A Meeting Place for New Home Owners!

Y

yi

hi kpo,

thanks a million for your info.
ya, i think inclusive of quilt cover,sure very expensive! :p
you bought any elle bedlinen b4?

hi joanne,

i bought my 2 table runners from robinsons at S$16.90 each. other places sure very expensive wan! saw a place selling one for abt S$39.90. dun c y spend so much on a piece of slim material for decoration!

what else did you buy?

bea

Oh dear What happened to everyone?

Bz buying bedsheets/table runners?

Haha...sale over liao...

Come back...come back...

catz

hehe.. i was wondering the same thing! the thread kinda disappeared over the weekend.

you very cute

piglet

where else can i find table runners except in robinsons? cannot 2 ex one lah. beri broke now after reno... wan something to match my grey/silver/white theme. pls help!!!

bea

Hey all,

I just found out over the weekend that sale is still on at some places.

So u all may still be shopping

I have bought the stuff for my house over the past 2 weekends.

Got my stuff from Melandas/White Collection. Harvey Norman.

My reno starts on Monday. Yeah!

catz

Hey Bea,

So what did you get from Melandas? Wow.. sounds like big shopping!

I'm still on the look out for my ideal carpet.. did you see any nice, simple carpets? Haven't looked at Harvey Norman yet so was hoping you've seen some nice ones.

Y

yi

the thread is alive again! Hooray!

me attended a wedding at beaufort last weekend and was also working last sunday, real sian and tired!!!!! Beaufort was so nice but foods not very good lah! ;p

my hubby has finished painting the 2 untreated wooden frame we got from ikea and i have displayed my posters at my new place liao!

yesterday, i bought another aroma burner and essential oil for my new place. so happy but hubby complain say love nest got lotsa of burners liao!!!!! actually, itz true lah, think my new place got 6 + 1 = 7 burners liao! me siao hor!!!!!

catz

hi Yi!

Thought Beaufort would be quite high standard.. guess I was mistaken. Had my wedding dinner at Rasa Sentosa and my guests really enjoyed the food. During the food tasting, the food was quite bad but I think we 'whack' until jialat jialat so that's why the food on the actual day turned out better.

What colour did you paint the wooden frame? I like the natural woody colour leh... only thing, if it's not varnished, it tends to collect dust more easily.

Aiyoyo.. I only got 1 burner.

Y

yi

hi catz,

beaufort ballroom and ambience is nice but food not good leh!

o, hubby paint the frames in dark walnut colour which is my favorite and blends into my house theme! itz easy leh, he done both within half a day! still have paint left so might be getting some more frames! hehehehe we never vanish it too!

hehehe, tatz y hubby complain love nest too many burners liao! ;p

bea

Hi Catz,

Got a bedroom set (bed/night tables/lamp/bedlinens & quilt cover) from Melandas. Upgraded to a King size after ding dong-ging for quite a while.

They have nice carpets there. Saw some with good solid colours. Price range $39-$99. Think can have a look if you are interested. If convenient, go to the HQ at Sungei Kadut. Can shop better...not many shoppers

I have no burners in my house. Hubby has a sensitive nose. Will sneeze when such things are around.

Got a low coffee tabble for my cosy corner aka study room. Walnut border with frosted glass. Looks like I like frosted/tempered stuff a lot

Lots of cleaning to do

catz

hiya girls,

walnut is really dark right? kinda like wenge? i bought mainly lighter wood colours 'cos i don't like wenge - too dark. like Bea, I've got a heckuva lot of frosted glass..hehe.. tv console, coffee table, dining table, master bathroom sink.. so you've got another fellow cleaner! At least frosted is easier to maintain than clear glass. Wah lau... stains/watermarks show up very clearly on clear glass! My shower screens for both toilets are clear glass. Tired man... :p

Bea, thanks for the tips.. will go and see. I think your bedroom set sounds very worth it leh. My bed is also from Melandas.
Very happy with it... but I didn't buy the set.

bea

Hi Catz,

Whew! Good to hear that frosted is ezier to maintain

I prefer light colours too.

