A Diet & Exercise Challenge! Startin Dec 04. Motivate & Share Success Stories!!!

belgian_choco

Hi...I used to have this ESCAPE YOUR SHAPE thingy.. It works for me but I have since used it due to my busy work schedule and poor self motivation!I have gained more than 10kg and I now I am very the scared to see myself in the mirror! I think this form of exercise works best cos it is exercise accustomed to our body types.. Even for those who have not exercised before...this is for you. All you got to do is exercise smarter, not harder.
For more info, you can check this out:
http://www.slimmingtips.com/weight-loss/working-out-and-not-getting-the-right-results.php
http://beauty.about.com/cs/exercise/a/escape.htm

or u can get the book(not sure if it can be found in the library):
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0312311990/102-3491091-4322561?v=glance

i personally bought the tapes and one 4 lbs shape sculptor bar. Seriously, it works if you are disciplined; but I am not so nowadays..hehe I hope to gain back my self-motivation and go all out for it again! Let's inspire each other yeah!

and one thing to those whose lower bodies are big... stay away from the stairs! I mean it! =)

shirley_tan

Dear gals,
I just wanna share with you that don bother too much about the kg's most important thing is that you are healthy and satisfy with what u have yah.
For most of the case, just need to touch up a bit and get the "S" shape figure lah. Jennifer Lopez definitely not "slim" but she got the HOT figure that are so unresistable. I used to be 60 kgs 156cm(of course over weight) but now I manage to keep 53kg, thanks for the best kept lingerie set, it's very comfortable and really support.

shirley_tan

Hi hj,
It was actually voted by 2004 CLEO megazine for Best Kept Lingerie Set, it helps me to loose about 3kg so far and feedback from my friends is that I looks like cut down a lot. Last time I used to have "wings"- u know lah fatty female used to have fat at your back refer as second Breast, they are suppose to stay in front but somehow shift to the back(means that your property run away from home :p), that make me looks fat but flat chest. Low quality lingerie also make me looks saggy and old.
What I'm trying to say is that it helps to shape up my body line. Of course with nice cloths I can shows people I have nice figure but what I'm concern about is the "real" staff that i have inside : )

fairybride

Hi Alan

It's been 2months since i started exercising religiously...i've got a question for u..

I started joggin in mid feb and for feb n march...it's more like conditioning my body to get used to jogging..so i slowly increase my distant and time spent to jog...i can consider my routine to be more strengeous in april...the thing is...i recorded the number of days i exercise in april n may and monitor my weight loss..in april i exercise a total of abt 15 days n i lost 6kg...in may, i exercise a total of 22 days but i lost oni 3kg...

considering my food intake was pretty standard..not much changes...and the fact that i jogged longer distant and longer time in may..and i even took up kick boxing in may..how come the weight loss is not as significant as in april? I still got another 6-8kg more to lose...i wonder if the weight loss will just stop soon...

any comments?

shirley_tan

Hi Cecia and Lobang-king,
The model and sizes i bought is 4 figure, but what I'm more concern abt is how it works. Not only re-shaping but also It helps to support my spinal(I used to injured before and it hurts on & off). Also help a lot for those having slip disk problem because it's 3 piece set and u get best support without compressing the inner abdorment : )

alan_golfnut

Fairybride: First things' first, remember not to obsess about the numbers on the weighing scale, but rather, whether your clothes are getting looser. It's natural that in the first period of your new exercise routine, the body finds it hard to adapt, and therefore the new workload creates the necessary stress to cause weight loss. But once your body gets used to the workload and/or type of exercise, the body will stop responding in terms of fat loss. The key is to do keep changing your workout routine. Remember to incorporate strength exercises as well cos muscles will help make fat burning easier.

Actually, losing 9kg in a month and half is good progress, so don't get obsessed with the numbers! Enjoy your workouts and I'm sure you're feeling better about yourself already. Look in the mirror and try your clothes: are your clothes getting looser, and do you like what you see in the mirror? There's no such thing as a 'ideal' weight. Everyone is built differently with their little peculiarities.

shiro_ger

This thread sounds so interesting! Is just the thread i am looking for, not so much about motivation, but another channel to, consciously, monitor my slimming process.

