A Diet & Exercise Challenge! Startin Dec 04. Motivate & Share Success Stories!!!

sashamama

Dear Gals:

I'm sure most of us have wanted to slim down more many times in our lives. And now that we have a super valid reason to slim down (bride 2 be / put-on-weight mother / simple-wanna-be-prettier & healthier woman), let's set our minds to it and do it thru the ONLY 100% effective / workable / sustainable / healthiest way - DIET & EXERCISE!!!

For those keen on joining me in this super-difficult challenge that would change our lifestyle, level of fitness, looks and self-confidence, or those who've been there, done that, let's share info & updates WEEKLY ya? I can compile into lists now and then. Also, let's take before & after pix and send via email (faces can be blocked out) for those who don't mind, ya?

====================
TEMPLATE:

Nick:
Year Of Birth: (If u dun mind)
Height (cm):
Body Shape: Hourglass / Ruler / Pear / Inverted Pear?
Physical History:
Medical History (If any):
Marital Status/Motherhood:
Reason To Slim Down:
Current Diet Pattern:
Current Exercise Regime:
Previous Failed Experiences:
--------------------
Data According to Original-Current-Goal:
Weight(kg):
Body Fat(%):
Chest("):
Waist("):
Tummy("):
Hips("):
Arm("):
Thigh("):
--------------------
Diet Plan
Breakfast:
Lunch:
Dinner:
Snacks:
--------------------
Exercise Plan
Type:
Frequency:
====================

DO JOIN ME, GALS!
Let's not wait anymore!
This journey may be tough, but the rewards are immeasurable!!!

CHEERS!!!

sashamama

I shall start!!! (Praying hard for positive responses!!!)

Sashamama
Year Of Birth: 1979
Height (cm): 160
Body Shape: Hourglass
Physical History: 9.2 pound baby / Always been plump & busty / Puts on weight very easily
Medical History (If any): Slightly Anaemic (Easily Giddy) / Sensitive Skin (To perspiration/pool water)
Marital Status/Motherhood: Bride2B
Reason To Slim Down: Photo Shoot in Mar05 / Wedding in Jun05
Current Diet Pattern: Eating a lot without control, including buffets, suppers & fattening snacks :p
Current Exercise Regime: None
Previous Failed Experiences: Slimming Patches / Slimming Pills / Doc Prescribed Pills / Cambridge Diet / Detox Plans / Protein Diet / Vegetarian Diet / Slimming Centres (Marie France Bodyline & De Beaute) [Largely due to inconsistency & lack of willpower, then again, most of these are useless, unhealthy & not sustainable]
--------------------
Weight(kg): 60-60-48
Body Fat(%): ?-?-20
Chest("): 38.5-38.5-36
Waist("): 31-31-26
Tummy("):34.5-34.5-30
Hips("): 38-38-35
Arm("): 12-12-10
Thigh("): 23-23-20
--------------------
Diet Plan
Breakfast: Yet to decide
Lunch: Yet to decide
Dinner: Yet to decide
Snacks: Fruits
--------------------
Exercise Plan
Type: Yet to decide
Frequency: Yet to decide

P/S: Yet to decide cos looking for a personal trainer for professional advice and close supervision!

jazz_lover

Hi, I also wish to lose about 10-15kg so may I whether those who are very interested maybe we can meet up to exchange more informations about this diet and exercise challenge?

sashamama

Dear all!

I'm glad there's some response!!!
I just engaged a personal trainer, going to start on my diet and exercise plan tmr!!!

Have never exercised, tried many other slimming methods which didn't work! So going to start NOW!!!

Started this thread with the purpose of getting more kakis like me who are going to start on a diet & exercise plan to help motivate and update one another! Also to share tips lo! It'd be good if we can share some background knowledge abt ourselves, like what i did above, then we can update one another abt our progress every now and then!

Also, this thread is for those who've been there & done that, successfully slimmed down thru diet & exercise --- to share ur success stories with the rest of us and serve as a motivation!!!

On top of that, when we're well on our way to a healthy lifestyle and beautiful bodies, we can encourage more women to join us in this ONLY effective and sustainable way to lose weight healthily. No point spending bombs on slimming products, slimming centres and unsustainable diets.

I will be starting this diet & exercise plan tmr. From this week on, i will be exercising with the help and advice of my personal trainer at least 3 times a week.

For my diet, will start by drinking more water, stocking up on healthy snacks like fruits and wholemeal bread at home, and eating smaller portions, and not eating after 9pm!

DO JOIN ME, share whatever info u're comfy with, according to the template up there, and we can motivate and update one another in this thread!!!

CHEERS to a total & natural makeover!!! YEAH!!!

flabbyarms

Hi Sashamama,

I would like to loose the fats on my arms (10 inches to 7 inches) and waist (27 inches to 24 inches)...could you share what are the exercises your personal trainer taught you in losing for the arms?

sashamama

Dear Setrina:

It's abt $2000 for 30 sessions and u have the flexibility of having how many sessions per week i think.

