3 rm resale reno budget

ruffles

Hi! i m new to this forum, i just bought a resale 3rm @ marine parade, was wondering wad type of budget should i be looking at? I can see that there was a lot of positive comments on Lego House...

i actuali intend to hack off the whole house flooring (its of very 'not-moving-in' condition, kinda old & run down, in EXTREMELY original state) & lay my living area with homogeneous tiles, my 2 bedrooms & uilty room with laminate..

ermm, need to hack away the exisiting kitchen cabinet too, change all windows & doors, painting...if the overall reno cost doesn't blow, i m even considering hacking away 1 wall at the kitchen to make the house look bigger...so, can aniout estimate ard hw much would it cost? i dun think i need a ID, i got the designs, just need someone realiable & not costly to do the job...

onebigday

hi ruffles, i just bought a resale at MP too, but yet to collect keys
what is your floor area? if you're considering hacking off tiles and walls, it could come up to about 30K, depending on the extent. our budget is about 12-15K to shift some walls, hack thru & re-do the toilets, etc.

ruffles

hi teh si, which block r u @? mine is a 3I, oni 65 sqm, i m oso looking at ard 15-15k. but i need to hack off my living, bedrms, kitchen & toilets tiles & re-lay them, also the kitchen cabinet, but i m not doing any carpentry..wil be buyin them off the rack frm IKEA..HB & me got the loves for their design... but i doubt wif so many hacking works, we might not be able to meet within our budget...now still sourcing or ID/Contractor...*worried*

went to Legohouse last week, one guy serve us but he was like *dilly-dally*, end up sisi furnish us, but i did not bring the floorplan tat day so we were to fax over to her, but till nw stil haf not do it.. i dun like the look of her..heard tat her coordination sux..but oso heard tat legohouse quote is reasonable & workmanship nt bad..any comments? HB bought me to OrangeCube, was impress wif their showroom, now waiting for their quote...

wendy_goh

Hi all, I was recommended by my colleaguesto this forum as I'm buying a resale 3rm flat in amk. I found that the quotations from my contractor seems expensive. Hope that I can get some info from you guys.

My contactor will hack off the existing master bedroom wardrobe & kitchen cabinets. Then install new kitchen cabinet (mainly lower part), tv console, re-paint. For the 2nd bedroom, they will design for me including build-in wardrobe, bed, cupboard to conseal LCD TV on the wall...etc. Miscellaneous like installation & a bit of wiring. All these comes to 10K.

Actually I thou of hacking of the 2 side walls between the living room & kitchen. But there's an air-con attached to it. My contactor told me that if I intent to hack the wall, it will affect the wiring, and as current tiles it terazo, I need to change it. He estimate total around 18-20K.

If I don't hack the wall, & juz change the tiles for the bedrooms, store room & living rooms, the estimate cost is 16-18K.

Can any1 advise me?

I also saw advertisement indicating homogeneous flooring for 3 rms cost around 1K++. Any recommendations?

cookie13

Hi ruffles, mine is also a 3I,but corner unit,so abt 68sqm. We planning to do major overhaul of the place, and we've obtained about 6 quotes.The the cheapest we have so far is abt 23k, incl electrical/piping/hacking/tiling/capentry/plastering/painting etc. Think without wardrobes and fanciful stuff, u can do it within 18k.

vermilion

hi all, mine is the smallest... 59sqm, i am also doing major reno for my place:
1) hack wall between kitchen and living, put glass panels, extend dinning area
2) hack 1 wall between bedrm and living and build shoe cabinet/wardrobes & tv shelves
3) build wardrobe for other room
4) hack wall between bathroom & kitchen, to make small bath area and then have a vanity
5) kitchen cabinet (trying to put in an island)
6) change living/dinning/bedrm floor to laminate
7) change all tiles in kichen/bath/toilet (no wall tiles for kitchen)
8) change all doors, grilles and windows (except kitchen and 1 bedrm)
9) piping/plastering/electrical/painting...

basically overhaul lah... so far quotations from 23 to 30k.

ruffles

got mine from LWT at 17k....but overall i think its kinda bullshit from the items they quote me.. will ned to source ard...

wisqix

Vermillion, we're planning the reno for our 3 room too. Can I check with you, does your 3 room come with steps outside the door? Cos I'm thinking what should we do to the steps if we do laminate flooring for living room and bedroom. For steps it is now ceramic tiles (mosaic looking white and green color) will not blend with the living room laminate flooring. Alternatively is to have homo tiles for the living room separately...

wisqix

Hmmm... yesterday the seller's agent was still recommending LWT to me. For their cheap homo tiles flooring.

