4 or 6 inches False Ceiling

tigerjes

Anyone do false ceiling with 6 inches high? My ID quoted 6 inches but I just noticed that the height of my house is only 2520mm. 6 inches is about 120mm but I am going to overlay parquet or laminate to the existing ceramic floor tiles, so this will over the limit of 2400mm clearance set by HDB.

Anyone overlay parquet or laminate at the same time with 6 inches of false ceiling?

alan_koh

hi Jes,

the norm is to drop the false ceiling by 6 inches. however, the casement of a plc light holder is only about 3.5 - 4 inches. hence, you could request your id or the false ceiling man to position the false ceiling as high as possible.

it would be good if you could buy a plc light that will be eventually installed on the false ceiling. then work out the height based on that.

alan

tigerjes

Thanks for the advice.

For 6 inches false ceiling, the clearence for the ceiling and floor might below 2400mm. Can normal HDB flat have 6 inches false ceiling? Anyone has false ceiling 6 or more inches?

balicraze

My false ceiling is 6" with square PLC and hidden light tubes. Which is best advise to, reason is that the square PLC needs to be tilt to a side when installing, also the ballast is sitting on top of the PLC, if your false ceiling is too short, it may contact the concrete ceiling. Another thing is that if too many lightings you have on your false ceiling also needs ventilation space, dun forget it is a box. This will prolong the lifespan of your lightings.

As for the height requirement, It may vary unless you want to sell your house in future. It normally depends on the officer checking on your premises, if your false ceiling is not fully covered. Also laminate floor is only a few mm thick and it doesn't really matters. Try asking around with few ID or contractors, or friends that recently bought a re-sale flat that with the identical specs you have. If thiers is what you have/want, means is not a major problem.

cthulu

Hi, anyone able to share the cost of doing a false ceiling? I am looking at a area of 12' x 12'.

cakey

hi, ours is 4-inch cos. according to the designer it looks cleaner and more modern. But we've problem buying lights cos. it's too low and need to find light tube that sits horizontal instead of vertical mount. Those horizontal ones are more expensive and also limit our choice of light. Maybe you can go source for your lights, then measure to see what's the minimum height it needs.

wenn

hi kelpy

pelmet is the area for u to place ur blinds or curtain rods.

wynn_ng

hi all, have any lobang of contractors that make L-box?? a contractor quote me 750 for living room onli and that exclude painting (400) and wiring (650) and lights each is 8, total add up very ex leh. for just 1 living room, oh my god, help me pls guys
... mail contractors' info to me at [email protected] k

sgbrides

Anyone know is there a different in the cost for 4 inches and 6 inches? How much different? I was quoted the price of 6 inches but in the end my contractor only do 4 inches, can I ask for some refund?

balicraze

Hey brides,
If is stated in the contract that is 6" you may ask for a reduction of price, or you may choose to insist for 6". As this is not your mistake, it could be also not your contractor, is thier sub-contractor doing the mistake by fixing a 4". 2" of difference to a home-user is alot of difference, as there's limitations of lightings available, to them 2" is juz the slight difference as this is height, not length.Additional material used is juz barely 2" on the side/end, if yours is a wall to wall then theres no different at all, is only the internal bracket which needs to be longer to hold the false ceiling, moreover this is a few hundred dollars job, not thousands. Insist to change as what i did for my house on some unusual dimensions which dun feel good in my eyes.

sgbrides

Hi Joe

They actually delivered 6 inches height of L-box but use handsaw to cut it into 4 inches coz my false ceiling can only have 4 inches. As a result the edge is cockle and gap is big. They said after plastering, it will look nice. Is that so?

balicraze

normally plastering can cover the faults and will be painted the whole ceiling same colour, it will not be obvious if is properly done. But why your false ceiling is 4"? u requested due to height allowed by HDB?

bungy_jumper

Hi bride,
My parents house had 4" false ceiling, and it was very difficult to buy lightings becos of the height. 18W bulbs are out unless you are going to put the tubes horizontal. 10/13w bulbs double tubes are also out becos of the length, u have to buy the 3 tubes type. I think if you can afford the height limit, you should get them to change.

Hi Wynn, your quote seems reasonable to me, my master L-box already cost me $650. However, thought your painters should be the one painting the ceiling ?

bungy_jumper

Hi, my parents house also did 4". dont really have to use horizontal. You can buy the 10/13w PLC. The bulb you can use the triple tube. When you extend the holder to the max, the bulb will fit nicely and its level to the holder.
The double tube bulb will exceed the length of the holder and stick out.

sgbrides

Anyone know where to get the triple tubes light? Is it very expensive?

