4-room Resale Flat Renovation

sakurasan

i think the cost depends on the extent of the renovation... I did a complete overhaul ie the only things I kept were the windows and the main wooden door...I replaced everything from flooring to piping. Cost $40K only for renovation..excluding the hardware like air-conditioner, basins, toilet bowls, etc.

sandgirl72

hi sandra n sakurasan

saw this thread this morning so tot i come in to 'see see look look'.

currently my 4-rm (82 sq m) resale flat is undergoing renov and it costs me approx $37K (with carpentary works) changing almost everything except the marble flooring in the living & 3 bedrooms.

naddy

must ask for quotations.

i'm in the process of getting resale 4-room flat. mine is 92 sq m. only changing kitchen + 2 toilets + piping + rewiring + plastering + painting. am expecting to spend about $16k. that's the lower side of the quotations that i asked.

jewel: hacking off kitchen flooring about $200.

jazz

Hi Sandra,
A complete overhaul of whole unit of 4 room flat need not b $40k. it is somewhere between $20k+ to $30k. If you r interested, leave me your email for me to send you the quote.

sakurasan

Sandra

The cost varies, depending on the type of materials that you want to use...so you have to go through the quotations carefully. Such as marble vs ceramic vs parquet, etc...

pegsfur

jewel,

U want to reno yr flat is it? I've got a few quotations here from some contractors ... can give you a rough estimation .... r we meeting tomorrow?

michell

hi pengsfur,

can i have some quotations too? sorry ah, slot in here....
im quite tight budget, maybe about 10k enough liao.. can do anything?

thks!

jewel

pegsfur,
actually, abit kiasu lah!
plan to do up the house maybe next year so now start budgeting, at least have a rough estimation how much i should save! or rather have the motivation to save more! eg. if i force myself to save $500, dan i will think that's for my washing machine etc....
not sure about tomorrow yet, hopefully can lor. anyway, did you receive my email?

aeebee

Hi Everyone (esp. Jazz) :
I have just bought a 4A bishan resale flat. Have a budget of $20k to transform the currently basic flat into something nice, stylish yet comfy by Nov'03. Can anyone send me a quotation for the usual renovation works required. Floor area is 10 sqm. Besides the usual works, I'm gonna hack one wall to create a bigger masterbedroom, and hack another wall to replace with glass wall instead. Also total refurbishment of toilets. Bedrooms will be parquet flooring. Thanks

hi naddy,

my reno is completing soon. i changed the 2 toilets' flooring, changed a new squat pan, toilet bowl, 2 new bi-fold doors with white powder coat, polish marble & parquet, re-varnish wardrobe/doors/wooden partition, kitchen cabinets & wardrobe hinges, painting. it'll be less than 10K.

michell

hi cheers,

i wan to change my toiler squad pan and change all the toilet bowl & sink. do u mind share with me which contractor u look 4?

mine 1 is re-sale flat too...

nokia

hi aeebee,

the cost that you are looking seems a bit tight. i had done up my 4rm before CNY. Sq area 104.

Here is what i had done :

1) Hacked down a wall to create a bigger MBR.
2) Clear away the kitchen wall.
3) kept the existing floor for Kitchen, (manage to find the same title), Living and Spare room.
4) Done up both the toilets
5) Parquet only the en-large MSB ( 1 feet Strip)
6) False Ceiling whole house except Kitchen and Toilet (HBD rules)
7) Kitchen Cabinet ( 26 ft)
8) Shoe Cabinet ( 4 ft Ceiling hight)
9) Paint the whole house
10) Change all the lights

The cost is about $28,000.

Plse take note that you need to be very sure of what you are doing. don't change the concept half-way. else when you need to alter, it will cost you a bomb.

