A&D Interior

Yup...i chose Louis also from recommendation from this website. Met up with him and so far, really find him friendly and easy to talk and discuss on things.

Starting my reno soon....so exciting.

foreverhappy

Hi amy, simon is one of the owner of A&D, should not be a problem.

My ID is johnny, personally till now can say a smooth sailing for my reno.

dear0724

hi apple, where is ur home? me aso engaging johnny.. now at the stage of submitting hacking request to hdb.. can show me some of ur reno pics?

hi, i had a friend from this forum which sign up with louis around the same time as i sign up with my contractor.. i started hackin on 17 aug 07, she start 1 week later.. till now, hers is less then 30% completed.. only lights are up.. kitchen cabinets is not done, so all that had use a & d can help her? its seems louis is too busy that no time for her new flat reno.. its 9th week from the 1st day she started.. till now nto much done, had only allow 2 months for reno in new flat right? and louis does read this forum as what he had told me when i approach him.. and i reccommend this forum friend to look for louis cos he had good reputation here, although i didn't signed with him cos i am quite happy with my contractor..and happily moved in..

she's quite upset.. hope louis if read this pls do something.. make her reno good can try finish in by this month, i know he can if he want to.. their company workmanship is so much claimed good ny so many.. and louis shd know who is this forum friend.. pls help her you know who you had delayed so long.. thanks..

Poor thing. So sorry for your friend. Maybe can ask your friend to talk to Louis directly He is a nice guy, hence tell him her expectations and so on, plan with how how's the reno going to be. Most of my friends advised me that we have to constantly checked with the ID guy on the progress otherwise, they may overlook some stuffs. It's both way responsibility. I'm sure there is some misunderstanding behind it.

I have also signed up with Louis, so far everything is ok. Within a few days, all the floors are hacked and so on. And any request or things we need to know, we drop him an email or sms and he will response. Moreover, most of time we arrange our meet up on Sunday and he is ok with it too.

So in general, i think can ask your friend to talk to him directly and understand where is the problem and most importantly let him know when the house has to be ready so that he can priorise too.

if not wrong, she had talk to him nicely but things did not improved.. i'm not sure is it that she did not communicated well with louis or louis did not understand what she wants.. yousee, your flor is hacked within few days and so on and that he response to you.. but for her case is "hse nt even 50% done. n nw is 9th weeks. 1st 8 weeks he do nothg e hse is empty unless at last we start 2 complain then some work done in a week. my flat is premium flat. it w take less than 2 weeks 2 do my hse cos 90% of work is carpentry. oni hack 1 wall. floor remain, toliets remain. everyth is carpenty. lights 1 day he finish. kitchen e most 2 days. u shld know u oso hav kitchen. he jus hav 2 many projects he cannot handle so he ***** everyth"

why is it that yours is fast, hers is slow?
is there enuf worker from the company?
is it that there is no schedule?
yes i do understand we need to chase after id/contractor.. i chased my evryday.. so i got it done in 36days.. hacking both kitchen and 2 toilets wall and floor.. plastering etc.. i watch my house everyday.. we had high expectations of a &d that with such good reputation.. they shd had schedule their work and as what others had post earlier on, louis shd be able to update and keep things on schedule.. its so puzzled that did louis forgot her house? or too tight with others till he cant managed? or simply the company did not hav enuf workers to keep with high vol work..
i jus hope that louis who did said that he did coem in and read the forum post would do some improvement.. jus he shd know which flat i am postin on and no point to make bad remarks or bad mouth.. since he does come in and read, i guess my friend there will able to get better job done rite? maybe he too busy and left her out so he shd had picked things up and put them back again..

if i didn't have read thru this forum and got louis attend to me before, i wouldn't had reccomend her to try get luois quotation.. prob she already choose another id and might get things finshed is really that the company can't manage her flat due to shortage of manpower.. prob she would had had her flat in move in condition by now.. she jus tot that with such good reputation company, her flat can beside having good workmanship and can be done on schedule.. or shd had told her it will take longer time to finished and she can decide whether to opted another company or if she can wait she can continue to sign with a & d..

won't it be rite if luois would had told her her reno take longer period before she sign to be fair to her so that she can see if she can afford to wait rite?
not everyboby want to wait that long for a reno like my case.. i cant wait so i chased after my contractor daily basis..
shdn't one be considerate to be honest enuf on the time as reno really depends whether ppl can afford to do long reno or short time reno? am i rite here.. won't we be appreciate if the one we sign with as promise to be able to finish on a period of time? un;ess really their communication breakdown that's why she can't wait yet she didn't realise due to communication breakdown that her reno take that long period.. anyway it's between the 2 parties.. jus hope that this guy is able to help after realise that the inconv he had cause for her..

