A Diet & Exercise Challenge! Startin Dec 04. Motivate & Share Success Stories!!!

sashamama

Dear Scubscub:

Great! Welcome!
Maybe u wanna take some measurements of ur stats to keep track of ur inch loss! Good to do a body fat calculation to see how things go! Weight might not be that accurate, cos at times what u lose is water, and the muscle-weight u gained weighs more than the fats-weight u lost!
hehe...

Just finished my workout with my PT. A good one, i feel myself getting fitter and stronger! Met my BS designer Dang on Sat, and my best fren yest, both commented that i slimmed down a little! Without me mentioning abt my PT sessions! Yoo hoo hoo! Gotta try to lose more esp for me taking-of-measurements-for-gowns this fri!

GAMBATTE NE, GALS!!!

flabbyarms

Hi sasha,

i can see there are improvements for you already
congrats!

i read this from an email,thought i share with you and everyone here heee

1) It is advisable to have fruits as the main course for breakfast.With the exception of Durian, Mango, and Bananas)

2) Healthy eating with food prepared in the following manners :- Steam, Stew, Roast, Baked, avoid deep fried food.

3) Avoid food that is loaded with sugar such as Chocolates, Sugared Soft drinks, and Canned Fruits juices.

4) Avoid animal fats such as skin of Chicken, Lards, Salmon, Codfish and Eel.

5) Prior to meal time, it is advisable to consume some fruits such as Apple, Kiwis,or Pear and protein products such as Egg without Yoke or Tofu, and some green vegetable/Fibre in order to get rid of harmful toxins
accumulated in the systems. (refer to Detoxification Diet)

6) The ideal amount of Green/Vegetables to consume in right proportion should be double the amount ratio to protein and carbohydrates.

7) Avoid food prepared with preservatives, and chemical laden products.

8) It is advisable to avoid consuming any protein or carbohydrates 4 hours prior to bedtime.

9) In order to ensure proper digestion, an interval of 5 hours will be ideal in between each mealtime.

DETOXIFICATION DIET
(~15mins before meal time - a+b+c)

a) FRUIT - 1/2 to 1 Apple with skin or
Kiwi or Pear (Chinese Pears with
Freckles) or
Japanese Cucumber or
Dragon fruit

b) PROTEIN - Tofu or
Tau Huay without syrup or
Hard boiled egg without yoke

c) FIBRE - half a packet Fybo Gel or
fresh vegetables salad

flabbyarms

Hi sasha, i measured myself and realise i got smaller at the waist and tummy...but then arms still the same sigh..heeee...

anyway, still got to jiayou! hee

alan_golfnut

Congrats to all of you who've made progress!

FA: Just some clarifications about the diet. Fish fat is generally considered good oil, that's why health food promoters are always keen to highlight that their products contain fish oils.

Actually, there'll always be interesting diets out there that recommend that you cut out protein, cut out carbs, eat more fat, etc... Bottomline is, moderation is the key. We do need a healthy balance of diff type of nutrient, yes, fat included. For example, people have been flogging to death the evils of carbs, but the truth is, carbs are an essential food source for our body. Just be careful of the type of carbs you eat, that's all (take more complex carbs).

Ladies, remember that a key and very important 'supplement' to your programme has to be patience. You simply cannot see miracles appearing overnight, despite what the slimming centres and pill companies tell you. But once you get the results, you're more likely to maintain it cos by then, you would've made a change in a lifestyle which makes it sustainable.

Keep up the good work!

scubscub

Hey Sashamama,

I hate the measurement thing as I have to constantly measure to keep track.

I monitor only by weighting myself and when i put on my clothes (it gets looser when i lost fats at certain body parts) I am so far contented with this method, but I know if I continue eating healthy meals and keep exercising, this really helps.

Overall I still believe exercising is the most effective way.

So, all the best to everyone!

dlbchinchin

hey guys
went to gym todae wif my gor.. oh my gosh.. i m like 62.6kg lor.. n wobbly..well wanted to measure the stuff.. but i can;t find my mummy;s measuring tape tho..but my waist line is 28inch..

thighs r thick..pple usually say tt when ur thighs r together, if there isn;t a gap between the upper thighs, mean tt there's really too much fat on the inner thigh..n out thighs r fat n ultra curved out.. well tt;s me lor..

ran 4km on threadmill, cycled n did some lifting.realised my arms are super wobbly n these few days bn eating fish bee hoon soup..

