A guide to selecting yr Hob & Hood?

nicatan

HI Celia,

did u get rhoyxon pdts in the end? am looking for good cokker hood and hob... any recommendations? thks

Hi syt,

i didnt but my friend did. Her mum and SIL had been using rhoyxon for more than 10 yrs...and no regrets with it. As for me, I'm getting rinnai hob and hood as I'm looking at something other than stainless steel. The Rinnai I'm getting is from Japan (made in Japan) and the promotion package for hob and hood is $1100. Tried but cant locate that similar pic of the rinnai hob that i'm getting.

can go down to citygas showroom to look at the hobs and hoods or surf the website of ef, mayer, teka,technogas, etc

Hi miffy05,

I'm currently using tecnogas hob (no hood) for my current place. Would not be getting tecnogas back as the new hobs though come with safety feature like other brands of hob but the button is disappointing. If u don't mind then its ok. But its a good and lasting brand as least for me and my mum. My mum has been using the brand for years

u can visit Singapore Pz 5th floor as they have a showroom there

u can visit citygas (at PUB) for a wide range of brands

miffy05

Thks a lot!

nicatan

hi hello,

thks!! am think of getting it esp the sink.. wonder if all sinks comes with multi-funtional features like the one by rhoyxon....

Hi Kopi,

photos for the hob and hood? Don't think so as I've decided to get the Rinnai package

would strongly advise all those looking for hob and hood to pay a visit to Citygas at PUB for the various brands on display....I personally like the EF and Rinnai since I didnt want something stainless steel

Hi happigal,

not sure about Electrolux but I guess its quite a reputable brand and my friend's dryer had been serving her faithfully for more than 10 years. Anyway, I'll be gettind babybelling as my electic oven

happigal

hi hello88

Thanks for your reply.
i understand that electrolux is one of the most popular brand (esp among youngsters) becos of the design of the hood.

As for the oven, i understand the following :-

The interior of the oven is coated with 'enamal' (not sure of the spelling). Its the same coating as the babybelling. I think this can withstand high temp and scratch-proof. Will not rust.

The glass panel on the oven door can be dismantled.

Even the whole oven door can be dismantled for washing.

Fairly easy to clean i guess.

i am ok with the design of the hood but not so on the hob. Guess no choice.....

: )

joyousonline

hi happigal,
how much are the electrolux hood and hob??

hi hello88,
how much is the babybelling oven?? they hv multi functions?

Hi joyoursonline,

not many functions for the babybelling but its considered expensive but very long lasting. My malay classmate was the one who introduced it to me and I discovered that many people who likes to bake has it. I think its very good if u are someone who likes to bake cakes and kueh kueh eg. kueh lapis. I used it to bake my salmon after wrapping alum foil and it does get burn and turn out very nice. I also used it to grill my roasted meat, ham and chicken during x'mas.

btw, just for your information, i got my Rinnai hob and hood for $1100. Would post a pic tomorro.

stevy

Anyone try getting oven,hob and hood from one single brand? You will have more bargaining power this way. My ID says it will be cheaper

phy_o

Hi hello88,
May I know why you chose the Rinnai hob and hood? Do they have a website? Where did you get them from? Do they have a sole agent?

Hi phy_*o*,

I used to be using Tecnogas and so far its a reliable brand. I wanted the same brand for my new place but the newer ones with safety device don't have the type of knobs that I like (can view it from Plaza Singapura) so Tecnogas was out. I just dont like the knob of the new range of hobs.

I didnt want SS cos I reckoned that scratches would be obvious after few years as my kitchen top used to be SS. Though its shining but if look carefully, there are plenty of scratches.

I wanted tampered glass top as it looks cool and trendy. Eventually decided on Rinnai as there's a local agent as some nicer brands do not have local agents (cant remember the name of those brands). I visited citigas, spent more than an hour there to decide on my hob and hood as its the only place with various brands.

I took the package $1100 (citigas also selling at that price). Though its slightly cheaper at Goh Ah Bee but I decided to pay $1100 to my kitchen cabinet contractor as he'll be fixing everything up for me. Oh...my kitchen cabinet contractor also recommended Rinnai to me as its a reputable brand. This was confirmed by my friend whose mother and sister had been using it for years. In fact, I've never heard of Rinnai before...so malu..I only know tecnogas and trusted it since mum using the brand since I was a kid.

ridhwan82

depends on your cooking needs actually. well ariston is not a bad option. you cazn also look for brands such as De dietrich (high end brand) or mid range ones like brandt or smeg.

they too have good ovens. just what are your cooking needs actually.

bailey

me juz saw in the papers got promo from Aerogaz. Their hob & Hood package comes in diff price setting - S$299, $399, $599.

