A Meeting Place for New Home Owners!

bea

Welcome to this new thread...

Hope to meet more new home owners or soon-to-be owners.

Let's share some great ideas..

kk

Hi Bea,

My new flat is at Sengkang. Now still under renovation.

Nice to "meet" u

hi hi, just moved into our new place a week ago...our excitement hasn't worn off yet! such a great feeling.

currently, still unpacking our stuffs...afterwhich we'll probably need to give the apt a good "scrub".

these days, all i want to do is to shop for hsehold stuffs!

Y

yi

hi bea, kk, kpo and pigpig,

me also a proud owner of my love nest @ jurong west!

my house is fully renovated but yet to shift in coz customary dinner next jan. so treating it as a chalet during PHs and weekends!

nice to mett all of you! hi, kk mei!

catz

hi Bea, kk, KPO, Yi and pigpig,

I've had my new home since Feb at Pasir Ris... it's great having our own love nest. I think I spent a bomb at Ikea but soooo much fun!

bear318

i shall join in too.
got flat at sengkang. renovating soon. very excited. nice to meet all of u. hope we can discuss lots of interesting stuff eh.

Y

yi

hi catz,

me and hubby oso spent alot @ ikea but think our biggest investment is the sofa set from melandas @ S$2880!

hubby always scare i go ikea bcoz i want this and that! hehehe i like to buy bedsheets too but not frm ikea coz the quality not good, aussino ones are nice and comfy!

like wat you say, real great to have own house!

Y

yoyo!

Its great to have a love nest. Just moved in not long after my customary abt one mth back. Its a headache to do the cleaning....

Have not got the furnitures for the living n dining yet. broke liao. heheheh

decbride

Hello All,

I got a re-sale at Pasir Ris, still undergoing reno. Should be finishing next week. Lots of things to do! Cleaning, Shopping for household stuffs. Bought most of my furnitures already. Now just waiting to get my house ready for it.
Excited but tired also.

gwen

Hi everybody,

Guess I'm the most "junior" here. Got my Sengkang flat a few months back but will only start my renovation few weeks later. Also very excited coz almost all the designs are out already. Waiting to see the end result.

But i took the GSS opportunity to get stuff for the new house. Hee, it seems that Yi and I have something is common. My biggest investment so far is also the sofa. A leather $2980 sofa from Da Vinci.

flowee

hi gers

i am a proud owner of a flat in sk...
neighbour 2 kk mei...

hvnt finalised my id yet...
reno works shall commence in sept this yr due 2 5% gst in 2003...
nice 2 meet u gers here...

bea

Hi all again,

Just went to Melandas over the weekend. They have nice stuff and stuff that I really like and want

I am still waiting for my keys. Will be collecting next week. Reno will likely start later this month.

Think I am the nearest to Pigpig...CCK and Bt Panjang

Yep, I agree that it is nice to start out with your own house, if possible.

Must have pple over too regularly, then have "ren qi"...haha

kk

yi jie,

i still have not tried taking the ikea bus from sengkang to ikea.. hahaa.. only available on weekends.. so guess will need to take the bus when we need to buy things for the house after reno.

We end up chatting in so many threads.. haha..

gwen and bear318,

my flat at rivervale crescent, blk 18x series. Same as flowee jie. There is also a mei jie, but dunno whether she will catch this thread or not.. heee...

bear318, where's urs in sk?

pigpig

hi yi

i oso got a l-shape sofa from melandas, cant rembr the price, spent abt $4K there on my dining set and coffee table. quite angry dat they have delayed my coffee table again. waited a mth liao now say got to wait again and cant confirm how long. so sian... how to have hsewarming when hse not complete?
scared hse old oredi still cant get it...

hi bea
ware u staying at CCK? near yew tee mrt stat?

mei

my flat is at Seng Kang, Rivervale crescent.. hse renovated oredi..staying over dur wkends oni..
neighbours wif flowee n kk...

yi n pigpig
i got my sofa, coffee n dining set from Melandas too! but 4got how much i spent oredi.. oni know veri expensive... but their quality is quite good!

