$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

annesep

hi cynthia,

some hayline cracks are common. but if the cracks getting bigger (as gap in the crack), you have to highlight to HDB.

You have a housewarming last weekend? ooh, customary in dec, that is pretty fast. preparation all done up?

hi anne
so far, waht we see are hairline cracks. wat to do? our flats are build like legos..so those cracks are common...

my housewarming last weekend, i am glad 2 of my neighbors came..so happy to see them.

my preparation for wedding..on the way..headache now.

starmed

anne n cynthia
=) I'm staying here for 2 years liao n the cracks kept on coming back... now I simply give up liao... HDB come n rectify, barely few mths later...same thing. So we decided to leave them alone n plan to repaint the walls every 4-5 years... it's unavoidable. what to do? =)

btw welcome to the neighbourhood.

hi lavender
thanks for reply.
i think they have joints between 2 blocks of walls. so once there is a difference in tempertaure in weather or we on and off air con, the walls suffer from thermal shock so causing them to expand and contract..then cracks appear.

they are not obvious unless they are scruntinise closely.

fallingflakes

hi neighbours, just asking for those who live in blk D, do u hear drilling at night? i am getting increasingly pissed by my dunno upstairs or downstairs neighbour who keeps thinking we are the culprits. just this morn received a note (a polite one though) from that neighbour to tell us not to drill or do related works late at night. the thing is, we didnt even do anything!!!!!!!!!!! n never write the unit number so we wanna reply also cant!!! what makes them so sure it is us anyway since on the same floor the other corner got one unit still in the reno process lor and i did see once got workers moving sand up at night. very irritated to be accused of drilling of all things which we didnt do lor! i mean, i reach home after 11pm how the hell to start drilling at that time no need to shower n sleep meh??

annesep

HI lavender,

Long time never see you online here!!

Cynthia,

agree that wedding and reno are big headache... but again it will be your best enjoyed time too! the cracks could also be caused by those reno up and downstairs cos it disturbed the structure.

Hmm... we should have one day and do an open house for this thread. Like a 1-day tour to the chatter here. we can view each other house and at the same time, establish our rapport in real person. how abt that?

fallingflakes,

i think you can also paste a note outside and say, "Thanks for the note but i am also a victim here cos the drill comes from dunno where and i am still investigating the cause".

fallingflakes

hi Anne,
the problem is... both my hb and I cant hear the freaking drilling!
u mean just paste a note outside my door and hope they will come down to my door to read?

hi anne
looks like things seem endless...
the more i think, the more things i need to do..
time to delegate things to hubby.

annesep

fallingflakes,

this is scary leh, how come you dun hear the drilling sound but they did... does it happen very frequently like everyday when ur neighbours come to you? could it be their next door? or you can drop a note to the letterbox, 1 storey up and down your flat. you got do sound-proofing for your flat?

Cynthia,

you have to start listing down and do planning. your hubby definitely have to play a role in it... cannot be all you do...

fallingflakes

Anne: i didnt do sound proofing for my flat,(at least i dun think i did) but then again, my flat all glass, even when hb is in the study talk i am just outside separated by the glass wall i also got problem hearing, so maybe thats why we dun hear the drilling? Oshgosh said she got hear drilling late at night leh but she is on 3rd floor wor. they dun come everyday lah, but once in a while lor and i am getting pissed. tonight we are gonna spy on the unit that is doing reno, see whether they got do reno at midnight or not! Starting to feel like a detective, hehe, welcome to the world of the cat & mouse game Detective Flakes!

Cynthia, just list down wad are the to-dos and give the list to ur hb lor, esp those simple but leh cheh tasks!

annesep

Hi fallingflakes,

maybe glass does filter a little on the sound... but funny leh, oshgosh can hear but you cant hear... i suspect is below one.. that why you din hear... and i think that owner is drilling maybe ceiling where the annoyed neighbour thought is you...

