A guide to selecting yr Hob & Hood?

chng

Hi hapict,

Hahaha...wat a way to describe the oil cups, so funny! Where did u get it from? Got any pics to show? I dun mind investing ard $900+ if it's good looking and practical to use. In fact, I rather not get cheap one which give trouble after some time cos my MIL does heavy duty cooking almost everyday. She's also very particular about her cooker and hob. What is the m/3 for your hob? Is it in stainless steel or tempered glass for cooker? Would prefer tempered glass cos din really like the feel of stainless steel...

natasha15

What are the differences between the chimney type of hoods versus the slimline ones ?

And in terms of maintenance, will the oil cups be much better than the filters. Is it that the suction power for the hoods with oil cups much faster than the filtered type ?

hapict

suction 780m3/h.

fm a shop in IMM. hoe kee also selling it quite cheap tho i din buy fm the nice uncle there.

will upload pics asap.

VL
i not sure leh abt yr qn.

natasha15

hi hapict,

when it comes to cleaning the hoods, are those with the filters easier or the ones which have oil cups inserted on the hood ?

also i heard that suction power is higher for chimney hoods rather than the slim ones. other than this difference, are there any major differences ?

hapict

Hi VL

for the metal filters, usually you have to take them (3 pieces is the norm i think) out n scrub them in detergent n warm water, depending on usage. A lady in best denki IMM told me to use toothbrush to scrub the tiny holes in the metal filters if not the filters will be worn away! *faint* duno true or not.

in the end FH chose one hood with the oil cups, so we just have to wipe the hood (smooth surface) n pluck out the cups to throw away the oil. Theoretically it's like this lah, cos we havent started using yet, so must be honest with you - i duno if it works. if it doesnt, will ask my FH 2 maintain it cos i din choose it. ke ke

as for suction power, IMHO yea i also think chimney hoods suction power would be higher than the slim ones (u mean the horizontal type?) and more in fashion now....

here is a photo.

385947.jpg

ok my photography skills aint tat great! hope u can see the 2 cups. will photograph the underside for u to see too when i next pop up new flat, without the flash....

hapict

here it is, the underside of the techno gas hood.

386542.jpg

guess wat, the contractors threw the box away n now i duno the serial number. will they void the warranty card cos of this???

hapict

hi twinnie yea i heard of the brand while shoppin for it but other than tat not much else. u tried askin yr frens, colleagues n relativeS?

natasha15

hi hapict, where did u get ur hob & hood ? hmm, as long as u have ur receipt, it shouldnt be a problem right ? thanks for the pics, very nice.

happielee

Heh calling folks out there using EF hob,
Does ur smaller pots lose balance as the metal support thing on top of the hob is curved towards the fire and not straight?
If yes,pls advise ur solution...
I'm having some problems with it...

twinnie07

hey anyone bot or using elica hob and hood? I just bot mine from Sin Siang Choon and realised no one in the forum talks abt it. Worst, when I visit the Elica website, they only shows hood prdt specs.. I believe they are specialse in hood and not hob.

hapict

VL
i bought it fm a shop in IMM but not fm hoe kee, tho i posted here b4 tat the uncle there v nice.

slgerman
can u buy another metal support thingy? mine is the cast iron, very solid but havent used it. heh..

twinnie
u bot liao so never mind loh.. each brand got gd n bad points, so enjoy using lah. n update us if it's gd...

twinnie07

Hapict, I guess so.. I have to look forward to my elica hob and hood. What I see from their official website, elica is more focused on hood!

gbom

Hi people,
I am deciding if I should buy EF for my hood and hob...anyone who is using this brand, please share your experiences...thanks

sunflower_gal75

Hi twinnie,
I have used Elica hood and hob for more than a year. So far no complaints. But I don't cook often.
Elica may not be well-known cos Sim Siang Choon is the sole distributor. Can't find this brand in other retail shops.

Actually, if you were to clean up your burners after each cooking session, your hob will go a long way. My MIL's hob is those cheap cheap type but it lasts her more than 15 years cos she cleans up her burners regularly. She's still using it.

One Ariston salesperson told me about the same thing. Cleaning up the burners regularly will ensure that your hob goes a long way.

sunflower_gal75

Hi WY
A friend of mine is using this brand. I think it's also a decent brand. No complaints from her too.

