A Place for Singles

generalist

Bedok,
Christmas shopping for the broken and healing hearts? Kidding me, perhaps next Christmas, I organise a party for all single parent/newly seperated guy/gals. Against the convectional wisedom of a happy marriage/family.

I am fortunate to travel around the regions for my biz trip during this holiday season.

generalist

I am surprise by the number of seperation case in this forum. It is a rather painful experience I suppose. I am thinking of starting a support group more for sharing, exchanging and listening to all our woes so that we could moved on with our lives.

To make it easy and have more access to the broken heart, it can be in the form of chat, forum and get together. I am willing to facilate this means. Membership is free as long as the person fall unders the classification of single parent/seperated/divorce guy/gal.

Pls pass the words around and email me [email protected]. I try to gather the data base to start. I am quite an computer idoit, so anyone one out there that are good in this areas can gives me advice how to host/moderate this site.

Hope to get it started and divert my energy into something useful.

Thanks.......

generalist

I think the invitation should also be extended to guy/gal that are on verge of seperation/divorce.

This is to have dedicated site instead of running through the whole sin bride forum. Sometimes lost in finding the tread for me.

laundry_woes

Hi Gen,
Sometimes other activities keep your mind occupied and stops u from dwelling on your broken/healing heart. If family is not around, frens are a good alternative. I'll remind u abt the Christmas party in 2007 hor.

Yanni,
We lazy. Need someone to kickstart with a new controversial topic. Like analysing whether the lady on the turnwheel thingy at Zoukout on the news last nite was wearing her bikini or underwear under her skirt. Watever it is, I din need tat free show on the news.

generalist

Laundry,
Sure, I actually have makes plan for Christmas and New year party this year. Booked a couple of tables for all happy marriage friends. Alas, suddenly we seperated, have to do all the cancellation and let all my friends hanging in the air.

Life is so unpredictable my friend....

Actually we do have a support group (yahoo group) but it is not very active. It was more active last year in which we even have a time when we chat. Sometimes we organize activities as well.

I have also a multiply group in which I try to consolidate all the information relating to separate/divorce in a single place.

Actually my feeling that a blog-style forum is more suitable. It need not be about divorce/separation - it can be about relationship problem in general.

Talking about christmas shopping, I did went out with my kids for buying of christmas presents. I may be separated but christmas celebration remains the same for the children.

In fact I will have 2 christmas celebration, one with separated-wife family and the other with my siblings. The children love it because they get to receive presents and we get to catch up with the siblings and in-laws.

generalist

Simpleman,
Glad to hear that you already have such group.You are IT expert, so i guess you are light years ahead of me. How to go into the support group? I am new into such forum as I only discover a couple weeks ago when my mind went blank and discovered sin bride.com

If you need help in organising activities, I be most glad to assist.

bedokboy

haha Laundry, you are right. We are lazy. Need someone to kickstart.

Yanni, if you look at other threads closely, the same people migrate there to give their 2 cent's worth. Sometimes the topic takes off and by the time you return from lunch, you would probably have some problem rejoining the conversation. Haha.

yanni

Actually I have been slacking at home for the past 1 week living in self denial.
Its back to work for me today! Guess I have to get on with my life, but its just so hard especially if I'm at home.
Every little thing will remind me of him. We even just applied for a HDB last mth..and next I know is the break up. And funny point is that it wasn't me who wanted to apply for the flat, it was him who insisted!!! arrgg!!!!

kopibin

hey girl, cheer up k? get out of the house, try to mix around, make new friends, before you know it, you are happily enjoying singlehood.. of cos it's easier said than done, but if u never try, u never kw..

bedokboy,

what presents I bought you also interested?

combination of toys, bags, clothings - no electronic gadget this time round.

if a start a blog-style group on multiply (for eg) would anyone be interested in joining?

For singles or singles-wannabe as what gen5 has suggested.

lakopi

Simpleman,
Whats a blog style group? Care to elaborate? Meaning we just blog our feelings abt our cheating partners?

It is just a blog where we can have members joining and all of us can start a topic to discuss and the rest can comment.

And we can choose to allow non-members to read or not.

It is just easier to manage and follow rather than on forum like this.

We can blog about anything under the sun.

laundry_woes

Yanni, mebbe in some twisted way, tat is ur bf's way of salvaging the relationship? Coz my ex was also talking about buying a new car and next thing I knew, he wanted a separation. Errr.. K lor. Watever logic led to tat decision.

Topic about Christmas now har? This year I... erm... erm... eh, why I got no happening parties to go to? Darn. Have to go pubcrawl at Boat Quay liao. Bring a bottle of Heineken and I'll prob be welcomed everywhere. According to the TV ad.

Where's everyone?? I'm going to do my own soliloquy till someone joins in or I get banned from this forum!

yanni

He claims he has a new gf already..just 3days after our seperation.

I do not know the real reason for the seperation, but he did many thinks to make it clear he want me out of his life.

laundry_woes

I meant the application for the flat was his twisted way of salvaging. Anyway, doesn't matter anymore. Move on! Join us for Christmas celebrations then! Erm... celebrated in cyberspace in front of our monitors. So sad. Hahahah...

latino

simpleman, your blog thing sounds interesting. singles meaning what? anyone who was married/attached and now single; or singles who have never been married? then what abt those who are married, and i mean happily married? these ppl are a source of inspiration too, few eg, ggal and powder.

hey, i miss ggal, where has she gone? yeah, and mr powder has gone spraying his 2 cents worth of powder in other threads..hehehe.