That is the only walnut colour I have (low coffee table) becos of the nice contrast. The cushions are beige coloured. Cosy corner must feel cosy.
Lazy I mean :p

catz

Hey Bea,

Yeah, same as me.. mine all light wood and beige colours.. for that cosy feeling.
Lazy I mean..hehehe... Frosted doesn't show up with all those awful finger prints etc.. dust also doesn't show up so badly, unlike clear glass...ARGGHHH!!!

kk

catz,

hi!! we seem to lose contact in the other thread.. kekekee...

how are u?

catz

hi kk,

hehe.. yeah the cooking wok thread kinda died over the weekend huh..

so bought anything new? did you manage to get your vacuum flask?

me ok... been so stressed at work that i developed really bad gastric so i'm on ulcer medicine. :p *sigh*

kk

catz,

hmm..when is the last thing i told u i bought? kekekekee..did some shopping over the weekend and bought lots more things.. haha.. but little little ones lor.

this weekend need to wait for some delivery and then buy some household stuff.. and clocks!

vacuum flask.. yes.. i got from joo chiat...the shop there sell stainless steel stuff quite cheap. i spent around $18 on the flask. it is the very traditional type. i tested liao. very good! hot water can remain hot for 2 days

Yoo..do take care ok? i also have gastric problem last time.. but minor one.

catz

hi kk,
i think the last time we chatted, you bought more bedsheets! Hehehe... Wow.. I'm impressed that the flask can keep water hot for 2 days! What does it look like? Very obit or not?
Oh, what items are you waiting for this weekend? I really hate waiting for delivery/repair man.. always late!!! Waste one whole day waiting for them *sigh*... the only people on time were Melandas and Mayer.

doremon

I am also a new flat owner, now currently looking for renovation contractors. Any good ones to recommend? Thanks!

gwen

Hi doremon,

I would like to recommend my contractor Lawrence from Archi-Fran. HP: 98736647.
I find that his prices are attractive and his services and quality of work are good. Though he's a contractor, he provides design ideas too. And i personally find his suggestions practical and nice. He is also very easy to talk to.

kk

catz,

oh yah..bedsheets.. we only bought single bedsheets mah.. kekeke....

dun intend to get queen size bedsheets now coz we dun know wat will be our mattress next time..

Not obit lor..the vacuum flask they improvise on it. Becomes more "modernised".. hahaa... i dun mind lor.

i find that only big names are punctual. that time i bought stainless steel products from songcho -chicken brand.. very punctual;! earlier than expected time

this sat delivery of safe, putting up curtains and installation of the stainless steel racks by id.

next sat then deliver tv console, dining table, study table and mattresses.. kekee...

did u buy metal racks for ur storeroom?

doremon,

i can recommend u mine if u want

jenjen

hi gals, back on the topic of bedsheets... my mum bought another $150+ bedsheet sets for me... i now got 4 bedsheets and quilt cover sets... no bed yet though... :p

catz

hi kk, jenjen,
No leh.. big names definitely NOT punctual or maybe I'm just thinking about IdealHome. :p

You ordered a safe? Hey, actually I wanted to order but haven't gotten around to doing it yet. Which safe did you order? Electronic or manual combination? For electronic, need power point issit? How much ah?

I didn't buy metal racks for store room.. instead, I bought Ikea and hubby DIY'ed.

Jenjen, haha.. everyone seems to have gone overboard with bedsheets.
When are you moving into your new place?

kk

catz,

kekekee..dun know leh. so far i have no problem with big names :p

yes, i ordered a safe from diplomat. actually if u want a safe, check it out at home decor shows at expo over weekends. diplomat will set up a booth there most of the time and the deals will be very affordable and reasonable lor. the price definitely cheaper than u buy outside. i bought one for around $580 and it weighs around 80++ kg. Manual lock as we dun like electronic number lock. electronic need power supply meh? kekeke.. yah hor, maybe hor :p luckily never take. kekekee..manual one neater to place in the house

oh..the thread has been revived!

