A Meeting Place for New Home Owners!

hi catz,

unless u stay in 5* hotels...if not, they are not so kind to you! even extra pillows also cannot!

oh..u'll cover the bed & pillows with the duvet like what they do in the hotel rooms? nice! for us, when we have guests...we'll dump our blankets, pillows and bolsters (we have 2!) into our big wooden chest!

btw...do you send your duvets for drycleaning? if not, how do you wash them? they are huge and heavy.

linda

Hi KK,

I think somehow or rather will have to do DIY a bit on the house. We did the accessories in the master toilet just yesterday, drilling and changing the taps. It helps that hubby is not exactly too gentle.

My sis-in-law also suggesting have 2 blankets...but I thought that would look weird cos I always love the feeling of getting cuddly underneath the blanket..... Individual thoughts I guess.....

My mattress size is fine....I just grab queen size lor..... I am also not too sure what is the exact measurements of my bed....I got it at Casa Italy when it was having a sales...those no brand types I think....

catz

hi KPO,

so far no problem with extra blankets but i think 2* hotel, no way jose! hehe..

yah, angmoh style is good for lazy people like me.. i've never had the good habit of making my bed! so this way, just put the duvet over, don't have to fold blankets.. haha.. did you buy those big teak chests? so beautiful but damn heavy man...

yeah, need to dry-clean duvet. not sure how much but i bought a 'dryel' kit for dry-cleaning in the tumble-dryer. wondering if can use for duvet or not.

hi catz,

haha..looks like we shld upgrade our hotels the next time we go travelling..the hotels that we stayed in were nothing to boast about..they were the 2-3* ones!

yeah..a really huge teak wooden chest! can put a dead body inside! darn heavy!

catz

hey kpo,

recently, too stressed to go travelling long distance therefore stayed in regional 5* hotels but you'll be surprised, some 3* hotels don't mind giving extra blankets leh.

so what are you hiding in your chest? ;) i think those teak chests cost quite a lot of money hor? but they look fantastic. i think in america, they've got something like that for daughters, called a hope chest. isn't that such a sweet thought?

jj

Is the Aussino sales still on ? I would like to get some bedsheets as well.

kk

gwen,

i only get a technogas hob for around $380.

kpo,

My hubby's father strike 4D, so he sponsor $1000 for the curtains. So we never ask properly how much the curtains turn out to be.. heee..my hubby say dun care coz got somebody pay.. and that person is not one of us! kekekeke...

But sometimes outside shops the quality is better. Ikea sells very much cheaper, but i realise the railings is normal wood and very simple design. That time i asked and ikea charging me $700 for whole house. For this price, the one for living room is not day + nite.

hi catz,

hiding stuffs like bedsheet sets, extra pillows/blankets, throws etc.

actually, we wanted to use the wooden chest as a coffee table..realised subsequently that the color doesn't match my other furniture..hence, "banished" it to the MB to be used as storage.

hi gwen,

$1K is a generous budget...if you cook often, fujioh has got very good powerful hoods. Rinnai also not bad and cheaper than Fujioh.

hi kk,

wow! how lucky! wish that somebody is paying for my curtains too
anyway, one of the curtain shops @ IMM quoted us $550+ for the complete set of day curtains for all rooms...we'll probably go back there.

one question re curtains...for the day curtains which are of really light material...how do you prevent them from flying wildly when the wind blows? my place is very windy and we are planning to have only day curtains to let in more light...is it possible to add weights or ball-bearings to the curtains to weigh them down? will they not fall nicely as a result? anyone has any experience?

decbride

Hi KPO,

I'm also thinking of making the day curtain only for the living area.

Thinking of going to Spotlight.

I think you can use those tie backs or if it's really very light materials, you can use those metal clips. You can get them at spotlight or at some other curtain shops.

hi decbride,

oh..what i mean is when the curtains are drawn...how to prevent them from flying all over when the wind blows?

my place is very windy...when the wind blows...my sofa cushions will get blown away and my chandeliers will sway!

decbride

Hi catz,

Hey! we are staying in the same neighbourhood. :)
Where about are you staying?