=======================
Nick: shiro_ger
Year Of Birth: 1980
Height (cm): 168cm
Body Shape: Hourglass
Physical History: Huge body frame / Plus Fats
Medical History (If any): Slightly amaemic / Gastric
Marital Status/Motherhood: Bride to be
Reason To Slim Down: To prepare for Big Day in 2007
Current Diet Pattern: Used to be a rubbish bin, but has toned down quite a lot. Still indulge in buffets (once a month)
Current Exercise Regime: Once a week exercise
Previous Failed Experiences: Cambridge Diet (Though lost 3kgs, but the 3 kgs are attributed by water retention and not body fats)
--------------------
Data According to Original-Current-Goal:
Weight(kg): 56 – 59 - 52
Body Fat(%): ? – ? - 20
Chest("): 36 – 36 - 34
Waist("): 27 – 28 - 26
Tummy("): 31 – 33 - 26
Hips("): 38 – 38 - 35
Arm("): ? – 10 - 9
Thigh("): ? – 21 - 18
--------------------
Diet Plan
Breakfast: None
Lunch: Yet to decide#
Dinner: Yet to decide#
Snacks: Fruits
--------------------
Exercise Plan
Type: Badminton (at least 1 x a week), Jogging (3 x a week), Sit-ups (50nos. a day)*, Beach-volley (1 x a month), dumb-bells (20 x a day on each arm)*
====================
# Yet to decide coz will vary everyday
* will increase gradually

Alan: Was just wondering whether my exercise is reasonable? Really appreciate your professional enlightenment.

Cheerios,

alan_golfnut

Hi Shirley,

Well, regarding your exercise programme, it really depends on your time frame to achieve your goal. I alway advocate squeezing in strength training to build muscles (and hence increase metabolism). It's also help to improve your sports performance if you really wanna enjoy your sports.

Am more concerned about your diet though. You got a history of gastric and have a tendency to somewhat binge. 4-5 small meals a day is definitely the way to go so as to ensure that you're feeling constantly satisfied (as opposed to feeling full), which in turns ensures that you dun overeat because you were feeling hungry when you ordered your food. When you plan what you eat, you'd tend to eat more healthily.

nana07

I'm new here.. saw this interesting thread. Just to share... was 75kg before (2000/01) and has lost wt gradually by changing my eating habits and increasing my exercises. (reason to lose wt? job requirement?? haha) My wt's 61-62kg, has been maintainin this wt. Hope to lose some more wt (2kg! been trying but still maintaining!).

How i motivate myself to exercise? For the past 1 year, i try to participate in the coporate runs that my company organises, by doing so, i have to exercise on my own to have the stamina. I also do aerobics once a week though i'm not very good in co-ordination (though I have joined for 2 yrs!).

U have to know why you want to lose weight, that will be ur biggest motivation!

alan_golfnut

SC-DT: Cool nick, and welcome! Great of you to share your success story! Keep up with the aerobics, it offers a nice alternative to the runs. I'm sure that in no time, your coordination will improve! Good luck!

nana07

Hi Alan,

Thanks for the encouragement.. Will continue with the aerobics.. :p

Btw, I was reading the tread where you were saying u know pple from Polar (HR monitors), just wondering if u can still get discount or better rate? Have been thinking of getting one for quite so time, but dunno which one to get. Would like to seek some advise from u.

fairybride

hi people...just want to update u gals on my progress..been a long while since I last log in...i started in feb at 76kg...den i started jogging and my weight has gone down gradually...i've been jogging 2 times initially den i slowly increase it to up to 4-5 times a week...and about 50mins each time, 30mins jog and 20 mins walk...i also try to take care of what i eat, but i still pig out once in a while, after about 5.5months, i am now weighing 62kg...i've just joined a gym last month and now i go to the gym about 5times a week, doing different things...body combat classes, weights, treadmill, swimming, machines and I hope to reach 58kg as my final goal. My body fat is still quite high at about 29% but that dropped from 40% initially.

I've nver been at 62kg for the longest time I can remember!! i was already 64kg when i was 12 years old! can u imagine how happy these days when i go shopping for clothes, from XXL or XL to size M. Feels really incredible.

So gals out there, stay motivated and nothing is impossible...

just wanna check with all. Do you agree that our weight would reach a certain limit after sometime and stop dropping the scales after sometime?

hopeful

wow fairybride.
so happy for u. WHich gym u going huh? I am also thinking of signing up a gym because I want to tone up lah.....I also hope to shed another 4kg! See how lor :p

Nothing is impossible! I totally agree because I was at my peak 77KG!!!!!!That year and the year after that was really horrible. Could not wear nice clothes. Have to wear XL :p Never even have to wear L before. AT most due to certain cutting, have to wear M lor....

Yes, the feeling of been able to slip in old dresses are incredible...

fairybride

Hi Celia

YEs i think there is a term for that, Alan wil prob noe, that's when the weight loss slows down and it seems that though u are doing the same or even more exercise but the weight just doesnt go down anymore.