Hope that the above helps.

hi michell,

i've juz emailed you his contact#. his dad is a contractor who does condo & private houses, my family house was done by him. in fact, his my dad's fren, and he'll give this contractor jobs now and then.
since i wanted to renovate my flat, naturally we look for him..and he referred us to his son, coz the son handles HDB reno.
however, the prices he quoted me are much lower as the sub-contractors know my dad too. overall, i find his prices reasonable as his 1st quote to me was b4 all the price reductions.

michell

hi cheers,

thks 4 the info. will try to call him up & chk with him.

is ur hse 4rooms?

aeebee

Hi cheers

I just bought a 4Rm resale at Bishan. I'm thinking of doing quite a bit of reno but at the same time don't want to spend too much leaving little $$$ for furnishing. I would appreciate it if you could recommend me your renovators. Thanks a million!

hi michell,

yupz, mine is a 4 room resale....isn't that why all of urs are here in this thread? you may wish to source for your own sink/toilet bowl, or you can ask him to get for you. coz these things very standard..unless you getting the stylo frosted glass sink, then it's best that you buy urself 1st. taps/bathroom accessories you may bay urself. my dad bought mine for me frm his fren's shop in JB....damn cheap and looks very nice too!!

michell

hi cheers,

opps! sorry 4 asking that silly Q!

yup, i may go search 4 sink & toilet bowl at Jln Besar 1st, c their price how lor... then call up to that guy & ask him quote 4 me...

JB? which part? wats the shops name? maybe can go there look 4 cheap stuffs leh?
mind to share?

orchid

Mine is a 4rm resale. reno cost was $20K.
Did the following:

1. kitchen & service balcony
- hack tiles, lay new tiles, new kitchen cabinet, base for cabinet, removed aluminium door frame & windows btw kitchen & service balcony, new window for service balcony.

2. master bedroom bathroom
- overlay tiles, build shower curb, frameless shower screen, vanity with side cabinet, new WC

3. common bathroom
- overlay tiles, new WC & sink

4. build in cabinets for recess area under windows & master bedroom

5. Others
- paint whole house
- removed existing cornice
- install new simple cornice for hall & all bedrooms
- electrical works - wiring, new circuit box, light installation

Bought on our own:
lights, kitchen sink & tap, hob, hood, water heaters.

hi michell,

where it's located i'm not too sure...i'll need to check my invoice 1st. as for my toilet bowl, i've asked my contractor to get for me the popular brand "Johnson Suisse" (formerly called Armitage)...pricing starts frm $250 onwards. there's another brand called "TOTO", which i've rarely come across.

hi michell,

the address for the sanitaryware in JB is..
Yubina Sdn Bhd
75 Jalan Riang Utama, Taman Gembira, Tampoi, 81200 JB
Tel: 07-332 6245 / 07-332 5335
Fax: 07-332 2468
i bought 1 swan-neck sink tap for kitchen & 2 sink taps for toilet sink.

sharon

I renovated my resale 4 rm flat before CNY.. we are luck tat we got a responsible contractor and person-in-charge. We source for a total of 6 contractors before we finally chosen him!

Although his price is not the cheapest but we feel tat he is more sincere among all... which we feel is the most important aspect! Of course, during the course of renovation, there bound to be problems here & there but most important, he is able rectify without our worry. We have heard of some contractors deny the mistake they make & shift the responsiblity to owners etc...

I can email the contact to those who r interested!

naddy

Hi All!

Here are details about my renovation (which is ongoing):

1. Hack everything in the kitchen and 2 toilets.
2. Supply and lay/install:
a. 2 bathrooms wall tiles with borders and floor tiles
b. Kitchen wall tiles with border and floor tiles + 9-foot sink & stove support
c. Toilet bowls & basins
d. Cabinet/Washing machine/Fridge bases
e. 18-foot kitchen cabinet
f. Cornices for whole house
g. 3 bedroom doors + 1 store room door
h. 1 main door + 1 wrought iron gate
3. Plastering walls of whole house
4. Painting of whole house
5. Change copper piping for whole house
6. Rewiring of whole house

All the above will set me back by $16,500.