Is it common that before plastering, all false ceiling and L-box have a lot of gaps? After plastering, will it last long? It make me sad to see the bad job that my contractor did.

bungy_jumper

The same lighting shops that you buy your lights from.

don't be sad, when you see the raw ceiling, definitely alot of gaps. the plaster will fill up the gaps and after you paint, you won't even know where the gaps were before. For me, we use sealer to paint the whole ceiling before painting. This way, the colour will remain and it will not turn yellowish in the long run.

dinkygal

Can anyone enlighten me as to what L-box lighting means? Is it part of a false ceiling? I've seen it included in a number of packages but am totally clueless coz no pictures shown.

bungy_jumper

False ceiling - which is actually one whole piece of lowered ceiling
275147.jpg

Light-box - usually by the sides of the wall, thereby original ceiling still can be seen.

275148.jpg

roxyz

I did my false ceiling for $3k...included living, dining, foyer, master bedroom and master bedroom passage way......

tink my ID did both step and 6 and 4 inches ceiling with pelmet

Hi summerala,

not sure but we met one of the ID and he said L-box is more expensive than false ceiling even though L-box is just a portion not the whole thing

jrtowner

is it true the those down-lights that install in the L-box or false ceiling are quite hot unless aircon is on?? anybody have this problem after using these down-lights?? please advise cus must decide by this saturday whether to do or not to do a L-BOX for our new flat living area.

alice5

Anyone who install L-box or false ceiling with down PLC light experincing rise in room temperature in your rooms or living rooms ? Basically, do you feel warm without air con in the room ?

Need some advice.

bungy_jumper

hi, I have solely PLC lights in the living room. I dont feel its warm.
Unless you install halogen downlights then it will be very hot.

bungy_jumper

PLC energy saving, halogen energy wasting. LoL

i got a couple of halogen, with wide defracting bulbs to create embience. not purposely for light source.

ayura

so now standard is to have 4" or 6" for HDB flats? I'm thinking of getting invented L box as well to put the light but the person who do false ceiling told me better not as it will be dirty in the long run. lizards or creatures can just crawl in, cant find their way out and 'sayong narang' inside.

so for this reason i'm only thinking of doing L box n False ceiling. and i read HDB book, it mentioned that all works must be done by registered contractor. but our main con also sub to non-registered wat.

so for this case,i'm going to use a reliable non-registered contractor. he do mainly condominums. my parents house also done by him.

winendine

For nice lighting ambience and effects, nothing beats the inverted L-box. And it has become popular nowadays. I’ve asked the contractor to design & build one at dinning and another at MBR.

bungy_jumper

hi yura,
i dont think there's a standard 4 or 6 inches, but rather the height of the ceiling in your house and the voltage of downlights you want to use.
Mine are 6 inches and i can fit in 10/13/18 watts downlights. My parents house has 4 inches Lbox and it cant fit in 18 watts unless you want the bulb to protrude out.
Yah inverted box over long run collects dust, spider webs, and dead insects, unless you are hardworking enough to spring clean.

ayura

hello! just an update. called HDB and was told there must be a clearance of at least 2.4m from the ceiling (be it false ceiling or whatever) to the floor (after tiles layed)

astrogirl

How much do contractor usually charge for per m2 for simple plain false ceiling with just holes provided for some downlights? 3" & 4". Thanks!

ner

Just a point to remember:
The original ceiling may not be perfectly level...maybe more often in older apartments. You may end up in a situation where it's a drop of 6inches on one end of the room and maybe 5inches at the other end.
That's when you will encounter problems during installation of recessed lights.

reccasim

Can we just do Lbox in the living rm? Or must it comes with false ceiling? The ID told me it must comes together else not nice and that i must do for the dining area as well as the passage way.

But i feel that's alot of money oredi. not including lighting and electrical works.

Pls advise.

cha_alex

definetely u can.... a good and professional ID should work out the best design base on ur budget.... not ur budget base on his design....

bungy_jumper

Yes,
its up to your choice and budget what you want to do.

L box does not have to go with false ceiling. Though my personal view is that passage way either you do false ceiling or don't do at all.

fiona

Anyone did up false ceiling NOT through ID? I want to know how is the payment days like. Do I pay the contractor 50% first or ... ?