A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

sweetiebear

Hi Sweet and blursotong,

Can share yr love nest pics with me? My bear and I has jus bought a flat in Sengkang..

Thanks !! [email protected]

apostles

Hi cool,

Thank you. :)I got my lounge chair from Star Furniture and the lights in Balestier. I cannot remember the shop name thou.

apostles

Hi ivy,
thank you so much...:)

I wanted to get your MBR lights then too. Nice lights. I like the glass concept for the study area. How long have you stayed in there? You've also prepared beds for your guests in your guest room. My guest room is filled with boxes now.

stars03

I would love to see all your pics of yr home. Can u please email me at [email protected]

Here is some pics of our hm too..We did the entire renovation ourselves. No interior designer..So satisfied with the overall results.
The carpenter is simply great! Thanks to him for our hm..

305301.jpg

305302.jpg
305303.jpg

kopi_siudai

Hi stars,

As I have mentioned in the other thread that your contractor did a great job ... didn't realise that the plans + design comes from your innovative ideas.

Wow! I salute you! Not easy to co-ordinate. How did you do it? Tough lah. Takes a lot of effort and time you know. And to bring across your thoughts and plans to the contractor is also a challenge.

Finally, you can sit back and relax ... the complete house renovation is a great reward for a job well-done!

I've since written an email to you already. Hope you received.

stars03

Hi Jac,

Yups, our is a 5 room resale flat. Nope. We din get any ID. We actually engage a sub contractor to do each different parts. Etc, carpenter to do all carpentry works, contractors to do the flooring..
Well i can intro u to the carpenter if u r interested.
But afraid i cannt post his contact here, coz if not, think it will be like i am advertising his services and moreover he is a subcontractor hence not too nice to post here. If u r interested, juz let me know via email okie..

Hi Kopi,
Yups i have receive yr email already and also drop u a reply mail. Let me know if u din receive okie.
Ya it is a lot of hard work but i must admit that we would not have done it if not for this subcontractor! He is very experience and he offers us alot of advise. His price is not those super cheap kind but it is the quality and workmanship that u r paying for. Coz sometimes some carpenter will take advantage of pp like us who knows little and give us carpentry works that is inferior, like using compressed wood for the cabinets. He wont. He show us the quantity and explain to us everything.
The rest of course then depends on us lor..Like chosing wood materials for cabinets, sometimes he will advise us to choose something else if he knows that this colour will not turn out the colour that we want. So all in all, he is the one helping us alot as well..Hee hee.. But it is very rewarding to know pp telling us that our home is very cosy and nice.. ;P

kaye

hi stars,
thanks for sharing your photos...
how much U spend on yr reno alone, lightings & wiring?
do U ve yr MBR photos to show too?
Is the 2nd photo yr living rm? Or is a relaxation rm?

btw, do U know where to get cheap curtains & toilet accessories?

stars03

Hi Hazel,

Hmm as our hm is a 20 yrs old resale 5 room flat, hence we actually did alot of renovation for the whole house. We re-wire the whole house electrical, hack away all the flooring in the whole house, plaster the whole house and paint it. Then we started the renovation. Well lets juz say that the quote we got from ID for doing everything is about 60k coz our kitchen is very big and we use granite top instead of korean top for the kitchen and both toilets also use granite top for our vanity and basin top. We also did parquet in the 3 bedrooms as well. Rest is homogenous tiles. We also use full blum systems in our kitchen.

But by doing it ourselves thru sub-contractors which my hubby found, we save 20k. And we also have alot of custom made furniture done by the carpenter whom is very good and the price is very reasonable for that type of good quality work. Hence no complains abt the carpenter at all.

As for the MBR, we haven took any pics yet.. ;P I cant rem which is the 2nd pic. If it is the one with the hanging lights and the long dining table, then it is our dining area. The pic also show the passageway to our rooms. If you are talking about the pic with the daybed, then it is our balcony.