I'd be going for 3 times a week during this hols, then 2 times a week when school starts.

Dear Bliss:

Care to share ur quest for fitness? hehe..

Dear Flabbyarms & Gals:

Today is my 1st session.
Went to the gym and did strength training exercises for the chest, arms, shoulders and legs using the gym machines lo.
4 sets of 15 repetitions.
It was tough, as i've never exercised, but my PT was very encouraging and helping me with lifts that i can't manage completely.

Think diff people have diff body types and wld need tailor-made programmes to tone muscles i guess! So with regards to losing fats for the arms, as far as i know, there's no such thing as spot reduction, meaning losing fats in a particular area of ur body, like the arms la, thighs la, armpit area la, tummy la, etc.

When u lose fats while exercising, ur body loses the fats as a whole, the parts where u put on the fats first, u'd lose those first, and everybody is diff. You can of course do weight training for the arms to tone the muscles, but they can only be seen if u lose the fats first, thru diet & exercise.

Hope i make sense!
The more pro people may wanna contribute too!
hehe...

NO ONE KEEN TO JOIN ME IN THIS DIET & EXERCISE CHALLENGE?
Guess the quick and easy (tho ineffective & unsustainable) slimming methods like slimming centres and products still attract the masses!

airex

Wow.. having a personal trainer so expensive... but if you really do progress, update with us k? All the best!!!

alan_golfnut

Wow! Sasha is now taking over the mantle as the fitness advisor now. ;) Yup, she's spot (eh, no pun intended) about spot reduction and the pattern of fat loss.

One thing I thought I'd contribute is that dieting doesn't mean going on bland food (ie. boiled and tasteless), though it is darned effective! Everything is about moderation. Sure, you can have your occasionally treats of ice-cream or pastries, but keep it occasional. Life doesn't have to be boring, and neither does eating healthy mean eating boring. It just means making healthlier choices of food, such as less oil, and eating smaller portions BUT more regularly. Does it sound familiar to you, that you think we can skip a meal, then go to the hawker centre and eat all the char kway teows, oyster omeletes, etc? You see, when you're hungry, you tend to lose control of your food choices and give in to what your body wants, ie. fats and sugar. It's perfectly normal. But if you're feeling filled (as opposed to stuffed), your cravings won't surface, and you will be able to think and make sensible food choices. Plus, when you're not hungry, you will tend to order smaller portions.

Hope this advice helps, esp with the festive season coming around the corners! Cheerios!

flabbyarms

sasha, coz lazy lah hee everyone want to go the easy way out...

my hubby has asked me to go swimming, will help in toning the arms, do you think so? i thought swimming will make the arms more bulky?

advice pls...

sashamama

Hey you!

Whoever that's reading the thread, though you may not join me, i'm motivated enuf having people reading this, to stay on my diet & exercise challenge! Yeah!

Let me start on a daily update to track my own progress and if this works, can serve as a guideline for those who've no idea how to start!

DAY 1
0900: Wakie
1015-1200: Gym (4 sets of 15 repetitions for chest, shoulders, arms, thighs, heart rate pushed up to 105) & Brisk Walk (6 times around the exercise hall, heart rate pushed up to 140)
*Felt nauseous halfway thru, cos i'm low on blood count, and have been inactive for too long
*Wouldn't have pushed myself hard without my PT, good to have him there to encourage me, guide me and help me with the lifts that i can't manage
1230-1530: Was unwell so took a nap
1730-1745: Breathing exercises (Pilates style) to tone abs as well
2000: 1st meal of the day - Dinner shared with FH - Yong Tau Foo & Mixed Vege Rice & Green Apple Orange Juice
*1/2 Beehoon Soup, 1/4 Sausage, 1/2 Doufu, 1 1/2 Seaweed, 1/2 Bak Chye, 1/2 Button Mushroom, 1/2 Crabstick. 1 tbs Rice, 1 tbs Omelette, 1 tbs Bean Sprouts
2100: Grocery shopping at NTUC
*Pears, Green Apples, Grape Fruits, HL Milk, Yakult, Non-Fat Yoghurt, Corn Bran Flakes, Wheatgrain Biscuits, Low Fat Cheese, Wholemeal Loaf, 1 tub of Raisins
2200: Supper
1 Strawberry Non-Fat Yoghurt (150g)
2300: Stretching (arms, legs)
0000: Hungry!!! There were ketchup sausages, luncheon meat and sardines at FH's house... My FAVS!!! But didn't eat, drank water instead.
0030: Zzz

Drank: 4 glasses of water

Note: Didn't have appetite for fattening foods after the exercise! Just din make sense if i eat it all back after a work-out that i've put so much efforts in! hehe.. This challenge is not that difficult after all!!!

sashamama

Dear Airex:

I was thinking, the money i intend to spend on more slimming centre programmes, products or doctor's prescriptions, would be better off spent on engaging a PT that can help me lead a new and healthy lifestyle from now on!

