88 Restaurant / Dragon Gate Restaurant

okeanosmao

hi ocean,

muslim tables not the same price as normal chinese table. its $475 per table as i chose $525 per table for chinese. i find tt it is expensive than other restaurants. most restaurants are charging not more than $350. i think if u choose the cheaper package, u can ask for $425 per muslim table. i've asked them b4 y it is so expensive n they said cos they oso provide muslim waitress to serve. not sure if this is true though.
i guess signature scroll not provided anyway my bridal will provide tt.

choco,
oh yr coordinator is sandy. mine is margaret.

doreamon

Hi Ocean!!!

Long time never chit chat with u already. How is everything at your side?
I later go create a thread and we continue chit chat there how?

oceans

Hi Doreamon!!
your_image.gif
How are you? Goosh, the last time we chat was when huh??
When we are renovating out hse right?
Doreamon, where & When r u planning to have ur traditinal wedding and ROM?

okeanosmao & choco, my coordinator is Helen. Find her very helpful. Previously, when i tok to her on email, i thot she is very strict, but upon meeting her, felt that she is very nice. She agreed to give me the signature scroll also! Although, my bridal does provide, but i was thinkin of changing that to photo since restaurant got give.

For Muslim table, i was told the same price as what we had booked. Maybe currently, we booked the cheapest menu as we had not decide which on to choose yet. They only allow updrage of menu, but no downgrade! So to play safe, better from low to high lor!!

Hmm... like that hor, dun noe if I upgrade the menu, will it be charged the same price or not!!

board-post.cgi

oceans

Oh, yap, quite not used to this new webpage.

By the way, think someone had been registered as <font color="0000ff">Ocean</font>
So I need to add an <font color="ff0000">"s"</font> to my Username!!
29608.gif

okeanosmao

hi coven,

their muslim menu only have to type. tt is if u choose menu below $525/table, they will charge u $425/table for muslim. i chose $525/table so they charge me $475/table for muslim. i changed the desert frm red beans to yam paste at no extra charge..yummy yummy!!
so if u upgrade yr pkg then i guess they will oso charge more for yr muslim tables.
they can give u signature scroll ah? think i may not request for it cos my bridal oredi provide.

doreamon

Hi Oceans,

Ya lor....that was a few months back liao. I wanted to create a new thread to chit chat with u but then hor l forgot my password and now must ask chin leng for help. :p

I booked my ROM date on Oct 12th and tomorrow going down Oaks to do another confirmation before signing on the dotted line. A lot of things happened ever since we last chat. How abt we email each other? My email is [email protected].

Easier to chit chat there.

oceans

<font color="ff6000">okeanosmao</font>, u like yam paste???
29829.gif
Hmm... me prefer red bean as find that yam paste is quite sweet!!

Yap, i was given the signature scroll. So now waiting for the menu for the Muslim table.

<font color="0077aa">Doreamon</font>, i seldon access to email leh... Abit slow in retrieving...
Kekkee....
Ok, will drop u a mail later!!

wendylee

Hi <font color="ff0000">GALS</font>:
Just wana check with you... DragonGate restaurant do provide DimSum lunch buffet ya? Anyone tried and how was the service?? IF wana have ROM lunch reception over there, will travelling from ROM to DragonGate too toublesome?? *Thanks*

choco

hi oceans,
oh, didn't know we could 'bargain' for signature scroll! but since i'm not really particular about that, i shall just let it pass.

wendy,
i had their tim sum lunch just 1 month ago. Service was pretty bad, i must say. They didn't have enough waitresses, so it was tough to catch their attention. Had to wait a long time for the food too. i wasn't very impressed with their buffet menu either. Didn't have much variety (according to my standards lah), though the food was ok. But perhaps u can try it out 1st &amp; see what u think!

wendylee

Hi <font color="ff0000">CHOCO</font>:
Oh really? WOW... still thought that it could be in my listings... seems that I have to chop it off! Okie, if I have the time... will popby these few weeks to test test water... Thanks!

