A Meeting Place for New Home Owners!

catz

hi decbride,
thanks so much for the suggestions.... will go hunting this weekend if i've got time.

KPO, your place sounds fantastic!! I don't have much of a view 'cos my apartment's only 4-storeys high and i'm on the 3rd floor. Is it a resale or a pvt apt?

hi catz,

it's a ptve..we got it from an auction (mortgagee's sale). the view attracted us to it..we even get to see the sunrise from our bed.

catz

hi KPO
where did you find out abt the mortgagee's sale? after reading kiyosaki's rich dad poor dad, was very inspired but dunno where to find those 'bankrupt auctions'.
wow... sunrise from your bed!

hi catz,
u can find these mortgagees' apt sales in the classifieds (usually by companies i.e. DTZ, Jones Lang etc.)..if you are interested in the particular property..you can arrange to view the property and obtain details regarding the auction date/time/venue as well as the bank valuation of the property. it's also impt to try to get some backgrd info regarding the property from the property agent/neighbours or do your own research. we had this experience whereby we were really keen on this hse 'cos the price was really attractive..only to find out later that the property has a gruesome history of the husband being murdered by the wife, who was then hung..the murder took place 'cos the wife wanted to have the property to herself!!! we freaked out completely.

decbride

Hi KPO,

That's scary.
How much did you pay for yours and what is the floor area like?

I was looking at some of the ads as well, but not sure can buy or not cos usually such properties are those that have "problems"

bear318

anyone has things like any brand of hob/stove, air-con and vaccuum cleaner to recommend. thanks! now at a lost as there are so many choices!

catz

Hey KPO,

wo.. so scary! no lah, i itchy backside only lah.. my apt is brand-new and we're paying off too many loans. just wanted to know just for info so next time (long long time from now), when i've got the $$, can buy 2nd property..
wouldn't want to live in a apt with a past - too creepy! sometimes, ignorance is bliss!

bear318, i think there are many threads discussing hob/stove etc in detail... for me, i bought my hob/hood/oven/washing machine/tumbledryer from mayer. vacuum cleaner i bought kaarcher which i'm very happy with.. aircon came installed with my condo - sanyo brand, so far so good.

hi catz,

oh..for us, we're ok with resale as long as the apt's past is not as gruesome as murders, deaths etc

where's your place exactly?

Y

yi

hi kpo,

your appt. really sounds fantastic leh! with seaview and sunrise view! envy~~~~~

hi catz,

been to ikea last nite and spend another S$130+ there again! bought some roller blinds and decor items! hehehehe

although itz a weekday, ikea also quite crowded leh!

catz

hi KPO,
my place is at Pasir Ris, next to the resort so we're next to the beach, although no direct beach view.
very pleasant 'cos we get pleasant breezes and have the resort feel 365 days a year.
dunno, never lived in an 'old' house before so i'm fortunate that i bought mine straight from the developer. call me picky... :p or just plain chicken.. hehehe...

hi yi, yah loh, cannot resist ikea. i bought the roman blinds from ikea yet, till now haven't installed! :p should do it this weekend. did u manage to get the ikea card? quite worth it leh, can get free drinks whenever you're there.

Y

yi

hi catz,

my house curtains and blinds also from ikea. So just get the reno workers to drill for us lor! We got new roller blinds to cover my walk-in wardrobe! will get hubby to drill this weekend!

me never get the ikea card coz from start used my sis's card so cannot apply liao! nvr mind, whenever i go will get card from my sis! hehehe

the card is worth it also becoz some items got member's price!

Y

yi

hi jenjen,

ya, ikea sells roller blinds. therez two type of materials, one cheaper than the other. but i bought the more expensive ones coz looks nicer and more durable! Itz over at the roman blinds' corner.

catz

don't expect fantastic quality lah.. i bought the wooden venetian blinds for my kitchen - very difficult to pull-up and down... :p but bopian, got budget constraints

jenjen

Thanx gals, but I still think maybe I get professional to do better... dun want to put it up myself... lazy... hahah

bea

Wow...so much has happened since I last read this thread...

Great...lots of ideas...

Share share share more...

I have just got my keys to my place.

I will start on my reno soon...

By then, I will be shopping and able to share more

Y

yi

hi jenjen,

the roman and roller blinds i got from ikea for my love nest are okay leh! cheap, nice and easy to pull up and down leh!

maybe i lucky lah!

i bought my bamboo chicks blinds from picket and rail..quite nice and easy to use...just that they don't look very sturdy..but so far, have been serving us well. not too expensive too!

$1.99 shops have lots of hsehold stuffs too (i.e. aprons, kitchen gloves, bowls, plates, utensils etc).

barang barang having a sale for their kitchen utensils..buy 1 get 1 free. some of their table cloths are really cheap as well (<$10).

gwen

Hi Bea,

I'll be starting my renovation in a few weeks' time. Guess we'll have more to share then. I guess you've chosen your contractor/ID?

Y

yi

hi kpo,

my dining table custom-made leh so I'm looking for table runners instead. you know of any place wif cheap and nice table runners?

hi jul,

congrats on your forthcoming ROM!

hi bea and gwen,

happy, reno starting soon har!

i got my table runners cheap from this teak furniture place called Wiradja (not sure of spelling)..they are located @ Ubi.

robinsons also has some runners.