Learnt that spending lots of money doesnt mean i get the results i want from those centres and products. The only 100% definitely workable sustainable and healthy way is to diet & exercise lo!

I'm excited abt this new lifestyle and have started this with my FH! For the sake of being a happy and beautiful bride, healthy mum2be, fit & energetic teacher, sexy & confident wife, etc. I think this money is well-spent! I super no willpower lo, so i guess engaging a PT is my solution! Will keep u gals updated!!!

Dear Alan:

You're right abt the dieting part!
The rule goes:
DO NOT EAT WHEN U'RE HUNGRY & DO NOT EAT TIL U'RE FULL!!!
So i'd eat smaller portions thru-out the day so that i'm not hungry, and would make wiser and healthier food choices.
And the food i ate doesnt taste bad of course! The yoghurt was good, and my fav - sausage, i ate a little of that in my yong tau foo and didn't feel guilty!
Also, i always felt that spending $3 for a glass of juice wasn't worth it, compared to spending $1 for a can of soft drink. But now, i'd rather spend on healthier food & drinks, than to end up spending more money getting rid of the fats i pile on!!! hehe..

Dear Flabbyarms:

Mi thot there was such a thing as easy way out too! Cos i was lazy and lack willpower. And i don't mind spending money so long as i can slim down fast, effective, without having to diet nor exercise!!!

But if u refer to my posting somewhere up there abt my failed experiences, i've learnt this lesson after spending much money that there's no such thing lo.

Therefore, i'm sticking to my diet & exercise! hehe..

As for swimming, it's good as a cardio exercise to lose fats all round the body! It won't make ur arms bulky of cos!

There's another myth that: Muscles Turn Into Fats. No such thing as they're two totally diff parts of the body! So dun worry that going swimming makes u muscular and bulky. We will never bulk up like the guys, cos our body types are diff..

Then again, i need pros to help answer this lo! Hehe..

Let's work together ya! Will also go swimming maybe once a week

alan_golfnut

flabbyarms: Do go join your hubby! Firstly, I always think it's fantastic that couples exercise together, it's a form of bonding, plus a great way to support one another! And women generally won't 'bulk up' cos they simply do not have the necessary hormones to be as big as men. So dun you worry about that, start swimming for at least 3 times a week, non-stop for at least 20 minutes, trust me, you'll start finding your clothes would be too loose soon!

sasha: EXCELLENT choice of food groups you've chosen there! It's a fantastic start to your new diet. BTW, you dun have to drink fruit juice if you think it's expensive. Stick to water! Plus the fruit juice sold always has syrup added, so beware!

flabbyarms

hi sasha and alan!

so swimming is good to lose fats?! okie! i'll start with my swimming challenge with my hubby hee!

here are my details :

flabbyarms
Year Of Birth: 1978
Height (cm): 155
Body Shape: not sure
Physical History: 7.5 pound baby /
Puts on weight very easily on the tummy/arms
Medical History (If any): Bronchitis/Low Blood(Easily Giddy) /
Marital Status/Motherhood: married
Reason To Slim Down: to look and feel good!
Current Diet Pattern: skip breakfast sometimes, noodles/rice/fast food for lunch,same as lunch for dinner...loves eating sweets and tidbits but cut down alot recently
Current Exercise Regime: 100 times weight liftings for both arms every night
Previous Failed Experiences: Slim arm wrap/slimming cream
Previous Successful Experiences: Eating 1 meal a day(unhealthy), Amore aerobics/gym -overall loss but arms remain same(budget constrained)
--------------------
Weight(kg): 45-47-45
Body Fat(%): 25-25-20
Chest("): 31-32-34 (haha too flat hor?)
Waist("): 24-27-25
Tummy("): 28-32-30 (actually how to measure tummy?)
Hips("): 33-34-34
Arm("): 10(left)-11(right)-8
Thigh("): 15-18-15
--------------------
Diet Plan
Breakfast: bread/fitness cereal
Lunch: rice/noodle (normal diet)
Dinner: yong tau foo soup(w/o bee hoon/noodles)

note: i will switch lunch and dinner wherever necessary,sometimes got dinner outings..no choice cannot tahan heee...

--------------------
Exercise Plan
Type: continue to do weight lifting every night and crunches for tummy...swimming challenge 3 times a week, jog once a week

sashamama

Dear Flabbyarms:

I'M SO GLAD to have found a kaki in you!!! Let's stay in here to motivate each other and hope more brides join us!!! hehe...

For ur body shape, u can see where u tend to put on weight first lo.
1) Hourglass: Weight puts on overall, still have womanly curves
2) Ruler: Weight puts on overall, no have womanly curves, look straight thru-out
3) Pear: Weight puts on more on the bottom, esp tummy & legs, looks broad at the bottom
4) Cone: Weight puts on more on the top, esp arms, looks broad at the top

U also easily giddy huh? U got see doc or take any supplements or not? I going to see one lo. It's affecting my exercise regime!

