A Diet & Exercise Challenge! Startin Dec 04. Motivate & Share Success Stories!!!

alan_golfnut

Lynette: Judging from what you've written, I can conclude that (a) you're overtraining (b) undereating. Then again, you're not the first person to fall into the trap of "exercise more, eat less, expedite the process" thinking. To cut a long story short, your body isn't getting enought rest, hence your immune system is affected. When you aren't eating enough, your body goes into starvation mode and starts hoarding food as store it as fat. Plus your metabolism would have slowed right down, meaning you're burning far less calories. Tell me, are you hungry most of the time? I always advocate eating 5-6 small meals a day.

To be brutally honest, I'm concerned about you cos you're basically doing a lot of things wrong and gotten a lot of concepts/principles wrong despite prob starting out with good intentions. Another thing is, you really need to step back and re-evaluate your goals. And the first thing you need to do, is to enjoy your workouts and your lifestyle. Take a break while your re-evaluate your goals. Feel free to drop me a mail if you have more queries.

Sunmoonriver: Contrary to the misguided belief, not all carbs are evil. Complex carbs which take longer to break down and hence supply the body with a slow but sustained supply. And if you're working out regularly, all the more you need carbs.

sunmoonriver

Alan.. Oat is a complex carbo, if I am not wrong. That's the reason why I have taken oat as lunch, such at I will have the fibre, energy and less hunger (cos longer time to breakdown as you said). One thing is that I also believe in the saying that we should break down our meal to smaller quantity 5 times per day. Cos, I do take teabreak with fibre biscuits. I do not believe that one should hunger him/herself cos metabolism will drop. I have taken salad for dinner, cos we are suppose to eat like a begger and salad is lighter ..

Previously, I am just like Lynette, eat little exercise a lot.. but discover that it is very dangerous for our health. After a while, I will feel giddy while working out, having low blood pressure too. From then on, I believe that eating healthy should be the right path for a better body.

alan_golfnut

sunmoonriver: Yup, good that you're eating complex carbs, which is why I was surprised that you suggested that Lynette takes out carb from her diet.

nutty

Hi Alan,

I have seen a girl friend who frequents the gym and she is really tone. You cant see any fats on her at all and i heard from someone that she she has almost 0% fats. All you can see is bone and muscles. very althetic and very skinny look and she is rather strong for her size and skinny frame.
However, there are also plenty of people who go the gym regularly (they dont eat a lot too) and I dont see them that way. At most is slim down a little but not like only bones and muscles.
My qn is why how did the girl achieve that kind of athetic look?

evon78

Hi Alan

Currently, I jogged or stair climbing on every
Monday, Tuesday & Thursday for 1/2 hour.
Breakfast - is just two piece of bread and coffee.
Lunch - is just veggies, meat,but no rice. sometime just noodles.
Dinner - just soya bean milk after jogging.
But my weight just don't go down

Am I eating right? pls advise

alan_golfnut

Nutty: Firstly, there's no such thing as "0%" body fat cos even the elite athletes still have about 8-10% body fat, which is extremely unhealthy for women. Anyway, there're many factors that contributes to a person's leanness, such as genetics, type of exercise, diet, etc.

Evon: For one thing, I can say you're definitely NOT eating enough! (2) I really can't tell what is the intensity of your workouts (3) no point working out cardio alone when you don't get any strength training to build muscles to raise metabolism (4) Don't use the numbers on the weighing scale as the ultimate judge of your fatness. The easiest way is to see if your clothes are looser.

vinmei

Hi hi...

Glad to find this thread. I am a Feb06 bride. And have start to plan to slim down. But really not sure where I should start.

Me and my fren plan to sign up California Fitness.

For me, I normally take light dinner which is no rice only eat the dishes. But then , did not really see much changes. Weight is fluctuating up and down.

I am weighing about 60kg now. And I am only 158cm tall. I want to lose about 10kg so that I can look good in my gown. And I really hate my arms & tighs. REALLY look like a pig!

Is there anyway which I can lose weight fast and will not feel de-moralised.

Help needed!!!

kachang

To lose weight fast can try to do the following, it worked for me. From size 28 jeans to 26 jeans in 4 months! No tablets or pills, just need discipline and exercise, sorry gals believe me, but theres no short cut.