pigpig
they r quite prompt in delivering lei... maybe juz ur luck lo...

i've oso got a lot of things from Ikea.. think I've spent abt 1K there oredi... stil haven finish buying..

catz

hi yi,

very easy to spend $$$ at ikea 'cos everything seems so cheap but when you get to the counter, small things add up to a few hundred! :p

spent a lot on my sofa from idealhome and had so much problems with them.. ended up without a lot of furniture when i moved in... pek chek! anyway, now sorted out and having fun putting little touches to my home.

as for bedsheets, i love peri bedsheets but damn expensive. my bed's from melandas and i love it! it's got leather backing... i think it's called hagen, if i'm not mistaken.

ha...so many of us got our sofas from melandas! proud to say that mine is the cheapest so far..@ $900+!..it's a 3+2 fabric sofa...got it @ a sale from Melandas HQ..it's SOOOOOOooooooo comfortable..everytime i sit on it..i'll start to feel sleepy..will end up sleeping in it!

bought tonnes of bedsheet sets from robinson...great variety they have there! took advantage of the GSS and bought some pretty good sets.

ohh..i love window shopping @ ikea too...so many things to look @! but i've never gotten any big pc of furniture from there before 'cos i've seen my SIL's ikea furniture getting all warped and bent after 1 yr!

catz

Hi KPO,
Didn't do much shopping during GSS... overspent the previous months 'cos went to Sydney. :p

I agree that Robinsons stocks a great variety of bedsheets. Lucky thing I've got the store card so I get extra 5% discount.

I didn't get major furniture pieces from Ikea, just little bits and bobs like kitchen accessories, lamps etc... I get lots of good ideas from seeing how they organise small spaces too.
The only major thing we bought there was a DIY table as a makeshift desk and a filing cabinet.

KPO, you got married before I did right? Thought you had your place long ago?? Or you bought a new place?
Sorry me so kaypoh too...heheh..

pigpig

seems most of us got stuff from melandas and ikea. must agree with KPO melandas sofa beri comfortable. always fighting with my hubby with the l-shape side. feels like lying on the bed. quite shiok!

oso got some stuff from ikea. oredi went there 4 times since i start buying things for my hse (not counting those times we went b4 we got our hse juz to look c)! major thing is a study desk and cupboard to contain all my pigs. simply love them! dats y i nick myself 'pigpig' mah.

bea

Really active pple..

Agree that Robinsons have stuff. Bought all my plates/bowls/forks/spoons there when the sale started. Keeping it stocked up at home till the house is ready.

As for bedlinens, gotta wait a while. Still contemplating between a King or a Queen size bed. Under pressure then will decide :p

Love the Aussino range though. Went to the store at Paragon on Sunday...walked and in and walked out again...Too crowded and it looked worse than a flea market...Things were all over the place..

I am living rather near the Yew Tee MRT. Selected the flat during the recent walk-in in May. Getting my keys next week.

jul

HI gals,

Guess I'm the only one staying in Bukit Batok... hehehe.... starting renovation next week and spending all my free time with the ID to buy stuff now. Really exciting but tiring, I agree.. we have not bought any furniture yet; keeping our options open. After all, moving in only in December.

kk

jul (wyverns),

happy renovating ur house! Every decision made will be an exciting one

I dun think need to buy furniture that early lor. Maybe buy them when the flat is almost ready or even after.

catz

Yeah, don't rush to buy furniture 'cos you might see something that you like after you've placed your order! I got tied up by IdealHome... big regrets. The only thing I didn't regret was my Melandas bed.

As for King/Queen sized, I actually wanted a Queen but my hubby insisted on a King.. kinda regret 'cos firstly, harder to change sheets and secondly, we always run out of duvet (he pulls the quilt, I pull it back)... feel that it would have been more ideal to buy a queen bed and a king-sized duvet/blanket. hehehe...

linda

Hahhaha Catz,
My toot is like yours again!!!! And you know what? I got a queen bed and a king quilt and he still steal the whole quilt at night!!!!! No use!!!!