Eh... Chest-wise, Can't quite comment unless we state cup size too! haha.. Anyway, big also not good lo. I can list at least 10 reasons why, if anyone's interested! I'm so self-conscious i'm always slouching! Well, PT encouraged me to walk tall, so i will SHOU FU (suck in the tummy) TING XIONG (stick out the chest)!!! hehe...

As for tummy, i measure the part that's sticking out the most lo! Try to measure the whole stomach area and take the biggest circumference. hehe..

Seeing ur stats, actually very good lo! Wat i'm aiming for man! But of course toning up also good! Rather than look slim, but still got jiggly fats here and there!

Dear Alan:

Other than water, what else can i drink that's ok huh? Fresh fruit juice? What about canned green tea? Home made barley or chrysanthemum? Fresh lime juice? hehe..

sashamama

Dear all:

I'v edited my data lo.
For those who wanna join us, do indicate 'DATE STARTED', 'DATE TODAY' & 'PREVIOUS SUCCESSFUL EXPERIENCES (if any)'.

====================
Sashamama:
Date Started: 30.11.2004
Date Today: 2.12.2004
Weight(kg): 60-60-48
Body Fat(%): ?-?-20
Chest("): 38.5-38.5-36
Waist("): 31-31-26
Tummy("):34.5-34.5-30
Hips("): 38-38-35
Arm("): 12-12-10
Thigh("): 23-23-20
--------------------
Diet Plan
Breakfast: HL Milk + Wheatgrain Bix/Corn Bran Flakes/Wholemeal Bread with Non-Fat Cheese or Low-Fat Margarine
Lunch: Half portion of Noodles Soup/Mixed Vege Rice
Dinner: Fish Soup / Yong Tau Foo without Noodles
Snacks: Fruits / Non-Fat Yoghurt

Note: If i wakie late late, then Breakfast becomes Lunch, Lunch becomes Dinner.
--------------------
Exercise Plan
Type: Cardio-Gym-Combo (3 x a wk, with PT), Cycling/Blading (1 x a wk), Briskwalking/Badminton (2 x a wk)

sashamama

DAY 2
1330: Wakie
1345: Streching for arms and legs (3mins)
1445: 1 Glass HL Milk + 1 Glass Corn Bran + 1 Banana
1930: Dinner with FH (Qiu Lian Ban Mian & Duck Noodles)
- 1/2 Mee Hoon Kuay, Extra Vege, Egg White (No yolk), 1 tbs Ikan Bilis, 1/2 tbs minced meat & 1 tbs Yellow Mee, 1 slice Fish Cake, 1 slice duck lean meat
2330: 1 Banana
0200: Zzz feeling hungry!!!

Drank: 6 glasses of water

Note: Arm and shoulders aching badly! Wat a long-lost sensation! Tried to stretch now and then to prepare for Thu's session with PT.

sashamama

DAY 3
0700: Wakie
0745: 1 Banana
0815-1000: Cardio - Brisk Walk around the track for abt 4-5 rounds (HR pushed to 150) & Gym - 2 exercises of 3 sets of 12 repetitions for thighs & lower back, 1 exercise of 3 sets of 12 for shoulders & arms, 1 exercise of 3 sets of 12 for abs
*Felt nauseous only at the end of the session
*If not for PT, wouldn't have managed any arm exercises at all! Brushing teeth was strenous! I seem to have 10kg weights each IN my arms!
*Hate to jog, but brisk walking with PT was relatively easy, cos we kept chatting and i didn't even notice how many rounds we've completed, and was beta able to control myself from scratching the rashes on my thighs
1030-1500: Cannot make it, napped like Day 1!
1600: 1 Glass HL Milk + 1 Glass Corn Bran + 2 tbs Raisins
1800: 2 slices of Wholemeal Bread with 1 slice of Non-Fat Cheese
2000: Dinner with FH (Mixed Meat Noodle Soup & Meat Dumpling Noodle Dry)
- 1/3 Noodle Soup, Extra Vege, 1 tbs shredded lean chicken meat, 2 slices char siew, 1 mushroom (Did not try FH's)
2200: 1 Green Apple
0200: Zzz feeling a little hungry

Note: Arms aching doubly badly! Was asking FH to help me scratch my face, tie my hair, remove hair from face, etc.
Note: Am making a lotta improvement on diet esp, cos usually, mi & FH would order high fat food like char kway teow/laksa/roti prata/indian rojak/fast food, etc. And we will order THREE items, of which i'd eat abt 1/3 each. Soft drinks will go along. Snacks are chocolates/ice-cream/pastries/potato chips.
Will hang in there with this new diet!!!