Ya, agreed that we shouldn't rush to buy too many things. Agreed also that the GSS is irresistable.

Try to keep to those things that are non-deco and non-matching things. Things like households stuffs, crockeries, pots and pans are fine, cos No need to match mah. :p

I also fall into the trap of buying too many sets of bedroom sets. I've got 6sets of bedsheets and I sort of regretted now cos there could be some mismatch in the colour. Luckily, I got some at the Sales, if not I will really vomit blood. :p

decbride

Hi KPO,

Hmm, how about getting roman blinds then? At least the rods will keep it down. But wind so strong, even cushion will fly. Errr.... not sure whether the rods would be able to withstand or not.
Last resort! Keep windows close. kekekkkeeee. Just kidding. I think you don't have much choice but to keep it tied up when you have your windows open cos flying curtains is very dangerous. Mind those breakable stuffs near those curtains!

One wild thought. You think can design new tieback that can be tied to the floor? So the curtains won't fly. I think quite unique leh. If the design is good, might be quite nice.

Actually, so good that your place is very windy. You must be staying on a high floor?

decbride

Hi KPO,

think that weights or ball bearings might not be so nice cos of the uneven weight distribution. Another point to note is that if you want to have some weight to pull it down, the weight has got to be evenly distributed. If not, it will not look nice.

linda

KPO, I dunno if you are good with your hands, but I ever viewed a house and the owner sewed small thin metal decorative pieces to the day curtain itself. She told me it is more for keeping the curtain from flying around than decorative purposes.......

How about hanging or sewing bells at the bottom of the curtain at regular intervals?

joanne

the aussino is still on sale.. i think until 5 july.
i wanted to buy so much after Yi keeps saying that it is very comfortable... but my hubby kept saying we have 3 sets already.. and refused to buy.. sob sob... we bought 2 sets and 1 set from the "ying wan jin you wan li" one... my auntie got it and gave to me...

how i wish to have aussino... sob sob.. very pretty...

anyway maybe bcos i spent too much on my slimming program. i just spent another 800+ for the upgrading my slimming program... sigh... spent 5000+ already... but yet only slim 4 kg until now...

hey everyone do tell me where to get good deal???
where is the raffles electrical at bt merah??

i try to find out about curtain fr my uncle.. cos he is dealing with it.. maybe can find good deal for all of u

regd
joanne

catz

hi curtain gang

yeah, when i was in the UK, I actually saw little metal clip-ons which you attach to your curtains.. so cool and they keep your curtains from blowing everywhere! i'm actually looking out for them too 'cos in pasir ris, it can get pretty windy too..

hi decbride!!!! yay, another pasir-risian! i'm staying next to NTUC resort, in one of those low-rise apartments.
where are you located?

arrgghh... everyone's talking about aussino sheets.. i'm very sad 'cos i like the patterns but doesn't fit my big fat mattress. *sigh*

joanne, wah.. you very ON about slimming hor? feel like going marie france to shed my married woman fats but no money! hahaha...

morning gals!

thanks for the suggestions...i think i'll try out Linda's idea of sewing heavy tassles! think the tassles will go great with my organza curtains! very ethnic look! i like!

updates - made my day curtains @ this shop called Fabrik @ IMM for $400! thot the price is pretty good! in case anyone is interested...it's @ IMM, #03-47/48A

hey decbride,

i'm staying on the top floor but not high 'cos it's only 4-storey...it's windy 'cos it's near the sea and unblock.

actually...we have bamboo blinds in the yard area..however, the strong winds will cause the blinds to flap wildly as well.

hi joanne lim,

let me try to find you the address to raffles electrical. you shld also check out the other electrical shops @ the bt merah neighbourhood central (near queensway shopping centre).

gwen

Thanks, Catz, KPO & KK!
So... I guess I should b able to get a cooker hood & hob set for approx $700?
Any good, cheap place to get these? Er.. where's Mayer Maketing located?

gwen

Hi Catz,

For a cheap way of slimming DIY style, take lemon juice with honey water. Works pretty well for me. N itz good for the skin too! Take in the morning and night for best effect. I take it in the morn, as a form of detox too.