And Bea, as for Aussino bedsheet, sign up as a memeber of the website and get regular emails on its sales (normally at Trademart). It is really worth making the trip there. I got embroidery quilt covers at $19,90 per set!
All my quilts covers are from Aussino sales. :p Can only afford then.

My house is a 5rm resale at Woodlands. Anyone here?

joanne

i am like Yi, staying in jurong west. i have just started my house renovation. in fact i have already bought furniture for my whole house. all from cellini during a promotion. my bed is fr dunloppillo. i bought a lot of bed sheets from GSS too... moreover my office is just at specialist shopping centre, my hubby really hard to cope up with me as i kept buying... hehehehe... my house already stored up alot of things to be brought over to my new house... already becoming a storeroom already... we are buying the sona fan from court at a sale price of $88 too...think got to keep it in my house again.

my mum is providing me with all the kitchen hardware... ehheh good thing save abit... hoping someone will sponsor a fridge or cooker or washer.. ehheheheheh

how about all of u ???
i am getting married in this dec, so will shift in after that...
regd
joanne

bear318

never thought of buying stuff and preparing for new house leh! me blur blur...kept thinking get reno over then go shop for stuff. is it really a gd opportunity to buy during GSS? is there great discounts? goosh...if there are, then i better go do some shopping now!

hi kk & sengkang pp,

my place is at anchorvale rd. kk, got bus go to ikea fr there meh? i only know abt the bus to market. hee...

catz

Hieee Linda,

Aiyoh, jialat... our toots so similar. Lucky thing they're not the same guy... heeheheheheheh... So you're the same as me...every night got tug-of-war!

Yah, bought my stuff during last year's GSS. Was a bit kiasu but couldn't resist 'stocking up'. I think it's a woman thing. Men cannot understand our need to shop when we don't need anything hor?

kk

joanne lim,

my mum also sponsoring me all the kitchen utensils. If not, i would not know how to go about buying those stuff.. heeee.. i will be using my mum's fridge... but too bad, still got to get washer, cooker, hot pot, etc.

bear318,

for this GSS, i only managed to catch those small items like floor mats, bits and pieces of kitchen stuff, etc. Didn't really go for big items like electrical appliances. But i guess offers are everywhere. And it seems like shopping centres and those big names are having sales all year round, not only during GSS..so not to worry

Yesterday then i heard from my hubby got bus go market. What market is that??

yah, got bus to ikea. Just take the bus from the interchange. The bus waits at the bus stop just outside the interchange. It is an ikea bus. 2 hours interval. I can't remember from what time to what time liao. It starts at the opening hours of ikea i guess, till evening.

catz,

Yah lor. the things i bought during GSS this year, i stock them up at my hubby's place. We are going to move them over when we move the furniture in early Aug.

shirsweetiepie

Me going to be a new home owner-2-be as well!! :p

Feeling excited and is beary looking forward to it.

My love nest will be @ Sembawang, any1 staying there as well?

jul

Hi joanne lim,

I'm getting married in Dec too! Your place is probably quite near mine in Bukit Batok... we figure we'll be going to Giant quite often in future! =)

How come u gals buy things when there's no place to put them? Hahaha... later got to shift everything to new place... I'm trying to spend money on the reno first, then get the small items later. Finances a bit tight with all the expenditure. We do enjoy window-shopping, though!

kk

Jul (wyverns),

Very excited about new house, that's why get all the things before moving.. kekekee.. anyway got to buy sooner or later. And can't resist temptations when u realise that the price is cheap and start to wonder whether u can still get that price if buy later.

I heard that if the cabinets @ love nest are bigger, the things u buy will be more and buying will end up as an endless process.. hahahaa..

joanne

hi jul
one thing like kk says, i am very excited about the new house. secondly, now is GSS mah... thirdly, if not...... next yr GST 5% if they go through then everything will be really expensive... so kiasu abit buy and stock first. hubby so cannot understand why i want to buy everything first... moreover still need to spend money on my wedding as well.
but to me i rather buy things here and there.. now and then... at least it will not be too much to buy by the time we move in.. hehehhe

regd
joanne

kk

joanne lim,

yup! next year got 5% gst. although not big big difference in price, but a little plus a little here and there going to add up to a lot! So i am thinking whether i should get the washing machine, etc by this year end.