2004 coming to an end..new year's resolution is to slim down, tone the fats n be a new person!!

cheers,
hj

gooobergrape

WOAH!!! Never knew there's such a POWER thread!!!

I am the guilty one. I am suppose to exercise "tomorrow" weeks ago. Even last nite, i told my self to go exercise next morning and hehe.. i am at the computer again

Read your threads ladies and feel energised to do something about it "tomorrow". Hopefully I can start taking out the inverted commas for the word tomorrow tomorrow.

Keep the faith!!!!!

hopeful

hi everyone,,,
I also want to slim down.. I run almost everyday for half an hour. No dinner.. Only fruits, milk and yoghurt. But the effects are slow..
Anyone want to try mesotheraphy... I am thinkign of that..
Anyone tried b4?
Tks

sashamama

Dear all:

Sorry for the late posting!
Been busy with banquet and renovator arrangements!

No idea abt mesotherapy le, anyone else can help?

I have slimmed down more liao!!!
Super happy!!!
Even my PT commented that my thighs (which are the fattest parts of my body) are smaller! My waist size dropped 2" from 31 to 29. And when i went to buy skirt yesterday, i could buy something a little shorter, above the kneecaps, and din look too fat! Guess what? I bought size 27"!!! hehe...

Guiltily, i not been exercising enough lo! Gotta try and do some push-ups, crunches and brisk walk on my own as well lo! And i not been controlling my diet!!! Ate chicken rice and instant noodles and durians!!! Oopsss... Will eat in moderation!!!

Gotta work harder for my 1st fitting for gowns in end Jan, and PS in mid Mar, wedding in end Jun!!!

Keep the updates coming!!!
CHEERS!!!

dlbchinchin

cool... tt;s really great man. i oso bn wking on my thighs n overall.. but sad to say.. i've injured my knees.. so kinda banned from exercisin n runnin n etc for like a week??.. omg.. nw can only focus on upper body n stretchin..
cutting down on my food intake..the amount and trying to drink up as much n as often..

sometimes i look at my twig-figured sista who eats as tho as there's no tml n yet nt put on weight..tis is so unfair man..

ha..guess we juz haf to work on it..keep on workin..keep on working!!

sashamama

Dear FA:

How's everything? I'm sure u'd lose those on ur arms soon!!!

Dear Gooobergrape:

So how's ur 'tomorrow' getting along? hehe...

Dear Sally:

How's ur progress? Keep us updated ya?

Dear HJ:

How did u injure ur knees? Gotta take good care ya? I know wat u mean abt the twiggy people around us... They're EVERYWHERE!!! hahaha...

Let's just keep working on it and motivate one another!!!

Dear Sasha,
I din noe you are the past me....wow....I can post my b4 and after pics here..or perhaps email u lor...:p

Nick: Gin
Year Of Birth: 1980
Height (cm): 160
Body Shape: Pear
Physical History: Heaviest is 68kg in year 2001
Medical History (If any): None
Marital Status/Motherhood: Single
Reason To Slim Down: ROM next thurs and AD in Sep 05
Current Diet Pattern: Love fried food...and my mum's cooking is so tempting!! :p~
Current Exercise Regime: Hate to exercise...used to go Amore for 6 mths..stop long ago
Previous Failed Experiences: (You name it, i been thru) Slimming centres (contour unlimited), slimming pants, slimming pills (commercial), staving (eat more later onli), fruit juice diet, fasting diet, exercising (only tone..weight gain...after exercise tend to eat more), cereal diet, atkins diet, NTUC 3-day detox diet,...too many to name la. :p
--------------------
Data According to Original-Current-Goal:
Weight(kg): 55-53.5-49
Body Fat(%): dunoe...i tink ard 25-28%
Chest("): Err..forgot...hehehe..
Waist("): 28-27-26
Tummy("): Din measure tummy..so demoralising..hehee
Hips("): 32-32-30
Arm("): 12-12-11
Thigh("): 24-24-22
--------------------
Diet Plan
Breakfast: Prune juice(i got constipation) Honey water (for detoxing) Bread and Tea Black (in office)
Lunch: Anyting..but not too filling
Dinner: Fruits or honey water (drink till not hungry)
Snacks: None
--------------------
Exercise Plan
Type: Hula Hoop
Frequency: While watching 9pm show...:p
====================
As next thurs is my ROM already, I juz need to reduce the tummy i had. I went for my ROM dress measurement, my waist is around 26.5" so I guess im ok already.