1) Set aside 1 day of the week for eating your fav stuff, e.g chocolate. The rest of the week stick to lotsa fiber foods, e.g vegetables and fruits, lean white meat and complex carbohydrates ( wholemeal bread, or brown rice is good)

2) To lose weight fast, try doing 15mins weight training followed by cardio 45 mins ( bcos your body only starts burning stored fats after 30mins of cardio) Weight training builds muscle that burns more calories.

3)Do at least 3 sessions of the above in a week. And you wil see results after 2 to 3 months. Toned muscles will enhance your look, don't worry about becoming JoJO sinclair lookalike, as long as you don;t lift too heavy weights or take those bodybuilder supplements you will look gd. Imagine Halle Berry, shes what I call an ideal tone, muscle and lean physique! Thats my goal.... hehee.

kachang

Heheh.. point number one very important.Must have one "off day" if not one will feel very deprived. HAha... sharewif u guys, i just finished a pack of cheezels. Yum! Today is my "off" day.

Hi piyo, Cardio refers to activities like, jogging, cycling, running, rollerblading even sports like, badminton or tennis falls under this catergory. These activities burn fat and calories.

hamster_gal

wow, have been away for sometime but great to see so many new pple here....
ok an update on my progress.....
recently have not been following my diet cos:
1) boss keep asking us to go out for lunch so cannot reject....
2)dinnertime FMIL keep asking me and FH to go back for dinner so cannot reject
3) weekends my mother keep inviting FH home for lunch and dinner so got to eat her cooking and cannot reject....
ALAMAK... no further weight lose these few weeks... but luckily no gain also...

alan_golfnut

hamster_gal: Actually, just eat smart, eat smaller portions. It's not unusual to be caught in such social situations where you have to eat out of courtesy. Go ahead and eat, just eat selectively, and you can either be honest by saying that you wanna look your best in your wedding dress, or just say that you're feeling stuffed!

sashamama

Hey all!

Glad to see this thread pretty active! I'm the mistress of the thread.. hehe.. Me still naughty lo, no control diet much... But recently resumed 2/3 times per week of work out with my personal trainer, and got some results liao.. hehe...

Photo shoot in Jun, AD in Nov...

Will gambatte ne with all of you gals here ya?

CHEERS!!!

vinmei

I used to go Gym and aerobics often but then I did not have weight loss but my arms and tighs seem to grow bigger. From then, I think it is not for me. I need to lose weight first before I can go to all these.

Is it right? I am now trying to take up Yoga or Pilates. Any help on weight loss for this?

Or I should just go for a jog?

Please help anyone. Tks.

alan_golfnut

vinmei: So many reasons for your predicament. Could be diet, could be the type of workouts, could be your body type... that's why what you do needs to be personalised and not take what works for others. Actually, it's not correct to say that you 'need to lose weight first' before going for weights and aerobics. It's actually the way to kickstart your programme. Muscles help raises metabolism and thus makes the cardio workouts more effective.

You could try Pilates, it's great for abs and strength. Have a nice variety of activities to choose from, have fun from it. Don't stress yourself out by making it a 'die die must lose weight' mission. Enjoy the others aspects of leading a healthy lifestyle.

Cheerios!

vinmei

Hi Alan,

Thanks. But how do I explain that when I excerise, both my arms will become tighter and bigger. And it is so difficult to reduce it now.

Any way which I can reduce it?

Your advise pls. Tks.

gracefrgod

hi alan,
i m lazy to go exercises after working.what to do? can i juz dont go exercises after work? i will juz have fruits for lunch,den proper meal for dinner. still can lose wt rite? i m trying to buy a wrist weights. where can i buy?

alan_golfnut

vin: It's prob gone bigger cos the muscles are growing, but the fat level is still the same. Just persist with a mix of strength and cardio exercises, coupled with a sensible diet, you'll see the results. Good luck!

Spring: Can buy them from any sports shops.

levynn

hello...
how do u pple continue to motivate urselves to exercise?? i tried to go jogging... but after like 2 weeks, stop.
how ah??

fairybride

Hi Alan,

I started joggin exercise on 18 Feb and it is almost a month now...was about 76kg when i start and now 75kg even though I hit 74kg twice..but went back to 75kg...sometimes see the scale in the morning just makes me depressed...i know it is not the numbers u see on the scale that counts...but that would definitely be a motivation lor... I oso dunno how come so difficult to lose weight leh...if those gals here whose weight is abt 60++ i can understand..coz they dun have that much excess to lose mah..but i am in my 70+++ i thought at least it will be easier to lose since i got so much excess..but that doesnt seem to be the case.