have been busy lately so haven't been coming into SB..how r things?
some updates, bought my plants from this nursery called Corona (near SIM)...17 pots in total!
my place looks like a mini jungle now! most of the plants are still doing ok...i've been diligently watering them. however, one of my bougainvilla plant is drying up 'cos the sun is too strong...trying my best to revive it back to its former glory.
got some rugs from ikea..as well as lots of tealight holders (we overdid it!). good thing about ikea is that the little things are really value-for-money...bought the shoe rack (i'm sure everyone has one at home!!?)..so cheap and functional!

catz

hi kk,
i was thinking of just getting a small safe, like the ones around $300... yeah, manual is neater.

KPO, fwah.. 17 pots! goodness! do you like gardening? i think bougainvillea needs shade, if i'm not mistaken. i know what you mean about Ikea - it's so easy to end up with a $100 bill at the checkout and wonder, how did I spend so much?! You talking about the blue / red plastic shoe racks which can be stacked?

hey catz,
oh..not that one..the one i got is the unfinished wood one..can stack up oso :p i've seen it in so many ppl's houses! haha
i don't really enjoy gardening..hate getting soil in my fingernails..but i love lots of greens in the house!! my parents came to visit and they thot we overdid it..i got one tall palm which i put at a corner of the living rm! quite huge!
don't think bougainvilla requires a lot of shade..but i know too much/harsh sunlight is bad...all the leaves have dried up
but i'm not giving up yet..have been giving it lots of water..this morning, can see the tip of the branches turning green..which is a very good sign of revival!!! wish me luck!
ohh..love those scented candles and scented packs from robinson! bought many of those..one scented pack for every wardrobe compartment and drawer...so sweet smelling!

decbride

I'm also looking for metal racks for the store room and fake plant (fern types).

I figure fake plants are much easier to maintain.

Anyone know where to get them?

catz

hey KPO,

ohh.. yeah, saw the wood one but I thought cannot stack up? they were out of stock when i was looking for shoe racks so ended up with 6 bright blue ones.
i would rather have wood though, to fit in with my theme. the blue looks like for kindergarten kiddies!

i hate gardening too.. till today i still haven't got a single plant in my place! good luck for your bougainvillea!

i bought scent balls (the wooden ones) from the scent shop but the scent's run out already.. my hubby cannot tahan - he sez they make his clothes smell like he's wearing my perfume..hehehe....

kk

catz,

yah, diplomat has small safes. during promotion, cost around $200++ only.

hi catz,

can stack..works the same way as the blue/red ones. heehee..i oso thot the blue/red ones a little too kiddish.

i've used scent balls before...agree that the scent is not lasting and it makes a mess..the scent packs are more effective and lasting..the ones @ robinsons are cheap.

i'll buy the more musky scents for my hub..he likes them.

catz

hi kk & KPO,

thanks, will go and check out when i have the time.

KPO, *sigh* can't believe there wasn't any wooden ones when we wanted shoe racks! n'mind, quite cheap so I don't feel so bad throwing away...hehehee...

my hubby doesn't like any scent on him... he thinks it's wimpy.. given up explaining to him already. :p

bea

Hi again,

Dropped by Ikea today. Have not been there for a while. Saw many nice stuff to buy for my house when itz ready.

Saw the much talked about wooden shoe racks
Saw a nice mettalic one too
Cannot buy them though. Having a built in shoe rack.

Looks like we girls really love bedlinens and quilt covers. Got a set when I bought the Melandas Bed. Will go shop for the Aussino ones when my house is ready. Nice and colourful

catz

Popped into Ikea yesterday. Goodness, so crowded we had to park across the road at Anchorpoint! Ended up buying a lot of stuff, including big big items like mirror and curtain poles so it was a really hard walk back to the car. Spent about $300 in less than an hour. :p Hehe.... So who else went shopping during the weekend??

bea

Hihi back,

I bought lights for my house yesterday...

Spent $1500 for the entire house...

Think long term whenever I need to spend $$ for the house...