Hi <font color="ff0000">GALS</font>:
Know of any priviliges for ROM couples to hold their ROM reception there? Say setting up a private corner for your occassion??

passing by

Hi Wendy,

I held a tim sum buffet for my rom @Dragon gate. The service is so-so. no comments from my friends. They set up a corner (more like a room) for us. Due to the date we rom happen to be a popular date, there was wedding deco cos there is a wedding lunch on that day. Transportation was not a pro for my case cos most of my hubby's friend and my friends drive. We have abt 50 ppl.

oceans

Wendy, maybe u can check this out with the restaurant mgr for your ROM! Since now, with the opening of NE line MRT, it shld be quite ok for travelling in terms of public transport for those who do not have vehicle.

choco, the signature scroll, i did not really bargain lah!! I asked them if i am entitled and they told me no problem for that!

okeanosmao, have you collected your albumm liao?? Your date is quite near liao leh!!

wendylee

Hi <font color="119911">PASSING BY / OCEAN</font>:
Thanks for the feedback. We only have about 1 or 2 cars... afraid not enough to send all down... btw... wats the travelling time from ROM to DragonGate via cab then? Got suggestions from one of my GF, was told y not go down to Exclsior Hotel there got DimSum buffet too.. but my BF saying the choice quite limited...

passing by

Hi Wendy,

You can chx out odsn.com.sg for their site. Not sure abt the travelling time though. Cos for DG their carpark is at the entrance so the guest can drive all their way up to the res.

okeanosmao

hi ocean,

jus went down to dragon gate for invitation card selection. saw tt the carpark is under renovation, and i asked the manager abt it. lucky she told me it will be ready by end of august. but i still couldn't get the free bridal parking? she told me its under harbourfront management so they cannot decide. u said last time tt the management decided to give free for bridal rite? where can i send request for tt to? any email address for the management anot huh?

hi wendy,

i went to tunglok restaurant in china square for my ROM lunch. but mine is not buffet, its alacarte lunch, includes 6 main dishes, 6 dimsum and chinese tea. i paid $200 per table.
i tried the buffet b4, v nice and alot of varieties, especially their speciality porridge. but its frm 3-5pm @ $15 per person. very worth it though.

if u wan to choose dragon gate buffet, y dun u hire small private bus to ferry yr guests? i hired one frm ROM to china square. those 11 seater type, mostly ferry sch kids. i paid ard $40.

wendylee

Hi <font color="119911">OKEANOSMAO</font>:
WOW... thanks, thats a great idea! Will consider that.
They have another restuarant at Mirama Hotel rite? How's the food &amp; service over there? They are from the same group of restuarant yah?

oceans

Hi <font color="ff6000">Wendy</font>, yes, they do have one at <font color="ff0000">Mirma hotel</font> called er.... Oh, Orient Ocean Restaurant!! Actually, I tasted the food there before on their tim sum buffet. Find that the food there was quite nice. But I did not choose there for my wedding is because I find that the location is abit out of place.

<font color="0000ff">okeanosmao</font>, they dun want to give you complimentary parking?? Strange... because i did saw the reply from the building mgt that they finally agreed to give one complimentary parking to the couple only. Maybe because for <font color="ff0000">88 restaurant</font>, I talked directly at the HQ, unlike the <font color="ff0000">Dragon Gate</font>, you dealed with the Restaurant PR....

Hmm... let me chk for you as my coordinator did mention that the building mgt did agree to give one Complimentary!!

Yap, so which cards did you choose huh?? The one heart or the two hearts one??

wendylee

Hi <font color="0000ff">OCEANS</font>:
Thanks, will look into that!

Anyway, who has the websites again??? Me wana check out the menu for the Orient Ocean Retuarant. Thanks!!

okeanosmao

hi wendy,

attended only the wedding dinner at orient ocean, the fd is nice. nt sure abt the buffet though. u may wanna try. u can go to www.orientocean.com.sg and it will bring u to the main page. jus click onto the restaurant tt u want.

ocean,

okie, check for me abt the complimentary parking. thanks!

i chose the peach col but its pink card. its only 1 heart, so tt i can include both our names on the card. the 2 hearts are printed onto the card rite with gold col line? din choose tt, cos i feel quite simple lor. and it is open vertically not like the normal way of opening the card.

oceans

Hi <font color="ff6000">Wendy</font>, the website is http://www.odsn.com.sg.

