A place to show your beautiful kitchen....

sandsand

summer|ce: yeah... very ner.. =)

hey, your kitchen's like mine! just that its the opposite side.... we wanted a island and more tabel top space and storage thats why we had the island... and also to cover the washing machine since i didnt have a service balcony..

summerice

ribbons u see the light on the floor thats where my other window is so if i have the L-shape sink like yours it will get in my way when i put my clothes out.

At first my hb wanted the L-shape thing also he say can put newspaper there for my dog and it will be hidden away. I told him i dont like the keep on looking behind when i take my clothes in...i very clumsy one. Thats why i didnt even have ourside handles for my cabinets.

summerice

ribbons i have 2 one show in the pic the other opposite the washing machine. The opposite washing machine one is the hanging clothes place. so if i make L-shape it will get in my way. hehe

At first ID all design my sink location to be where my hob is...cos of the piping...but the sink location now is opposite the toilet door. Feng sui cannot mah...so i change it. haha

Ya our kitchen almost the same only some location different.

summerice

ya because of the 2 windows especially the one in the pic it makes my kitchen very bright. no need to on light till at night. can save some $$

Plus it makes my kitchen looks more spacious.

sandsand

summer|ce: heres the other view of my kitchen... the window lor.. but thank GOd its really windy when i open this window... dont know why but everytime we open it, the house becomes VERY WINDY...
417420.jpg

sandsand

417431.jpg
417432.jpg

here is what my toilet tiles and kitchen tiles look like... can u imagine, my toilet so pink they wanna give me the dead green tiles to replace certain tiles?? dont fancy mosaic pattern with pink and green...

twinnie07

Manage to take some pics of my common toilet. I hack away the existing wall tiles and floor tiles. Sanitary accessoriesare brand new as well..

417456.jpg

417457.jpg

twinnie07

Oh! Haha. the common toilet wall near to the shower is a false wall. Before I seal up, it's a door. Which means previous owner has two doors in the common toilet! Not good for fengshui. so we seal it up!

summerice

huh why got 2 doors, the previous owner putposely open one more door or it comes like that? But 2 door a bit troublesome leh...go in must lock 2 door if not wait half way ppl open the door...haha just like those hongkong serial like that.

summerice

ribbons ur pink toilet is better then my previous green toilet....at least not dead lar....

LoveMe you use 2 different model of heater har, ur common toilet one is champ virgo is it? I am using that for both toilets. hehehe At first wanted central water heater but my hb say very troublesome if he morning want to bath. Plus have to buy all the mixers will cost a lot.

sandsand

yah lor... wasnt it troublesome for the previous owner to have two doors? hmm...

summer|ce: hee.... yeah, my pink's not a dead colour...

sandsand

heee... nvm lah, lets just chat here... if not ah i got to go to so many threads, confusing lah... haha...

yesterday we were testing out the appliances and arranging the stuff in the kitchen.. so tired...

summerice

hehehe ya i agree many threads already.

Oh we just bought our home entertainment system, will be fixing it this sat. Now left with 2 big things not yet buy n all the small items also.

My HB say money keep on going out non stop...reno, buy things for house, wedding, honeymoon. Wha very stress on our account.

sandsand

yesterday i realise u really get what u pay for...
i was at carrefour and there were many pple rushing to buy this set of german knifes... 3 knives and 1 scissors, only $10..... i know its cheap quality lah but its just knifes how bad can it get right? Wrong.....

i opened it when i got home.. i ran the blade of the knife right down my palm.... it was so blunt it didnt even cut the skin!!!!!! Am going to return it to carrefour man, and get a refund.. and i will tell them "I bought this knife cos i was planning to commit suicide by slashing my wrist know??? Now i cannot die becos of ur stupid blunt knifes, i am more depressed!" HAHA!

going to ask fh to let me buy mor expensive knifes now man... had my experience of cheap but unsharp knives....

sandsand

summer|ce: u were saying ur mum uses a stainless steel cleaner.... which brand? my FH finally notice the water marks on the kitchen sink.. haha..

summerice

ribbons hahaha u r funny leh...u really going to tell them that? from what i know ikea also sell knives leh but not so lousy, but i dont know how much they are selling should not be ex. That day i went liang court and was thinking of getting a jap knife since they can cut sushi so well without strength but after looking at the price i give up. one simple knife cost min almost S$200.