But i have the history of 160 and 65kg in year 2003 sept...my fren intro me to go see a doc and i am prescribe pills to surpress my appetite..and it works. I never tot in my life i will lose so much and my waist to be so small..until i truly see it myself. I really thank the doctor for his help..and he has been nice and helpful. Below is the progress during that time...

Sep 2003: Weight 65kg Height 160cm
Jan 2004: Weight 59kg (ard 2 kgs per mth)
May 2004: Weight 49kg

Dec 2004: Weight 53kg (Put on liaoz..:p)

So i wont be taking on pills again..rather controling my meals.

Lets motivate each other!! Heee...cheers!

Forgot to add...after 8pm..i stop all food intake but drinks.

For my weight lost for the past year...my breast did reduce size also..for your info.. :p

Yeah...2 more kgs to lose at least b4 next thurs!

kimtan

Rite now also on diet for my AD in Feb 2005. Just to share:

Nick:Kim
Year of Birth:I,m not telling! Hee Hee....
Height:159cm
Bodyshape:Cone
Physical History:49.5kg but that was in year 2001
Medical History:Bronchitis,sinus
Marital Status:Single
Reason to slim down:ROM in Jan 2005, AD in Feb 2005
Current Diet Pattern:Refer to below.
Current Exercise Regime:Hate to exercise, but do housework & try to incorporate daily exercise by walking more & climbing stairs!
--------------
Data according to Original-Current-Goal:
Weight(kg):45-42.5-42
Bodyfat:Not Sure! But measure B4. If I remember correctly, should be around 20-21%
Chest:33-32-32
Waist:27-25-24 to 25
Tummy:Didn't measure, but slim down a lot!
Hips:33-31-30 to 31
Arms & Thighs didn't measure but I'm satisfied cos slim enough!
----------
Diet Plan:
Breakfast:1 Grandeur Coffee
Lunch:2 slices of Wholemeal Bread
TeaBreak:1 serving of fruit
Dinner:Either Beehoon Soup or Mixed Vegetable Rice with 2 servings of vegetables & 1 serving of tofu.
Snacks:None
Note: I drink lots of water everyday and I also take extrim B4 each meal. I also avoid taking meat. The most I take is fish. But I will have something that I crave for once a week.
------------
Exercise Plan:
Brisk Walking for around 20 min everyday & taking the lift to 6th floor then climb up stairs.(I stay at 12th floor.)
---------------
Since I've more or less reach my target, I just need to reduce some areas a bit more then maintain will do.
------------------
Jia You Everyone!!!

sashamama

Dear Gin & KimTan:

Welcome to this thread!!!
I really hope this thread would continue to serve as an avenue for us to motivate one another on this diet & exercise challenge!!!

CHEERS!!!

sashamama

Dear all:

It's the FESTIVE season!
Many SUPER DUPER GOOD FOOD and BUFFETS around lo!!!
Gotta exercise MODERATION as much as we can!!!
Oh well, i guess i'd over indulge in the end!!!

ANYWIZ, HAPPY XMAS & MERRY NEW YEAR TO ALL!

dlbchinchin

hey guys..
hw's xmas, boxin day?? oh man.. i've bn eatin alot n no time for work-out.. feeling really guilty man..

but for teh past one week.. bn eating fitness cereal n wholemeal bread for b/f.. trying to eat healthily n wat u guys bn recommending.. but i noe for sure.. no weigth lost or wat.. coz my work is gettin the beta out of me...feelin real fat n flabby man.. tis is totally not rite..

knee much beta oredi.. can run nw.. all i need is tt little time man..

happy new year btw!!

cheers,
hj

alan_golfnut

hj: Remember, it's not about the weight loss, but rather the inches. Your weight might now move much, but like in Sasha's case, she's finding that she's dropping dress sizes whereas the scale hasn't been moving radically. And do be careful of those wonderfully packaged food products that proclaim to be health food, such as the 'fitness cereal' you mentioned. You still gotta read the label to know what you're putting into you. For example, a lot of cereal have a lot of sugar in it, so you gotta be careful. Personally, I go for the unsweetened and unprocessed muesli with oats and other grains in it. On its own, it's boring to taste, but I add in my own stuff like raisins and nuts for taste. Be creative, have fun!
Do be careful with your knee, start slowly, strengthen it more before you put more stress on it.

