiles n i wanted sunshine kitchen so it become like that lor. not the show rm kind of kitchen but i am happy cos easy to maintain.

chendol

Hi summerice - your kitchen is very sunny... very summer. ;)

Btw, you are not installing a hood? Not intending to cook much is it?

I'm wondering where to place my fridge. got a few suggestions from ID but think most people want to put it near the door for easy access right?

Don't see your fridge summerice, where did you put it?

jgal

me using blackglass for the wall.. with s/s only for the hob area. the effect is quite nice..

summerIce.. i enable you later, will pm you..:p our forum is pte.. only redhillers allow..

summerice

twinkle hehe thats my intention to have sunshine kitchen lor. so when i cook or bake inside i feel happy mah. i have not buy my fridge yet but will place near the door hehe like u say easy access...dont want to walk all the way to the back just to take icecream or ice water or if i want to cook.

going to cook thats why my top cabinet half way only to allow for future expansion if i need a hoob. I have the electrical point for the hood already just that if i buy the big chimmey kind the power also not very good. So didnt buy now. HB say have or dont have seem like no difference coz many ppl make liao never use or in the end find it not usefull.

Jgal i not redhillers leh but near by lar. if u dont mind lor.

chocolatier

Oic...tiles...I also wanted a sunshine kitchen. There isnt adequate sunlight in my kitchen. Thinking of goin for orange cabinets, but ID advised us not to do shiny laminates coz easily scratched...

Still duno wat to choose for backing...sighs..\

Jean
how much did that s/s cost you? Not sure if s/s go with orange and frosted glass cabinets...

chendol

oic... my parent's apartment was chrome yellow kitchen cabinets too! I'm thinking of going for the more common black/white/grey/silver combi.

I think should buy hood if you're going to cook, get a good one, otherwise the kitchen might become quite greasy?

My dad was saying that shouldn't put the hob where the wind can easily blow the flame out, but I prefer putting it where you've put it, cos like that there's more ventilation. my other option is to put it on the other side of the kitchen where there's a sort of recess area, away from the windows.

on s/s backing, think my ID is quoting $75 pfr.

summerice

hermit i have seen b4 orange cabinets and its not shiny surface kind. i think any colors can go with s/s backing n frosted glass.

piggypig

my kitchen cabinets are without handles... when 2 doors are closed, i can see a gap bet the 2 doors? Is this consider a defect??

summerice

Piggypig it can be adjusted to make the vertical gap between doors to be smaller or bigger.

Dont know leh even with hood in the end still will be oily. so i think with or without doesnt matter to me, plus now most of us are working if we cook it will be during wkends only.

chendol

Are most of you getting glass backsplash or stainless steel? last night someone just told me that glass a LOT easier to maintain....

a few IDs said glass or s/s same price...

chocolatier

s/s and glass same cost? hmm..is the glass tempered glass?? scare i clumsy and crack it leh...
i also getting a hood coz my window quite far from hob, scare smoke cant get out of kitchen.
did all of u get a homogenous solid surface? heard scratches will show up ez...

piggy
u got a bar in ur kitchen? ur kitchen big enuf to accomodate that?

nat_bleu

hi Jean/ SummerIce, may I know what kinda glossy laminate did ur carpenter use? My ID say some parts of the glossy laminate on the cabinets will look uneven. He say its something can't be help for glossy laminate, is it true?

finesse

Hi Hermit crab

My stainless stell backing cost $58 per feet. My ID wanted to use a thinker SS that cost more ex.. but i told her cheap one can liao since i don cook much and just want the metallic look.. so she quoted me the cheaper/ thinner SS.. by the way, like SummerIce said.. SS is metallic so can go with most colours.. i think go with orange should be very nice! ;)

As for the maintenance issue many of u mentioned.. i really think glass may be easier.. i'm starting to see some swirl marks on my SS.. but again i don cook much so its still bearable for me..

Hi Nattie: I used normal glossy laminate lor. Your ID is right.. as laminates are sheets of plastic.. its inavoidable that it is not entirely straight. Hence the uneven look. Mine is still ok.. but of cos u cannot expect it to look as nice as acrylic doors or glass doors with the high shine factor and no unevenness. however, i must say glassy laminates still look good and cost a fraction lower!

summerice

hehe initially also thinking of hacking the wall down to make it into a bar top, but then no space to hide my fridge plus have to spend more money to get PE approve and all that.

Oh my ID didnt tell us about the uneven thing, but so far it turn out o.k i didnt notice anything unusual, coz i am quite fussy about workmanship. Maybe will take a closer look again.

piggypig

hi loveme & sumerice,

its actually next to sink, separated by a wall ie the orignal so called service balcony area..

summerice

oh i c....then is the wall in line with ur cabinet? if not then wont it be troublesome for u to move things from sink to hob and vise versa?

piggypig

We didn't hack that wall to be in line with cabinet. Guess my hubby would have to be more orgainised with his cooking then...haha!!

man_tou_bear

Hey piggypig,

Ya mine is an old flat so the kitchen bigger.. but now i populate it with my pigs' cages so a bit more cramp.. anyway these are the old pixs.. i will try and take newer ones and post again. heehee..

summerice

wha bear u have a very big kitchen normally if u have the fridge part then it will stop at the hob there or without the fridge part. but u have all leh. u have a lot of cabinet space. not like mine. How many rms are u staying in?

Piggypig no wonder lar, u are not cooking so u dont mind. hehehe

man_tou_bear

Summerice, see u here too! heehee.. how's the cakes?

I live in an EM, abt 20 yrs old.. had to do major reno on the flat.. even till now i m still adding stuff to my flat.. cos no $$$ to do everything at one shot.. will be doing my study rm next wk...

I still wanna improve on my kitchen... wanna get the back splash.. have been procrastinating on it since March!