A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

sharebear

hi calla,
ur house is real nice & cosy! gd effort there in creatg a romantic settg

i also agreed with u abt buying some deco items like table lamps, flr lamps, vases, branches fr BKK. I just went in jun and bought 3 table lamps, a candle holder, and a plate for less than $70. if we were to buy these in singapore, it would've cost more than $100. a pity i felt that the flr lamp is too difficult to bring bk, if not i would've bought too. as for the vases, i also wanted 2 buy wat u bought, but in the end didn't cos v lazy 2 bring bk too & tired of bargaining. come 2 think of it, wat a waste!

wenshi

Hi calla,

Except chatuchak mkt in BKK, whr can i get a nice floor lamp ler?
Wah, u bought lotsa things from BKK. How u manage to bring them back?

sailormoonwt

hi not & nas08 ... tks for sharing with me the info ... i tink i probably will try out at OM furniture at Joo Seng Rd first..

nas08: hey..i didnt hv time to check out tis thread until nw...as i m going to do some window shopping on L-shape sofa tmrw afternoon & morning i need to work ..no opportunity to check my mails even if i PM u now....so i probably will PM u after tmrw if i dun fancy anyting frm OM furniture...

hi cha_alex: tks for the link .. will go read them

sailormoonwt

wenshi: lady...u can try at Suan Lum Night Bazar..they hv very funky & nice lamp shades...for those tat u see in Balestier Rd..u probably can get them cheaper at BKK..
i tink there was a write up abt BKK hideouts as to where u can get nice & cheap home & deco items in one of the mag - Home & Deco .. i tink it was march or april 06 edition...

roxyz

Hi Sailor
I bought my L chaped sofa from Seahorse. I bought mine at $688 but they are having promo now.. $499 but of course there is not spring. But I find my sofs comfy enough.. always fall asleep on it heee...

Hi cha
Nice dining table I love red!!

Hi storeberry
Yes.. carried everything back by hand.. luckily hubby was there to help. We bought 2 big vases,4 sets of branches.. plus the floor lamp and doggy bed etc.. and lotsa bags.. really bought a lot of tings. Luckily my trip was biz trip so fly SQ, the stewardess etc all super friendly and helpful in helping me keep the luggage. My hubby flew tigerairway and they refused to help!

Hi Jac
Yes, BKK has ltosa good bargains hor. Might be going there again soon, but tink there's nothing to buy already...

Hi Wenshi
Suan lum mkt also sells such stuff but they are more expensive than chatuchak

sailormoonwt

morning everyone!

i went round to check out some places for my L-shape sofa...cant fancy anyting i like... *so sad*

went Lorenzo...OM furniture...Luxury Home... Home2Be... V.hive ..noting leh... esp the Luxury home...i saw tat adv on sat papers..went all the way to Bedok Industrial Park..aiyo, their so-called showrm so small...inside less than 10 L-shape sofas...duno if its their moving out sale or someting....

went Liang Court...saw someting we like...after discount is $1680...its a funiture shop on 3rd level.. shop name starts with a Y .. (cant rem the name...) but we wanna browse more before we commit wor...

hi roxy.. tks for sharing with me tat... do u hv a pic tat u can show us here?

roxyz

Hi storeberry

Sofa is fabric material and has no spring inside, hence the cheap price. But we have been sitting on it for a year plus already and so far so good. It's more gold colour than beige and the fabric is a bit rough but comfy. When friends come over, we can sit 5 of us comfortably on the sofa..we even tried sitting 6 of us on the sofa before :p

nas08

hi cha_alex

thks fr the price....

anybody in here know how much it costs to put in sawn timber or those planks like 6-7 pieces with veneer as dividers?

wenshi

roxy,

I bought my L-shape sofa from seahorse too! I quite like the design, but i haven't received yet as my house still under renovation.

nas08

hi cha_alex,

now my wifey interested in those vertical solid timber room dividers.

i saw stars n sharlene house pics, they used the horizontal wood room dividers though.

any one knows how much are these two types of dividers???

jgal

nas08 ... there are some very nice cheap ones in mustarfa. I saw on the 2nd flr.
its 4 panels and i think it <$200.

nas08

cha_alex: me doing ala carte for the whole house.

so asking my carpenter but its abt $130 a piece. solid timber with veneer 2" x 4" x 7 ft. i need abt 5 pcs. wondering if anyone can quote me lower.

pics coming out soon i hope... saturday furniture coming in...

jgal: dun wan those carry and can spread out wan... need solid timber and fixed.

gregina

I like that step ceiling!!! showed to my FH but he went....errr....no sorry, u can't have it
*sulk*

anyway, does anyone knows where to get those wooden bath tubs? I heard that Thailand sells them...any idea?

dreamer17

Sorry abt the low quality pictures...coz i use my HP to take...once completed the shall use digi cam and post it here...

Btw my reno havent finish...abit more to go...

Hi Love Me,
Wat do u mean by risky? the wooden planks i have is call chengai...its meant for outdoor usage...so ganna water no problem anyway they will be laquer over it...

jgal

yeah.. i believe when it all done it will be very nice
heehee..It's has the raw and outdoor look
bali style

I think wooden planks are durable. Just think it will hide small insects in it.. but.. it's okay if you intent to have a powerful wet &amp; dry vacuum.

dreamer17

my hse theme is resort...tats y..hehe

will change my master toilet light to yellowish so it looks better...white light does not blend well...

also waiting for my fountain in my living room..

twinnie07

oh yes.. water may seep thr the wooden planks. How to maintain it and keep dry? Probably the next hse i will do it ur way.. (if only hubby allows.. hehe)

dreamer17

hi...i think i did not spend much on my reno...abt 27.8k for all reno including my air mitsubishi 3+1 and all electrical points.

as for the wooden planks, the gap between the next planks is quite small so water to sip thru quite minimise...unles u splash pail of water at it...either can put a floor mat juz outside the shower area or try to dry before steping out of the shower area...

jgal

aiya.. hee hee .. cha_alex.. that's the worst case scenairo.. he ehee ..

Hope it does not happened.. err..dreamer, i recomm you to buy insurance.. hee hee

wenshi

dreamer,

wonderful house! think u really spent quite alot on it wor. So eager to see ur house after renos complete.

dreamer17

Thank you all for your wonderful comments...

cha_alex...

there is a small opening somewhere behind the toilet bowl...and its being done in a way flush smoothly so u guys wont notice it...so if anything i still got a drainage...

all this plan before hand by my ID.......hehe

crown

dear ladies,

do you mind sharing with me the pictures of your bedroom? i will be moving into my bf's house after we ger married, we're thinking of renovating it. Need some ideas