A place to show off your feature walls

stars03

Hi, Here is mine..it is actually a store room. We seal up our original stock room and recreate another one in the living area...The whole panel of wooden area behind our dining table is the store room

332724.jpg

stars03

Hi hermione,
It is a resale 5 room flat...we did not use an ID but all use sub-contractors like wat u saw, it is done by the carpenter who is also a sub-contractor

lady_is

Hi stars,

Saw similar ways of hiding the storage in another units that I visited recently.

Looks like it is the trends now.

Nice !!

stars03

afraid i cant rem...we bought them during a barang barang warehouse sale so they r rather cheap...in fact there is a barang barang midnight sale @ great world city on 17/6 8pm to 2am..storewide 28%-80% off..extra 5%-7.5% for members...

hi Stars,

I'm going to start reno my 5-rm unit in Aug, so gathering contacts of reliable sub-contractors, coz I dun quite require an ID.

Like ur dining rm, i'm using pendant lamp above the table. Actually a chandelier, but i think it wld give off too much heat if i turn on for long. So thinking of constructing tt sort of false ceiling/L-box tt u have in ur above pix..

Wld appreciate if u cld email ur contacts to me.. [email protected]

irenep

Hi..

This is mine...

Living feature wall with LCD turning panel
386958.jpg

MBR feature wall with LCD turning panel
386959.jpg

Dining - miror feature wall
386960.jpg

dreamdoll

Hi mehmeh,

I'm also using a chandelier above my dining table - we used a dimmer to help reduce the heat...hope this helps!

ah_c

those using false ceiling, can i know is it bright enough at night? How about the temperature, is it very hot for so many small light and if the cost of electric bill high due to so many small light?

lyn6305

Hi Ah_C,

actually i hv abt 20+ light points in my living room and MBR. Find it ok leh & i can choose which lights i wanna to switch on so not very high electric bill. When no visitor then i only on 2 set of lights, 1 is above my tv and the other one is near the entrance to my kitchen. The rest i dun on one unless need to. :p

I also hv dimmer for downlights which are used to shine on my FU LU SHOU. Hee...something my ID put for me without me having to tell her and in fact, i nvr tot of it. Hee...so dimmer helps to control how strong i want my lights to be on my fu lu shou display. Good to hv it and can reduce heat...

vnc

Hi ah c,
I agree with Lyn, I also have around 20+ downlights. It's energy saving and not hot. I like the fact that I can choose where I want to switch the lights on.

lyn6305

Yup, hehe...only the initial cost of buying the lights are expensive (1.6K in lights) plus pay my ID for rewired/putting 32 light points in my house. :p

piggypig

i wanna place my LCD at the corner of the 2 walls in my living room. any1 with similar experience can share how the feature wall / tv console would look like??

jackohy

Hi Jean, can i check with you where you have gotten your coffee table and how much it cost as well as the dimension?

lyn6305

Hi Smellybaby,

Firstly, i dunno how much my timber flooring is cos my renovation cost is one lump sum. No breakdown of individual items. And mine are long timber strip so are more expensive than parquet.

I do not hv swivel wall for TV. I think is Jean and Irene who had swivel wall for their TV. U mite want to find out from them. :p

hi lyn, how much you paid for your reno then... funny leh.. never breakdown cost meh>? good a not ? cheap>? i looking for 1 , can pm me his contact>? thanks

lyn6305

Hi NWC,

I had PM u my ID contact.

No breakdown is good in the sense tat I have a budget and my ID could actually work ard my budget. If they list down individual items like most ID/Contractor did, then they wont be able to do much ard my budget cos every item has a price and they could not go lower than certain pricing. My dad used to be a contractor so he knows. I had consulted him b4 i confirm my ID. :p

My renovation cost is 33K. Then in Jun this yr, we renovate our study room to hv study tables and top hung cabinets, tv console in MBR, coffee table, DVD/VCD cabinets...cost abt 5.8K. So we spent ard 38K+ for our renovation.

jgal

dreamer.. your color combi near the entrance.. very much like mine.. 1 side black black.. the other side wood brown...
did you kena 'comments' from your elders? all the old ppl come my house all complain dark dark..
ha haha ..

jgal

dreamer.. your color combi near the entrance.. very much like mine.. 1 side black black.. the other side wood brown...
did you kena 'comments' from your elders? all the old ppl come my house all complain dark dark..
ha haha ..

acid

on the other hand, breakdown is good, so that you know which area is costly and u can cut on it.

lyn is not wrong that usally the indivual item could go down, but you can get a discount on the total cost

dreamer17

JGal,

no comments from elderly coz i think my grandfather and parents are quite open with it...tat 1 is ok...i did cement screeching for my kitchen walls and common toilet walls....

mayb other elderly see will comment but my parents say nice leh...haha

lyn6305

Dreamer, nice but abit dark. I prefer entrance to be light color. Dark easier to maintain also so a plus point for long term. :p

Is one side of the wall tiled or cement screed??