That is one of the lowest we received. Most contractors told us it'll be at least $20k. But to get the above price, we got my FH's sister to bargain for us.

michell

Hi Cheers,

thks again 4 ur info... tampoi..quite far hor..

if we bought frm JB, can we bring back SG? i meant the check point will chk or not? worry got problem when getting in SG... last time u brought back urself or ask that company help u dlv 2 ur hse?

blue_sea

wah i think u all did get a bargain! My friend just did up their 4 rm flat for 38k somemore its ceramic flooring but i like their design very much
dunno whether i will be able to get the same thing with the amount which u all are paying. i heard alot of contractors will quote cheap first then add n hidden cost later but i ask my friend she say they didnt add on anything else.... i dunno whether can do with 20k a big difference u know how can be 18k cheaper right??

naddy

Hi Blue Sea!

My reno is done!

It cost us $17,050.

With 20k, you can change at least the 2 toilets and kitchen. Try not to engage designers cos they'll really cause your bills to go way up high. If you can, think of the theme and design yourself. There are los of design mags readily available for you to get ideas from. You can also cut costs by getting accessories like taps, kitchen sinks etc yourself.

sakurasan

I used a designer but there weren't any hidden costs. I paid exactly what was quoted on the invoice with some freebies thrown in.

wei

I bought a resale 4Rm door-to-door unit in AMK recently (92 sqm). I'm also planning to do some renovations. However mine will be quite minimal as my wife and i are quite satisfied with most of the existing renovation. We are planning to do the following:
1. repaint the whole house
2. build a shelf cum seating unit in the living room
3. touch up parts of the walls

Any idea how much will all these cost?

magpie

Is this the right time to get a four-room resale flat now? I am hunting around for a 4-room resale flat in Telok Blangah Area. However, with the economy not doing so well, I am sort of hesitant. But, the flats I want are very specific. We only want two blocks in that area. These two blocks are hard to come by. Right now there is one unit available. Low floor, Letting go for $230K. Hence, not sure if I should grab this chance or wait again. Please offer me your advice. Thanks.

ding dong

Is that within the market selling px? Is the cash portion afforadle? Do u like the place - like wow, you know you'd love to stay here kinda feeling when you saw it?
If ans is yes - then go ahead. the market generally has been weak for many years now. Don;t expect much movement either upwards or downwards. And since you eyeing such specific blocks - go for it if you like the unit.

my 2 cents worth

aeina

Hi Magpie,
Do u mind low flr and how much cash are they asking for? Will u be getting any grant e.g. near parents grant?

i m also looking for 4 rm flat in specific area near my parents. Well, some of my friends or even my family commented that 5rm is so cheap compared to 4rm nowadays. It is actually quite
worthy to get a 5rm. However, my bf and i feel that we should work within our mean. In addition, bigger flat = higher maintenance
fees, more houseworks. Ieee... what a turnoff.
Moreover, there is no iron ricebowl in these days.. got to be cautious.

Nway, i think 230k is quite ok. In fact, my budget is 250k for 4A flat.

magpie

Thanks for your advice. We like the place because it's near to PIL and near to town. Quiet environment too, though it's on fourth level.

The problem now is the seller agent refuses to do a valuation on the house. We are not sure how much is the market price. Hence, we also not sure how much cash we need to come up with. We want to use HDB loan to enjoy the 2.6% interest rate. We are really reluctant to take up bank loans which may end us up paying as high as 5.5% after the first few years.

The agent keeps on persuading us to take up bank loans and even said that if I want the valuation report, I will have to pay for it. But problem is, why should I pay for it? What if ultimately, I am not satisifed with the extra cash they want on top of the market value? Why is it not compulsory to have valuation report? Should I pay for it? I thought it's either the seller or the agent who should pay for the report first then transfer the cost to the buyer. I am not even a buyer yet.