julienys

Hi Bitchy Wife and Cheeryapple, can send me ur blog add or pics =) [email protected] =)

They seem rather busy.. After emailing me their quotation, they did not call to meet up for an appointment though we had told them to call us for an appointment. Not sure if they be too busy to handle reno of our home..

bridarine

hi summer, thks for posting for me. wat summer posted is correct. tis is wat that has been happening 2 me. i signed w louis b4 e "7th mth" n nw my hse is nt complete. painting is half done. n as far as i know everybody is tryg 2 rush my cabinets within these 4 days. all e cabinets. so far 30% work has been done for my hse. 70% is generally the carpentry. wat i dun uds is y cant they do tis for me earlier? E workers hav been great n i do uds tht they r jus following instructions 2 carry out work so i do nt blame them. yesterday is supposed 2 b my handover date but my hse is nt fulled painted n cabinets r nt up. i m upset. 2 e pt of devastation. renov is nt ez. nt oni hav i 2 deal w renov i oso hav work 2 juggle n other hse furnishing 2 coordinate. i have fallen sick becos tis thing is becoming v stressful. communication is nt e key here. we hav related so many times even my hb is losing his patience. it is > diff 4 us becos my hb is gg out of e town soon n i m left 2 deal w e hse alone becos it has been delayed so long. i weighted 2 much on e consequences of my flat tt's y i did nt post up here. but i reali cant b bothered anym. frustration has gotten e better of me n i m gg 2 post regardless how clean my id reputation tends 2 b. n i refused 2 accept e comment on "y other couples dun hav problem n u hav" becos i simple dun know y it oni happened 2 me. becos it is oso e least i want tt 2 happen. everybody wan a smooth renov. we tried our best 2 faciliate. i took leave until i hav no more of it 2 supervise every single thing becos none of tis has been done for me. i dun forsee i can move in even at e end of e mth. if things do nt improve i w nt hesitate 2 take drastic measures. nobody deserve 2 spend so much $ n suffer so much.

yup agree with her, she's had choose louis cos of the good reputation keep on posting on the forum, but wat she get is not as wat was posted.. we really don understand why is that so much diff on her treatment?
and somemore she is spending more reno cost as compared to another quote which she got from another company.. of cos cant say it will be good or not since its already done by a & d but definetly, we find id at the same time.. only one week diff cos she need to hack her one wall so she need wait for permit.. but more than 20 days my had been complete somemore i hack all floor and wall tiles of kitchen and toilet and relay new tiles.. and she already indicated that she need to complete asap why hers is left empty for so many days with no work?

sing_gunner

hmm, i was initially keen to engage A&D-Louis for our reno after seeing quite a few positive comments abt him....

in the end we chose another contractor due to 2 reasons..... $$ + time

yes he did gave us a reasonable quote which is within our budget but my SO prefers the other quote as it is cheaper

i was also abit worried that with the no of projects A&D r having currently, our reno might drag...

bridarin, hope u dun feel too stress too over the delay....we women tend to be more work up if things dun go according to our plan/way :p

bridarine

hi goonerette, thks for concern. it is good tt u hav foresight. i did nt forsee tt my renov w drag so long becos mine is somemore a premium flat. i thot they wld hav a limit 2 acceptg projects but i was wrong. anyw, i cant tink much anym becos i hav become sick so i hav to bar myself fr e hse. it is becoming such a nitemare i nid 2 take a break. it is oso ok if things dun go according 2 my plan. but it will be another thing altogether if nothing is going on at all.

jus hope that louis would had understand and able to complete asap for her..
its already too late to say anything jus only that things could had change better..
there's already so much for us to stress during reno but certain things can be avoid to make things easier..
duriong my reno, i also quarrel with my hb in front of my contractor on the electrical points.. almost breakdown, really hate reno.. i also cried already.. its very hard for couple to coordinated already in the reno period.. hope our contractor understand and help us..
so in bridarine case, hope louis can make her life better.. i'm sure he can do it if he want to, with this good reputation company..

bridarine

Thks Summer for taking tis up for me. Appreciate it. reno is reali nt ez. esp nw my hb is in reservist so everyth is under my care. i feel v suffocated becos there is so much 2 do but i hav no time becos i hav taken until no more leave. even spare lights i hav no time 2 go n buy hav 2 rely on family members. nt nice becos they oso hav their own lives n things. my hb is so unhappy he told me he c e hse oso sian. i dunnoe y it became like tis oso. mabbe tt time if we hav taken up edmund w u we wld b beta off. at least happily moved in n watching our lcd, which is nw doing nothing but collecting dust for e past 1.5 mth.