alan_golfnut

sasha: Danger in processed drinks is the added ingredients, which in this case is sugar, lots of it. Canned green tea has a lot of sugar in it to make it palatable, cos on its own, it's slightly bitter. If you like green tea, why not drink the freshly brewed ones, make it with your own tea bags? Green tea is good cos of its anti-oxidants. If you're doing anything home made, then leave out the sugar, appreciate the drink for its natural taste.

flabbyarms

haaa sasha, thanks, so now i know i belong to cone body shape hee

yah i also v easily giddy...had several fainting spells while in the mrt especially....nearly black out....went to see chinese physician, she said i have low blood pressure ... no medication though

okie lah..i paiseh to say my cup size... :p hehe my stats may seem fine but don't forget i'm 5 cm shorter than you heee so that makes alot of difference...yah and the jiggly fats...must get rid!

wah sasha you v onz leh...you can really tahan not to eat...i cannot leh heee...you're not working ah? how come can exercise from morning till night?? heee... i work so more troublesome...
only can do weightlifting for arms at night and also depends what time i reach home..if too late, after bathing, doze off already...too tired...
weekend is best time for me though...but only 2 days...

ednamode

hi there!!!! is this a motivation thread??? i am hoping to start a dieting / exercise to tone for my day next year.. at the moement no kaki

sashamama

Dear Alan:

Thanks for the advice!
I don't drink green tea lo. FH does!
Guess i stick to good ol' water!

Dear Flabbyarms:

Can i call u FA or something? hehe.. Keep calling u by ur nick very paiseh le! hehe..

Mi a teacher, so now hols lo! hehe..

After working out so hard during me sessions with PT, just doesnt make sense to eat it all back! So die die control lo!!!

Dear Elaine:

YES!!!
This IS a motivation thread!!!
Join me and FA by updating ur info and updating every week ya?
I NEED this thread and kakis too, to keep me going on this diet & exercise challenge!

When we see our inches go down through the days, we can motivate more brides to slim down thru this diet & exercise way, rather than spending on ineffective slimming centres & products, unhealthy & insustainable diets!

It's been 3 days for me so far and i've lost one inch off my waist! From 31" to 30".

CHEERS!!!

sashamama

DAY 4

1130: Wakie
1230: Lunch (Mum cooked) Rice & Soup
- 4 tbs White Rice, 3 tbs Green Vege, 3 Mushrooms, 6 small cubes of Ketchup Potato & 1/2 Soup, 1 Fishball, 2 tbs Vermicelli, 1 small Tofu
2000: Dinner (School Event - Buffet)
- 2 tbs Pineapple Rice, 1 small pc Lemon Chicken, 2 small pcs Black Pepper Pork, 2 small pcs Sweet & Sour Fish, 1 pc You Tiao, 8 pcs Curry Cabbage, 6 small cubes of Fruit Cocktail, 1 small cup of Barley
0200: Zzz without feeling hungry

Note: Arms not aching that badly, Thighs aching
Note: No exercise today, and ate a lot of fattening food compared to my previous 3 days.. Quite upsetting! Will try to work a little harder for my tmr morning's session!!! Argh!

sashamama

DAY 5

830: Wakie
920: Breakfast
- 1 slice Wholemeal Bread with a thin spread of Snow Margarine
10-1145: 3rd Session with PT
- Brisk Walk 1.6km for 16min (HR 157); Legs: 4 sets of 3 exercises; Chest & Arms: 4 sets of 2 exercises; Abs: 4 sets of 1 exercise
1230: Lunch with FH (Fishball Kway Teow Soup)
- 1/2 Kway Teow, Extra Vege, 2 Fishballs, 3 slices of Fishcake
1700: 1 Green Apple
2000: Dinner with Galfrens (Hong Kong Street Chun Kee)
- 1/2 plate Fish Kway Teow, 1/3 Fish Bee Hoon, 1/3 Baby Kai Lan, 1 Lime Juice
0200: Zzz without feeling hungry

Drank: 7 glasses of water

Note: Thighs aching more than arms; Abs really too weak, couldn't quite manage the crunches, tried to do some Pilates breathing to tone the abs while i drove.
Note: Though these 2 dinners ate more than usual, am making progress cos last nite did not take the fries nor sweet drinks friends ordered at cafe & tonite did not eat cake/ice-cream nor drink sweet drink with friends at the Cheesecake Cafe!

sashamama

Took more accurate measurements today, so gotta edit my stats:

====================
Sashamama:
Date started: 30.11.04
Date today: 4.12.04
Height: 159cm (sob sob... not 160cm!!!)
Weight(kg): 62-61.5-48 (sob sob... thought i started off as 60kg!)
Body Fat(%): 34-33.5-20 (sob sob sob... so so unhealthy!!! well-deserved cos no exercise + bad diet = deadly fattening combo!)

Note: Assuming i've lost 0.5 kg & 0.5% body fat after 4days. :p

Anymore ladies care to join in this diet & exercise challenge? Feel free to post advice, share success stories, write updates on ur progress, anything related! Let's motivate one another and work together to achieve beautiful bodies!