Food wise, festive periods are always a crazy period. Truth be known, I'd be eating like crazy while away for my honeymoon, but I'd also be working out really hard in the hotel gym (what a great gym too!), so I reckoned I've actually managed to become a little leaner too!

hamster_gal

Hello All,

1st of all thanks to sasha for starting this motivational thread..... i guess we all have the same goal ahead of us and it makes it much easier to know that we are not alone

my AD is in dec'05 and i just went for my 1st BS appt yesterday.... i guess my problem areas are really my flabby arms which is obvious no matter which gown i tried

So, i've decided that i really need to lose the fats before i go for my next fitting which is on 27/2. And i'm going to use the previous diet which helped me lose about 4kg in 1 month last time.

For breakfast, i'm going to stick to plain bread, no jam and digestive biscuits and a milo.
For lunch, only fruits and vegetables, no salad dressing.
For tea, only biscuits and dried ruits (like mango)
For dinner, soupy meals like porridge, yong tau fu and nothing deep fried.

of course, there can be an occasional treat of ice cream once a week

Good luck to you all

kimtan

Hi Hamster_gal,

Good luck to you as well. Don't worry, you still got some time left. As long as you stick to your diet & some exercise, you will suceed & look great in your wedding gown. For flabby arms, can do some exercises to tone them up. Actually I also have this problem, but after dieting for a few months, think they look better.

Having a treat once a week is good, I also do that!

Keep it going!

scubscub

Hey Hamster_gal,

I agreed with Kim Tan, must treat yourself nice nice every week at least once. Sometimes no need to be eating the favourite food, but you can try to encourage yourself by buying that sexy top that you have never dare to wear, or even a shower mask to treat yourself lavishly for all the hardwork!

Good luck to you!

happybunny

greetings to all ... just to share

so far, what i've been doing works pretty well for me ... i swim max 5x, min 3x per week... doing about 10 ~ 20 laps. doesn't take a lot of time (less than an hour) n can workout the whole body. swim in the evening or morning if scare of sun ... bishan swimming pool usually crowded during evening time on weekends only ...

as for meals, i don't really control what i eat, but i only take tibits occassionally (when i crave for it). btw, i takes lots of variety of fruits n i don take gassy drinks.

hamster_gal

hihi happy bunny,

what a cute name u have.... reminds me of the 2 bunnies i have at home

like u, i used to swim a lot (my BS designer commented i have VERY broad shoulders
) but i've almost stopped completely after finishing school cos of (1) no time (2) no swimming pool near my place. but i think swimming is a really good exercise cos it gives me very toned arms last time. But after stopping, my arms turned flabby [can pinch almost 2 inches of flesh
]

hi scubscub & kim,

thanks for the encouragement. i have just signed up a facial package as well... so there will be a treatment per month as a reward to look forward to
btw i'm also thinking of taking my outdoor PS overseas, somewhere near (eg bintan? bali?) then maybe stay a couple of nights there as a form of relaxation. think we all brides deserve to pamper ourselves in the midst of all these hard preparation work

good luck to all of you

sashamama

Dear Gals:

Wow!!!
So happy to have so many new names in here!!!
WELCOME!!!

Me busy teaching lo, so can only come update once a week.. Missed quite a number of my personal training sessions cos busy with reno preps, wedding preps and school lo.. Can see my body not as slim and toned as 3 weeks ago when i had more regular sessions and controlled my diet harder..

MUST wake up my idea and be more consistent and have stronger will power!!! Must make time for some exercise everyday ya? How about some push ups and squats and crunches! Hmmm...

My wedding now postponed til 16Nov, got 11 more months to go! Sure can be slim and pretty ya? hehe..

