A Place for Singles

rara

thanx salsa and skylar. actually i typed that becos i'm hoping it's really only 2ppl cos more ppl means more competition :p

haha anyway it's possible that he only had a few to choose 2 from!!

goooogal

Phew... finally got a breather from work. RaRa, good luck for the 2nd round... You can Do It!!

Diana, I'm actually not excited abt being a mummy yet. Dilemma...dun want to be too old but dun feel ready also. :p See how it goes...

All sensitive to the word old ah.. whahaha..

Van u r 25? tat is young leh!

Ggal,
u preggie ah? or planning to be a mummy soon?

laundry_woes

RaRa, no doubt u can train ur alcohol tolerance, but dun force urself lah. U're not missing out on anything. & ur liver is still in good, working, donatable condition.

Salsa, excuse me. Mocktail has no alcohol content. Wat is ur fren getting drunk on? Got cute guy around so she pretending izit??

rara

dear peops, need advice.

the 1st co i went to on monday has offered me the job. now what do I do?? do i accept it first while waiting for the other interview?

if i sign the letter of acceptance already can i still reject later? what's the usual penalty in such an instance?

but i should accept first right? the offer is not too bad and it's not a given that i'll def get the job at the other company.

aiyo...

salsa_babe

Rara....tho' it may seem not rite to do such thing....but it does happened. Have seen it myself.

Yes, you can reject...even up to the day you start work. Usually, no penalty.

But I thot you said the 1st job is rather dry?

cherryapple

Rara,

But ur other comp next interview is in 2 weeks time, not sure ur 1st comp can wait until then ma. If I will u, I guess I will take the job, since the offer not bad and u also not sure whether the other comp will offer u the same.

Timing is always the problem when comes to accepting and interviewing.

nessa81

I also have a job interview today and tml...but prefer the one today as its my old company but different dept. and different job scope. and its in the east but tml interview is higher pay then my current job and its in the central...

And to say that in 5 months i b moving to west side so east side is a bit far...

i afraid both offer me then i dunno what to do...

rara, if you do not have reservations about this current job offer - then don't think too much. If you have a reservations, then you really got to think what are your reservations.

You are already thinking about considering another offer before starting on this new one - I just think you need to think about what you want in the first place - not just the pay but the overall.

Try to be professional. If you accept it in good faith you should stay on unless they have mis-presented certain info. Otherwise better not to accept and wait again.

goooogal

RaRa, I think you can tell the 1st co that you're considering as you have other offers. Then ask can you reply by a certain date. BUt if you're not keen in this job at all, then might as well just reject and try to get the 2nd one? Cos no pt even if you get this job as you may not want to stay on in the end.

Skylar, why did you say I'm preggie? No I'm not! My colleague just came back from maternity and gushing about her bb. Encouraged me to try for one. I'm still thinking abt it... not in a hurry and think maybe can push back till 35 to have a kid. But my hb dun want me to have a kid too late cos it's more risky. I'm not really ready too cos I still haven't done a lot of things I want to do like travelling. Besides, I dunno who can help look after the kid. Certainly not my parents and I dun like the idea of leaving to my ILs. Dun ask me why. Other alternatives if get a nanny or maid but we dun have budget for that. So.. dilemma lor.

september

rara, actually nt nice to accept and sign letter first then reject wen 2nd one offer u. as for penalty it depend on wat term and condition is stated in the letter of appt u sign.

can u delay the signing of appt letter and inform the 2nd one u got an offer see if they can arranged the 2nd interview earlier?

goooogal

Ya I agree with Diana, it's not really good to sign then reject. If possible delay the signing of the contract. Dun be unprofessional. Always make sure there is good will.

september

in fact from wat i noe, if the industry is small, words will spread de. like in shipping, ever got a gal accept a job then change her mind and stay in her current company who counter her. so another colgis told me at least for few yrs she cant apply else where liao, coz words will spread and people wont consider her liao de....

rara

Thanks for all the advice. I understand what u all mean and I don't really feel good about rejecting after signing too.

Just fyi, I prefer the 2nd job better, but I don't mind the first job either. Both are jobs with growth opportunities albeit in different ways.

Things are complicated because the 2 jobs are handled by different agencies. I have decided to be truthful and tell Agent A that I am keen in the job but am actually waiting for another offer, and see what she suggests.

But before that, I will call Agent B to let her know that I have an offer from another co and try to find out more about the package offered by the 2nd co. I don't think it's possible to bring forward the interview date becos the ppl interviewing me are flying down from japan HQ.

My friend suggested that I try to delay the reply date. I guess just be truthful and see what the agents say.

cecilialim

rara.. ya agree with the rest...

so full after lunch... cant help dozing off.. shouldn't have woke up to watch man u match.. lucky they won..

wahh.. back from lunch only so many qns liao ah.. ekeke...

Sm,
no lah.. coz u r the oldest mah.. kekeke..

Ggal,
coz u were mentioning abt BB lor so i thot u preggie..

Cecilia,
u also stay up for Man U ah! kekeke.. me too!!! they rockz ah! today panda eye come to work lor

cecilialim

haha! most of the ppl here are man u fans.... powder also..

salsa, this morning was man u vs ac milan. champions league semi finals first leg..

skylar, must watch la... man u leh.. kekeke... but actually they were not that good.. defence was sloppy. only turning point was when the midfielder of ac milan was substituted... then man u had the chance to win...

nessa81

my FH watch the match a pity i didnt
...but i get updates from him since both of us big MAN U fans...actually i told him y not we wear Man U jersey for ROM...but i think ROM will kick us out LOL

Wahahaha... Siao eh.. u like tekan urself leh.. whahaha.. joker lor u..

Rara, think he got many kids all ard the island ah..

Ggal,
me not yet too.. kekeke..

Cecilia..
ya lor.. i was still worried leh.. coz kaka was ard man!! then ManU so many injuries.. haiz.. but heng lor.. this is a must watch game man!