A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

wisqix

Hi Kim,

Are they new photos? Different from those you posted here earlier? May I view too?

BTW, love your drawings too. Think you can draw really well. Especially the lalang one.

madeinjapan

white_peonies , Wisqix you've got mail.
372709.gif

stellarm

hi jean, very very nice!

may i ask are the walls painted black? the color combo is simply great! who's the ID? and how much did u spend? if not convenient to say here, can PM me?

thanks a lot!

ooh..and i'd juz like to add, your photography skills also bery good. hehe..

finesse

Hi Stella, Jhoo, acer and schnauzie,
Thanks for the compliments..

The wall is painted dark grey (ICI heritage), not black. The colour is suggested by my ID, Judy from Space Vision. Our reno costs $23k.

Square basin is $190 and the waterfall tap is $85. The leaf-shaped sink costs $190.

Err.. the grass and pot is a pot from office that nobody wanted, so... sorry i dont know how much it costs... ;)

Okie, will post more pics when the house is more done up !
Thanks !

ferre_vivi

Hi Jean,

Wowow ur house very nice like designer house.
Is ur 4 or 5 room.
Your 23k reno include wat?

I like ur dinning table where you buy ur dinning table and how much??

Keke soory for so much question'

finesse

Hi Vivi

No prob.. always glad to help other new home owners like ourselves.. we had a lot of queries when we started too!

My place is 5 room resale at Jurong West
My $23K includes roughly the following:
1) Revamp of kitchen (all cabinets and flooring, but not wall)
2) Revamp of both toilets (overlay wall tiles and redo flooring, toilet bowls, sinks, vanity tops, redo plumbing, ie. all hot and cold pipes and installation of 2 tempered glass shower screens)
3) One study room with built in day bed (beside window) joined to a study desk with top hung cabinets. Also one full height wardrobe with sliding glass doors.
4) Painting of whole house
5) Full height shoe cabinet at foyer with seat for wearing shoes
6) TV full height feature wall with 90 degree swing-TV mechanism
7) Electrical works
8) Full height black glass as divider from foyer entrance
9) Hacking of kitchen entrance and installation of full glass entrance

The following were excluded cos we salvaged from ex-owner
1) Bomb Shelter - we just painted over
2) Flooring (laminated flooring for whole house)
3) Some window grills
4) Semi-walk in wardrobe in MBR
5) False ceilings and L boxes for whole house

I've to admit that the ex-owner left us the house in a very very good condition.. thats why we were able to salvage a lot of things and keep the cost low

The Manhattan Dining Table is from Cellini and costs abt $700 plus after discount. Think it is on promo now. I had another forum fren who went to buy after saw ours.. and she managed to get another 10% off! (maybe cos she bought 1 - 2 more items) so if u keen, go before the promo is over! I saw many other similar tables elsewhere but cellini one is kindda the cheapest and nice one i think!

jhoo

Hi Jean, my new home at JW too..but its first hand...can share with me the pricing of your toilet items u have mentioned such as the vanity top, overlaying of tiles? me thinking of doing up the toilet too
..by the way, where did you buy the sink and vanity top?

stellarm

hi jean,

thanks for the info. may i know the brandname of your sink? also the brand of the taps?

so your ID source all the items for u? or u buy separately and then get them to install for u?

how did u find your ID service overall? this is the one located at Thomson Rd? wld like your feedback, coz i'm shortlisting IDs at the moment. thanks!!!

tingtingz

Hi jean!

I love ur toilets...they're so beautiful!

Where did you get the leaf-shaped sink from? And u also mentioned that u have 'TV full height feature wall with 90 degree swing-TV mechanism ', i'm looking for something similar too due to space constraint. Can you advice me where can i get the 'swing-tv mechanism'? Do you have any pics to show on how it looks like? Can you email me ur house photos?

thanks alot.

finesse

Hi jhoo, stella, tingz, aspialle and lushqueen,

We bought the leaf-shaped sink from Adamas, a shop along Balestier. It costs $190 and I think the model no. is TR4048WB. Its in the shop on display. Should be able to see it. Brand of taps I'm actually not very sure.. they have a lot in that shop.. jus need to choose the design u like.. the chrome tap with the leaf sink cost $75. The waterfall tap with the square sink costs $85 and is from Poh Joo along Jalan Besar. The square sink is from Lookz at Balestier and costs $190 (But i saw a replica one from Hoe Kee costing only $90! *heart pain*)

Vanity top is done by my ID - 5 feet and is $450. Overlaying of wall tiles in both toilets cost us $2400. Redoing the floor riles for both toilets = $900. ID brought us to the Adamas shop and then installed for us. But my advice is go ard and search on yr own too.. may be cheaper cos ID may get a cut. I found cheaper and nicer items at Poh Joo. But the leaf sink only available at Adamas. Other places like L+Pheno sells at $300 plus!

