$950 for sliding glass kitchen door?

underdogs

was quoted $950 for this type of sliding glass door (with sliding mechanism at the top) by my ID which i find expensive...

Greatly appreciate any advise/contacts anyone here can share. I've approached Besglas and was quoted abt $850...

467174.jpg

koikoi

hi ashtray,

from what I know, if the glass is too big ans cannot bring into the lift, the workers gotta climb stairs and bring it up...
and glass is very ex too. go back to your ID and tell him others quote you cheaper than him lor. ask him whether he can give you cheaper lor.

chng

U should buy from Besglas directly in this case cos it seems that ID did a mark up already. I also have a Besglas Glass sliding door tat cos bout $850. Just order from Besglas and they will do the installation and everything for u and get yr ID to strike the item out from the quote.

underdogs

thanks babu and tots. I thought of sourcing the door myself too, but Besglas's quote didn't result in that much cost savings. so trying to get more contacts first before deciding...

yeah will try to see if my ID can give me a better price or more features...

afsding

my kitchen door is slightly different, with a fixed glass panel and a sliding door, both are clear tempered glass, transparent.. paid $1k for it, through my contractor..

afsding

sure snowzie, but i think its better that i email to u cos its not nice "advertising" here right? let me know ur email k..?

afsding

hi DST, i've sent u my contractor's HP liao.. just let him know ding recommend, i'm sure he can give u good price.. if u wanna see his works, can ask him to arrange a time to come over my humble 3 room flat to take a look..

nirvanaa

$950 is way too expensive.
The glass man must be laughing all the way to the bank.
The basic cost of glass is actually very cheap.
Can always get a sticker man to install those special effect sticker, eg. frosted ones with designs.
I got my stickerman to design for our kitchen glass door too.

Here is his website or can always can call him at 91431104
469362.jpg

underdogs

hi Leslie,

Can you pm me the guy who fixed up your door?

And the website of the stickerman is missing from you previous post.

rene2803

actually it's not a good idea to get contractor to stick stickers on your glass for the frosted effect. Better to get them to do a proper sand blasting for a lasting effect. That's what i did for mine.

dstme

You are right Babybear, stick sticker is not really good in long run. I think in the end I will go for sand blasted glass.

ser50

Anyone still need contact for glass door?
The thickness of my tempered glass is 12mm, the normal one is 10mm. My glass door is for 7 feet, 3.5feet fixed panel and 3.5 feet sliding glass door. I pay $1500 for 12mm thickness. if i would have taken the 10mm, it will be $1250
They are fixing up the glass door this wed, so if u guys want, i can post some pic in due course

ser50

<font color="0077aa">

hi bbpyopyo,

Please see attached for my glass door picture.

My contractor contact is Mr Goh - 97319294.
A nice and friendly uncle who only know how to communicate in Chinese </font>

482015.jpg

ni8

Hi Leslie, wud like to find out how much wud it be cost for glass panel door like your photo. Can you pm me the contact ok ;)

whitegalz

hi apple, how much is ur glass panel door and where u get it? I like it alot, very classic. Please pm me the information!

ser50

hi whitegalz,

Tried to PM you but you dont accept PM. You can refer to my previous posting for the contact. Let me know if you need any more information

bopeep

i'll be getting a tempered glass sliding door for my kitchen as well. if i recall correctly, think it cost $700 (direct from glass supplier) or so as compared to my ID who quoted me $1200!

need to confirm with my hubby and his contact number if anyone is interested.

Hi Kat:

I planning to get tempered or frosted glass sliding door too for my kitchen

I need 3 or 4 doors as currently it is open concept kitchen...

So, i need to get good price...your contractor will install for you?

jerome_lee

I was thinking of having a sliding glass door as well, but might stick on to having one side swing glass door, the other side fixed.

Was quoted $600 for the non-sliding one.. wondering if its good deal. From my contractor who will obviously do a mark-up..

ask4permission

hi, Applezz, can I have your quotation too? Actually i think a lot of people is keen to have the contact, why dun you juz publish out the rates
I'm gg to to a bigger glass pannel than yours, ard 2 times bigger so I need to know how much it will cost. I think my ID will definitely overquote me... haha.

P/S: Since so many people is gg to buy, why dun we consolidate orders and do a group buy instead? Will be more efficient and might cost less.

Anyone interested pls email me at [email protected]
I'll try to consolidate the orders and see if there is any chance of getting it cheaper? Also, pls continue to actively lookout for cheaper buys.... glass is expensivce nowadays...

angel_77

Anyone out there fixed a glass door for ur kitchen which is swing type, not slide one? I heard from friend saying that there is two type of swing glass door. 1 is those like mcdonald glass door, it will close back by its own. The other 1 is those like bathroom's shower glass screen, it wont close by it own. Which 1 is better? Care to give ur opinion?

angel_77

hi cha_alex,

ya, it will be more costly for the door spring. And that mean whenever u go into kitchen u have to push open the door too... But closed door is nicer leh. If i intend to do one, of cos must close everytime, can see everyday. If keep it open, what for do a glass one, as well do normal door hor... Very confused leh... Without the spring one, will it be dangerous if push open the door too hard, will the door bang against the wall n cause breakage? tempered glass can break too...

dstme

I think you should think about practical usage too. Whether it is spring or not, you can still close it all the time. Question is your place layout. If there is breeze going thru the door, then it is best to open it ~ keep cool air flowing your house. good for feng shui too.
Your question on if push open the door too hard, with it cause breakage? No, if they put a stoppage on top or bottom.

My kitchen is using 2 panels. (1 fix and 1 open) no spring. Reason cheaper and there is lot of winds coming from kitchen area. There is stoppage on bottom so even it bang hard when the wind is TOO stong (believe me, it is extreme windy), it would not break.

cha_alex

it is called door stopper / bumper....

good thing of this spring hinges is it will act as a door stopper and also door closer. Meaning if there is strong wind suddenly blow when your door in open position, it won't blow and bang your glass door

If u decided to get spring hinges, make sure get a good one (definetely not cheap and u will not be headache of maintenance and repair)