30K not gd enough for ID Firms nowadays!

cheryl_cheryl

I am shocked that 2 ID firms recently turned down my biz after realizing the budget for reno was 30K. Brand new condo size is 123 sqm. Only works required are some painting, platform storage in 1 bedrm, feature wall, a little works in balcony, some basic storage and lightings. All bedroom wardrobes, kitchen & bathrooms need no works at all.

One even disappeared until I finally called to realise that he already decided to drop our biz! How unprofessional...

Is business so good now that they just choose customers who have high budget? What is a reasonable amount? How do we know which ones are reliable? I don't want to waste so much time with one only to realise they are not interested later...

thesleepybeauty

i am slightly luckier than you. Although i do not have anyone turning me down... but i find their ways of doing things not really sincere. Called up 1 pretty well-known designer whose works are featured in home & decor... he just ask me to email him my floor layout plan and state my budget then he will get back to me. he did revert back to me thru email and give me a price quotation. i find him not sincere at all becos' how could you give a quote based on floor plan? i may have different needs from his other customers rite? anyway, he did not even bother to follow up with a call or whatsoever.

this is really bad right? guess he is so popular that he does not need to do small project. my budget was around 30k as well... oh i did not mention, he charges 7.5k for project mgmt and design fees.... i find it ridiculous

yenming

if u all dun mind, i can recommend my ID to u. he's someone who dun mind abt the budget fr owner. easy-gg, initiative, funny guy. before him, we also met up wif some ID who is totally shun off by our tight budget. if u all wan his contact, can email me.

thesleepybeauty

hi yenming, thanks but i have found my ID already.

blessed_1

Hi, peeps.
Me also looking for contractors, anyone here bot a resale flat thru ERA? heard they have their own contractors and if u buy house from an ERA agent, they will do it at a subsidised price. So any experience/advice? How much is a good budget to set aside for reno for a 5 room flat? Maybe jus to do up the dining, kitchen and toilet area with walk-in wardrobe? Thanks! btw, if there are cracks on the wall, shd i b concerned? it is a 5 room flat in Senja area and they say it is not structural but still if i buy that place, will it be a recurring prob? how much would it be to fix that up?

xygl

Yes, i think we encountered same problem when we approached some IDs with our budget. They just never get back with any proposal. Anyway, it showed how sincere they are about your job! They forgot that though we said 30K, we are sometimes / mostly prepared to dish out more when needed. Anyway, my new plc renov quotation came up to be ard $40K+ for a resale 5rm (130sqm and the insincere IDs didnt get this job from us.

xiaomei80

i agree too. my original budget was 30k but in the end my quotation was near to 40k. but i'm willing to paid to the id engaged althou is bit higher than the rest cos his service was superb as compared to the others. oso more professional than them. some more his id firm is public listed making it more trustworthy.

pug

Hi, mine was really sincere and nice initially, when they wanted us to sign the contract... afterwards is a different story... my contract came up to S$49K, for a 4-rm flat. So appearing to be nice and sincere initially... may not be a good thing! Anyway I will not recommend this ID (featured in H&D mag, and some other local mag) to any family and frnds... lack of integrity, morals, questionable workmanship, and i engaged them in Aug 2007... my home not completed yet... u can imagine...

pug

my friends, this whole ID/reno industry is a very grey, and poorly regulated one in spore. the IDs/contractors are all old birds in the field, and they know v well how to play the game. so do plenty of homework b4 signing contract (also u can change/add/subtract) terms of their contract and work scheudule, not happy dun sign. best is thru referral fr family/friends who have +ve experience with someone... remember, the person in charge of your project is in many ways more impt than the branding of the company.

cktan

This reno market is really very, very grey. Do not expect your contractor to give you quality when your budget is small. Market is flooded with new flats needing renovation and there is a shortage of skilled labour with the rush to complete IR and Sentosa projects.
After searching and studying the market for 2 months, I am still without a main con to do the masonary work. Like to go a la carte to save on cost. Any lead or suggestion as to how to proceed from here. 5 room new flat with 30k budget.

jo_chua

That sounds bad... I went to the home living at expo today... The one I saw I do not like.. My uncle and FIL has frens doing contractor work so most likely going to design ourselves and ask one of them to do.. have not compare prices yet... But will let u know once known. =)

Not really true, some IDs still entertain, u have to go find your own.

My ID understood my plight and agreed to take on my job even though its slightly more than 10k only and he had to meet my tight deadline as my customary is quite close.

With CNY approaching soon, I guess many contractors/IDs are right up to their neck with work. The property boom doesn't help too.

belbel

Peeps here can also look for my highly recommended ID..they work in pairs..which means 2 designers be attending to your flat..i did mine at 35k total reno..very sincere and helpful services i guess.at least to my standards..hope can help peeps here...

paintednails

haha we choose ppl, ppl also choose us mah..i guess it's natural law lah..

i heard from my gfs who had done reno before, actually some customers also very scary one lo. haha. but their ID say they will still entertain to their best. during peak period if really bo bian it's have to drop one lo..

now i'm thinking if i wanna get id or just contractor. gfs say id will help manage everything, i just choose materials. no one ard me use just contractors before so i'm curious too..hmmmmm

kohed

Difference between id and contractor is the design works involved. A good design can only be done by designers who are trained and educated in this area.
Not all id charge high.
Try Fibre Design Studio, rather good.