GAMBATTE NE!!!
JIA YOU!!!

alan_golfnut

scub: I hope you didn't mean that after you stopped swimming, the muscles turned to fat, cos it doesn't work that way. Muscles and fats are different substances altogether.

hamster_gal

hello all

my diet plan just can't work on weekends when i have to meet up with frens and they all like to "feast". so no choice, i have to tag along...
but it's back to my diet again during weekdays... hehehe

i'm enjoying a healthy lunch with yoghurt and peaches
hopefully the damage done last weekend is still reversible ????

kimtan

Hi hamster_gal,

Don't worry, defintely reversible, It's weeks & months of healthy eating that counts, not that 1 to 2 weekends days! As long as you keep to a healthy diet duing weekdays, you can still lose weight even though you tend to eat more during weekends.

alan_golfnut

Depends on what you define healthy. If it's about losing weight, then all you need to do is to expend more calories than you put in. But even if you expend a lot of calories, but you put a lot of junk like saturated fat or alcohol in your body, then although appearance wise, you'll look alright, but your blood vessels might be clogged and your liver might be damaged.

hamster_gal

hello all,

how's the dieting and exercise plan coming along??? /clipart{bounce}
any good news to share with us? heeheehee.... i am beginning to lose a bit of weight but somehow not from the problem areas

anyway, i will perserve... hopefully those stubborn baby fats will 'disappear' b4 my PS in june

hi alex,
i meant to say that my muscles turned flabby, not turned into fats
i think more exercise targetted at that area will be able to tone them up....

skylark

Hi everyone, i am new in this thread and a NOV' 2005 bride.

Interesting thread! I love to swim however I worry that i will get too tan as it took mi quite a while to grow fair back. What time do u gals swim to keep out of sun when swimming? Heard that swim in the night will too get dark ?

As for diet, I try to eat less but more meals to keep myself satisfied most of the time. Snack on fruits, yogurts, tomatoes and carrots. However, I do eat ice-cream too, maybe once or twice a week but amount is usually shared with FH. For sinful dessert like these, try to share with friends, u will realised that the calories intake is half shared :p. It helps me to maintenance at my current weight at least

alan_golfnut

Hi Cheyenne! As long as you stay out of the sun, so swim in the evenings or early mornings, you'll be okay. Remember, it's the UV (ultra violet) rays that you wanna avoid. To be absolutely kiasu, slap on the sunscreen!
Would also advise you to crosstrain, which is to workout using other forms of exercises to avod boredom and overuse injuries (ie. injuries from constant repetitive movement of doing the same exercise over and over again).

I always advocate eating 5-6 small meals a day, to maintain constant blood sugar level, and also to ensure that you're feeling constantly filled (as opposed to 'full'). Ice-cream.. err.. once or twice a week, hmm... depends on the serving, might be a bit of an indulgence. I always recommend giving yourself treats now and then, and treats certainly dun come every week. ;) Just a suggestion.

Anyway, good luck for your wedding! *thumbs up*

dlbchinchin

hi guys.
bn some time since i last posted..well gt back fr sri lanka few days ago.went there for my aki proj..visited some of the tsunami-hit areas..really bad..

yah..haven bn exercising..i own up..tink wif the CNY i gonna balloon oredi..sigh..my motivation level getting lower..helpz!!!

alan_golfnut

HJ: It's always hard when a period of life begins, such as the start of a new year, where you assume new responsibilities and is struggling to find time to do anything at all. Take the CNY period to sit down, take stock, make sense of your schedule, and try to find time to squeeze some time in for little bits of exercises here and there. Starting out (AGAIN) your exercise routine is always hard, but once you take that first step, there won't be any looking back.

You can do it!

sashamama

Dear ALL!

How are things? I see some names popping in then never come back liao... Sob sob... Our DIET & EXERCISE CHALLENGE has such few believers as compared to the CAMBRIDGE DIET?!?!

hehe...

Of cos it's HARD to start and maintain this diet and exercise thingy, that's why need this motivational thread! Let's continue to encourage one another and update our progress ya?

Me been naughty lo, super busy with school, miss my sessions with my personal trainer... But my PS in June, wedding in Nov (like Skylark HELLO!}... I must look my best NOW OR NEVER!!! I gotta re-start!!! :p

MERRY LUNAR NEW YEAR TO ALL!!!

dlbchinchin

hello..
todae went to run..trying to get back to my exercise regime.. yah it;s really tough to restart..u will haf to wk so much harder to get the momentum back..

went to take a look at the cambridge diet section..oh man.. it seems like the pple over there are losin so much weight so easily n faster..wonder if all these stuff really wk..u noe..the tummy trim n etc..

always havinb doubts abt it..

well hope to lose 5 kg..maybe span over a stretch of like 3mths..possible??wif wat kinda exercise rountine?coz i can;t afford the time to work out every day..

advice anyone??

hj

alan_golfnut

Hj: Great start! Good job! Make sure you get in some weight training to raise your metabolism. And seriously, dun use the weighing scale as an absolute to measure your success. There's good weight and bad weight, so the best judge is what you see in the mirror, and whether your clothes are getting looser.