Hi Sally
I am with Fitness First..i like the place as I find it is the least crowded among the rest of the more common gyms...

glymo118

SC-DT,

Polar is having a 3-day sale this weekend. Got the info from a colleague. You may want to check it out...

Polar Congratulates Lance Armstrong on
winning Le Tour De France for the 7th consecutive time.

We celebrate by offering a 40% sale on Polar AXN300 Outdoor Computers.
Polar Running Series Clearance Sale: 40% off Polar models S120, S210,
S410 and S610i.

27 to 29 July, 9am to 7pm
Polar Info & Service Centre @ 361A Beach Road Singapore 199576

Hope this info helps...

alan_golfnut

SC-DT: Errmm.. afraid the discounts I can offer are usually for my PT clients, it's a deal that I worked out with Polar. Sorry! :p Anyway, re the sort of HRM, it's really a question of what your needs are. A client actually wanted to get the Weight Management range, but I advised him against it cos it's really too extravagant. Just get one that has a watch function along with the HRM. They're pretty cheap (RELATIVELY, used to be dearer) and nice nowadays!

Fairybride: *standing applause* What a story!!
) Am so happy for you, and nice of you to share your success story! People dun realise it, but your result is perfectly achievable, like I have cliens who lose 10kg in 10weeks, some even more (depending on their condition). And there's a lot that others can learn from your story too, like the fact that it's okay to pig out now and then. It just makes life more enjoyable, rite?
Keep it up, and good to see you're varying your activities too!

celia: What that is called is plateauing. 2 reasons for that: either your body has gotten used to the same old routine day in day out, so the progress stops; or because there's nothing to lose anymore! Think of it this way: if you're already very lean and got no fat to lose, then ow to lose weight? Dun forget that when you exercise, you build bone density and muscle mass, and that's good weight that you want. That's why using weight as a gauge is really inaccurate. Use percentage body fat instead.

Good luck to everyone! Great to hear stories borne of healthy work, rather than lures of commercial interests. ;)

alan_golfnut

Heyo Glym!!
Yeah, I was thrilled at the sale too, but those models that they offer are like in excess of $300.. then again, after discount, would be $160. Hmm... still not bad.

nana07

Hi Fairybride,
Gambatte! I know how you feel abt the wt lost! hey, my goal's 58kg too! I really gotta work hard to reach there man! But I will try!

Hi Glymo,
Thanks for the info, but i dun think I will be able to make it today cos' I have to go to the gym! :p

Hi Alan,
It's ok and thanks for the info... think i have to get one real soon.

reismion

i'm new here. i'm trying to motivate myself 2 lose weight 4 my big-day come nov 2006. hopefully by my PS time. may 2006.

took up a gym pkg w planetfitness. goal is to go fr 63kg to 50kg by exercising 3x a week. my height is 1.54m. diet-wise, not sure how 2 go abt it cos i really love my food alot. how do u motivate urself 2 go on a diet? any advice? thks in adv.

thinking of taking slimming pills 2 lose some weight 1st n the rest thru exercise. is it advisable?

alan_golfnut

reismion: I've heard people saying that they put the weight back on after going off the pills, but the greater concern is really the side effects it gives you. Generally, the pills work by accelerating your metabolism through raising your heart rate. So the side effects can range from increased pespiration, irritability, heart palpitation, headaches, etc.

As for your diet, you dun have to start making drastic changes to your diet immediately. Making subtle changes can make a difference too, such as cutting back on the number of times your drink soft drinks. And when you start seeing the progress, you'd be motivated to make greater changes. It's a psychological effect. Good luck!

reismion

hi alan_lee

thks 4 the advice. will try slowly. shld i cut down on dinner intake oni or on all meals? carbo only or etc?

nana07

Hi reismion,

Agree with Alan that you can start with small changes and this can apply for your meals as well. Cut down the meal portion gradually.
We have to cut down high fat food intake (e.g. char kway teow, chicken rice, deep fried items) as well.

alan_golfnut

reismion: Yup, reduce the portions and spread it out over maybe 4 meals first, then 5. The rationale is that you won't feel hungry, and when we feel hungry, we tend to make bad food choices and give in to our temptations and overeat too. At the cellular level, it ensures that your metabolism is constant. Good luck!

reismion

hi alan_lee

thks 4 the advice. trying 2 practise tat already. will nd 2 monitor.
keep u posted on my progress. nd 2 exercise more. :p

dawngel

I am a 24 yr old gal. Still single though ^^ hope you all dun mind me joining in this thread.
I find it real motivating to read thru all of your threads. especially fairybride's ^^
Congrats Fairybride.