We also need to save on customary wedding next year end.

Yah rite. I see anything useful, i will get them provided the price is reasonable and affordable. Of course must be practical too.

hey catz,

yeah..we oso bought lots of stuff from robinson..hence, decided to apply for robinson card..just got it via the mail last week..yippee..it means more shopping!

oh..we bought a new place. previously, we were staying @ bukit batok..have moved to pasir panjang a couple of weeks ago...still in the process of unpacking and cleaning up...very tiring!

hi Wyverns,

guess wat? IMM was our fav shopping place when we were staying @ BB (so near!)...actually, it's still our most fav shopping place 'cos there's so much things to see and buy...and food too! definitely much better than westmall.

but hor...giant is wayyyy too crowded during the weekends
my hub and i will go very early on sundays for breakfast than shop @ giant...usually, after 10am...the place will be jam-packed!

just to let you know..there'r lots of electrical appliances shops ard bt merah area with very low prices..do check them out! i bought my samsung fridge @ raffles electrical and the price is a couple of hundreds cheaper as compared to best, courts etc.

Y

yi

my hubby oso cannot understand why i keep buying when our love nest seems well-stocked already! hehehe

he keeps saying we only have a bed why buy so many bedsheets! somemore i buy aussino ones and ask him whether soft and comfy or not, he say he cannot feel or sense the difference. tatz y i ask him to sleep on the floor then since he cannot tell the difference!

btw, barang barang having additional 10% discount so you gals can go check out any hsehold items for the house!

just went shopping over the weekend and bought some items for the house too! love the householf fair by takashimaya at B1, got lotsa of items to see and buy!

catz

KPO, congrats on your new place... i agree, unpacking is really tiring! thanks for the tip regarding the bt merah electrical shops.

hi Yi, yeah, my husband was very puzzled 'cos i'm very particular about the threadcount for bedsheets...nothing below 250 for me! he says he cannot sense the difference.. haha.. all men are the same, unless they're gay, perhaps..kekeke...

just to let you guys know - there's a barang barang warehouse at NTUC Downtown East resort in Pasir ris... discounted stuff and it seems to be a permanent shop. The additional 10% applies there too.. saw some v nice pieces there, incl wooden-framed laundry bag, accessories, sofas etc...

bought some stuff at the last day of tangs sale yesterday. damn crowded man..

talking about bedsheet sets..bought so many during this GSS! the king-size Elle bedsheet sets of 310 threadcounts for $59..good buy! bought many aussino sets from plaza singapura..quite cheap 'cos of sale...so nice and soft and comfy!

i just can't stop buying hsehold stuffs..hmm, what else shld i buy next

oh..btw, where can i get pretty carpets (not too expensive!)? i'm looking for long narrow ones and a round one (of 6ft diameter).

oso...anybody has any recommendations for good and cheap curtain-making shops?

linda

Hahhaha.....Women all alike...always like hamster stocking things up. Kekekkekeke
My hubby also say one bed so many sets of bedsheets and quilt covers..... kekekekke...but he didn't complain when frens say they were nice.

And I kept buying small frames to put pics, decorative items, hangers, clothes pegs.....everything.....hahahahah...while my man still couldn't figure out how to use the washing machine.

And yes Catz, I have to 'prepare' myself b4 bedtime every night for the tug of war. I usually lose cos my Ah Toot will roll WITH the blanket with him whileas for us women, we roll UNDERNEATH the blanket.....

kk

yah, it is always cheaper to get electrical appliances from neighbourhoods rather than those big names.