CHEERS!!!

flabbyarms

hi sasha, heee fine fine FA is okie hehe..no need paiseh lah..it's the fact mah that's why i put it as my nick *wink*

oh i see...yup sch hols now...so you have one month or so to fully concentrate on your exercise regime...wow! sasha, congrats, to lose 1 inch within 5 days is showing vast improvement, your efforts are paid off

so far for me still the same no losing yet...will keep you updated...

scubscub

Hey all,

I am done with my AD on Aug2004, and 2mths b4, I went on a extreme diet n exercise program on my own.

I managed to drop from 60kg to 55kg, but gain back the 5kgs when I went for honeymoon.

Anyway, i would like to share below my schedule and see whether it fits you :

Typical day :

Breakfast (7plus) : WHOLEMEAL BREAD + tomato + lettuce + egg + 1cup of coffee or milo

Snack (10plus) : 1 small cup of yogurt

Lunch (12pm) : Salad (NO DRESSING + lettuce + anykind of other healthy fruits or veges) OR
4 types of FRUITS

Snack (3plus) : 1 nutri bar (can buy at any supermarket)

Dinner (7plus) : NO RICE AT ALL
can eat pasta, or sandwich or salad

Exercise :

3 times a week, yoga/weight lifting/yoga

MUST AT LEAST DRINK 8 GLASS OF WATER

You need to know what is your calories intake for you to know what you can eat, and what you cannot. For example, I am 174cm, 60kg, I need 1200 calories. Anything more than that, its extra and you keep it with you. So as long as you know that each day you dont eat more than the needed calories, then should be no problem already.

You can mix and match the meals in between cos sometimes i also quite sian with the same food day in day out. But when you hear the comments from friends and colleagues, you know all these are worth!

ALso, if you want to eat bread, make sure its wholemeal, else all other are slightly higher at the calories end. Or when you visit a supermarket, try comparing the calories/energy stated at the bottom/back of the pack, normally that can help you to determine which is better.

I also want to start another program soon cos I really loved the 55kg me and not the 60kg one. Though i am tall, but i have a huge chubby face, so i tend to look bubbly and not skinny.

Lastly, Best of Luck to everyone daring the challenge !!!

alan_golfnut

Congrats Scub! For those who are reading Scub's diet, hers is a good example of eating sensibly, eating smaller meals but more frequently. Scub, dun suppose you got the prob of feeling hungry all the time rite? Might I suggest putting in more cardio into your routine, cos you have plenty of strength component in your workout, but no cardio. Try that and see how it goes. And with regards to your face, dun worry, it's only been 2 months, so if you keep persisting with your routine, your face WILL slim down. Good luck!

sashamama

Dear all:

Sorry not been posting regularly as busy with renovator-search, rarely online. Also, marina mandarin called to say they gonna undergo reno during my wedding (i.e. Oriental saga), so i need to change banquet venue! They made tentative booking for me at Meritus Mandarin Mandarin Court, Pan Pac Pacific Ballroom and Oriental grand ballroom. Any advice? Sigh...

Have been recording my daily stuff, will post over the weekend. Lost TWO inches off my waist! Now 29". YEAH!!!

dlbchinchin

hello gals!!
well 1st time loggin into singaporebrides after my gf telling me abt tis wedsite..well actually spent some tiem readin thru all the things u gals wrote in here during office time.. hee

well i oso wanan join u gers in the slimming 'prg'..despite the fact i m really busy wif things.. anyway i m still studyin in uni officially attached few mths ago n well.. wanan lose the extra inches n fats to look beta n more confident..in front of pple n perhaps make my bf so proud of his gf..n well hoping to look good in future weddin..dreamin to get married in 2yr's time.n another fantasy to be an air stewardess nxt mid yr when i grad..so really wanan tone those fats of mine.

but i really need the motivation man..i m 1.75m n 60kg n full of fats on my tummy n thigh..somebody can help??

alan_golfnut

Welcome to the forum, Hwee Chin. Despite all the marketing hype proclaiming otherwise, the only truly proven non-surgical way of losing fat is a combo of a sensible diet and an active lifestyle.

All the local Unis in Singapore have really good gyms as well as sporting facilities. Make full use of it, and believe me, Uni is the best time to start your active lifestyle, cos once you start working, it's gonna get harder to get started. If you want more info, you can check out the thread 'how to slim down properly'.

dlbchinchin

hey alan
thank you so much for the encouragement man.. well went to the thread but it's closed down.. so sad...

juz knew tt u r getting married.. m i rite?? congrats man..

tink it;s really a blis to get married to the one u love so dearly.. tho it;s nt easy to maintain a r/s.. given reality n all other factors involved.. like rite now, i m having some prob wif my bf too..he;s a malay wif portugese blood.. n so into gaming tt i dun feel treasured n etc..it;s like w/o me he won't die, but w/o lucy, his comp, he confirm can;t survive.. so well..

anyway.. off track.will wk hard..wanan lose 5kg in 2 mths before my bdae in feb.. hope so..

alan_golfnut

The thread closed down?! Geez, I wonder why. Anyway, thanks for the well-wishes, and I wish you well too, and hope that things will work out for you.