Now i jog at least 3 times a week for 20mins, that covers abt 2.4km..and then i walk for 15mins for abt 1.2km, I havent gone swimming already coz really no time to go, used to i swim 40mins 20 laps each time. And last week i even jog 4times..but still is dissappointing to see the weight loss so slow, clothes wise, didnt drop any size. Might be my eating habit lah, i try to have healthy breakfast n lunch, usually is fruits/tau huey (less sugar) for BF den lunch is soupy stuff or subway turkey sanwhich no dressing, dinner i try to take normal soupy stuff but smetimes a bit difficult, esp if go out with frens. ANd weekends are the worst...mum's cooking at home, at nite go out, really need a lot of discipline lor...

i thought i could lose 5kg in 1 month..looks like it is just going to be 1kg a month which i think is really too slow.. sighhhhhh

sashamama

Dear levynn:

It's difficult to be self motivated lo.. I forever pitying myself and allowing myself to go back to my poor eating habits (overeating & eating junk and oily food) and poor lifestyle (no exercising at all).

I now have a personal trainer, who ensures i exercise twice a week at least. I drag my FH as well, so he can tone up as well.. Hehe..

Mental motivation is impt, my photo shoot is in Jun, wedding in Nov. If i dun slim down NOW, when else do i have the motivation to do so? After marriage, being a mum would make sliiming even harder yah? So die die must slim down asap lo..

Another source of motivation is peer pressure. I've not tried this yet but would try it soon, think next week.. Tell EVERYBODY you're trying to slim down... hehe... Especially those you go eat with, tell them you are on a healthy diet, i'm sure they wun force you to eat fatty food and it'd be easier for you to make healthier choices. Your family would help too, in terms of healthier home-cooked food or smaller portions?

ACTION speaks louder than words. DO NOT buy unhealthy snacks and store them at home or at work... Many times i realise that if i had not bought that packet of chips, i would not have eaten it. So store up on healthier food options, like wheat biscuits, wholemeal bread, fruits, raisins, apricots, dried prunes, etc.

When results start to show, you'd start to receive compliments from people... Thrive in that, bask in that and continue to allow that to motivate you ahead...

When you realise that you dun seem to be making any progress, it means that you've hit a plateau. Then you gotta try other exercises, push yourself a little harder, basically get outta your comfort zone, and results would continue to show.

Of course seeking professional help would help... My trainer alternates strength training and cardio workout for me and knows how much weight that i should use and throws in a million different types of exercises for me to ensure that i dun hit a plateau.

Dear Fairybride...

Weighing scale cant be trusted cos of a few reasons...
a) Muscles are heavier than fats
b) It could just be a gain or loss of water
c) Other factors like different times of the day or menstruation might affect
d) Percentage of body fat would be a better gauge
eg. I know of a gal who would weigh 52kg at 0% body fat. Which means that some of us are heavy boned. At 0% body fat, which is super impossible, we may already weigh 50plus. So there is no such thing as the standard weight for all gals, like 50kg.
e) Judging by how loose our clothes are should be a better gauge

You mentioned that you din drop any size, and you are exercising regularly, and eats healthily too. So for there not to seem to have any progress, it could be because your body is too accustomed to the jogging? You might need to push yourself harder at jogging or simply try different workouts? Cycling? Blading? Gym? Taking exercise classes like pilates or kick boxing or aerobics? Play badminton with friends?

Also, losing 5kg a month is very unhealthy... When's your wedding?

vinmei

Hi Sasha,

Does a personal trainer really helps? I am going to sign up with Amore soon. But really need motivation to go. And my fren is joining me so I feel more motivated to go.

But she is also introducing me the slimming centres. Wonder if it really works. Afterall, I think it is the diet which makes a big difference rite?

fairybride

wah my body acustomed to jogging? i donno about that man, but I thought my body was customed to swimming, thats why i thought can try jogging since jogging has always been the toughest exercise for me, I got flat feet and quite heavy top, so it is straineous for me to jog, I tell u, the last time i jog was 10 yrs ago when i was 18!! havent jog since then, but at least i have been swimming for the past 2 yrs.