I've been fat all my life since primary sch. The only photos I've seen when I was young, slim and cute was when i am an infant a toddler then no more..

realli difficult to cut down weight. I realli wish to cut down my weight from 68kg now to abt 50 kg before my 25th bday? I am currently at the ht of 164cm. Dunno if that's possible anot.

Wanna ask what kind of diets and fruits should i eat. I started joggin but not on a regular basis, once or twice a wk. and I did yoga once a wk. Does yoga help?
I'm easily tempted when it comes to food, especially when stuff gets stress at school..Any method to 'cure' this kind of temptation.

Hope to hear from you all.
And this is a great thread..^^

alan_golfnut

Welcome, Vickie. Fat loss is basically abt creating a caloric imbalance, which is thru eating sensibly and expending the calories thru an active lifestyle.

If you're the sort who'd tend to overeat or make bad food choices, then eating small meals thru the day will help. People tend to make bad food choices when they're hungry, which is the prob with the 3 big meals a day routine we're all used to. By the time we get to the next meal, we'd be really hungry and end up overeating and eating the wrong sort of food too.

dawngel

Alan, thanks for your reply...^^

Its true that by the time i reach the nxt meal I will feel very hungry and tends to overeat..especially when I'm eating at home after a long day at school.^^|||

May I ask how small the meal is considered small? Can I have some examples how big a serving shld it be? and how many small meals throughout the day will be ideal?
and also I read that fruits like mango and banana shld be avoided. then which fruits should i eat or not eat?

also does joggin cause the calves to become hard and big? My calves are rather hard and big..thus I can't realli wear nice boots..but I dunno how to make it smaller..I'm afraid joggin will make them even harder.><

alan_golfnut

dawngel: Stress plays an important role in eating habits too, esp when the person sees food that they like as a source of comfort. Depending on your food portions that you eat normally, I'd say ROUGHLY two-thirds of what you'd eat. After a while, you'd discover what's the right portion for you cos your body will tell you so.

Aiyo... who have been feeding you these awful misconceptions and complete untruths? Re the fruits, must be the Atkins thingy lah. Do you know that Atkins went bust oredi? Now, if what they say make sense, would it go bust? Anyway, fruits are ok lah, even good (natural ones, not canned), cos they have no additives and are no processed. Eat a variety so that you (1) dun get bored and (2) get the different nutrients they offer.

Unless you are a man, then big calves are a non-issue with women. Here's a rhetorical question: Wearing heels has the same effect as standing on your toes (hence working out your claves) all day rite? With so many women wearing them all day everyday, how come women are running around with large calves?
And dun worry about not finding boots that can't fit. Why stress yourself out by measuring yourself against the standards that the manufacturers set? It's the same as trying to squeeze into those impossibly sized clothes on sale in the Bangkok markets!
Just get those that fit you. And mind you, if the big-boned Caucasian women can wear them, so can a small-boned Asia like you!

Cheerios!

dawngel

Hi hi Alan,

Actualli I'm Vickie la..hehe
Juz got back from sch..Thankz for your advice.
The misconception I saw on some website one...
btw wat's atkins? hehe..the only atkins i know is the author of my physical chem textbk..LOL

I guess I am starting my regular basis jogging tdy provided it doesnt rain. nowadays the weather is unpredictable. ^^ what other kinds of indoor exercise that i can do to acheive the same effect of joggin ah?? I'm trying to get rid of arms, tummy and thighs fats. ^^

Btw, Alan I saw from some thread that you are studying something in relation to this topic. juz out of curiosity lah..^^ what are i studing ah? Singapore got such course?

And also thanks ah..will keep u updated..on my progress and keep myself motivated and commited..hehe

dawngel

Oh yah..btw, a fren of mine actually tried out a brand of detoxification pills and after 2 months, she managed to slim down abt 5 kg and her waist gone down by 2 inches and her dad waist went down by 4 inches.
Realli can see the effect when I met up with her. was wondering if I shld give it a try.

Howeverm is it true that when eat detoxification pills will get alot of pimples?
My skin quite sensitive. and my fren got pimples la..but might also be due to her working in a chemical co. but her dad no pimples wor..juz a bit of constipation but is solve by drinking the tea that comes with the pills.

