A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

kopi_siudai

Hi blursotong,

Yes lah, can tell from the way you do up your house, you're indeed an oriental girl at heart. And a nice person too, hor? As long as your hubby don't mind oriental decor, that's fine.

Your hubby is fortunate that he has a wife who has good ideas and good taste for the house reno.

You know, I've seen some close friends of mine who actually have disagreement over house reno and decor. Can be a problem. That is why, it is important for hubby and wife to have a common theme, then no quarrel.

If cannot agree with common theme, then try to compromise a little bit here and there, lor. Quarrelling can be a tiring process.

By the way, where did you buy your furnitures from?

racherlle

hi blursotong & sweet!

care to share with me ur home pics?

limay

Hi sweet, are u the one who mailed me going by the email angelican? Like ur estate, looks peaceful...u have a different concept from ours, nice clean lines & v modern.
Hazel, have mailed u our pix.

rachelcheng

hello and acer,
My reno excluding furniture, aircon, electric wiring etc its about 25K. I asked my contractor to do wiring for whole house, so I will exclude that for your reference if you dun need that.. My house consist of diff flooring, living is homo tiles and the rest laminated. Balcony and kitchen another type of tilings

apostles

hi hello, i do not know how do i activate that. I am an idiot with computers.

why dun u drop me a mail at [email protected] and then i will email you then. :)

Hi Kopi, you make me fly to the moon. ehhehe..ya my friends too have quarrels over the reno and over wedding preps. Thankfully so far, my hubby and I did not have big quarrels yet thou we have small disagreements on ideas but we talk it through nicely lor.

I must say my husband has got good taste too. Alot of the items now we put in our home is all done and arranged by him.

Hi Rachel,your home is really beautiful. *thumbs up on the decor. :)

Hi bigtoes, how much is the mat?

limay

blursotong - the mat was from US. Had to get it shipped to another local address, then from there to Spore b'cos most US companies do not do international shipping. Total cost all in was about S$100.

limay

Hey Hazel, thanks!
We got some of the ornaments in Spore, but the bulk from overseas. I travel about once every 1-2 months & make it a point to get some shopping done..hehe...like the chandeliers that u see in the bedroom/study room are from Boston..thats the biggest item I lugged back (alone!) but the rest are usually just small display knick knacks. Problem is that we are now running out of place in the apartment!

kaye

No wonder,
Its gd to travel alot...U can see diff cultures in diff countries...
U carry the chandliers back? hand carry?

apostles

Hi bigtoes, you are lucky to travel so often. is it for work? Your mat really costs alot ya. You are super woman to bring back chandeliers.

Woman are like this ya, when they like something they will get it and drag it back no matter how tough and heavy it is.

limay

Hi blur,
Yah, i travel mainly for work, but do make some holiday trips each year. Going to Cambodia next weekend!! The mat was actually quite cheap - think it was about US$20, but it all added up with the shipping & delivery.

Yes! I am precisely like that - when I like something, I will definitely drag it all the way home, regardless of how heavy/bulky. hehe..
Its especially the case bcos things are so overpriced & the selections so limited here...like the chandelier in my lounge (bought in Spore) was 2-3X the price of the one in the bedroom (lugged home from US).

ahfaye

sorry gals, me not sharing out photos liao since kena spanked by hubby yesterday for sharing out phtoos
unless you are keen in looking for contractors then i will share out.. hubby said needs privacy.. sorry yea gals.. for those who received my photos please keep it to yourself ok! thanks

pretty sandy,
thanks.. reno around 30k. resale 4R.

hazel,
my contractor brought me to buy those lights lor.. all lightings spent 1k+

apostles

Hi bigtoes, so good that you can shop quite abit during your work trip. There is one year i went to US and hongkong for one month, I lug back 80kg+ of stuffs with my hubby.

limay

Eileen, will mail u in abit.
Blursotong - 80kg? wow, thats like bringing home the bed! Hope u didnt end up paying alot for overweight luggage. The only thing I bought from HK this year was a small terracota warrior set (i think u can see it in the photos). Will be going to US again in Oct, but dont intend to buy anything else cos we dont have space!!