A Place for Singles

honeygreentea

Wow a thread for singles is so long...but i see married in this thread too...hahah...

Happy New Year everyone!!!! Hope all of us have a more fruitful, eventful year 2007 ahead

salsa_babe

Happy New Year to everyone here!

Hope this year will be a better year for every one of us here....happiness will be here very soon.

crazy_guy

1st workday of the yr..........may all the workdays of the yr be a fruitful n happy one...

happy new yr to all...

oceandeep

hi ggal,
me staying put at current co cos counter-offer...busy but quite challenging. me going for meeting soon.

yr co very rich, pay u to nua...gd life..haha

goooogal

Wah... not bad... got counter offer.. but must look at the prospects and long term too lah. I'm only nua-ing cos my boss is too busy now ... waiting to talk to her :p

crazy_guy

wah estrella, got counter offer ah??..is it as good as the other offer?...

g gal, start of the yr, nuah liao..not bad..bright future ahead...hehe

latino

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO EVERYONE!!

shall we kick start the new year with a NATURE WALK at MacRitchie next sun, 14 jan morning.

simpleman will be leading. anyone interested?

goooogal

ah siao.. my philosophy is Nua while you can... cos when it rains, it pours!! Hahaa...

Latino.. sure.... if someone provide picnic also...hehe ;)

latino

hahah we can picnic if we want to after the walk. hmmm, abit mah fun, there is a cafe there though.

husband/wife/children/dogs/cats, all included.

also keep fingers crossed for good weather.

crazy_guy

wwah g gal, looks like nothing much really can nuah all the way..got things do will be flooding...keke

nature walk??...can be other kinda event or not??..keke

crazy_guy

latino, i dun wan go nature walk, cos i m going back to reservist soon..u know wat i mean right?..LOL....u got any better suggestions??..

g gal, car expo already over liao lar.....

goooogal

Haha.. that's why I say no car expo now lah... so what u wanna do???

Okok since going for nature walk makes you think of reservist.. how about just the picnic.. hehe...

huh? picnic? erm no... u watch too much tv lah... only on tv u see pple bring kids to beach and all the 'family' places... me, wifey and baby Powder cheong taka, suntec, marina type... we are aircon dudes...

crazy_guy

haha...thumbs up to powder..me also air con kinda person, unless go jogging outside etc...

n hor, can dun make it sun morning or not??..keke

goooogal

wahliao... same like my hb... he hates outdoor activities except go karting and paintballing which we tried in Port Dickson.. v fun!

ah siao... u heard of the early bird theory... too late then no food for you!! Actually I'm going for free food only... hahahhaa..

crazy_guy

g gal, i think most pple the same lar..unless exercise or the outdoor sports we like, most of us will avoid non air con place!!!..

n hor, everyone going for free food..where is the food coming from??..hmm

goooogal

Hmm.... doobidoobidoobidoo... :p Haha...

I guess we can each contribute something edible lah...Else those who drive can bring us to picnic at Adam Rd.. Hahahaa...

crazy_guy

g gal, since u no drive, den u also no need to turn up liao lor....keke

wah estrella, good for u...mine cant even come out w a counter...haha

goooogal

Ya.. I agree.. macritchie is so inaccessible for me :p And got mozzies too...

Looks like only Latino, Kopibin and Simpleman are going for the walk! Haha...

latino

wait till next fri then see how many ppl want to walk. interested come, not interested then you can all cheong at aircon places...hehehe

i will take cab there from wherever i am.

crazy_guy

latino, looks like a potential 'threesome' outing for them...haha

estrella, i where got so great??..i just changed a new job, my old co cant even come up w a counter...

G-gal, ever heard my version abt the early bird?

Well, the early worm gets eaten by the 1st bird. so really depends on whether u're the bird or the worm... those who bought their car in 1994 and 2003 shuld know this well... keke

goooogal

Personally I dun believe in counter offers. I think if the co value its pple enough, dun even need to wait for this to happen. Unfortunately I haven't come across a co that willingly and automatically rewards deserving staff before they talk about leaving. For me, so long as I feel there's no prospect, I'm not learning or growing further, I will leave regardless of counter offer. Anyway, how much more can they top the other job offer you find from outside? Double it?? When I said I'm quitting from my last job, my ex co gave me a miserly 11% increment, which is more than double the usual for the rest of the staff. But that's not even trying to counter offer the nearly 40% more the other co is offering me. My philosophy is when you decide to go, it's when you really have made up your mind.. "hao ma bu chi hui tou chao". But that's just me lah.. I will make a decision and stick by it.

goooogal

powder.. I always assume I'm the 1st bird lah... unless got a bigger bird that wants to eat me.. hahaha...

So... ask you. when do you reckon is a good time to buy a car again? COE rising this yr I heard. And I won't need a car till maybe next yr.

crazy_guy

g gal, at least ur ex co still got give double digits increment, mine as good as nothing!!!!....but having a 40% increment is really huge!!!...imagine i got tat i will be smiling all the way..haha

n hor, u should buy ur car based on whether u need it n within ur budget or not, not cos of coe prices lar..

goooogal

ah siao.. I think may need a car when a bb comes lah. So not now lor. But whether bb will come next yr also can't be certain. I think maybe also need a car if my job requires, but not now too. But I dun feel it's worth it if I have to pay a high COE like $20K by the time I really need a car :p

oceandeep

haha...actually i enjoy working in my present co...jobscope, nice colleagues, gd co...i tried the other job to "test water"...wana see what the mkt has to offer..moreover a gd way to gain exposure thru interviews but of cos the process could be tiring...i dun mind counter-offer since the employees will normally end up with a neat sum of increment...keke

crazy_guy

well, no one will know wat coe price u have to pay when u get ur car next time..but let me run through a simple calculation for u..

lets say the diff bt the coe price this yr n next yr is 10K...so u r worst off buying next yr instead of this yr..but wait, r u sure??

by buying the car now to save the 10k (lets say u dun really need), u might end up losing more due to depreciation, car expenses etc, not to say the $$ can be used to invest to yield better reutrns..

tat's y i say, never buy the car now or then based on coe prices.