I also notice that, after jogging for 4 weeks, I perspire less than before. Last time, just one round my T shirt wet liao, now 2 rounds then wet. Has that got something to do with body getting used to jogging? If like tat how to continue exercising? Keep changing ah? oso would like to push myself harder, but really damn tired and sometimes so demoralise liao oso got to drag to jog...i oni scared i get so repulsed that i stop jogging...see how lor...meanwhile just do as per I am doing

AD is first quarter next year, havent got exact date yet, also donno when is the photo shoot but likely to be after sept i think, I was thinking of starting early at least more time to lose fats mah, considering i am so big...75kg at 165cm..thats why if i can reach 65kg i damn happy liao, also don't dare to dream of my weight being in the 5 range...

alan_golfnut

Vinmei: Wah, dun bother wasting your money at slimming centres! You would've spent like $3k, lose 2kg and then they tell you 'for optimal results', must persist and sign on for more treatments, and more expensive ones too. You'd be better off signing with Amore. Regardless of the quality of the trainers there, you'd still
get better results than a 'slimming' centre.

fairy: Common misconception that you must run till you drop before you see results. The key is to work within your fat burn zone (written a lot about it in the thread 'how to slim down properly'), which is about 60-70% of your max heart rate (220 minus age). You'd need a combo of strength and cardio exercises for optimal results. As sasha said, weight alone can't determine your direction, you should use percentage body fat instead.

tealeaf

Dear Fairybride,

Think you should do some variations to your jog. Like doing speed burst. Eg, for every 5 mins you jog, run fast for 1-2 mins, recover, jog the same 5 mins again then fast for 1-2 mins again ... continue till you have completed your usual 20 mins run.

In addition, once a week, try running a double. ie, jog 15 mins in the morning and the same 15 mins in the evening.

Or, you can also try to run a longer run once a week say 40 mins at the usual pace.

In addition to all the exercise, you may consider re-looking at what you eat. You can exercise so hard, but not cutting down on the amount of unhealthy food you are eating, it will do you no help.

Personally, I find that cutting down the amount of food I consume really helps.

fairybride

Hi Alan,

THanks for the advice. One question, how to measure percentage body fat? is there sme formula or got to use special weigh scale? Also, can u suggest sme strenth exercise besides going to gym? Coz dun have gym membership and what i can think of is dumbells...wat other things can be considered strength exercise?

Hi lala
I think your suggestion is quite good..i never thought of that before...esp the part on the speed burst..only thing i worry is...oredi so hard to drag finish the 20mins...wonder how to do 5mins and run fast for 1-2mins den continue again..hahahaah sure damn siong..but den no pain no gain!

vinmei

Hi Alan,

Ya. Thats wat I think as well. Therefore would not want to spend that kind of $$$

I am going to take up different types of exercise and monitor how it goes.

Need all the motivation here! Else afraid that I may not make it!

But to be able to be a pretty bride, I must persist!!!

levynn

thanks sashamama.

but my problem is that i'm very underweight. besides needing to put on some weight, i also need to keep fit. my sis said she has a fren who is also underweight but her cholestrol level is too high... made me a little scared....

fairybride

does anyone know where i can take up kickboxing besides gym and places like amore? Has anyone tried that? Is it very "siong"?

vinmei

Hi Fairybride,

Can try California Fitness. They have as well.
Community centres also provide as well. :p

Amore is for ladies only. More privacy lor...

may_lee

Don be demorialised fairy bride.. i m also fat mah. 158 only already 69kg. now watch my diet alot... :D hoope to slim down soon! where do u stay? I also feel like going to sign up kick boxing hehee.. maybe we can go together!

may_lee

Hi fairy bride.. i cant. i am hving nite classes.. =( most prob i will see which are the courses are n weekends.. sigh

alan_golfnut

Fairy: Body percent fat can be measured by various methods, but in gyms, it's commonly measured using calipers to measure your skinfold thickness (briefly, why it's done so it's cos fat is located under the skin) at various parts of your body, then the numbers are added up and checked with a table to tell you your percentage body fat. Another sort is weighing scales which also measure percentage body fat. All you need to do is key in your info, step on, and wait for it to calculate for you. Downside to that is that it can vary depending on the time of day, and when you last ate or drank.

vinmei: Instead of dumbells which are bulky and inconvenient, get resistance cords instead. You can find them at RSH, with brands like Nike and Reebok, and they come with instructions and suggested exercises too. Drop me a line if you need more info.

lala: What you're doing with your jogs, ie. alternating between fast and slow, is called 'interval training'. True, it's great for improving, but you should use it sparingly. I use it as a way of avoiding a plateau. Do get in some strength exercises so as to increase muscle mass and hence increase metabolism.