Y

yi

hi kpo,

ubi? wow, very far leh! i have also got 2 sets from robinsons but seem to be of same designs leh! looking for a different designs yet b=nice and cheap! me cheapo hor! hehehehe

bea

Hi Gwen,

Yes, I confirmed my ID Company about a week after selecting my house in May.

Have been meeting them up since then to discuss designs and etc.

They will be finalising some details and we will start reno in about 2 weeks time too.

I love table runners..got myself a nice red one from Shanghai when I was there recently. Got myself a gold coloured quilt too. Had a relative to sew the back for me. This one, being delicate, will only be placed for deco maybe only during CNY. Got myself some nice woody with Gold tip chopsticks from there too.

We gals really have foresight...buy even before deciding to get a house :p

Got my forks/spoons/plates/bowls/cups/glasses/pots &amp; pans from Robinsons already. Yet to buy knives though.

Jiak lut, all kept in my wardrobe. Soon can leh long if there's a pasar malam at my place

Have yet to hunt through Ikea &amp; Barang Barang for anything...maybe sometime soon...

jenjen

thanx Yi, will keep a lookout for those blinds in Ikea first...

Gwen, let me know, yah...

wat are table runners?? sorry for the ignorance... :p

actually...if you can sew...can easily make your own runners! for ethnic look..use combination of indian/thai silk + organza + bead tassles.

Y

yi

hi jenjen,

table runners are a decorative item for the dining table or shorter ones for coffee table. Itz a long slim piece of cloth material. dun know how to explain! hehehehe

hi kpo,

good idea hah! but my new school term starting soon leh, wun have time until Nov liao!

gwen

Hi Bea,

Wow!! You're really prepared!!! I only got some furniture and bed sets.

Now I'm getting the HDB to do the cement screed. It'll take about 3 weeks. So guess my reno will start only on the last week on July.

Have fun!!

decbride

Hi KPO/Yi,

Table runners are the slim long piece of fabric that you place vertically across the dinning table is it?
Pardon me. I also dunno what is that called.

Y

yi

hi decbride,

u got it right! tatz called table runners, used to decorate the table especially when seldom in use! hahahahah

joanne

hi gwen
as for the hdb screed.. u can push them to do ti faster... mine done within 2 weeks.

regd
joanne

yi,
my house really turning into a warehouse liao ... with the sona fan inside my room, really horrible....i started packing my clothes already into suitcase... hahahhaha i very "kan jiong" right...??? house not even ready.... they only done up the ceiling today.
ya, i really love the aussino bedsheets...hehheheh hope that it wont; disappoint me.

regd
joanne

just got a bamboo table runner from robinsons last night..only $9.90...not really very long..more suitable for the coffee table or console. if you don't mind it not drapping down from the dining table...it's not too bad.

Y

yi

hi joanne,

hehehe, the last time i dump everything into my hubby's house! so my house only small items like my decor items etc!

the sona fan so far so good, really can cool down the entire living/dining area.

dun worry lah, the aussino bedsheets really very comfortable wan! I not aussino promoter hah! hehehehe

me now stop buying bedsheets until end of the year. looking for bedsheets that blends into my house theme.

hi kpo,

the runner so cheap? but i'm looking for a longer one leh! I use a table mat for my coffee table!

jenjen

gwen, I'll be there a little later tomorrow... will msg you when I am around the area and then see if u are able to come... ok??

gwen

Hi JenJen,

I may not be able to make it tomorrow evening. But, juz give me a msg tomorrow and see if itz possible to meet ya tomorrow. Otherwise, how about next weekend?

saw some aussino bedsheet sets on sale still @ robinsons. for those whose house is of chinois theme...can check out the aussino's silk collection..really luxurious and chinois looking with the embroideries and chinese wordings.

hi Yi,

unfortunately, the runners @ robinsons are mostly not that long. will be on the lookout for you when i go shopping for hsehold stuffs.

jenjen

hi KPO, I looking for bedsheets with nude colours like white and brown... my place look zen type... can't seem to find any... got recommendations??

Gwen, hope can see u tomorrow!! Tentatively next weekend I still dunno my plans... usually we will try to go at least Sat or Sun... so cannot tell u yet...

catz

JenJen,

I saw some from Elle brand.. not sure of the price but I think the threadcount quite high too so should be quite good.

Y

yi

hi kpo,

thanks a million!

hi jenjen,

i oso looking for zen style bedsheets!

hi jenjen,

for the xen-look bedsheets..check out takashimaya! but be prepared to fork out $$$$! nice things are usually ex...sighhhhh

the elle ones with 310 threadcounts cost less than $60 for king size. quite pretty and comfy

i bought some king koil bedsheets..very comfy too.

Y

yi

hi kpo,

the elle ones you mentioned that cost less than S$60 is bedsheets or quilt cover? :p

jenjen

hi KPO, I saw the Elle ones... kinda like them... but it costs more than $100 for both bedsheets and quilt cover for king...

joanne

i went to john little yest... but the table runner not that nice ,... i thot i can find some good one... though they are cheap..anyone got other good place to recommend??

regd

joanne