sing_gunner

once ur hb has finished his reservist then u can breath abit easy lah

we also couldnt speed up alot of things cos my SO is very busy with work. furthermore with limited budget, things can't go wrong for us so we're very cautious + edgy with $$/reno matter

bridarine

nt so ez lar. aftr hb finish his reservist he gg 2 japan 2 work. tt's y we so ganjiong 4 e hse 2 b ready mah. he w b there for quite sometime, so if hse ready 2 late i w die man, w so much 2 do alone. i oso wan 2 breathe easy lei. so nw can oni b in a state of denial n cross fingers tightly. we oso budget nt enuff 1 lar. tt's y when things go wrong i become so panicky n uptight liao. sometimes reno tis kind of thing nt u cautious means ok 1. 1 e.g., nobody supervise my aircon installation so i install wrongly my fancoil n incurred xtra $ 2 shift it. we 1st time home owner mah, tt's y we engage ID 2 help us. in e end oso everyth do ourselves. sian until dunnoe wat 2 say oredi.

sing_gunner

we also 1st timer hm owner but engaged a contractor....think majority of ppl in the forum r 1st time hm owner

did A&D gives u an exact date to finish the reno?? we forgot to ask the contractor to put down the start + end date on the contract altho he did mentioned that it shdnt take more than 4 wks since ours arent major reno

bridarine

we were oso then deciding btw a contractor n a&d. but we thot mabbe having ID wld help us > n make it sui sui for us so we decide 2 cough out e xtra $. nt like we >cash or wat. intention was 2 b as fuss free as possible.

no put end date. i din insist becos i thot w such a gd reput company i can trust. mabbe tt's y nw take so long. next time wun b so gullible. then again i oso hav frens who din put n hav no problems lei. delay 1-2 weeks e most.

ya for the same items and quotation from two diff company, a & d definetl higher.. initally i also tot jus spend extra a few k can get them to do and get better work.. we didn't sign with them in the end due to my hb, so i alos here wonder wat would happen if i had sign with him initailly..
hi bridarine, so happy to see things had improved for you after this..
hope that you can move in asap since he start to improved his speed for you.. but of cos they ahd good waorkmanship..
prob jus hope the rest who need move in asap better put a end date with whoever whichever company they sign up with.. according to radac, it should be includ in a contract

bags

Hi Cherry Apple,

Sorry about it. I have on my PM. Can you send me your blog?

Anyone who has any pictures of reno done by Johnny? Can send me?

bridarine

Hi Summer,

indeed some work has been done for me. jus hope it can finish on time as promised. i tink 1 of e cabinet has a color mistake. i oni realise aft i went home 2 tok 2 my hb. keep seeing e cabinet someth wrong but dunnoe wat. i tink i eat 2 much tablets until abit gong. anyw, wait for my hb 2 c becos he is nw in camp. if indeed wrong n no nice we w ask louis 2 chg. w update again here. reali thks for ur "热心"..

julienys

oh dear, poor thing.. hmm, having second thoughts. indeed, popular ones will have more on hand and less time for each project if they do not limit the number of projects taken up per time period

bridarine

ya if u r in a rush 2 move in i wld advice tt u stipulate an end date on e contract. more secure. 2 b quite honest, besides e undue stress on e delay + untimely n loose proj mgm, a&d is nt beyond redemption 1. their workmanship is gd & workers r great. no funny sneaky characters u nid 2 worry abt which i tink is impt. they r all quite friendly n willing 2 take time 2 explain in details e v technical aspects even if they know u might nt understand, n i totally respect them for tt. lastly, these 2 days i oso can c some attempts fr my id 2 make amends & acede 2 our requests nw tt he know we r reali v unhappy w e situation oredi. jus hope he reali deliver as promise n then at least e nightmare can come 2 an end for me..

emeraldbride

Hi.. I just called Johnny from A&D. He confirmed that sometimes the delay could be caused by the HDB side - delay in approving the submission paper hence delaying the work altogether.
He assured me that so far his project was never delayed.. hence, i m relieved but i suppose now i hv to be more diligent in chasing him..haha

eh, jus to drop an additional information..
to bridarine, hers is not due to any hdb side delay.. cos there her permit had been approved but not much things had been done at all, tat's why it causes her so much upset and inconv..
but happy to see that her id had did some imporvement and we jus see how..

keeevin

mmm... Louis is my contractor too. Started before 7th month as well, just renovating kitchen+ toilet and carpentry. Right now kitchen and toilet tiles done, painting done, but no carpentry whatsoever. No work done at my place for the last 2 weeks. Needed to call Louis to chase. Not happy about that.. given its quite late and I need the house soon..