Really confused now...The agent said she would wait for my answer. What should I do?

hi magpie,
i bought my 4-rm resale at telok blangah too. final transaction was in jan03. you can find out the market price frm the hdb website. you're not obliged to pay for the valuation report, the seller/agent shld pay for it.
i did all my procedure myself coz i bought over frm my grandparents. do you think you can do likewise and approach the seller so that both parties can safe on the agent fees. if you need help as to how to find out the market price, let me knw..i'll try to help you. i need the street name and preferably the blk#.
cheers.

ino

Hi Magpie,

I understand your situation too. Do not be pressurise by the Agents. Usu, sellers have to pay for the HDB valuation report.
However, if you take a bank loan, then i'm not sure who has to pay for the bank valuation report.

For bank loans, they require a market valuation report which is usu higher than the HDB valuation report.

I'm also against market loans. Though market loans is quite competitive now (ABN Ambro is offering 1.98% for the first 4 yrs), it is still a risk that we are taking as loans are for a long period of time. No one could predict whether i/r cld increase to 5% or 10%.

From the changes announced by the govt last yr on the liberalisation of Bankloans...think the following points should be considered:

1) Valuation limit (VL).The VL refers to the value of property at the time of purchase or the purchase price, whichever is lower. As at Jan 03, the Valuation Limit is 150% of your loan. (Loan amt. and i/r). This determines how much CPF savings can be made availabe for your housing loan. If the limit is reached , then you may need to top up with cash outlay.
The VL will slowly decrease over the years until the VL reaches 120% of the loan by 2008. (Note: If you log in your loan before 2004, your VL will be 150% throughout.)

U can refer to this website for more info:
http://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpf_info/goto.asp?page=/cpf_info/Benefits/HomeOwn/Hsg_Menu.asp

2) If you take the loan from 2004 onwards, you will need to pay 2% cash downpayment. This slowly increases to 10% by 2008.

Market loans are not friendly and banks are not as compassionate as HDB.

Btw, if you wanna bypass the Agent, tink you can forget about it...it's impossible as the seller may have sign an "exclusive" deal with the Agent.

As mentioned by Cheers, you can check out the market price from HDB website whereby they have a section on Resale Transactions. The prices are not really that updated as these are the transactions that may have taken place 2-3 mths ago but were only approved by HDB this mth.

As for the price for a 4A flat, the ones near my place (Central) is so much more expensive ...it costs about $300K!!! So $230K is quite alright.

be careful when you take housing grant though...
U need to stay 10 yrs b4 you can sell....and you need to pay a resale levy (i think it's 22.5% for 4-rm flat) from the proceeds of your sale.
So, my advice is to make a calculated decision.

Hope the above helps. ;-)

magpie

I just went to check it out. The market transacted price is $226k. So it's around the price that the owner is asking for. I also just called up the seller agent to tell her to get the report. She finally said yes. And, I am getting my own agent to represent me. She is my ex-colleague. So, I believe she is more genuine to help. My location is Telok Blangah crescent. Where exactly is yours? How much did you spend on the flat and the renovation? Me and my FH did not have much savings. So keeping the reno to minimum. But, I really don't like the flooring. Green terrazzo.

Btw,now I know the reason why she keeps asking me to get bank loans. She is also collecting commission from the bank. Found out from my agent. The valuation will be out in 10 to 14 days.

magpie

Hi Ino,
Just saw your message. many technical terms but trying to digest the parts on VL limit. Thanks for offering so much information. Btw,u mean I need to stay 10 years if I am getting the housing grant. (I am taking the 40k grant). Tot I could sell it away after 5 years.