<font color="0000ff">okeanosmao</font>, i have checked with my coordinator and she mentioned that you shld be getting too leh... Anyway, I am chking with her how can you go about doing it and also inform her your wedding date. Hope you dun mind!

choco

hi oceans/okeanosmao,
hey that's great if we can get at least 1 complimentary carpark! i'll probably try to ask for it too

oceans

<font color="119911">okeanosmao</font>, my coordinator, Helen, called me liao. You date is 161103 right? She mentioned that maybe the mgr thot you wanted complimentary for the guests.....

She actually going to get the PR from Dragon Gate to call you and then, she asked me for your name!! I told her.... Oh no
30209.gif
, i only noe your Nickname, dun noe full name and mentioned that you are my friend!! Kekkeee....

Think she felt that i very KPO!
But she is very nice lor!! Can drop me a mail??

Chco, yes, ask for the 1 complimentary parking for the Couple.

okeanosmao

hi ocean,

i've sent u private message thru here. can u c it? cos i've indicate the contact nbr and my actual name.sorry, duno yr email add.

actually, i've asked my coordinator - margaret abt the free parking only for bridal car but she said no lor.oh another thing is tt, she will be leaving this week liao. or can u get yr coordinator to call me instead, will it b better this way?

yup. my date is 161103.

thnks!

Hi Ocean &amp; Okeanosmao,

So u 2 will be holding your wedding there? By the way, can i check how much is ur price per table ah? Me also thinking of the place but haven't really been doing my homework till now lor, so would love to have any advice at all.

By the way, 1 of my frd will be having her wedding dinner at the HarbourFront next month in Sept, maybe I go look see look see &amp; then come back &amp; revert more to you all?

oceans

<font color="0000ff">Skylar</font>, I be holding my wedding in 88 Restaurant while <font color="ff6000">Okeanosmao</font> and <font color="aa00aa">choco</font> is Dragon Gate!!

<font color="0000ff">Skylar</font>, the price i think is S$458 to S$688 depending on the type of Menu you are looking at. When are you planning to have ur customary?

Yap, do let us noe when after ur dinner in Sep'03. Think it will be good so that we can also feedback any "bad comments" to the restaurant mgr to avoid the same thing when it is our wedding!

<font color="ff6000">Okeanosmao</font>, i'll received ur email liao! There shld be no problem lah!!
Kekke...

doreamon

Hi Ocean,

I created a thread called chit chat for both of us to continue yaking yakking over there. U see can find or not? :D

Read that u settled your banquet already so what is next?

Hi Ocean,

Well, my customary will be next year around Oct period lor, so now looking around, So ur wedding is confirmed already in 88? Congrats! when is ur big day?

As for Okeanosmao and choco, their are DG? hmm....not bad too...

Me still hunting around lor, sure! will keep u all posted when i go attend my frd wedding next month

okeanosmao

hi oceans,

i dun think will get the complimentary parking. helen had oredi emailed me. apparently she is mistaken tt the management in harbour front is giving free but its not. DG only reserved parking lot for bridal car which my coordinator has said and she said its 2 diff management office tt is in charge of carparks.anyway, its okie lah..no use keep on arguing for the carpark lor..
so tt means, u got a free one rite?
n thank you for yr help..

hi skylar,
yup. mine is in DG. shld be not bad lor..anyway mine will be this nov...3 mths more to go..v fast..

oceans

<font color="0077aa">Okeanosmao</font>, yap, i saw the email from Helen. Now, i also confused!
From what the email stated, it seemed that instd of paying S$1/hr before 5pm to 7pm.... (After 7pm is $2 per entry), we are allowed to pay S$2 per entry from 5pm onwards for the bridal car right?
30486.gif
Anyway, I had dropped Helen another email to confirm on the parking.

So pai sei, if i cant help you...
Now i also dun noe if i got free..... Mine is Feb'04!!
Now searching for Actual Day Photo....

Anyone got suggestion for that cos I got budget to follow??

<font color="ff6000">skylar</font>, yap i booked with 88 restaurant liao!!

Hi Oceans

So u booked with 88 already? Did u just book it? any reasons why u make 88 ur choice too? me also looking around still....not too sure yet.....but looking forward to my frd's wedding in Sept in 88! maybe then i can finalize my decision maybe...

oceans

<font color="0000ff">Skylar</font>, your friend one is at <font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">88 restaurant</font></font>?? I thot is in <font color="ff6000">Dragon Gate</font> u noe?!!