Anyone got any experience with this brand?

monkey_mama19

Hi I just got a Rinnai cooker hood & hob package from Ray Excel Asia at $819 plus a free 30cm SS wok. Its the RH-985c Hood (900m3/hr) with 3 alum filters plus RB-333 Hob.

joanna

anyone knows I can get something below 500? or an electric will may be cheaper?

I do not do much cooking, basically mainly using the slow cooker more often.

ridhwan82

hi purpleblur.

so far i think they are good not much of a problem,

just what are your needs as well as what is the budget you are looking at?

natasha15

Hi Ridz,

I am planning to get a 3 burner with safety device embedded.

I was recommended Ellane and Elba. Any comments on them ?

Budget is around 600 for both hood and hod. Both the hod & hood should be easy to clean.

Or any other brands u recommend.

ridhwan82

hi VL natasha,

well 3 burner with safety device huh,

for ellane not too sure i havent used it and elba i dun think so i would recommend.

and also for 600 its a bit tight i must add.

cos for a hob itself would set you back by about 500 and the hood would be about maybe 800 or so. depending on types.

here are some of the hobs that you might wanna have a look at.

1)

384114.jpg

Stainless Steel Hob
Description: • 70cm Stainless Steel Hob
• Electronic ignition
• 3 gas burners, one of which has a 4,000W double crown
• Protected by the SECURIS safety device
• Auxiliary rear right: 850W
• Double-crown front left: 4,000W
• Semi-fast front right: 1,500W
• Total gas power rating: 6,350W
• WOK support provided
• Available without safety device in Stainless Steel: TE276XCI (S$399)
Price: SGD $459

2)
384115.jpg

TE282XC1
Name: Stainless Steel Hob
Description: • 70cm Stainless Steel Hob
• Electronic ignition
• 3 gas burners
• Triple-crown left: 3,500W
• Triple-crown right: 3,500W
• Semi-rapid Centre: 1,750W
• Total gas power rating: 8,750W
• Available in Stainless Steel: TE282XC1
Price: SGD $399

3)
384116.jpg

IW98IXS
Name: Stainless Steel Hob
Description: • 90cm Stainless Steel Hob
• Electronic ignition
• 3 burners
• Gas safety - cut off system
• 2 triple ring burners, left & right: 4,000W
• 1 Auxiliary burners: 1,650W
• Total gas power rating: 9,650W
• Front control knobs
• Battery ignition also available: 1W981BTXS
Price: SGD $469

brandt hood. i just take one from the lower end for each of the slimline and chimney types and one high end one okie?

hood (slim line)

1)slimline
384117.jpg

AC229XE1
Name: Visor Hood
Description: • Stainless steel 90cm hood
• Max. flow rate: 450 m3/hr
• 1 standard filter-cassette
• 2 x 40W bulb lighting
• 2 motors -3 speeds
• Total power: 380W
• Charcoal filters included
Price: SGD $249

2) chimney

AHLN9B1E / WIE
Name: Decorative Chimney Hood
Description: Decorative Chimney Hood
• Stainless steel 90cm hood
• Max. flow rate: 700 m3/hr
• 3 dishwasher safe metal filters
• 3 speeds
• Total power: 280W
• Available in White: AHLN9WIE, Black: AHLN9B1E
Price: SGD $479
384118.jpg

3) high end chimney
384119.jpg

AD389XT1
Name: Decorative Chimney Hood
Description: • Stainless steel 90cm hood
• Max. flow rate: 800 m3/hr
• Electronic controls
• Silent Motor
• 3 speeds
• 1 dishwasher safe metal filter
• 20W halogen lighting unit
• Sound level 42dB at 220m3/hr
• Total power: 180W
Price: SGD $799

there are just some of the ones that i saw

natasha15

Hi Ridz,

Very informative...

1) Are TE276XCI (S$399) AND TE282XC1 TECHNOGAS ?

2) What is the brand of "IW98IXS" ?

3) And all the hoods u provided belong to BRANDT ?

Since I am new to all this kinda stuff, besides the suction power, could u advise what are the kinda things we should look out for before buying the hod & hood ?

hapict

VL

fm the research i had done on hobs n hoods, i gathered tat rinnai is the best hob (according to asia excel) and fujioh is the best hood...