Y

yi

hi joanne,

ya, aussino bedsheets are real nice and comfy but my dear hubby doesn't know how to appreciate! so angry! get it during the sale, real worth it! who knows me will go grab a few more sets without hubby knowing! hahahaha

hi kpo,

wow, you staying near the sea, real good view hah! my view is children playing basketball at the field and the court!

hi gwen,

taking lemon juice with honey water. kindly advise how to do it leh! me trying to shed another 2kgs.

wat i'm doing now is skip daily at nite and taking my dinner b4 8pm. also no $ to go slimming program. so expensive! maybe next time after giving birth will ask hubby to sponsor instead! hehehehehe

linda

Yi, my view is next block of flats!!! Lagi worst....

hahahah....I always buy bedsheets without hubby's knowledge...if not he will nag again...but he just nag lor....Anyway, bedsheets are not in his area of jurisdiction....

To diet, reduce carbo intake...no rice no noodles....Take a lot of veggie....For a while I ate nothing but corn and broocoli, it helped. But felt very poor thing lor so I stopped... :p Got no perserverance. So same thing with Yi, I already made my hubby promise he will pay for my slimming programme after I gave birth.
Can you imagine Ivy Lee is only 46kg at 1.64m??? And she is the mother of a 4 year old child!!!!!

gwen

Hi Yi,

You can juice the lemon with a juicer (do it in bulk, easier that way). Then put the juice in the ice tray to freeze. When you want to have the lemon drink, mix some honey with water and add in 1 or 2 cubes of the frozen lemon.

This helps to slim a little but the good thing about it is, itz good for health too. This should also help prevent any aging spots on the skin (thatz what my mom said.)

Y

yi

hi linda,

oh, my view is better lah, unblocked! so can c hubby's car turn into the multistorey carpark and teenagers playing soccer/basketball! :p but of coz will love sea view! hehehehe

ya, just told hubby i want to buy bedsheets, he say 4 sets not enuf meh coz not staying there permanently yet but i say sale must buy, he say up to me lor! hehehehe

think i can't leave wif just veggie leh, i love pasta alot!
my routine is skipping at least 2000 times daily!
even bought a aibi exercise bike at love nest liao! :p think i really very vain leh!

i oso got a fren gave birth to 2 children already still 40plus kg!

hi gwen,

thanks for your info. think will go buy lemon today liao! wanna shed another 2kg b4 wedding in Jan 03 leh!

catz

Gwen, I'm drinking the Enrich aloe vera juice.. think it should have the same effect. Heard about the lemon/honey before.. will try it once I finish my Enrich stuff.
Heard Biosculpt also very good but nowadays, who dares to anyhow take slimming products? Natural way better, exercise lagi better!!! BTW Mayer Mktg has quite a few branches scattered all over Singapore - I know there's branches in Novena Sq, Causeway Pt, Suntec... I think you can check out www.mayer.com.sg.

Jenjen, nice to see you in this thread! How's everything?
Hv you met with meimei/mushroom recently?

Haha... I tell you girls something funny. I already told my husband for first child - 1 carat VVSI diamond, second child, 2 carat VVSI.. hehee... Forgot to ask for slimming course!
Too excited about diamonds *eyes sparkling*

As for dieting, think can reduce carbo but cannot totally cut out carbo from your diet as there would be too much protein. End up that an all-protein diet effect would be the same as Slim10 over a period of time so be careful with dieting! The best is to not eat carbo after 3pm... don't deprive your body of carbo.