Oh, so your friend is one of those first few person!! Might be the number one couple using the restaurant after renovation!!

Actually, the main reason i choose <font color="aa00aa">88 restaurant</font> is becos of <font color="ff0000">budget</font>! One thing is they provide free flow of beer and the price quoted is inclusive of GST and service charge!

The next thing is becos of the newly opened NE line. To me, accessibility is very impt as there are some of my friends/relatives are not driving. I know how hard it is if the location is quite hard to go. So now, <font color="aa00aa">88 Restaurant</font> and <font color="ff6000">Dragon Gate</font> is quite convenient for those taking public transport!

If you dont have a budget, then can go hotel!! Very grand and convenient in a sense that after dinner, u jus take a lift up to the room..... So nice...
30575.gif

oceans

<font color="0000ff">Okeanosmao</font>, so sorry abt the complimentary parking.

Helen had reverted back to me abt this and stated that although both DG and 88 are very near to each other, but the complimentary parking system is different.

So, the one complimenarty parking is only for couple at 88 Restaurant which is at Harbour Front Tower I.
30684.gif

Hi Oceans,

hehehee....ohhh...my frd is having it in 88 lah, sorry for the blunder....yeh, I think so too, coz the last time when she go &amp; make the bookings rite? I was totally turned off by the whole outside surrounding...coz everywhere is under reno...aiyohh....but now after HarbourFront is done up, it is fine, must say she got good foresight lor. kekekkeee...

Her wedding is next month, so I will go be the surveyor for all u guys.. &amp; myself lah, see nice a not? let u all know ok? kekekee...

but 1 thing, parking not free leh, quite a minus point there hor?

oceans

<font color="0077aa">Skylar</font>, yap, i agreed, the place was in a mess when it appeared that everywhere it is under renovation!!

But now, it is slighter better but still, some contruction going on. Hopefully all of the construction had finished liao, then it will be good for all of us who are holing weddings at 88 Restaurant &amp; Dragon Date!!

Okay, we wait for your <font size="+2">Report and findings</font>
next mth. Heard that the chef is from HK, and actually he wanted to work in thoses 5* hotel, but due the the SARS situation earlier this year, most hotels are not hiring. So he ended up in 88 restaurant.

<font color="ff6000">Okeanosmao</font>, glad that you forgive me!
30978.gif
How's your preparation? Think it is abt time u start to write ur invitation and send out the list liao hor?
Have u select the 1st March-in song???

jimjim

Went to the new 88 Rest. for lunch today.... wow... it's very nice. I love their bridal room. It's column free too !!!! Food wise, it's quite good. Heard it's a HK chief.

oceans

Jimjim, how come they let u look at the bridal room huh?? They did tell me that it is very nice, but i was thinking, how nice can it be!!
31204.gif
hahhaa....

Yap, the 88 restaurant chef is confirmed from Hong Kong. Is the restaurant spacious??

jimjim

Hi Oceans,

I kapo mah, bluff them that I may wnat to book a package, so I asked to see the VIP room and bridal room.

The room has a velvet and gold curtain, a nice sofa set ..... very hard to describe, must see for yourself .......

Well, the rest is quite spacious, but not sure if it will be cramp for 33 tables. But one thing good, they have no columns, so can see the stage at every corner!

oceans

<font color="0077aa">Jimjim</font>, thanks for informing us.
Really? The space quite spacious? Glad to hear that. For the 33 table, 31 is from the main hall and the other 2 tables is in the VIP room.

So are you also preparing for your wedding too?

<font color="ff6000">Okeanosmao</font>, had you go for your food tasting yet? Think it is abt time u send out our invitation hor??

okeanosmao

hi oceans,
hvn go for the food tasting yet. plan to go next month.
oredi printed my invitations cards. they are fast in this leh..yet to collect only..
guest list - hvn plan.
how abt u? hv u go n c the restuarant?
i called my coordinator yest and she told me she was bz helping out in 88 restaurant..

mizzie

anyone tried the food there? how is it compared to say... tunglok? but i think v value for money leh...

oceans

Not yet see the restaurant! Lazy to go there! Currently trying to settle my my PS date first!