Buying a home is a headache. I am scared to make the wrong calculations and wrong decisions. Some of my friends who already bought a house end up commented that it is a longterm burden. But a house that belongs to me and my FH is my dream. It's every girl's dream. Should I just give up the idea and continue to live with my PIL? With no privacy....

hi magpie,

mine is @ telok blangah hts. bought my flat @ valuation price $240K. $0 cash. 2nd highest flr and faces the sea. did minimum reno and spent abt $6K+
(includes: polish marble, polish parquet, wholehouse painting, change 1 toilet bowl, squat pan, change 2 toilet floorings, 2 toilet doors, re-varnish existing wardrobe doors, room doors).
if you're interested, i can recommend you my contractor. his dad was my family's contractor.

saw this in the hdb website. hope it helps clarify ino's point. unless u're buying a flat directly frm hdb, you can do so after 10yrs. but if buying frm the open mkt, you can do so after 5 yrs.
=================================================
Minimum Occupation Period
You must occupy the flat bought with the Housing Grant for five years before you can sell it in the open market. You can submit an application to buy another flat direct from HDB after 10 years from the date you bought your flat with the grant.
=================================================

chicory

Hi Cheers,

Do you know if i want to buy a flat direct from HDB after 10 years, do i still have to pay the levy? What if i have made a loss from the sale (selling price is less than the price i paid 10 years ago), must i still pay for the levy?

ino

Hi Chicory,

As long as you make use of the housing grant, you will need to pay the levy, even if you have made a loss from the sale. The levy is based on the declared resale px or 90% of the market value (whichever is higher).

Frankly, i think it's not worthwhile to take the grant. Chances are...you end up paying back more to the govt.

Hi Cheery,
thanks for yr clarification to Magpie. ;-)

Hi Magpie,
Understand your concerns about buying a house. Me also scouting ard for house too....currently waiting for balloting...if not successful, i will buy a resale flat near my parents pl (but i'm not taking the grant).

Ultimately, it depends on how expensive your flat is. The more expensive it is, the more u have to loan...the heavier your burden. Most imptly, do not overcommit and if possible, try to be debt-free asap (e.g. take a shorter repayment period).

Another additional point is that if you take the housing grant to stay near yr parents, your parents cannot move to another flat o/s your town for the next 5 yrs too!

I am given the chance to live wif PIL but i'm not keen to take up the offer...prefer to have our own space and privacy...In addition, we have to adapt to the habits and lifestyles of the different pple in PIL's house...dun think i can do that tho. ;-P

magpie

Hello

Thanks so much for responding and the information.....

Actually, we are not in a hurry to get a flat. His place can still accomodate us. His family is small. He has only one younger sister. They live in 2 adjoined 3-rooms units. Plus the new utility rooms and the corridor. It is pretty big. Staying with them should be not a problem. The problem is like what Ino said, I have to adapt to their lifestyle and theirs to mine. Sometimes, I feel I am intruding into their free space at home. So I stay in the room almost all the time. Of course his parents might have something to say lah... Except bathing and eating or sometimes, watching TV outside, I am in his room. Moreover, I very scared elders nag at me one. Once, I bought some oily food to his place and his dad starts nagging. I feel bad too. I have to be extra careful when doing things. Cos feel like they are observing me. Very scary.

magpie

ino,
I am also waiting for balloting while scouting around for reasle flats. Those new flats are vacant for many years. I wonder why the government won't just release them to people like us who want to stay near parents. Or, even put it as a choice in WIS. I am waiting for the town area, such as Tiong Bahru and Telok Blangah. How about you?

hi chicory,
hey..u're in this thread too huh?! frm what i understand, unless u're buying back hdb flat in future..u'll have to pay the levy. if u're upgrading to private property, you dun have to pay the levy at all. have you scout ard for ur lovenest already??

hi ino,
u're welcome!

hi magpie,
u'll have many restrictions if you stay with his family.. kinda awkard cos it's not ur own home environment.

chicory

Hi cheers,

No lah, i am not in this thread, but saw that you are here and seems like you know quite abit on this resale stuff
. I have wanted to find out about the levy thing. I already bought my flat, resale too.