With Cambridge Diet, it's essentially a super low calorie diet. Nutritionists warn against such diets. For things like Tummi-Trim, esp those that promise that you'll lose your tummy, I get quite tickled by them cos how do you get the 'herbs' to specifically target the tummy and tummy alone? ;)

Remember, the only proven way (non-surgical) is thru creating a caloric deficit thru a controlled diet and exercise.

hamster_gal

hello sashamama,

hey my PS is also in June cos my FH is a teacher too. so no better time than to have it during the school hols. i'm now left with 4 more months before achieving my "ideal" figure...

me trying real hard to get my flabby arms toned but i find it so hard by dieting alone cos i always tend to lose fats around my tummy first and my arms and legs are the last parts of my body to slim down.....

anyway, good luck to you

twilight

i am so depress now. i hav been on diet n exercise for almost 2 mths n my weigh still couldnt go down.. why why why??

my ROM is on next mth 13 n next fitting day is next mth 2nd.. hav a good cry last nite after the gym..exercise so much cant eat this cant take that n not much results so depress now.

can i dun ROM?? i look like miss piggy on the gown..

:_(

fairybride

it's great to see so many gals excerising..but one thing i realise..as u age..seems that u have to work doubly hard just to lose the same amt of weight? Alan is that true? I am turning 29 soon and years back, when i was 18 i tried to diet+exercise, eat more healtily and i droppped from 78kg to 68kg within couple of months (I am 165cm)I have since put back the weight weighing like 76kg now..I have been swimming for almost 2 years...regularly, 2 times each week, 20laps continous in 40mins..sometimes i swim 3 times but sometimes just once...but on the average is twice a week..and seems like my weight just go up and down...maybe i have been eating too much, im not sure but in recent months, i try to watch what i eat oso..

my FH says that only jogging will help becoz he says he has been swimming with me and he didnt lose any weight, but once he joined the army's RT, he lost like 6kg..so he believes that 20mins of jogging is far better den 40mins of breadstroke swimming...u think he is talking sense?

alan_golfnut

Gosh, so sorry, been a mad mad week at work, too busy to log on.

Lynette: Hmm... question to really ask, is whether you're losing the INCHES rather than weight? I mean, I've always mentioned that there's good weight (muscle and bone density) and bad weight (fat). Even if your fat percentage falls, if you're working out, your muscle content increases (for the umpteenth time, for those wondering, you will NOT look like a musclebound man) as does your bone density. If not, then you gotta ask yourself if you're doing the right thing working out, and whether your 'diet' is really doing you more harm than benefit. Plus, is it really a self-perception thing ("Ms Piggy" remark) or is it a true reflection of yourself? So often, we judge ourself so harshly, esp when we're so obsessed with the media images of unrealistically thin models wearing our fave clothes. Anyway, have a thot abt the 2 questions I've posed and ponder over it. Good luck!

Fairybride: Cool nick!
Ok, on to your questions. Generally, a combo of factors influence our weight loss as we get older, and one big one is our metabolism rate. When we're younger, our metabolism is higher but as we get older it slows down. Think about it, we're also more active (more time on our hands?) when younger. Our metabolism is higher when young is (1) we're more active and (2) our body was still growing and therefore more 'materials' are needed to build our growing bodies.

I'm always hesitant when women say that their weight fluctuate cos 0.5-1.0kg is such a big deal to them! ;) Weigh yourself before and after a gym session, you might even see 1.5kg loss! Why did it go? Your pespiration, loss of weight through water. So dun fret too much abt it if it's loss/gain of that magnitude. HOWEVER, if it's more dramatic than that, then you might want to consult a doctor.