ruffles

i got a quote from Legohse, was very satisfied wif the things they quote me, and HB & me was very comfortable wif the coordinator....but now still awaiting for the revised copy of quote.....eatimated amt comes up at maybe $14.5k. LWT gv me a revished quote too, their quote comes wif homo tiles, kitchen cabinet, L-b0x, eletrical works, even designer doors! and guess wd, e price oni comes up to $15k, too good to be true rite...i dun feel safe, even though its f***king cheap, i m scare of 'under-cut' materials...and now just by getting ready a quote for me took them donkeys' 'years', i can't imagine hw long they will took to finish my reno!

ruffles

LWT seems to be e cheapest ard, but smtimes, Cheap things doesn't mean good things...i m wondering WHY so cheap...LOL

Hey, i think we should all start a string on MARINE PARADE...hahahha

ruffles

yup, my ID is Deen...moz pro we wil confirm wif him, overall the quote is ard $18k coz my hse very ORIGINAL state, i m almost doing up the WHOLE house...i find wad he quote me is quite reasonable and he is very helpful & patient too...gv me ur email, i dun mind sharing the quote...

wisqix

Hi ruffles, that would be great. My email is [email protected]

Just to share the quote i'm considering:
- hack and lay homo floor tiles for living room, stairs at main door, two bedrooms
- hack and redo the two toilets (everything)
- hack wall between bedroom 1 and former storeroom to make way for two 6ft full height wardrobes in both MBR and bedroom 1
- build a 2.5ft cabinet to hide sewage pipe in kitchen cum some storage space
- base for washing machine and 2.5ft cabinet
- install 10mm sliding glass door for kitchen
- build a 16ft full ht feature wall cum tv console in living room
- misc items such as plastering, painting, acid wash of house etc

Total comes up to 16k. Excludes bathroom accessories such as wc, basin...

wisqix

Hi ruffles, that would be great. My email is [email protected]

Just to share the quote i'm considering:
- hack and lay homo floor tiles for living room, stairs at main door, two bedrooms
- hack and redo the two toilets (everything)
- hack wall between bedroom 1 and former storeroom to make way for two 6ft full height wardrobes in both MBR and bedroom 1
- build a 2.5ft cabinet to hide sewage pipe in kitchen cum some storage space
- base for washing machine and 2.5ft cabinet
- install 10mm sliding glass door for kitchen
- build a 16ft full ht feature wall cum tv console in living room
- misc items such as plastering, painting, acid wash of house etc

Total comes up to 16k. Excludes bathroom accessories such as wc, basin...

vermilion

wisqix, sorry for late reply. was very busy with work. my flat has no steps, but lucky it has a kerb, so i dont need to do tiles.

lego house quoted me 25K, i think its too high, mind sharing your quote with me? i truly think he has overquoted me....

wisqix

Sure I'll send you guys the quote when i tidy it up in about a day or two. Cos we just started work today and asked the ID to add a few more items so he need to issue us a supplementary quote. You wanna PM me to leave your email addy so that I can send it to you? Think not so nice to post here.

ahtai_ahxue

i heard abt LWT their workmanship quite bad, their materials used also not good one tat why cheap. i looking for id firm also..anyone heard of fresco interior??

ahtai_ahxue

i got a 4room premium flat.need quite alot of carpentry.i actually got a quote from fresco le they quite nice offer me a good deal also but wanted more idea b4 decide. anyone can help..email me at [email protected]

ahjackandjas

i just sign up with fresco. i sign up a package together with a carpentry package that save me alot when i compare with other id. which id did you talk to?

jeronlee

Where is this fresco? I need quite a fair bit of carpentry work for my new house too. Pls post contact here or sms it to 90015060. Thanks!

ahtai_ahxue

jeron- fresco is near to gerylang lor 33, at 500 sims ave. ah jack- my ID is alton wat abt ur? the carpentry package u say is it the $3888 one? i think i may be sign up w/ them when my FH is back from oversea.. need to discuss 1stw/ him.

ahjackandjas

hi ahtai_ahxue, my id is danny. i saw my carpentry design le, quite happy with it. will start work soon, i will up date you with my reno process. have a nice day.

qingqing

Hi all ..... wow .... at MP is a good location .... mine is a 3 room flat too is a new flat in eunos mine is a 60m2 nia ..... cos mine is a new flat my reno is abt 10K ..... perhaps you all would like to call my id see what she can quote you all she is from Rustics Interior ..... let me know if u all interested k

karen07

Need some advise from you all...

I just about to buy a resale unit in Taman Jurong, 65sqm, 32yr old flat. Don't wish to spend too much on reno, but really don't like the flooring of that unit. Cos of really very very tight budget constraint, hubby and I decided to keep the flooring tile without doing anything to it and we will have to do the design for the rest of the place.

Any ID to recommend? Would like to spend not more than 10k on reno.

afsding

Hi QQ or Karen, I just bought a 3 room and tight on my reno budget too.. Can I have the ID's contact please..?

afsding

I intend to do the following to my 3-room resale flat with floor area of only 50 sqm..