Gen5, i like your enthusiasm.

yanni, welcome back to the SINGLES world! time heals all wounds. before you know it, you will be bouncing around again. actually it is quite fun being single. lots of freedom to do lots of things. meet new ppl and learn new stuff.

kopibin

yanni, how's first day of work?

laundry, u very cute! i join u la, since got 2 persons now, no ni cyber celebration with pcs liao. hehe..

latino so late never sleep?? ggal went bkk ma, bt dun kw when she back, anyway she still pop in sumtimes..

generalist

Simpleman,
Have join your multiply by registering under GEN5, but I am damn dumb on this stuff. Maybe need your patience to explain.

So when is the inauguaration?, maybe we should have a party to have some publicity, founding members can have previledge? Just kidding.

kurera

ah siao u just missed a gathering here..which some of them had already met..I only pop by this time to say hi..haa...

now ur new job never block SB ah? kek kek kek

Maybe u can wait for the rest to organise?

Hi jewel
and hi to rest!
436245.gif

crazy_guy

dec baby...i heard from Jewel tat there's a gathering but dunno when...me been biz, no access to this forum to find out...nvm, maybe next time

CAT ah, me at home lar..next wk den start new job..dun think i can surf also..keke

december_baby

Cat, ur dancer so cute.

Ah siao, join us for the next gathering. U can always check this forum when u are home at night. All the best to your new job!

crazy_guy

hi december baby, me hardly come into this forum liao, n coming home from work always tiring, wanna rest (maybe getting old liao)..haha..but will sure join in the next gathering if there's a chance..

err..btw, did we email b4??...i emailed b4 with a gal nick starting w december..but dunno is it u or not..keke

kurera

ah siao..hor miah at home..haa

december baby..jewel was the one who gave me the webbie for the cute icons..ha..but u better pm her for the webbie cos too many pple know the webbie...not special anymore..haa

is ggal back from her holiday ah..how come she not here now? ummm...

crazy_guy

CAT, not hor miah leh..i just got a few days rest to start new job..wished i have more time to rest..

kopibin, u think i m trying to pick up december baby??..no lar..i indeed xchanged mails with a nick start with dec b4, but not anymore..

latino,

Not really. Everyone should be welcomed. Maybe we all can come out with a nice name (to name the blog or website) then we can start it rolling.

The purpose is for all like-minded people to share and have fun. I would say primarily for singles - either divorce/separated/never-married or and attached or happily married or otherwise if they are interested.

gen5, not to worry too much. Once we have sufficient interest, I will invite them to join it and we can just start by sharing on how to use the website to share info.

As for inauguration, yes, when we have more people we sure can start one - perhaps an outing or a gathering.

jewelmelody

CAT! you so cute in this Spanish dress ! hehe..
ah siao ORD mood liao. he change job for a better greenery.

My AWS wil bank on on 16 dec..

laundry_woes

Latino, CAT, G~gal still on hols. 2 weeks mah.

Kopibin, why u wanna celebrate Christmas with me for? No hot dates ah? Come, I arrange for u. Heheh.

Jewel, no, u cannot join this thread. U all very cute leh. Must ask permission one meh?

Ah siao, ya, I show u my Evo9 if u come to the next gathering. Venue will be at the C&C showroom. Wahahah...

goooogal

Hi boys and girls, I'm BACK!!!
Had a great 1 week holiday in BKK and about 4 days in KL. Was suppose to be in KL longer but we miss our cat :p Bought tons of stuff and ate lots of great food. We even made a stop at Port Dickson where we had half a day of great fun with our frens, go-karting, playing paint ball and trying our hand at archery. So how's everyone??

yanni

hahaha,
Have been shopping and going out like crazy after my breakup!
Retail therapy really Rocks!
But its doing a hell of a damage to my wallet!!!

Currently still trying to adapt to the single life! Its really hard at times & I'm tempted to call him like a million times a day.

Currently working part time, but thinking of taking a break until the end of the year to settle my feelings. But at the rate I'm going on, $$$ is gona be a HUGE problem soon!
=p

oceandeep

hvnt been here for awhile...hi to the "new birds" yanni, gen5 & the "old birds"...welcome bk, ggal. recharged for the new year ya!

latino

yanni, i understand what you mean. but if i were you, i wouldn't stop working. you need to keep yourself occupied. try not to be alone. if you are too idle, you will think of all sorts of things, sometimes unnecessary stuff. try doing things with your friends eg, do some charitable work, take up a hobby or a sport, take long walks. exercising is good for a tired mind and a broken heart.

if you like nature, there are nature walks organised almost every weekend. look up the papers on fri or sat in LIFE section. you can meet new ppl there, like you met us here on the forum.

perhaps you like to start your own journal ie writing your thots down on paper. your frustrations, your needs, your plans...etc. this can be very therapeutic.

just few suggestions. i am sure there are more. i know you will do fine !!

laundry_woes

Ah siao, errr... cannot. My Evo9 for show only. Eheheh...

G~gal, welcome back! Where's my present?

My boss hor, give bonus give until very unwilling one. Been making us work our butts off. It's the festive season! Where's the giving? Gimme time off!! Heheh. I make it sound as though doing work is a rare occurrence for me.