My ID is quite ok overall.. service quite prompt and follow up is good. Design wise alright.. but for me, i gave my ID 80% of my ideas instead of her coming up with them. But Space Vision overall did a good job with my place and I'm pleased

Tingz, the TV feature wall done by my ID too.. cos they have one at their showroom and we wanted it to swing over to dining area when we eating. I'll try to take a pic of it soon

Aspialle, the dining light is from Lite Vault at Jalan Besar.. i think is $280.. its on promotion.. used to be more ex..

K.. i'll try to upload more pics soon

finesse

Hi Schnauzie

I don think the table comes in 6 seater. The one in the picture is already the bigger one. Think its 170cm. And nope, doesn't come in round shape. The chairs we bought separately from another shop.. the chairs for the original Manhattan series are more classic.. so we didn't get it.. we wanted the more modern look

finesse

Hi Stella

At the moment bedrooms still empty.. haha.. nothing much.. kk.. when i go up this weekend i take some pics and show u all the 'nothingness' haha

Hi Schnauzie,
You can try Cellini at Furniture Mall or the Loyang Branch (its a bit far though, but they have most of the range at the Loyang Branch)

madeinjapan

JEAN.. ur kitchen is very modern n beautiful!
full stainless steel backing, wow!!
by the way saw this salt n pepper shaker, i hav tat too heheh..

lyn6305

Hi Furla,

Yes, my house is done by them...hehe...my home reno was completed in late Dec 05. Now in progress of getting them to do some more things for us.

fiona

Hi Lyn, just curious, how thick is your solid surface top? And is it expensive? How much pfr?

stellarm

hi lyn,

wow, very nice kitchen u have there. is the wall backing glass?

i cook alot, hmm.. white is nice, but hard to maintain?

can share with me how much your kitchen costs?

thanks!!

lyn6305

Hi Purpleblur,

Thanka! Have to thank my ID...

I find my kitchen very easy to maintain...cos my backing is glass so just use a wet cloth and clean over it can liao. No hassle. Suit us working class...hehe...

lyn6305

Hi fiona

My solid surface top is 4" thick. I prefer to hv thicker surface top...looks nicer. Alot of company only give thin top so i dun really like and they asked us to top up money for thicker tops...which we dun want. And my ID said they give their customer standard 4" surface top...hehe...

Hi Stella,

Thanks. My backing is glass. Makes my kitchen looks bigger without top hung cabinets. Glass is easy to clean...just use wet cloth to clean over will do. This is wat i do after cooking a meal. hehe...

I cant remember the cost of my kitchen...hehe...will ask my ID when i meet her the following week. Let u all know again.

lyn6305

Hi Purpleblur,

Sure, np. Will ask then update u all. Hehe...

At first was quite skeptical tat white is hard to maintain but then my ID introduced me the MAGIC SPONGE and wow...amazing, can clean off stains easily hehe...so good to use.

schnauzie

lyn ! ur kitchen is very chio! my id will be installin the carpentry next week..i cant wait to see how my house will turn out too! wat magic sponge did u use? is it those jap ones from isetan which don need the use of detergent?

finesse

Hi Lyn

Wow! Your kitchen is fabulous! No top cabinets do u find prob storing stuff? how many ft is yr kicthen cabinets? Very modern and classy.. who is yr ID from Intradesign?

lyn6305

Hi Schnauzie,

Yup...its those magic sponge selling at Isetan or other stores...no need for detergent one...hehe...my ID bot for me when she handed over my home to me...so nice of her!

Hi Jean, thanks. My ID is Angeline from Intradesign. I find it ok and enuf for me to put my things. Still hv rooms for more things heee...my kitchen is ard 17ft...an L-shaped. Next to my hob is my fridge.

stellarm

hi lyn, wow, i must go and find this magic sponge then! hehe..

hey schnauzie, do share your kitchen pics when its done okie?

lyn6305

Hi Stella, ya ya...and u can get this magic sponge in Giant or NTUC too! Hehe...even my wet market is selling them leh..became so popular now.

acer27

hi Lyn,
i would like to buy the magic sponge but not sure which one. does the packaging has the word "Magic SPonge" on it? and what colour is it?

lyn6305

Hi Acer,

Hmm..the packet can be red or yellow or blue in color and it has japanese wordings on wrappers. The sponge is white color...see attached.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
magic sponge
sponge.bmp (17.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

zoeanne27

This magic sponge is very good to use. Very easy to clean off stains etc.. But just be careful.. it breaks into small pieces easily.. dun rub with the sponge too hard