Now i really restrain myself very hard not to get any bedsheets at the moment. Coz i dun even have the bed! hahhaaha.. but *sigh* very difficult to resist "temptation" leh. I walk everywhere always see those bedsheets on sales

Ask u all gals hor, bedsheets size all standard wan har? For example, for queen size bed, whatever brands i buy, all the sizes the same? or i have to be cautious and take note the measurements?

Linda, do u drill holes on ur walls to hang the frames? I think no matter how thorough we have planned and asked the id to make the holes for us, eventually we still need to drill holes ourselves rite?

And gals, where to find nice bright coloured door mat for the house entrance? I dun like those selling in OG and metro. The colours are pretty dark!! And i couldn;t find pink

kpo, i just settle my curtains at one of the shops at Tampines neighbourhood.

catz

yah loh... yesterday night, found myself without any blanket so i growled really loudly and yanked the duvet really hard. bochap..hehe... terok man... you're right - they roll with the blanket but we roll under it.

kk, not all bedsheets are the same size. if you buy a thicker mattress, then you need to note the gusset of the fitted sheet. for e.g. i bought the simmons grand victoria which is 14" which leads to a problem when buying bedsheets. so far, only peri sheets fit my bed. even friven cannot make it! sigh... it's usually the european brands which make bedsheets for thicker mattresses.

for door mat, i chose practicality so i bought those 3M ones which trap dirt. couldn't find anything nice, even at ikea.

kk

catz,

Husbands roll with the blanket maybe their body area bigger.. hahahaa...

simmons all come with thick mattress?? i am thinking of getting simmons mattress next year. Too bad robinsons having a great sale for her simmons mattress now

So for ur case, what brand of bedsheets u bought?

where do u get the 3M door mat?

gwen

Hee, it seems that there are many Aussino bedsheet buyers here! I'm also one of those who were grabbing the cheap cheap bedsheet sets during the Aussino sale.

Now looking for cooker hood and hob. Gals, any suggestions? My budget is below $1K.

tee hee..laughed when hearing your "tug of war" stories! having foreseen the problem..my hub and i have adopted a 1-blanket-each policy!

hi kk,

i actually checked out some neighbourhood curtain shops 'cos i thot they might be cheaper as compared to those @ the shopping malls...but turned out to be not so true leh. for just day curtains only...most shops quoted $850+ to $1000+! i find it expensive.

we had lots of pics to hang...so we bought a black & decker drill which works wonder! quite easy to use..can drill and screw. if you are into DIY projects...a good electrical drill/screwdriver is an absolute must! with our drill..we even managed to hang 3 huge wall mirrors all by ourselves.

catz

hi kk,

i think guys are just more 'chor lor'... worse, sometimes, he will 'kiao ka' in his sleep which makes the duvet go all to his side. KPO so smart!
but looks very weird with 2 blankets leh..

not all simmons are thick... mine just happens to be SUPER-thick. i think the normal back/beautycare can use most bedsheets. for me, i use Peri which is damn expensive so i've only got 2 sets of bedlinen. think you can wait for robinsons sale next year to get your simmons... i got mine from there but i ordered about 4 months before the wedding and 'cos i paid by instalments, when the price dropped, they refunded me the difference! so it's quite foolproof, ordering from robinsons. alternatively, you can get your mattress from the simmons warehouse - sometimes you see the advert in ST.

you can get the 3M doormat from most DIY shops.. quite standard.

gwen, i think Mayer has a set package for hob and hood.. you might wanna check it out. i think they've got interest-free instalment plan as well, for citibank and uob. for citibank, i think there's a 5% discount.

hi catz,

why weird leh? oh..we don't use duvets...just quilt blankets..when not in use, we'll fold them and tug them under our pillows

when we go travelling...staying in hotels will mean having to share the duvet...both of us will have trouble sleeping the whole night!
probably next time...we shld bring one extra blanket!

catz

hi KPO,

for me, i'm used to the angmoh style of just spreading the duvet over the bed... not folding tt's why it will look weird with 2 duvets.

hehe.. you can always request for extra blankets from the hotel.. must keep a lookout for EXTRA king sized duvet..hehehehehe..