Hi Cynthia,

Good job. Good to have a planning schedule to get work done. Enjoy this event to its fullest, you will love it and you will miss it once it is over.

fallingflakes

hi Anne,

Dunno leh. Gives me the feeling own house also got to be super careful when doing things lol. I just find it irritating, never state the unit number. liew.

btw after so long i finally rem to ask u all this: how is the water pressure in your flat like???? the water pressure for shower for mine is small leh, while the jet spray is high. hdb guy came n check say got no prob, sianz.

annesep

fallingflakes,

i have the similiar problem like you. check the pipe inlet or outlet of your water heater. that time my outlet is pathetic... then i realised that one small tiny stone stuch in the hole wher water supposed to go thru. hence we took out the stone. water resume.

your water heater got any water regulator? you must also turn the regulator to its maximum for maximum flow.... according to my water heater man, the higher, the lower the water pressure cos it pump from below to top... when i heard that, i sian by half liao.

annesep

Cynthia,

remember to book your MUA early for the AD makeup. dun let your MUA rush her make up thru. effect not good. have you bought your AD stuff like big and small yuan, red fan with red hankerchief etc... remember do not <font color="ff0000">remove</font> your shoes till you reach your hotel to change into light gear hor...

hi anne,
how long in advance need to book MUA? my MUA is from my bridal studio..but need how long in advance to tell her wat time to come etc? maybe as soon as i finalised?

wat is big and small yuan?

fallingflakes

HI Anne, ya hor maybe i shd try to check the inlet or outlet thing of the water heater, but the thing is...how to check???? i also dunno my water heater got regulator or not...mine is the 707 alpine model, not sure have or not..

cynthia, as long as u know your AD schedule u can call the studio to book liao, cos some MUAs very popular need to chop time safer

annesep

Hi cynthia,

once you know your timing for your gate crash and fetching of bride, evening time for your reception. you can start to book ur MUA at least 1.5 hours before the event. a normal bridal make up will take about 45 min to an hour for morning and evening. whether you are taking a 2nd march in make up and hairdo (normally 20-30 mins but will cost $150). also have to pre-book one..

As for the big and small yuan, this is a traditional practice. you have to paste the big/small (1 each) on your shoe heels, your gowns (including WG, EG and Kua, tea dress etc), ur fan, and hankerchief etc. The rest of the unuse, you have to throw onto the floor when you are reaching your PIL place, the corridor to their house. The big and small yuan is actually to bring yuan (good relationship) to you along the way, and every where your shoes bring you to. Got it? Hope this help..

Hi fallingflakes,

your 707 have 2 swtitch to turn right? 1 for the temp, the other should be a water regulator. try turning to the maximum... another to check the water being block or not is to remove the inlet rubber hose and see if the water from teh tap is strong. if the water pressure from the tap that hooked to your water heater is strong but once connected and the other outlet is suddenly become very small. your inlet in your water heater or the outlet area is blocked liao... you bought your water heater from where? IMM Hoe kee or? that time i call for the technician for my ariston water heater. the guy cam down and checked very long till we realise got one small tiny stone/debris got stuck in the inlet to the water heater.

Hope i am clear abt my explanantion... heee

fallingflakes

Hi anne,

Can DIY the check or need technician?
eh i bought my electrical stuff from Kong Tai, service good, price good too~!
u know i got a 2 way tap there too, one side turn is the tap, turn the other knob is the water from the water heater. the water presure from the 1st tap is ok lah, bigger but not super like the water pressure at my parents's place. i wonder is it cos we stay high floor leh then the pressure is lower?

hi anne
i start work and end work early.
may i know where to buy the 'yuan" stickers? got sell? is it really stickers?
wat if we not going In laws house only go to our love nest on AD, can we throw the unused stickers in front of my love nest instead?

annesep

hi fallingflakes,

i have the same tap as you. you can diy, you just have to tap on the water, one without the connection tube, and one with the tube. see got different in the water pressure. if once put on the connection tube and the water become very small, something is wrong with the hole.

hi Cynthia,

The yuan is not a sticker. you have to use a transparent tape to tape on ur shoes one (best to paste is on the arch area). you can buy that from those traditional shop. one place is at jurong west blk 500 plus or to beautyworld (bukit timah) the one at one small corner, on level 1 or if not B1. I think there got 2 shops selling.