An exercise that works well for one person might not work well for others. For you FH, he prob doesn't do much exercise with much INTENSITY (how much is his heart rate elevated when he swims as compared to when he runs?) as when forced to run on RT. BTW, no one joins RT, they're forced to attend cos they fail their IPPT. For RT, they're forced to run at a high intensity, therefore it's something that places sufficient strain on his body to elicit the appropriate response. Hope that makes sense! Cheerios!

lydia_csl

I am rather on the heavy side and does any of you have any advise on slimming??

Had tried seeing doctors and taking pills. Examples of doctors are
(1)Bedok Reservoir Blk 117 - Dr Bok
(2) Bishan St 22 - forgot name but queue since early morning.
(3) Clinic 8-11 - Yishun Central forgot name
(4) Yap Clinic - Dr Yap (AMK, opp Mayflower)
I think there is more but I cannot remember.

I had tried slimming centres before like De Beauty but failed.
I am trying now to wear girdles from Triumph.

I am now on Extrim, first time trying advised by doctor, and took up Kickboxing and Pilates.
Kickboxing cos I love it and Pilates is trying out and realised that it is good for training adobmen muscles and back muscles.

fion

Rite now also on diet for my AD in June 2005. Just to share:

Nick:BabyCupid
Year of Birth:5 Feb 1980
Height:165cm
Bodyshape:Waist small hip big.. ?
Physical History:50kg but that was in year 1999
Medical History:none
Marital Status:Married(Rom)
Reason to slim down:AD in June 2005
Current Diet Pattern:Refer to below.
Current Exercise Regime:Hate to exercise, but try to do daily exercise by walking & climbing stairs!
--------------
Data according to Original-Current-Goal:
Weight(kg):50-56-52
Bodyfat:Measure recently is 30%. Goal is 25%
Chest:34-34-34
Waist:25-26-24 to 25
Tummy:Didn't measure
Hips:36-36-32to34
Arms & Thighs didn't measure.. FAT!
----------
Diet Plan:
Breakfast:Light breakfast
Lunch:Something soupy.. if not porridge
Dinner:Skip..if not fruits only..
Snacks:Soemtimes reward myself
------------
Exercise Plan:
Jog twice a week & climb up stairs when home.(I stay at 10th floor.)
---------------
I had reached 60kg in Oct 2004.. and i tell myself! my diet cos of my AD in June! so i manage to slim dwn by 4kgs.. current wt is 56kg.. hope to shed moreeeeee... JIA YOU!

alan_golfnut

Lydia: The only proven non-medical way of fat loss is simple to create a caloric deficit (burning more calories than you put in) is through a combo of exercise and a sensible diet. Congrats on starting on Pilates and kickboxing, but I'd also advise that you pick up some strength training to strengthen your joints cos kickboxing is a real strain on the knees, muscles also help raise your metabolism, hence burning more calories. Be wary of the prescription drugs for slimming cos they cause heart palpitations and also cause mood swings. The effects are mentioned throughout the various threads. Dun even wanna mention about 'slimming' centres. Anyway, good luck with the exercise routine. If you wanna read up more abt what I've written, you can try this thread http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1151/142254.html?1092802511.

Babycupid: I think it's awesome that you use percentage body fat as a goal!! *double thumbs up* I'd be careful about doing too much stairclimbing cos they place a lot of stress on the knees, so have a varied cardio routine so as to prevent overuse injuries. Would also advocate strength training for injury preventtion and to increase metabolism. And eat 5 small meals through the day as well.

The beauty abt exercise is that while you're doing it, it causes a biochemical reaction in your body whereby 'feel-good' hormones called endorphins are released, thereby creating a feeling of well-being when and after you exercise. It's like what people call a "runner's high". Dun see exercise as a means to an end, cos then it becomes a chore. Enjoy the process of reaching your goal, cos it will be a wonderful of self-discovery where you will learn heaps abt yourself. Good luck!

twilight

Hi Alan,

thanks for the reply, perphaps i can write down my workout schedule n diet over pass 2.5 mth so u can help me to evualuate wat went wrong, as till now whenever i workout in gym i hav taken a b4 n after weigh reading, my weight just stays between 61.80kg (b4 gym workout) n 61.20kg(after gym workout), n it just goes like this everyday same reading which falls between these level.

workout schedule:-
Mon: Power Yoga (1hr), follow by Hip Hop (1hr, lesson just started monday only)

Tue: body rest day

Wed: Jogging at stadium (7.30 - 8.30pm), follow by Hatha yoga (1hr)

Thur: Gym - stepper 20mins, trekmill (20mins), cycling (20mins), arm & shoulder lifting (10x only for each) (total duration spent in gym is about 2hr)

Fri: Power Yoga (1.5hr)

Sat: MORN, Bt Timah Nature Reserve (walk n climb stairs approx 3hrs, yellow route), follow by LATE NOON gym 2hr workout.