Wah, today only Tuesday. Feeling very sian.... can't wait for weekend... wanna go Ikea looklookseesee

joanne

maybe i am that sort of person who dun like to torture myself.. so no choice got to go for slimming programme. i cut down on my carbo intake as well... sometime drink only mango shake (my best diet hahah)in the afternoon. lemon thing i tried... but cannot work fast....ehehhehe

tried alot of thing... still this mango shake thing works well for me...can see result faster together with the programme .

u all know actually if urs is muscle it is very difficult to slim down... then dun go to marie france or things like that... just stop exercising.... and cut down on carbo intake... after that when ur muscles turn into fats again... then go for maire france... hehehe
learn from experience..

yi,
how i wish i could buy the aussino...but i everything also tell hubby one... dun know why i cannot hide from him..

regd
joanne

Y

yi

hi catz,

wow, diamonds ah! i only told hubby i wanna stop work after the 2nd child! hehehehe

me oso very sian coz today only tuesday leh! but me going ikea tonight wif hubby to lookX2 seeX2. :p

hi joanne,

just told hubby wan to but the aussino bedsheets, he oso bo bian! hehehehe

catz

hi Yi,

I also wanna stop work after having #2 PLUS diamonds..hehehe... poor hubby.

Aiyah, you going Ikea?! Sigh.. me gotta wait till the weekend. They should be having their sale soon right? Usually they change stocks in July/August if I'm not mistaken.

gwen

Hi Yi,

Yah, itz good to take light dinners too. Take a heartier breakfast and lunch. Have light dinner. It'll help. Carry on your skipping, I'm sure you'll be able to see results soon. What about jogging? Jogging helps to burn calories fast.

gwen

Hi Catz,

Thanks! Went to the Mayer website, saw the Indesit cooker hood and hob for $600. Good deal!!
Btw, how is the Indesit brand?
Anyone tries that before?

jenjen

hi catz, no leh... never met with them leow... me busy with reno and gowns stuff... no time... u leh??

I've got a ceiling fan for sale, but no one answer my thread...

catz

Hey Gwen,
I'm using Delizia for my hood... you can actually change out the items if you're buying the set, of course, topping up the difference.
I bought Delizia 'cos it's easier to wash the hood. Hobs, no preference but do look out for one with the safety valve - safer lah...

Hi JenJen,
Yeah, saw your advert for ceiling fan... maybe post a pix? How's your reno going? Who did you get to do your ID?
Don't stress ok?

gwen

Hi JenJen,

Ceiling fan for sale??? What is it like? Plain??
I'll be looking for ceiling fans soon. Maybe I'll be interested.

Y

yi

hi catz,

our hubbies really very poor thing, got wives like us! want to retire early! hehehehe

ya, going ikea to look look see see whether anything new or not lor! me and hubby prefer to go ikea during weekdays coz less people ard! :p

Hi gwen,

me not time to jog lah, reach home late liao! but hubby does jog daily at his workplace though! me skip only! but at times cannot resist the temptation of titbits! :p

wow, you must be very slim hor?

u gals are very notti leh...blackmailing your hubs like that!!!

me also waiting for the weekend to come. another 2 more things and we're done with our new place - carpets and plants (lots)!!! anybody has any suggestions where i can go to get nice and cheap carpets/plants???

notice how we gals can really chat about anything under the sun...look @ how our discussion topic has digressed!!!

catz

harlow

hehe.. yeah, poor guys gotta slave until they're 65
well, look at it this way, they don't hv to go through pregnancy & childbirth so it's only fair.. hahahahaha...

i'm also on the lookout for nice, contemporary carpets so can't help you there.. as for plants, check out far east flora along thomson rd (near TCS, opposite marymount kindy/esso petrol kiosk).. got quite a few nurseries there.

aiyah, all girls can yakyak..hehe...

gwen

Hi Yi,

no lah, me not very slim. Passable only. I used to jog more regularly. But now, lazy also. But lucky I didn't gain weight. In fact, lost a little. Could be the lemon?

Titbits are alright but remember to take in moderation. I indulge myself once in a while too. At long as there isn't too much snacking.