After that thot, the heartache ebbs away

catz

Hi Bea,

$1500 not bad for lights for the entire house what... I think mine came up to about $2300... Just now, my colleagues and I were just talking about downlights - just realised that it will be a nightmare to change bulbs! :p

Hehe.. the heartache still with me 'cos 7 months after the wedding, we're still broke! :p

Still haven't found my dream carpet and telephone stand yet.

kk

gals,

wow, looks like u gals spend a lot on lights.. kekee..for my lights, we only spend around $500 :p

catz,

i have not found a door mat for my main door entrance. Dun know where can find nice ones

catz

Aiyah, bopian, did downlights so end up with a lot of bills to pay! :p If just put overhead, should be cheaper but as Bea says.. just think long term... hehe..

kk, you didn't go and look at those DIY shops ah? Just go and get those 3M ones loh.. practical and you can choose a colour to match with your front door.
Ikea doesn't have any nice ones. I like the 3M ones 'cos they don't slide everywhere...

kk

catz,

oh yah, i think u told me before u have 3M mat.. kekkee.. i looked at it already. Pretty plain with just single colour. Got those nice nice with cartoons on it wan? kekkee..

oops..popped by aussino last night when we went to paragon for dinner..bought more bedsheet set, towels, blankets etc! i just cldn't resist!!! saw this really sweet daisy (literally in the shape of a daisy) floormat..very cute! comes in many colors.

catz

Hiya kk,

no leh, didn't see any with cartoon characters. usually those with cartoons are for toilet mats right?
me, i like plain plain... that's why i chose 3M! hehehe..

KPO, yeah, i saw the aussino stuff.. damn nice! i bought the matching pyjamas, bedroom slippers...

kk

catz,

yah lor, so i bought two cartoon ones for my toilets

Got those with "welcome" wording.. kekeee. but siao meh, where got pple put welcome at door wan. It is like welcoming everybody into the "shop".. kekekee...

aussino got pyjamas and slippers????
where u get them?

bea

If wanna count all in for lights, then must say I spend abt $2800. The $1500 is only for the loose ones. Quite happy with the choices though

catz

Hi kk & Bea,
Hahah.. yeah, didn't really like Welcome mats... but I never thought of it as welcoming into the shop... hahaa.. you ah...

Aussino got pjs at Tangs/Robinsons.. you know lah, my fave hangouts

Bea, oh yah hor.. forgot about standing lamps, table lamps... *gulp*.. think I don't dare to count how much I spent then! Where are you staying?

jenjen

Hi gals, I spent about less than $1,100 for all my lights... that's including 29 downlights, 11 halogen, 2 ceiling lights for bedrooms, 2 ceiling lights for bathrooms, 2 pendulum lights for kitchen...

Catz, didn't see ya qn up there... will be moving in only after my wedding, which is in Nov...

bea

Haha Catz,

Have not included those either.

Hi jenjen,

My lights are :

Living - 1
Dining - 1
Bedrooms - 3
Cosy corner - 1
Kitchen - 2
Corridor - 3
Storeroom - 1
Bathrooms - 2
Vanity Top - 1

The down lights for my lightbox are about $1300.

catz

Heya everyone,

Looks like we all spent a bomb on lights! Sometimes, it's too scary to do a summation of the grand total spent! *gulp*

What does everyone think of the new CPF ruling? Looks like private property will become more attractive and HDB less attractive since soon, you have to pay 10% downpayment cash for both. No more incentive to buy HDB since the cash terms are the same. Should've waited to buy my pvt.. hehe...

V

view

Hey all,

Private pty sounds good but then we are only paying for exclusivity. If need to buy private, then must buy big.

HDB is still value for $$. At least there are more spacious flats than condo apts.

Went house hunting. Some condo apts are really small and paying the such an exorbitant amt.

Stay in HDB first. Buy condo when older. When dun really need that much space

No offence to condo owners

dew

Hi Catz,

I thought the 10% downpayment in cash only applies for private property? HDB also? Was there an official announcement?