But must say have been quite happy so far with worksmanship and Louis' attitude though. There has been a few mistakes (e.g. colour of timber skirting not right, having to change the finishing again and again), and miscommunications, but Louis is generally listening to our needs.

But sloooow la... slow slow slow I need my carpentry soon Louis!! I called all the furniture companies to delay delivery until they are fed up with me!!! Wanna move in sooon........!!

bridarine

jus an update on my reno progress. carpentry has finally started last week n ending 2morrow. by tis week shld b all done except some plumbing work. thus far, workers hav been great n workmanship excellent. esp my carpenter. he did an AWESOME job w his partner. quite nothg can b pick on. he has quite an eye for design 2 as he chg some colors n my carpentry turned out beta than e perspective 1. both of them worked reali hard, toiling all day long till 7 still ard. altho it has been a disheartening n daunting looong wait, i wld say luckily e workers' efforts + carpentry are still worth e cause & reason i signed up w a&d.

stjt

bridarine, did your ID tell you before hand what colour he will change and only u agree then he change??

bridarine

no was chg without informing me. jus chg n i got a shock when i realise. i accepted it in e end becos it is nt half bad aft e doors were fixed. but e other side tv feature became strange becos tt side nt chg. so i requested 2 chg 2 create a homogenous effect. i wan things 2 hav a flow becos i paid 2 custom make. they obliged. nw e kitchen cabinets oso facing e same problem. black mirrors became grey mirror without telling me. i hav strong colors for my cabinets. they were red gloss. if they do nt look nice w grey mirrors, i w nt hestitate 2 ask them 2 chg. w nt accept anyth less than wat i expected it 2 b unless it exceed my expectations.

stjt

oic... I thought at least your ID will tell u in advance that he will change his desgin without informing you

bridarine

i thot so too. i can accept changes de. but at least tell me in adv. tt time i had heart attack for 3 days until e doors were up 2 c e full pix. b4 e doors they look odd n unacceptable becos no matter wat it is nt someth we anticipated. but must say e chg is nice. tink id forgot 2 relate. like wat i've said updates generally were my own trips dn 2 e flat.
as 4 e grey mirrors. dunnoe wat is going on. mabbe they run out of stock or wat. but at least must INFORM me. cos my table top is black granite. even a hint of grey is nt acceptable. i dunnoe mabbe other pp r more accomodating. but i w lose sleep jus knowing it is nt gg 2 turn out as nice as i wan. i wan black mirrors w black galaxy granite. nt greyish black. nt v happy. hav 2 suffer another 2 days heart attack 2 c e end product, n possible delay 2 wait for recifications if any. i been tinkg alot lately. Y CANT MY RENO B SMOOTH?

stjt

hi bridarine think i also like u too haha...i will also think alot and worry alot for my reno too..dun even have to mood to work too

so sian hor like that

bridarine

ya lor. but i tink everybody is like tat de. cos it is nt ez $ most of us have to even borrow for it of cos we wan e renov 2 b nice nice n wil worry endlessly abt it. my whole life time i nvr spend so much $ in such a short time, next 2 buying my flat of cos. somemore we oni sign e contract when we r sure tt is wat we wan then we sign 1 mah. who wan 2 accept a different outcome? i somemore 2day no time 2 go dn see e flat, i sure 2nite cannot sleep 1. sigh*

stjt

dun think everyone is like that cos my friend doesn't think or worry as much as I do...so she told me just take it easy..but i just can't...

i also almost everyday go see my house haha.

sing_gunner

i too will think alot abt the reno & for sure will be upset if things go haywire but i wouldnt bother 2 monitor the reno daily cos its veri tiring leh .....

stjt

yup it really tiring going down everyday but at least i would know what was done up and what was not....

somemore my house light is not up yet worse use torch light to see whahah

sure very tired to monitor everyday..
bridarine, don feel too sad yet.. going to finish soon.. at least finally.. jus see how the effect first..

bridarine

stjt, i oso! i thot i was e oni crazy 1 hahah. tt time wifout light i still go n brought torchlight 2 shine everywhere. but tt time v disheartening becos always shining on e same few empty walls always go w high hope n then return v disappointingly. my reno stopped for quite a while b4 suddenly everyth all up.

goonerette, i nvr go everyday oso lar abt 2-3 times a week, oni recently so becos they 1 shot suddenly do alot of carpentry so alot 2 c mah so i go down every nw n then lor.

jules, my carpenter is Tony. woah i v happy w his workmanship n attitude lei. give him 10/10.