Hee KPO, what is the original topic actually? Think we forgot liao. Guess women are all like dat lor.

gwen

Hi Catz,

Then how much did you pay in total for the hood and hob? Have heard quite a number of people taking Delizia.

hi catz,

really? u looking for carpets too? that's good...do share with me your findings ok.

actually, i'm looking for the persian type (but cheaper versions). like the intrigue designs.

oh..i know of far east flora...quite far though. will pop by if i happen to be around the area. was hoping to find some nurseries nearer the west. do you know if far east flora will deliver the plants? we are planning to buy lots...doubt we'll be able to carry them on our own.

catz

Hi Gwen,
I bought separates - Delizia hood, Ariston hob & oven so I think mine came up to about $2k... stupid hubby wanted the most expensive oven 'cos it was self-cleaning and had digital timer. :p

KPO, yeah, let's share notes.. but i'm looking for contemporary ones.. didn't find any ideal ones at Ikea (the one we liked was $700!!!) look out for those carpet auctions advertised in ST.. might have some good bargains.

I think Far East will deliver if you buy a lot of plants.. did you get a house with a garden or you've got a really big balcony?

linda

Hahhaha...from diamonds to threatens of early retirement....how horrible we girls are huh? My sister-in-law bagged a pair of diamond earrings when the first child of theirs turn out to be a boy! Her rationale was a pair = 2 diamonds....better than a ring! HAhahahahahah

I am waiting for Ikea to change their stocks...intending to stock up on boxes. I love their children's storage boxes...great for storing our bags and stuff.

BTW, any recommendations for me? I have an existing warerobe which doesn't have any drawers for putting folded clothes like T shirts and shorts.....How???? I tried buying the metal frame pull-out drawers from Ikea...but cannot fit...

gwen

Hi Catz,

Your hubby so cute ah! Buy the expensive oven for that purpose? I'll be looking for an oven too. Wonder whatz the normal price for it.

hi catz,

carpet auctions? ha..those will cost a fortune! i'm looking for replicas of persian rugs! cheapo mah! oso, we figured that we being very dirty houseowners..the carpets will get dirty in no time and drycleaning will cost a fortune..so, we hope to find something cheap which we can then easily replace when dirty.

house? i wish! no lah..no balconies either..but we do have planters for all rooms. moreover, we like lots of greens in our home..so, we'll place lots of indoor plants all over..we are trying to create a very resort-feel ambience

jenjen

hi gwen, sorry I can't find a pic of the fan to show u... u can refer to the amasco webpage http://www.amasco.net ...

unfortunately dun have my model, but their designs are similar... my fan has 6 blades, only 36 inches... suitable for bedroom or small area... I think it looks cool coz one side of the blade is blue and the other is silver... u can put all blue or all silver or alternate them... if u put all silver, the whole fan looks metallic...
if u interested, can let me know...

decbride

Hi KPO,

me also staying on 4th floor. Sometimes I do get wind like that, but not all the time. Most of the time, it's just breeze. Where are you staying by the way? Sea? So nice. Mine is facing express way but can't see as too low already.

KPO/Catz,

for Contemporary Carpets, I got mine from Courts. I also saw some quite nice ones at Harvey Norman, Spotlights (but quite limited). Imitation of Persian carpets, I saw some at Tampines Mall (can't remember which floor),Marina Sq, Spotlights, Chinatown (but rather small piece) around temple street, Trade Mart (but not sure whether it's still there)

Hope this helps. ;-)

decbride

Hi anyone know where to get Nice fake plants? Those ferns type. I figure that it's easier to maintain cos no water and sunlight required and doesn't dirty the place.

hi decbride,

yah..i remember seeing some carpets @ courts and spotlight...will go check them out again. thanks for reminding.

i'm staying @ pasir panjang..opp. the PSA wharves..hence, i do get some seaview and the sea breeze...my unit is also unblocked 'cos my living rm and MB are facing low rise landed property. the view is the main reason why we bought the place...it's really great!