Hope it helps.. For curtains, i actually recommend a couplr of brides to this person who is actually my hubby friend mum. She does not have a shop hence her prices tend to be cheaper. The curtains which u saw from the pics are also made by her...if u r keen, drop me an email and i will share her contacts with u.

Cheers ~~

richard79

well of course, the $20K saved for DIY will goes to ID for his/her speciality work and that is design and coordination.

Depending on personal preferences and committments, both myself and my wife are working full time and we just don't have the time to coordinate the contractors' work. Also, if we need specific designs like resort-style, contempoary, minimalistic, we need to engage these people to design unless they can't do better design jobs than myself ( * actually i've encounter some of them).

hi Stars, perhaps you can share with us how you manage the contractors ?

stars03

Well, like u said it depends on individual preference. Coz we wanted specific design which is resort style and most of the ID we went to, after we tell them about our ideas, they juz simply use the ideas we told them to draft an initial sketch of the design and then quote us based on our ideas. They din even contributed any extra special designs. Then in the end, we felt that no point to pay someone to do our ideas.

Well as we are not in a hurry to get the renovation done, we took our time. Actually it is my hubby who will manage the contractors. He has contacts for each individual contractors and hence each contractor will have a date whereby he does his scope. Meaning that say etc for a week, the flooring contractor will do his job, then after his job is then, then my hubby will get the contractor doing wiring to come and do it.. As my hubby runs big projects for companies, n hence he knows how to coordinate and manage a group of peole. The only bad thing i agree is that it is very time consuming and we have to do alot of works ourselves like going to places that sell tiles and choosing the tiles we want ourselves and then tell the contractor doing the flooring what particular model no of the tile we want..More hard work and effort but the end results is worth it and saving $$ is always great. It feels great when u see the finish product and know that this are yr ideas and hard work...

stars03

Anyway juz want to clear any doubts that i am a contractor or anything. I am in the sg brides thread for a while alr and will be getting married this yr..u can find me in the other thread esp the brides thread. I am juz sharing my experiences and satisfaction in doing the renovation ourselves. N if in the process, anyone need the contacts for any of my contractors, i dun mind sharing but i wont opening post his contacts here coz i am not advertising for him or anything..

acer27

hi stars,

Your house is cool
what's more is that your house layout is the same as mine

Can you share your contacts or quotation with me?

do you have the size of your new storeroom? I am thinking of hacking the existing storeroom to enlarge my MBR coz the MBR is rather small.

stars03

Hi Acer,

I dun have the dimensions of my new storeroom, but u can see from the 1st pic i posted. IT is the whole wooden area that u see that is behind my dining table.. It is actually a store room. The doors can be open.
I have drop u an email regarding the contractor alr..

Hi Furla,
You got mail.

Hi Hazel, i forgot the include the pic with the curtain. Here it goes.
305795.jpg

Hi stars,

wow, very well spent 40k on doing up your resale 5room. How about taking a pic of your re-constructed storeroom from the dining area if u got time...hehe...as cant really virtualise it

apostles

Hi stars, you've got a lovely home. "Pei Fu" that you did it without a main contractor and deal with all subcontractors. Clap clap...

stars03

Hi Hello,

Actually u can see my re-constructed store room from the pic i posted mah. The wooden panel behind my dining table is my re-constructed storeroom.

Hi Blursotong,
Thanks thanks.
I would not have been able to do it without my contractor n carpenter.

Hi stars,

yours is considered 5A or 5I?

hey, not forgetting your capable hubby who done a great job. Its really not easy.

kaye

hi star,
4get to ask for the contact no. who makes ur curtain.
pls email to [email protected]

Thk U

btw, granite will stain easily, rt? must wipe immediately when stain else it will absorb into the granite...
thats y I chose solid suface top instead of granite. I quite granite but no choice...I m not a hardworking pax..wont wipe so fast when dirty.

my hse would start reno next mth...so excited

acer27

Hi Stars,

Can you tell me how many window panels does your re-contructed storeroom cover? then i can roughly tell how big is your storeroom. Thanks