Most important is to make sure that you clean up the hob and hood regularly.

gnm

Heh heh... one of the suggestion by another forummer... hope it is helpful
;)

Hobs and Hoods

you are rite about keeping the hood and hob clean. Good maintenance will naturally lead to a longer lasting hood and hob set, regardless of the brand

;)

kvin81

Newbie here, i have just purchased an Ellane Hob anyone here who is also using this brand? The Hob is those glass type one & comes with a life time warranty for the glass breakage.

clarizz

Hi Pigcess & Kelvin ,

Me n FH have ordered Izola Hood n Ellane Hob but only deliver after we get our key in Mar .

saliva

Any idea which is better, stainless steel hob or tempered glass hob?

Heard easier maintenace is tempered glass. Is this true?

pringirl

sunnie, u can get it from poh joo. their hob& hood (rinnai) is much cheaper than those advertised on their website.

rachely

We just got ours from Teka....the 20% sales for everything at their showroom over the weekend. It's a good bargain i would say, but i foresee maybe a even greater sale will be on ard june or May....too bad we need the stuff by this 2 months

rachely

How much can Asia Excel match? It's 20% off....i think i have been to Asia Excel before, their stuff are nice but ex lo.....like a bath mixer but too ex, plus they don have sales.

I find Teka sales service quite professional. The sales assisstance explain clearly to us of the function & pros & cons of their product. They don push us to buy their top range stuff & very patient with our question & i think we were in there for 1 hour plus and throughtout the selection, the same assisstant assist us even though more people were in.

Oh and i saw a tap which is on offer & can't decide whether to get it on the spot or not, she actually told us that, just give her a call if i want the tap & she will include it in at the same offer price, that's if we call back within a weeks time.

I have a enjoyable shopping trip there & glad we pop by & bought our kitchen appliances from them. Maybe next time you should try to go down & experience yourself too.

rachely

Of course, the other sales were attending to the coming in customer at the same time as well, not just because we look like a potential buyer then she 'stick' to us.

annabella

Hi Rachely,

I agree with you, I brought my oven at Teka too last Nov (during the sale). In fact, I was at Teka earlier on when there wasn't a sale and the sales assistant told me there'll be a sale coming and she'll call me when the date's confirmed.

Before I decide on buying from Teka (during the sale period), I did call up asia, unfortunately they are unable to match the price that Teka offered.

My own experience, I called up a few shops during my applicances hunting period, and I didn't get any items from asia (I managed to get better offers at another shop). But I do have a friend whom brought a lot of stuff at asia with good prices. It's funny...

ryvy

today i went Teka @ UE Square, i was there for more than 15mins and no one bothered to come and attend to us.

rachely

hihi ryvy

sorry to hear about your 'unfortunate' experience. The one who served us was Magdalene, we were served by another colleague of hers previously but however, Mag is the one whom left a deeper impression on us as she has better knowledge of the product she is selling. Don't be upset ryvy....

annabella

Hi Rachely,

I was also served by her, I like her attitude. I went down twice, first time served by someone after waiting for sometime. The lady whom served me offered to take down my contact no. and to inform me when there's a sale, but never called me. Second time I went, M served me. she's good. In total, I make three trips there before for my oven and tap.

So far, I'm a happy user of their products.

esther_c

hey ppl,

any news of any teka sales currently?heard so many good comments about asia excel in the forum too.

i'm looking @ teka island hood and in built oven.Very confused about oven specs.Can share what teka products u purchased?

yashila04

My ID gave me a choice of Cuizino hood (NC298X) and hob(P8.3) and Delizia (Aqua 90) cooker hood and DELIZIA (dh 36avx IX) hob. Thought of choosing the Cuizino hood and hob. Any suggestions?

rachely

i bought a canopy hood, which can pull in & out one...bought a gas cooker hob in black tenpered glass finish...a below counter bowl basins & a oven which got 7 functions & self cleaning type. The out look of oven not really fanstatic. Bought it coz it's user friendly & got a lot of function. Look forward to use it.

witch

I'm so confused with all the specs and brands...there's Teka, Cuizino, Rinnai, Bellari....which is better?

I need a chimmey hood cos will not install top cabinets.

cutie_gal

I think there is info on these brands tat u hv mention in this forum, maybe u can check it out.

Mine is also a chimney style hood + tempered glass hob