BUT i din buy these..;p i bought techno instead (My FH's preference). quite x. havent tried yet. will let u know..

natasha15

Hi Hapict,

Yes, please, appreciate ur help in letting me know. I will look forward to your and ridz's assistance. I am actually quite 'dumb' in all this kinda stuff.

ridhwan82

hi natasha,

no all those that i posted are from brandt.

well for other things that you need to take note is those of the suction power if you are cooking like those having a lot of fumes and depending on the size of the kithen then go for those with airflow of around 800m/3 but these are usually more expensive than those capable of around 300m/3.

and also if you are particular with noise level then get those with silence inside for brandt models. they have but its slightl more ex as usual.

apart from that you have to know if it comes with only extraction or recirculation.

if you are staying in hdb then you can only use those which are capable of recirculation cos hdb i think does not allow you to do extraction and vent it out your kitchen. not too sure about this though.

if you are looking for higher end ones then de dietrich could be one of your choices too. again be warned their hood comes at a price tag of at least 1600.

and also if you are installing the cooker hood on a centre island then you have to get an island hood and not chimney nor slimline cos the island hood are specially designed for island installation

ridhwan82

oh by the way the best cooker hood hob and oven is held by

MIELE and also de dietrich. in the upmarket sector.

while luxury would be like highlander and also libherr gaggenau and also viking.

mid range competitor
electrolux brandt and teka

chng

Hi ridz,

Got any recommendations for cooker and hob around the budget of $800? Must be suitable for heavy duty cooking of high suction power and comes with those fake chimney top, and hopefully they got something like a cup to pour away the oil it has sucked up. (Not too sure bout this cos I think I saw something like tat at IMM).

Many thanks in advance!

ridhwan82

hi tots,

well just to ask you for more information yeah?

for the hob how many burners and also what dimension you wanna the 90cm ones or the 60 cm types?

also hood i think you would want the chimney kind right.

however i would have to let you know that chimney hood are more expensive than slimline ones. and that island types are more expensive than chimney so yeah?

more information before i reply yeah?

but so far i think brandt could and also electrolux could possibly be in your search and not to mention ariston if not delizia.

chng

Hi ridz,

Thanks for looking into my queries. Hehe... err I think 3 burners would be nice and dimensions wise I am not too such, cos always is MIL doing the cooking. Does it makes a lot of dif?

What are slimline chimney hood? Do they look like those with a single tier kinda look? I am not looking at island hoods. But do wanna find something that is sleek looking with a false chimney as i mentioned and with some small container that can pour away the oil... not too sure if u know what I am talkin about...

Any comments on technogas cooker? Cos MIL has been using them for some time so thinking might be something similar for them. Some more now they give lifetime warranty on the tempered glass.

ridhwan82

hi tots,

not a problem. im glad that im able to help you.

well it depends actually sometimes people just prefer to have a wider working top so that they can put puts in between burners as compared to smaller hobs where the hobs are closer and the gap in between is smaller.

or some prefer to have bigger area cos they usually use wok and hence the pot on the burner on the other side will not knock or be too close to each other. so depends.

but for me most homes nowadays usually get the 70cm types a bit chic look cos a bit more cute according to them lah for me its all the same.

okie as for slim line ones refer to my post above there is a picture on which is the ones slim line types or chimney types which one is it that you prefer?

my guess is this one
385104.jpg

hope so. Well for the small container that can pour away the oil i think that feature is not common hence i would say that brands like brandt electolux and ariston are using still the metal filters coupled with the carbon filter.

technogas. so far some comments have been alright not much of a complain though some of the girls here seem to prefer rinnai. but i personally prefer de dietrich, electrolux and brandt.

ariston hobs depends on your luck and usage sometimes can die on you pretty fast and also depends on whetehr maintenance clean up is it a proper one cos this will also affect the lifespan of hobs.

ridhwan82

hi tots,

not a problem. im glad that im able to help you.

well it depends actually sometimes people just prefer to have a wider working top so that they can put puts in between burners as compared to smaller hobs where the hobs are closer and the gap in between is smaller.

or some prefer to have bigger area cos they usually use wok and hence the pot on the burner on the other side will not knock or be too close to each other. so depends.

but for me most homes nowadays usually get the 70cm types a bit chic look cos a bit more cute according to them lah for me its all the same.

okie as for slim line ones refer to my post above there is a picture on which is the ones slim line types or chimney types which one is it that you prefer?

my guess is this one
385106.jpg

hope so. Well for the small container that can pour away the oil i think that feature is not common hence i would say that brands like brandt electolux and ariston are using still the metal filters coupled with the carbon filter.

technogas. so far some comments have been alright not much of a complain though some of the girls here seem to prefer rinnai. but i personally prefer de dietrich, electrolux and brandt.

ariston hobs depends on your luck and usage sometimes can die on you pretty fast and also depends on whetehr maintenance clean up is it a proper one cos this will also affect the lifespan of hobs.

hapict

tots

FH n i bought Techno (is it called techno or technogas??) hob & hood at $900+, which i consider expensive. The hood (model TT 2001) has two cups which you can pull out easily to throw away the oil it has sucked up. think u meant this model right? to me, it looks like madonna's iron bra. ha ha but my FH likes the easy maintenance of just throwing away the oil instead of washin the metal filters. apparently it's a new model. i havent used it yet so cant tell u if it's effective.

seen a few aunties buying turbo (turbo or turbogas??) cos it's cheap n looks v gd n practical. but heard from 2 shopowners it doesnt last n give problems.