Yes, you can throw at your love nest.. normally is at PIL place cos to promote good rapport with PIL>

fallingflakes

Hi anne, no leh but i also dunno how to remove that metal hose connecting from the 2 way tap to the base of the water heater...

osh gosh,
hahahaha yest i was in the lift about 7.45-8pm and a long haired female got out at the 3rd level, did that happen to be you? i think she was wearin black n white colour top

annesep

fallingflakes,

not that metal hose. is the one tat you connect to your water heater. no need to remove from the water tap.

annesep

oh no, i dun have the photo... ok, instead of the end that is attached to the tap, loosen the one on the other end from the water tap (which is attached to the water heater). from there, with the hose still attached to the water tap, you turn on the tap to see its water pressure.

if the water pressure is normal, try putting back teh hose that link tothe water heater and try to turn on the water tap and check the water pressure. If both water pressure is ok, remove the hose that is for the outlet of the water heater (which mean the outlet hose that is attached to the outlet of the water heater to the shower head). and turn on the water heater. you will get to see the water passing thru the water tap into the inlet hose and into the water heater and come out of the oulet (which is now no hose attached to it). see the water pressure... if it is suddenly very small. the inlet hose area might be choked or stuck liao.

if the water pressure is ok and when you try to put back the hose from the shower head to the outlet and it suddenly bcome small water gush, your outlet hose or shower head area might be stuck.

You have to trial and error to troubleshoot the problem.

annesep

Hi fallingflakes,

you are welcome! this is just wat i see my technician ppl do.. i mirrored to you to check...

where are the rest? how come only left me and you liao... Cynthia, Oshgosh and tannabee??

heheeee.. im here....

sori was very busy preparing for my overseas biz trip... no time to post..

anne, i met Rafele... he gave me a quote liao, quite reasonable price (still within my budget)... im still waiting for another few quotes to come in leh...

Hi Gals...

I am here.. Only can post when i am back home from work. R u all going for the party for hari raya and deepvaap. Yest evening some RC members came our home to sell. so we got 2 tickets.

Fallingflakes,
think the gal is my good frd. She is staying at 'A'.

Guess we should meet up and go to one another place. or we can have potluck part. then i will cook my favourite dish. chilli crabs with fried man tou.. :p

hi oshgosh
when is the Hari Raya celebration? As we don't stay there, so we don't have tickets.
Anyway, we can still buy tickets on the spot.
If time permits, we can have a small gathering...

annesep

hehee... you all suddenly all appeared ah...

hi tannabee,
glad tat raf did gave you a good quote.

oshgosh,

yum yum... chilli crab... i loved it!! you are right, shd hv a mini gathering!

annesep

well folks, stay tune for yummy gathering.... must make this thread active, then will definitely organise gathering... then we can greet each other next time mah... then we are really good neighbour.

fallingflakes,

how? did you managed to troubleshoot the water pressure?

Fallingflakes,
the one u saw is my good frd. she is staying at 656A. Our neighbour too.

RC members are trying to organise block party for the festival celebration. Ya, guess u can buy the tickets on the spot.

Think there are some new people which i dont really know.

Anne: which blk r u staying? Have u move in?

Chiling: How abt you?

fallingflakes

HI ANne,

i am waiting for my hb to return from his paid holiday aka reservist before i can get him to try out the method u said haha

osh gosh, oh u mean to say that lady is ur friend then that day went up to ur place lah.

when is hte party?

btw have u all done housewarming? which caterer u all use huh besides neob garden n purple sage?

annesep

hi oshgosh,

me in "C". Not yet moved in cos have to wait for my Tua peh kong to move in then we can move in... still waiting for my FSM to pick a date to "An" my god in..

hi fallingflakes,

Me havent do my housewarming cos cant move in yet.. reason as above.. hehhe... the party ah? how abt next month?

annesep

hi fallingflakes,

heehehe... btw, you working? i wonder wat happen to the rest of chatter again? ppl like swatilda, devila_mun, mathew, lavender etc... wonder they are interested to join our mini excursion...

Oshgosh and tannabee,

both of you still here right?
so when you guys want to have our mini excursion/potluck for our new houses?

Tannabee,

although your house not ready but you can still join us for the excursion part... get ideas for your new house too... but cannot copy hor... heheh... jz kidding.

fallingflakes

Hi anne,

yep i'm in the office now, haha. ya lor, i wonder wad happened to swatdila n devila they all leh, sudd all MIA liao. weird leh everyday i go home i also never see you all one leh. As in, i never seem to see young couples, only those old aunties with kids, so dun think is u all bah hahahahaa