I'm always apprehensive about using weight as an absolute to gauge your progress, cos there's good and bad weight. If you're careful with what you eat, and get yourself involved in some form of physical activity, half an hour a day, 6 times a week, you'll be well on your way.

sashamama

Dear Alan & all:

I'm back!!!

Been super busy with my resettling of banquet venue, and renovator search. Need to settle both within this month!

Dear HJ:

Welcome!!!
I can emphatize with how u feel..
Am a bride to be myself and really wanna look good for fiance and be a radiant bride, with a healthy & fit body to be a mum to be eventually lo!
You're really tall and being 60kg arent that plump i guess! Maybe you wanna share ur stats (inches). Toning could be what you need? How's ur diet like?
The thread isn't closed down right? Here's the link:

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1151/138165.html?1101209793

As for ur r/s, i can emphatize too! My FH also pretty into gaming. Oh well, i'm a gamer myself before, so i know what it's like to be addicted. For ur info, i play playstation games like Final Fantasy and PC games like Counter Strike, Age of Empires, Starcraft, Diablo II, Ultima Online, The Sims, etc. If u can't beat them, join them! haha.. Too busy recently so not been playing. They're just engrossed in the game, not loving us any less, definitely

All the best!!!

Dear FA:

How are ya?
Keep us updated ya!

Dear Junec:

Mi oki!
But guess not been feeling too well being busy with wedding and flat preps lo.. Have been losing sleep since i know abt the MM reno affecting my banquet venue. Sigh...

Dear ScubScub:

Thanks for sharing ur diet with the rest of us! What i'm doing is similar to ur plan! Just that i'm eating more than u lo! hehe.. Do share ur diet & exercise process here with us and motivate one another ya?

sashamama

DAY 6

1230: Wakie
1330: Brunch
- 1 glass HL Milk + 2 slices Wholemeal Bread + 1 slice Low-Fat Cheese
1800: Dinner (Mum cooked)
- Palm-size White Rice, 2 Big Mushrooms, 2 Small Mushrooms, Extra Cabbage Vermicilli, 1/2 Fried Hashbrown, 3 slices of potato 2200: Supper (Somerset Da Pai Dang)
- 10 x 5 x 1cm Sting Ray (Oops!)
0100: Zzz
* Drank 7 glasses of water

sashamama

DAY 7

1100: Wakie
1300: Brunch
- 1 glass HL Milk, 1/2 glass Corn Bran
1430 - 1615: 4th session with PT
- 3min Warm up on Glider, Chest/Arms/Shoulders: 2 warm ups & 4 sets, Legs: 2 warm ups & 4 sets, Butt & Calves: 4 sets, Abs: 3 sets, Butt: 3 sets, 20min Cardio on Glider, Stretching
> So many times, i really felt that i can't do it, wanna give up. But with PT's help and a little of determination, did manage to pull this tough no-rest-in-between workout off!
1700: Snack
- 2 slices Wholemeal Bread, 1 slice Low-Fat Cheese
1830: Dinner (Bak Chor Mee Soup & Hor Fun)
- 1/2 Mee Soup, 2 slices fishcake, 2 slices muchrooms, Extra vege, 2 tbs Hor Fun, 1 slice Fish
- 1 Green Apple
*Drank: 7 glasses of water

sashamama

DAY 8

1300: Wakie
1330: Lunch (FH's Mum Cooked)
- 1/2 Plain Congee, 1 tbs Chilli Pork, 1 8x5cm Omelette, 1 slice Fried Luncheon Meat
1800: Dinner (Xiao Guo Mian & Laksa)
- 1/2 Xiao Guo Mian, 1 Egg White, 1 tbs Minced Pork, 1 sliced Pork, 1 plate Vege, 3 tbs Laksa, 2 slices Fishcake, 2 Clams
2000: Snack
- 5 Apricots
- 1 Pear
0200: Zzz
*Drank: 5 glasses of water

sashamama

DAY 9

0730: Wakie
0815 - 0935: 5th session with PT
- 2 km Brisk Walk (Heart Rate pushed to 165), Push-off-wall Crunches & Assisted Chin-ups & Leg Curl: 3 sets
> Quite a short session, cos my doggie vomited and i was late cos gotta clean up!
> Could have pushed myself more and did something on my own, which i didn't... :p
1000 - 1400: Napped (Again?!)
1530: Brunch
- 1 glass HL Milk, 1/2 glass Corn Bran, 1 tbs Raisins
2030: Dinner (FH's Mum Cooked)
- Palm-size White Rice, 1&3/4 Ketchup Sausage, 1 10 x 3cm Fried Fish Fillet, 1/2 Vege Soup, 1 sunny side up Fried Egg
- 1/3 Potato Chips (Oops!!!)
0130: Zzz
*Drank 4 glasses of water

