32" LCD - Philip/Toshiba/JVC/Sharp

volare

For the starhub digital box, you can set the setting for standard/widescreen tv.
Default settings for the digial box is standard.
So, for those with widescreen lcd tv's, make sure you modify the settings.
Picture quality for lcd with digitial cable boxes can be quite good too.

volare

Hi Richard,

I assume you have an widescreen lcd tv and starhub digital box.
When you change the aspect ration settings to 4:3 does the first column pixels seem brighter than the rest? Is this a starhub cable box problem (oversampling)?

pooh_pooh

For 32" LCD owners, is a distance of abt 2m from the screen too small or just nice? Cos' I am also considering the option of a 42" plasma, since 37" LCD is not really affordable at this stage.

Appreciate any advice. Thanks!

jennythian

I have a 32 inch lcd tv(sharp) in my bedroom and 42 inch hitachi plasma in living room.I feel these two brands are good for LCD and Plasma.After comparing prices, I got equote from [email protected] and buy from them.

suiching

I just got a Sharp 37' LCD (LC-37G2M) and a Sharp 15' LCD (LC-15B4M) for $5377 including installation and wall-mount brackets for both the TVs. Inclusive of 2 years extended warranty for the 37' LCD.

Issit cheap? Bought it during Comex

richard79

Hi mousy_pig (suiching),

I think that's realatively a good deal you got there. By the way, when is the expected delivery date ? Do post some reviews here once you start using the unit.

suiching

I just got a Sharp 37' LCD (LC-37G2M) and a Sharp 15' LCD (LC-15B4M) for $5377 including installation and wall-mount brackets for both the TVs. Inclusive of 2 years extended warranty for the 37' LCD.

Issit cheap? Bought it during Comex

katherine

we just bought a toshiba 32" LCD...got it at harvey norman. The guy showed me the same movie, same scene on Sharp, Philips, Samsung and Toshiba and we decided on toshiba over the others. Personally, I found Sharp too bright and cannot capture the movements well. Philips too dark, though the pixel plus can capture the movements well. Samsung is not comparable. Toshiba cannot capture the movement as well as Philips but it can capture the details better than Sharp, which is why we chose tat in the end

lightz

Hi Katherine,
I tot brightness can be adjusted by the control??
If too bright, then darken a bit... too dark, then brighten lor...

no_socks

anyone bought anything from dave electronics?
heard their price very competitive and good service.

think of getting LCD instead of plasma.

katherine

at harvey norman, they set their tv all the max contrast, so if comparing at max contrast, it looks a bit too bright...the background also very bright..

fleur1

Hi Katherine,
Which model of the Toshiba LCD TV did you buy? Also, how much did you pay for it. We had also bought a Toshiba LCD TV recently. Wondering if it is in general that all toshiba TVs have better capture of movements...

hi all, y dun u guys try asia excel marketing @ imm. very good service n can match any price. they sell almost everything. dats y we like to buy from them. one stop shopping at the best prices.

happylee

hi i'm new here...actually just bought a resale flat...thinking of getting a plasma or LCD for my living rm. But i dunno what is the different between plasma & LCD? Which 1 is better & what is the price difference...? Anyone, pls help...?

puppylove888

I dun see samsung uncomparable esp the current LA32M51 model
Me using this for 2 mth and frd come my place claiming picture is as good as their plasma
And response time is 8 ms too

Agree SHarp is best in LCD but the price they asking is ridiculor
But heard Sharp launching a new model this wkend, heard is built fot watching TV progame

Jus my 2 cents worth

fleur1

Hi Puppylove,
That is a very good website to recommend. Thanks! Was very useful!!!

Hi Katherine,
Thanks, think mine is also that model.

cecilialim

please bear in mind a few tips when buying plasmas and LCDs...

1) some vendors play the movie through HD devise that will make pictures look very clear and define, thus when you buy and go back home to play, the quality always not as good as the showroom.... the HD player itself costs few hundred bucks for a good one...
2) when you are in showroom, you have a lot of monitors placed side by side to compare, thus you think that those that don't look so nice are inferior, to a certain extent that's true, but those with nice pics may mean being streamed through a HD player and thus clearer, and people will buy, as vendors may want to clear that brand of stock fast maybe due to new models coming up or higher profit margin for that brand...