Hmm... ur coordinator bz with 88 restarant? Well, as long as she is not too bz, then it is ok lor! Oh yap, when u go for food tasting, remember to talk to the restaurant mgr, so that he/she noe you and maybe do a good job for you in terms of svc and food!

mizzie, u are lookin at 88 restaurant or Dragon Gate?

marrying

Hi Okeanosmao, Ocean,...
Me finally back liao, its me Skylar! kekekekke...
Been busy with my frds weddings &amp; all, &amp; now to tell you all about my Reports &amp; Findings.... =D

Just finish my frd's wedding in Dragon Gate,@ HarbourFront Shopping centre, will have to take Lift at Lobby D.

1. On 4th flr, when the lift opens, its the carpark already, alot of guests were blurr, &amp; they thot they had gone to the wrong floor but in fact DG is in the carpark, the guest will have to walk into the carpark, turn left then u will see DG, so a bit of confusion here lor.

2. Once inside, pretty ok, coz there is like a private foyer which will leads into the ballroom, so pretty nice &amp; private, place to show ur guests ur photos &amp; all.

3. before you stepped into the ballroom, on the left hand side is actually the toilet leh, so abit of a minus point there lor....but no smell la hor...(lucky ah!!!) =P

4. The stage is very near the tables, so kinda create a cozy atmosphere with the guests.

5. They have a very nice &amp; special lighting up of the candles when the couple stand on stage, the couple will light up a string &amp; then when the strings burn out, it will automatically lit up all the candles in a heart shape, quite cool, get some feedbacks that this is unique &amp; nice, never see bfore.

6. The food is great!! Nice &amp; tasty indeed. but of coz the service a little not that good lor, but the aunties waitresses there still try their best lah, they can remember wat u request for &amp; get for u but not that fast lor.

7. Overall, its nice unless of coz if u want tip top service then no lah....

End of my findings &amp; reports! kekekkkekeee =P

okeanosmao

hi SK,

thanks for yr feedback..i went to collect my invites on 14/9 and happened to see tt there will be 2 wedding dinners going on. so i dropped by the small ballrm where my dinner will be held in.. not bad after they touched up the rm. duno if yr fren oso happened to be on tt day?
abt the confusion hor, i oso think this way..cos guests will defintely take lift frm lobby D as tt will b the first one they saw on the right side. by right, we shld take lobby c but mayb human first instinct will walk to lobby d. so this will be confusion here. does yr fren's guest confused or angry over tis? cos i do hv fren who is holding at dragon gate and some guests did feel unhappy over the confusion.

overall, glad tt yr fren's wedding went so well. perhaps the service we shldn't bother too much cos they are aunties mah..

thanks, SK.

marrying

Hi Okeanosmao,

My frd's wedding is on the 17/9.

As for the ballroom, my frd one is A, I think, can't remember liao...

As for the lift rite? The fact is that it is printed on the Invitation cards leh...telling guest to take Lift D lor, so all guests also follow the instructions... (u take a look at ur invites lor, see have a not?)

For my case, when I first went there to meet my frd rite? Very funny, I took the lift D, when the door open, me &amp; 3 others stepped out, looked around &amp; then went back into the lift, take to 1st floor again, coz we thot we made a mistake..=P
Until my frd told us to step into the carpark, turn left only then did we see DG....=D

Yeh, most of the guests were like saying
"Aiyoh...we walk wrong leh..."
"Sigh...so hard to find..." that kinda stuff lor,
well wouldn't say that they are angry lah, but can see that some of them quite pissed lor ...=P

so when is ur big day again?

okeanosmao

hi sk,

i went there twice liao but when i went there to collect invites after 2 months, i oso tend to forget where exactly the restuarant is..u see..guests missed the place oso cannot be blame lor..think some guests get piss off oso cannot b blame..too bad..

mine will be on 16th nov.

oceans

Wow, SK, thanks for your "Report"!!
Great to know that the food at DG is good!!

Wondered if anyone have attend any wedding at 88 yet?

By the way, when are we suppose to fax them on the information for the printing of Wedding Cards huh??
33216.gif

okeanosmao, have you went for food tasting liao?? Think by now, most of the things have been settle liao lor??
All you need to do is sit back and be a mei mei bride on your <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">BIG DAY!</font></font>