sashamama

DAY 10

0930: Wakie
1200: Fren's ROM 8course Lunch
- 1 bowl Sharks Fin, 2 pcs crispy roast chicken, 2 tbs steamed fish, 3 clams, 2 tbs vege, 2 prawns, 1/2 bowl ee mee, 1 small slice cake, 3 glasses chinese tea
2000: Dinner (Pasta & Ban Mian)
- 1/2 Ham & Mushroom Cream Pasta, 1/3 Ban Mian, Extra Vege
*Drank: 4 glasses water

sashamama

DAY 11

1230: Wakie
1300: Brunch
- 1 glass HL Milk, 1/2 glass Corn Bran, 1 tbs Raisins
1930: Gathering with June Brides from SB at Marche
- Grilled Cod Fish Steak
0430: Zzz (Stressed abt Banquet / Vomited, Feel unwell)
*Drank: 2 glasses water

sashamama

DAY 12

1200: Wakie (Unwell still, had to cancel my morn session with PT... Sigh!)
1400: 1 glass fresh orange juice
1430: Lunch (Yong Tau Hoo & Curry Rice)
- 1/2 Bee Hoon Soup, 1 Button Mushroom, 1/2 Tofu, 1/2 Egg Tofu, 1/2 Sausage, 1/2 Fishball, Seaweed, Xiao Bai Cai, Kang Kong, 1 small Indian keropok
1700: Snack
- Haagan Daz Strawberry Cheesecake Ice-Cream (Oops!!!)
1900: Dinner (Fish Soup, etc.)
- 1/2 sliced fish soup, 1 tbs oyster omelette, 1 fried chicken mushroom dumpling
2200: KTV
- 1/2 small bowl chips, 1 mocktail (shirley temple)
0500: Zzz (Stressed abt banquet & still unwell)
* Drank: 2 glasses water

sashamama

DAY 13

1030: Wakie
1400: Lunch (With FH's Family)
- 1/2 Chicken Rice, 2 pcs roast chix, 2 pcs roast duck, 1 pc roast pork, 4 slices char siew, 4 slices cucumber, 1 glass soya bean milk
2000: Dinner (Phin's Steakhouse)
- 2/3 fish & chips, 1/5 sirloin steak, 1/3 boiled potato
- 1 Persimon
0300: Zzz
* Drank: 3 glasses water

sashamama

Phew!!!

Took such a looong time typing all these down and watching TV at the same time...
Sorry if i seem longwinded and bo liao typing all these down...
Actually, it's not just for me to keep track on my diet & exercise & water intake, and also for my PT to drop by, take a peep and 'scold' me as and when nec!!! hehe...

Shameful to say that i've not been exercising on my own, and my food intake is getting outta control, and water intake is pathetic... All these related to my renovator search dilemma and banquet search stress...

No excuses anymore! Gotta work hard for my next session the coming tue. Hope i wun faint from the tough work! haha.. People like me really need PT lo. Without the sessions, i'm getting outta hand and not exercising at all! Argh...

Taking measurements for my gown the coming Fri... HOPE all goes DOWN!!!

flabbyarms

hi sasha, i've been sick recently, haven't been keeping up...but because being sick got no appetite to eat, i'm now 45 kg...

as for arms, feel it tighter and more toned due to everyday weight lifting...(except during sick period)....

will keep you updated...

sashamama

Dear FA:

That's great!!!
I'm opposite from you!
Been not feeing well physically and emotionally and end up eating more!
Din exercise also, been busy everyday til late late..
No progress since my last session with my PT a week ago.

sashamama

DAY 14

1100: Wakie
1300: Fren's Birthday Lunch Treat @ TCC
- 1/3 Chicken & Mushroom Lasagne, 1/3 Chicken & Mushroom Sandwich, 1/3 Wasabi Dory & Potato Wedges, 1 glass fresh orange juice
1930: Dinner with FH @ Food Court (Sliced Fish Bee Hoon Soup & Fried Fish Soup with White Rice)
- 1/2 Sliced Fish Bee Hoon Soup, 1 pc Fried Fish
0100: Zzz (Stressed abt Renovator, Banquet, My Diet & Exercise Challenge!!!)
*Drank: 5 glasses water

scubscub

Hi Sashamama,

Thanks for the motivation. I have not been keeping up with the diet thing since my big day is over, and was tied up with a lot of things so i did not really take good care of myself and exercise enough.

I want to start again soon maybe next week, keeping to a similar program as what i previously have done and adding in some cardio like Alan has mentioned above. Hey, Alan, thanks for the tips!

I cross my fingers and hope I can maintain that!

I will not post in details my progress but i will update here every now and then so that i can motivate myself and the rest of the folks here!

Happy Dieting, all.