Oh u mean now then he notice the marks how come? for me when i see the mark i will ask my hb to come n see. After using the cleaner although if i dont wipe dry the water it still leave some marks but when i wet the sink n swip it with my hands the marks are gone. It makes cleaning more easy. I am not sure if it is sold outside but its not cheap. They come in a box of a few items, my mum told me that 1 tube (like toothpaste) cost about $35 or more. not sure have to check with my mum again. If u are interested i can ask her how to buy that.

twinnie07

ribbons, u can get stainless steel cleaner at $10 in homefix. it's good for those backing. As for taps and sink is okie as well. But what if the cleaner comes in touch with our raw food. Is it poisonous to have the cleaner mix with our food? I dunno.. so suggest turn a blind eye on the sink n tap portion. But do try the cleaner on the backing instead!

sandsand

Summer|ce: heee.... maybe i should just scare carrefour ah... maybe can get sympathy hamper from them too..haa...

yeah man, i know how expensive some knives can get.... those kind that are like 100s over are too much lah...

the marks are more obvious now.. i dont know how come he only notice now, but i've noticed it for a long time liao.. LoveMe, u've got a point about it touching our food and utensils... hmm.. i'll tell fh about that...all we cna do is to wipe it dry after use lor..

my backing is still ok, cos i havent hd a chance to use it... =) still as shiny.. haha.. for now lor..

summer|ce: that cleaner ur mum using is for cooking ware kind ah? so ex ah....

summerice

ribbons ya that cleaner is to clean stainless stain pots. so i think should be safe if we put our food in the sink. Thats why i never buy from homefix or use the 3M cleaner to clean...that one i dont think is safe. I think that is more for polishing.

sandsand

i think....... i can live with water marks. HAHAH!!

hey, what brand of pots and pans are u guys using? me looking to buy now, but i seriously cannot afford brands like Tefal... I was looking at Meyer... looks good..

summerice

hehe my mum says she will give me one set, coz last time she order a few sets for each of us already...so i guess i wont buy any until i start staying there.

sandsand

hey jean... i like ur kitchen!!! i love how all the colours stand out... ur kitchen really like show room leh....

i see u have the black and white shakers.... my hotel is using that for favours...

nat_bleu

hi Jean! Ur kitchen v.sleek & beautiful. I've decided to use shiny surface too after seeing the pic. Btw, how much did u spend on ur kitchen?

summerice

hehe ya hers whole pcs. agree like show rm. is it still like that now after using? coz i think i will be lazy to keep everything off very troublesome to cook this way.

shinny surface is a good choice thats why my hb insist on it also.

finesse

Hi ribbons, nattie, SummerIce

We spent about 3K for the kicthen inclusive of the stainless steel backing and also floor tiles. stainless steel has stains after cooking.. need to consistently wipe.. my suggestion is that if u cook often, go for glass.. it will be easier to maintain.. glass looks nice too.. i use SS cos i don't cook often..

er.. what shiny surface u guys tokking abt leh? 'Shiny' refers to the SS?

Hi ribbons.. yeah i used the same type of salt and pepper shakers for my wedding favours too.. but white and pink ones..

summerice

Jean the shiny surface refer to ur cabinet. Normally ppl use matt material.

hehe my sis also use the pink n white pepper shakers for her wedding. Now me thinking should i change wedding favours or should just change the color of the shakers.

sandsand

oh.. u guys talking about shiny surface for cabinets ah.. i thought u guys talking about the solid top... =) yeah, shiny cabinet surfaces gve a shine, and i feel it makes a place look so much bigger lor..

my hotel is using this, but i dont like... when u separate them they look like ghost! haha.. i am taking the heart shaped shakers....

summerice

ribbons they are not suppose to be place separately....hehehe but personally i feel the heart shaped one is difficult to use. Maybe i will go down to the supplier n see what other favors they have. Actually wanted to take the chopstick, my hb dont want the engraving if without it looks ugly n cheapskate.
No choice have to make a trip to the supplier which my hb is not willing.

sharebear

hi ribbons
saw u in furama thread too, can't resist leaving a message here for u cos u so funny, say the shakers look like ghost
i got 2 fr shangri la, will separate them too c ghost later

sandsand

yah lah.. not suppose to be separated.. but if pple only want salt and not pepper than they will see the ghost leh..

actually, i dont care hard to use or not.. hee.. i just dont want ghost.. we most prob taking heart shakers and chosticks..

jac.. they do! take a look at this pic!
421521.jpg
421522.jpg

summerice

hahaha i didnt think it look like ghost just find them ugly if its alone. look a bit stupid...one with mouth another without. That day i went to the wedding show they have alot of these on display my hb point out that how come different size...then i notice that they have very tiny one...so funny.

my hb say like a family like that have big n small.

summerice

ribbons u have one at ur work place? hehehe when they are not hugging i find their size a but odd. the white one is more like ghost lor and like walking forward hehe.

seem like many ppl using this as wedding favors
ultimately the ghost bring a lot of money to the distributor.

chocolatier

Hi! My ID is proposing to use the solid surface for the 'backing' of the cabinets. Do you have any advice to give? Thanks!

I'll prob be getting a glass backsplash for the hob area...