50% deposit normal?

vvix

Been looking around hotels for my wedding banquet. Shortlisted a few and the one top of the list asked for an initial deposit in a few thousands and then a further deposit up to 50% of total expenditure one month before the event.

Question is: Is this normal? Standard market practice?

Thx.

lovingcouple

most hotels & country clubs practise is ard 2k - 5k deposit....

50% is too much... care to share which organisation is that? They are not being considerate...esp for wedding couples...

jo_vin

I know inter-continental have such a practice. If yours is not this hotel, then might be normal ba, but if is this hotel, try asking ard see whether any other places have such practice, if not i think its rather siong. Not a small amount leh!!!

gracelourdes

wah...50% is ridiculous leh...imagine if u booked it last yr...then ur AD is in 2009...then end 2008, the hotel closed down for operations...then how??

most practice a S$1k to S$3k deposit....then pay remaining on AD

kitty_princess

50% is considered alright cos the hotel i have shortlisted needs more than 50%. we need to pay 5k upon confirmation - is already more than 50% if based on our total cost.. my fiance is like unhappy, want to change to another hotel.. but i really like this place... can't imagine changing to another hotel..

shuki_50

maybe u can discuss with ur coordinator whether is they can allow u to pay by instalment...to stretch ur money and also provide some security...for mine, i paid 2.5k...

mthm

I paid $3k deposit for mine and the rest of the payment will be made upon check out after my banquet. Mine is in a hotel.

ahockz

guess quite a norm, since the vvix mentioned that a few ks init, and 50% <font color="0000ff">1 month</font> b4 the AD.

50%? thats way too much! imagine if you have 20 tables, and each table is $800, = $8000 deposit?

gosh! for ppl preparing wedding, every cent count.
i called a few major hotels in orchard and city hall, the most is $4k

slycia

i know pan pac also got such practice. 50% to be paid 1 month before actual event.

Maybe try to neg wth your hotel.

vernwyen

aint sure about the operations of the hotel. The restaurant we will be holding our banquet only requested us to foot $1000 deposit, the rest will be after the banquet.

annabella

I knew PP have such advance payment practice and I think it's simply ridiculous.

I have viewed 5 hotels and only 1 require advance payment on top of the inital deposit. henceforth I think this is not common among most hotels.

mthm

I agree that Pan Pac policy is way too much. Deposit is $6000 and 50% to be paid 1 month before the wedding. And the perks are not negotiable at all.

iputa

I have a question. Pardon me for being new in here. The question is that we can choose our packages first, pay a deposit of maybe max 20% and pay the rest BEFORE/AFTER the AD?

Cause my bf and i are both restrained by the huge amount for AD.

Many Thanks.

llebac

We paid this to a hotel in Marina area:-
Initial Payment: S$5000.00 Nett
Second Payment: 50% of total estimated function charges payable 1 month prior to event
Third Payment: Pre authorization for 40% of total estimated function charges required
2 weeks prior to event

Guess different hotels got different guideline in collecting deposits.

shannat

from what i know, OH is 5K, GPCH, 3K (plus 288 for the card)and amara is also 3K. my sis booked hilton and paid $4K deposit.
the rest to be paid on AD or checkout.

joanna_tan

Hi ladies. I juz pay 4200 for my hotel deposit but the my coordinator told me that I got to pay another 9000 during food tasting. Isit very normal for hotel to charge this way. Till now I'm reali shock tat before the wedding I have to pay the hotel 10k which is alot.. Which not include my bridal shop and etc.. Which is a veri big amount to fork out.. Anyway to speak to my coordinator about it. Coz I called her and ask her regarding the 2nd deposit but she dun even get back to me. Reali disappointed...

pantieileen

My fullerton banquet is 60k deposit only 5k not even 10% actually. Doing food tasting this weekend, don't need to pay anything

joanna_tan

hi jane - it at Hotel Re! we love the hotel alot. but to tink back b4 my AD i have to fork out almost 20k. hotel deposit already cost me 14k. brial shop 3888 and we have even prepare the hongpao money gou da li tink and ETC. Reali reali stress with this. i even told my cordinator that before wddding i have to fork out 20k is a huge amount.
reali veri sad...

shanfeng

Hi Joanna,

I checked with a hotel in town area, have to pay deposit of 5k upon confirmation, and balance to be paid only upon departure. (total 40k)

But 2 weeks before AD, hotel will swipe my credit card on the outstanding amount.

Your deposit is really quite alot. Think you need to discuss with your coordinator on this.

pantieileen

It's bullshit. U just got to be tough on them. Hotel Re! isn't a big hotel it's only 4star i supposed. U go tell them. 4Star want to collect 50% deposit when 5star only collect less than 10% deposit.

The power of online forums are very powerful. Don't believe look at opposition party win during the last election. Tell them don't forget Hotel Re! is only a small hotel. Ask them wake up! 4star hotel should aim to achieve 5star hotel's service standard even though u are not paying alot.

Be fierce lah. U online stress stress for what. Go and scream at them.

joanna_tan

Hi Ladies, i spoke to my coordinator she keep saying is the management policy that have to pay 20% ($5400) and 50% ($10,800) till i make a fuss that i wanted to speak to the managment she said i got to pay at least $10,000 first. and the worst is i just receive an email from her saying that her last day is this month end and i'm half way hang that i cant get back my refund if not i will change another hotel. she told me not even a cent i could get back. i'm not a soft or quiet person. but i can't do anything now.....