Any suggestion if I shld give a try?

alan_golfnut

Vicki: Your physical chem textbook?? How old are you? On detox, frankly, the purpose of our liver is for the purpose of clearing the body of toxins. As some doctors said about detox when interviewed in the local papers, why pop pills to do things that the liver is already doing. Just stop smoking, drinking, etc, and the liver will naturally cleanse itself. Let's put it this way, no one, in the couple of thousand years we've been roaming the earth, has dropped dead without those pills rite?
Interesting point though, what you said about breaking out when you take those pills. Will try to read up more abt the pills.

dawngel

I'm 24 ...undergrad ...majoring in chem..so gotta studying physical chem lor... lol.

I tink I know wat's the atkins' diet le...heheh

so ur suggestion is not to take the pills la?
but i see my fren effect so good..abit tempted..hehe
then again..on the account for my skin..better dun risk it..
=p

alan_golfnut

IC.. thot you're still in sec schoo!! :D

Indoors? What sort of setting? Gym? Actually, you could use your Uni's gym, quite good wat, female usage not low either. I personally love the rowing machine, great total body workout. Keep in mind this though and it's something that I always tell my clients: being active is NOT strictly confined to the gym, it's about increasing your activity level anytime, anyhow, anywhere. That could mean getting off a bus stop earlier and brisk walking home; using the stairs rather than the lift, doing some simple weights using bottles while watching TV, or even simple stretching (and understated form of fitness is flexibility).

dawngel

er...24 still in sec sch die le..lol
indoors as in when I am at home and it rains and i cant jog. hehe

oh yah abt the simple weight thing. Is it that lighter weight and more sets will be able to burn fats and tone; while heavier weights build muscles rather then burn fats?
Also do you know of anywhere can look for exercises that i can do with weights, coz not familiar with that...^^

Btw, you do offer personal training? how much do you usually charge a?
Quite interested in getting a personal trainer as I am always very lowly motivated. =p But
I heard personal trainer are quite ex. Hee. I dun have the money now though..juz checking the market see how much i need to save..=p

alan_golfnut

Actually, toning is pretty much as building muscles, dun believe what that TCS actress who said otherwise. ;) For the exercise, you can check out shape.com.

Drop me a mail abt the PT thingy, cos it's a bit dodgy discussing on the forum.

patali

anyone has ways of putting on weight? i'm 157cm and about 35kg only
....juz had my WG and EG fitting...really look like a pole...haiz

alan_golfnut

Hi peggy! Generally same principle, eat more frequently but more high caloric stuff like carbs, and lift weights. It's still important to put on weight in a healthy way.

daian

I'm new here but have similar goals like you that is to lose weight. I was previously 60KG now have lost to 56KG. My goal is to lose 1 more KG to 55KG by 18th Septmeber my ROM solemnization to wear the tummy hugging gown. Then I hope to lose another 3KG to 52KG by 10th October for my Photoshoot. Hopefully from then if I achieve my goals, I'll be able to lose another 2KG to 50KG and maintain it and tone up for my AD on 12th March'06.

My Plan
- Exercise for at least 1hour 3 times a week

Eating Plan:

Breakfast: 2 slices of bread with Coffee
Lunch: Rice, a serving of veg and meat
Snack: Coffee
Dinner: Yoghurt Drink and a fruit

dawngel

whao..

Daiann, yogurt drink and fruit only for dinner? I sure cant do that..my mum always cook such delicious food..then when i get home from sch..i cant stop myself from eating wat she cook. hehe
muz add oil ah...^^

but as wat Alan adviced, I am now cutting down my food portion.

Btw, Alan,
during my last yoga class yesterday..my teacher actually incoperated some pilates steps in and had us doing sets with a series of yoga and pilates steps. She mentioned that this will have us build out cores muslces espcially those in the tummy areas and make them lean and 'longer'.

Will it realli happen?

anyway, my arms and thighs and calves and my tummy are aching like crazy even worse then when i went jogging.
I felt like I realli exercise hehe..which is what I haven felt for years..=p

alan_golfnut

dawngel: Wow, did the trainer really say that? Yes, the core muscles are worked on during pilates, but it's not true that it makes them leaner and longer. I mean, you'd lose inches because your ab muscles are 'tighter' or toned. To get leaner, you'd have to lose fat, and the effects of pilates alone is debatable. Just to be mischievious, why dun you ask her to explain how that happens?

dawngel

Alan,
haha..okok..
yah i know..i got jog also.the pilates and yoga class is juz a 'relaxing' and stretching class for me ..=p
quite enjoy the class.
Btw, after each jog, is it better to do some simple stretching exercises? emphasize these excercises on the legs?