1. Laminated flooring for living and 2 bedrooms
2. Entrance gate and door
3. 2 bedroom doors
4. Hack and lay kitchen and toilet floor tiles
5. Hack and lay kitchen and toilet wall tiles
6. Remove 1 toilet bowl
7. Lay entire house electrical wiring (incl. SCV and phone outlets) and water pipes
8. Hack existing kitchen cabinets and install new ones (ard 21 ft)
9. Hack original concrete wash sink and build a cabinet type wask sink

I will need to buy furniture, electrical appliances, aircon, hob and hood from outside shops as I can get those 0% instalment plans..

Does anyone has similar kind of quotes can share with me..? My email address is [email protected].

Thanks for all your contributions in advance..!

coyl

Hi Ding Ding,

I am currently renovating my 3 room flat and doing all the coordination by myself.

laminated flooring for living and 2 bedrooms: $1500 (supreme)

Whole house major rewiring works (incl. 3 SCV, 1 phone, 2 heater... ) for $1700

Saw some bedroom doors going for $110 - $140 at Ubi.

My house's hacking involves 2 walls, 2 toilet wall and floor, skirting and kitchen cabinets, remove toilet bowls, basin, sink, etc - $1400

Just bought my electrical applicances from Harvey Norman, prices are higher compared to some other shops, but they are giving vocheurs and free gifts, so come up to be about the same.

afsding

Hi coyl,

The price were quite good..! Did u engage all different sub-contractors for all the various works..? How abt workmanship..? I don't think I can have so much time for the coordination but your info is definitely going to help me to compare with my future quotes..! Thanks a lot..!

I also intend to get all my appliances from best, harvey norman or those bigger shops cos i need to pay by instalments..
not much cash on hand..

coyl

You are most welcome. Yeah, I got all different sub-contractors for all the various works. Workmanship still can't say yet, as my house is only doing the wetwork now. You will definitely need a lot of time to coordinate the work.

All the subcontractors were introduced by one of my friend who is an interior designer.

I don;t have much cash on hand too, lots of installement plans...

afsding

No wonder u can get the good price..! Personal contacts are always useful..

I've went to the Expo yesterday afternoon to have a feel of how much it will be to engage a reno contractor and an interior designer.. The initial rough quotes were quite scary to me..

most probably will take full reno loan form banks for my reno liao.. luckily i dont have much other commitments..

coyl

I didn't have much commitments too until the day i bought my flat! ha. Took reno loan from RHB bank, and now got all my purchases on credit card.
If you are engaging a reno contractor or interior designer, you may want to opt out certain things they quoted you. E.g. laminate flooring, windows, electrical works.

afsding

okie.. now i'm in negotiating terms with a contractor from classic ideas.. i wonder if anyone here had their house done by them..?

xifeng

My budget v tied. Is it possible to get quotation below 14k? Need advice.

Concept is just an simple and cozy style, not much design is required. Staying with parent.

I just need to do the following:
- Hacking existing kitchen; not need for toliet/bathrm and utility rm as it already upgraded flat.
- Homo tiles for living , 2 bedrms, kitchen.
- ceremic wall tiles for kitchen(not include behind kitchen cabinet)
- Kitchen cabinet for top and bottom plus base
- add. scv point/aircon/ceiling fan
/electrical point(maybe 1 or 2)
- Plaster(not sure if require since this is old upgraded flat)
- Painting
- Sliding Door inbtw. kitchen and living

afsding

hi xifeng, i'm in quite a similar situation as u.. except that my reno is almost complete.. taking over back the flat on monday.. i bought this resale 3 rm flat (37 yrs old), also staying with parent (mum)..

this is a summary of what i did..
- Hacking existing kitchen, including toliet/bathrm and utility rm
- Homo tiles for living , 2 bedrms, kitchen, toilet and bathrm
- ceremic wall tiles for kitchen, toilet and bathrm (including behind kitchen cabinet)
- Kitchen cabinet for top and bottom (total 20.5 ft)
- Kitchen cabinet, washer and fridge base
- Re-wire house house
- Plaster whole house
- Paint whole house
- Sliding Door in btw. kitchen and living
- Bedrm doors and main door and wrought iron gate
- toilet and bathrm bifold doors
- Instant water heater, W.C., hob and hood, kitchen sink
- Aluminium sliding grilles

All these for 22.5k..

Since u r not doing as much as mine, i'm pretty sure u can do it for a price ard ur budget of 14k.. btw, mine is a reno contractor and not an ID..

hope it helps..

xifeng

Hi DingDing,

Thanks for your info. Based on your description, yours seem to be a great renovation.

Hopefuly i can get within my budget, still sourcing for contractor. Mind to share me your pics?

afsding

hi xifeng.. i'll upload my pics after i've settled down.. just moved in yesterday.. now lots of boxes lying ard.. hahaa.. will probably take some pics this weekend..