Sun: MORN, Bt Timah Nature Reserve (walk n climb stairs approx 3hrs, yellow route), follow by LATE NOON gym 2hr workout, follow by Hatha Yoga (1hr)

Diet:
1st 1 week of diet from 1/1/05 i started by just taking fruits n takeout my coffee n tea totally. to makesure i dun get gastric i drink only soya milk (bought from market hawker ones). i started out 62kg, height is 161cm, age is 33, dress/skirt size was XL.

after 1 week i stop fruits, too "cool" for my body to take. i took ENSURE to fill my stomach for bkf. if i still feel hungry i go Subway take a Honey Oat with Tuna n lots of vege sandwiche for lunch.

then after that i find that my weight still wont go down, so i start to take up yoga sessions. I started out with Power Yoga, then follow by Gym workout, then follow by jogging, then follow by Hatha yoga, then follow by the Bt TImah hill workout, then follow by Hip Hop dance. I started out with all the workout slowly n steady to help built my stamina. each time i do i will try to push myself to do better than the last time i did. I have used breath control mthod that i learn from power yoga while doing all these exercise which i find useful.

my diet now i try to eat some food mainly fish, soup, salads n multi-grains bread or brown rice bcos i have been doing alot of workout n i get hungry constantly, i make sure my diet is oil free.

weekdays diet:-
morning: green apple + lemon + milk squash fruit juice without ice. 1 capsule double detox pill.

lunch: almost everyday eat subway, i have honey oat for the bread, tuna or seafood as topping. but i've stopped a week ago cos my weigh still wont go down.

dinner: green apple + lemon + milk squash fruit juice without ice

I am now trying to replace food with oats or cereal drink.

weekend diet:
morning:
1)green apple + lemon + milk squash fruit juice without ice. 1 capsule double detox pill.

then i go Bt TImah climb hill for 3 hrs. I got very hungry every time i finish the climbing, so i will take

lunch:
1)fish (yu sheng with half small bowl plain porridge most of the time) i took my lunch after approx 1.5hr later after i left the BT Timah hill.

right away i travel to the gym to workout for another 2hrs. there after my hungry will starts to come, sometimes show sign of mild gastric pain, to avoid myself having gastric, i will go for soup or drink soya milk, which is about evening already.

i am now, according to the weighing scale in gym is still 61.40kg, skirt size is still XL. the only part of my body that shows result is the waistline, n on top of that, my C cup has become A cup! i guess i got slim at wrong part of my body. I dun see my butt n thight any slimer. worst still, my arms are still as fat n flabby.

Alan i can tell you this is the first time i went thru such "challenging" sliming n weightloss program. I had tried this sliming product during this period cos i was so stress n devastate with the results after all these diets but still no result, i give up halfway taking it bcos after taking the product i got so heaty that i sore throat n cough so badly, n really i wont go for sliming centre cos i dun believe that i actually have to spend $5K to shed 5kilo which i have had done a few time b4 no sweat when i was in my 20s.

I just couldnt get it why i cant lose any weight, i've done it quite a few times to shed all these fats n kilo but not this time.

my friends are my eye witness, they all comment they cant really see me slim down, i still look the same, and so does the weighing scale machine.

Thanks anyway, Alan, for your advise. Even though not much visible results, but i'll still workout with the schedule that i have, i on diet until i dun knw what to eat anymore. cereals n oats do taste awful after a few in-take of it.

Thanks very much..

sunmoonriver

wow!!! Lynette, you are really determined!!! I am also on diet and exercise programme to lost weight. So far, I have been eating as per normal for breakfast, lunch having just oat with low fat milk and salad with no sauce for dinner. Have been exercise on alternate day, and happy to notice that my previously tight pant is losen. I think you should change your diet and take out carbo during lunch and dinner plus continue with your exercise programe, more cardio workout will be better to burn fat. Look like you are only 1 week into your programme, I have spent at least a month to see result.. so keep up the good work!!!