Phew! I believe that's it. Good luck, y'all!

vinmei

Hi Alan,

Can you please let me know how the resistance cords will help? It can help to reduce the size of my arms?

What about doing workouts like aerobics, yoga and pilates? Would it help in reducing my arms and it is good for overall?

I am trying to work out an exercise plan on which program I should go for. Hope you can help me so that I can get the best results.

alan_golfnut

vinmei: Think I mentioned it before: THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS SPOT REDUCTION, NO MATTER WHAT THE ADS PROMISE.
When you work out, it'll basically lose from the whole body. Resistance cords help with strength building and building muscles. Getting a varied workout is always good so that you won't get injuries from overuse of the same muscles and joints, plus it keeps the mind and body more fresh doing new things.

levynn

hi...
is it necessary to get an exercise mat if i were to do sit-ups at home?? or can normal mattress do? will it b bad for the spine or sth?? thanks.

alan_golfnut

Levynn: No lah, no need to go buy exercise mat. Worse comes to worst, just tuck a rolled up towel or small pillow under your hips. Remember, dun roll your body up like traditional sit-ups. Crunches are more effective. Have fun!

sashamama

Dear Vinmei:

Getting a PT works for me as i have ZERO motivation to exercise on my own. I will never take the initiative to spend my time exercising and the situation is not made beta by my equally lazy FH. Now that i exercise 1 to 3 times a week with my PT, i drag him along for him to exercise on his own either at the gym or the stadium. He is fitter and has slimmed down too!

I've been to slimming centres. Mary Chia, Marie France, De Beaute. None worked. I've tried slimming products, Cambridge Diet, ExTrim, patches, other pills, MLM products, etc. None worked. I've even gone to the doc for Duramine, etc. None worked. I've tried extreme diet plans, Atkins, starvation, etc. None worked.

Diet and Exercise are the only ways. Cheap and good and it works!!! But if you really wanna spend money for faster and effective results, get a PT like me.. Hehehe..

Dear Fairybride:

Eh... Try the gym or cycling or badminton? Exercise with your FH or gal frens? Even jogging backwards/sideways add variation to your workout!
Gym is just $2.50 per entry at almost every housing estate

I tried boxercise before. Can be considered xiong, can be considered not xiong, depending on how much efforts you put into it. When i tired, i just don't punch that hard or lift my legs that high. But my fanatic fren boxes and kicks like her enemy is in front of her. Super scary! haha..

Dear Levynn:

I have no idea how to help underweight put on weight healthily... Maybe eat the healthy carbs like wholemeal bread, brown rice? I do have frens who are very slim but cholesterol levels are high... So slim people also need to watch what they eat!

Dear Galevo:

Over-dieting does affect your menses. You gotta be super careful!!!

KEEP THE UPDATES AND MOTIVATIONS COMING!!!

sashamama

Dear Hamster Gal:

I pay about $2000 for 30 sessions of 1 hour sessions with my PT. Many times we go beyond 1 hr to nearly two hours even, when we are both free. I try to make it twice a week, but will have once a week at least. During the hols, I have 3 times a week.

As I stay in Tampines, for my weekday session, my PT accomodates by coming over to Tampines after my school. He is a member of Sports Council Gyms so entry is free for him but I need to pay $2.50 per entry. And it could get crowded at times. We do go to the Tampines stadium more than the gym during our weekday sessions.

Over the weekend, I would go over to NUS Guildhouse gym in Clementi. He is a member there and can sign me in for free. It is more exclusive there, machines are newer and more effective too. He has most of his sessions there.

I do find the money spent worth it as my PT is very knowledgeable, easy to get along with, motivating, supportive, never giving me up. My dress size has dropped and I am slimmer and fitter and healthier. Although if i do control my diet harder, the results would show much faster... :p Last time when i spend more on slimming centres and products, the money went down the drain...

I can PM or email you his number if you need more info?