3) no matter what, LCD quality is LCD quality, buying a cheaper one may not necessary mean it looks not good at your house or in your room... it will still appear much better than CRT in terms or looks or picture quality. (you don't have many LCD monitors to compare side by side at home), so by naked eye, you won't know its inferior.

4) the parts inside an LCD or plasma are mostly from the same 2 or three manufacturers... so if branded can work well, the lesser will be able as well... it depends on luck...

Cecilia

waltz

Any comments on the philips 9966 model ?
The one with pixel plus 2 and ambient light.
Is philips LCD lasting ?

cecilialim

LCD when spoil only need to replace the liqud crystal behind the screen, then it will give colour as good as new... plasma in turn got to be changed to a whole new set as the gas that produces the colour is not replaceable.... for me plasma is enough, cos if i on it everyday for 8 hour, it can last me for 10 years, even before it, i think i would have changed tv due to the everchanging and improving technology....

cecilialim

if leave the plasma on with the same screen for one hour than there will be perm burn mark which cannot be removed. those that lives on like what our computer screen gives leaves after a while, as the image is not projected long enough.

depends on what you use it for, for computer use, LCD better, for watching DVD and TV programs, plasma... viewing angle not that sharp, not hurting to the eyes, and motion pictures are sharper than LCD

need_help2

Cecilia446;

hi. read from previous posts that u said
"4) the parts inside an LCD or plasma are mostly from the same 2 or three manufacturers... so if branded can work well, the lesser will be able as well... it depends on luck..." so can you recommend some not so popular brand for the lcd tv. coz some of them can be much much cheaper - i mean after all its just a tv. like i heard *moi brand has its panel from *amsung? any comments?

cecilialim

i got Prima LCD 27" for my room... it uses Samsung discontinued LCD panels... i'm not sure about the brand that you use. i read that Korea is the largest exporter of LCD panels... mine only cost $690... cheap right? but i tell you the quality is good... value for money...

need_help2

Cecilia;
wow! thats a good bargain. actually im just sourcing and looking arnd for infos on lcd tvs - not yet buy. but for that amount - its a steal.

cecilialim

astrogirl, depends on your luck and negotiation skills already lor... they give diff people diff pricing unless you have friends who buy at a price and you demand the same... i bought a plasma at $3250 but the boss gave me a receipt that shows he sold that same model $3480 on teh same day... $200 cheaper for me....

art8

JnP...

LG has the biggest plasma panel plant, not LCD.
If u r refering to LCD, it got to be Samsung as it has the biggest panel making plant.
From my understanding, Toshiba is using sharp...

jnp

Hi Rabbitwsk2,

Thanks. Some salesperson tell me it's Sharp and some tell me it's LG, that's y I'm pretty confused. Anyway, yesterday I went to another Courts outlet n the salesman tell me Toshiba use both LG n Sharp. Depends on the model....
I'm trying to decide my LCD, is Toshiba better or Samsung better....any advise?

art8

Jnp, np la... I am in consumer industry cos I know wats happening mah... sales man most of the time are $ oriented... so can anyhow say:p

If u got budget, go for Sharp. If not, Samsung

Tt's my advise lor

jnp

Hi Rabbitwsk2,

Thanks. Hmm yesterday I went to Harvey n the guy told me Sharp too. He also mention that Sharp n Hitachi going to joint venture soon to produce LCD panel.
I saw the Toshiba new LCD with HDMI. Tot it's not bad leh. In fact, I tot it's better than Samsung for the features n it seems the images are more 3D in Toshiba.....

art8

Jnp, since u have more feel for Toshiba and its using Sharp, then go for it lor
Toshiba is also a reliable brand.

As for HDMI, u got to judge the premium that you will be paying. Unless, u are willing to spend $ with HDMI cables (which is pretty expensive) to connect ur LCD with DVD (which shd also hv a HDMI). If not, the HDMI is still not a useful components. As for HD boardcasting in singapore, u need to give it another 5-6 years for a full launch. Imagine the time, they need to change the antena and cables.

Think about it lor
My point of view la...

highlow

hi, rabbit

accidentally saw this thread and hope you guys dont mind me "intercepting".....

remember i read the news that 1st quarter next year singapore will have hd broadcasting leh....

also, current lcd and plasma tv dont comes with the digital decoder. hence, when this happen, got to buy a separate unit.