(2016) 2016 brides

hututing

we are looking at Apr 2016 for church and banquet wedding.

Was rather keen to engage WMA for AD photography and videography, but the lady who responded to our email was not very friendly.
She will reply our emails in either a short phrase or a sentence and doesn't volunteer much information.
She arranged a meetup session for us with the photographer and we thought that the photographer was friendly and professional.

Despite that we are a bit apprehensive to engage their services as the photographer mentioned that he does mainly pre-wedding shoots so it really depends on who the lady coordinator allocate to us for AD.

Most probably looking for others instead.
Anyone with other affordable photog/video services to recommend pls?

I also feel the lady from wma seems not interested in the biz.. I give up the idea of meeting them..

I signed with LMP productions instead.

Hi, anyone looking at genting hotel Jurong? Mind to share reviews?

Hi chassy, My fiancé and I have went for a site seeing. Is pillar-less ball room, can cater to the number of people you required. However, I find the the ballroom is situated at the entrance of the hotel (if you take public transport). Not very exclusive to or private in a way to your guest. Although they still can hold the cocktail inside a holding area. But I find it quite narrow.. If you have a lot of guest around. The package is not that cheap but being a west person I think is a very convenient place. Nonetheless, good to arrange with them for a site visit... :) ImageUploadedByForum1434062970.139921.jpgImageUploadedByForum1434062994.018512.jpg

Chassy

Hi chassy, My fiancé and I have went for a site seeing. Is pillar-less ball room, can cater to the number of people you required. However, I find the the ballroom is situated at the entrance of the hotel (if you take public transport). Not very exclusive to or private in a way to your guest. Although they still can hold the cocktail inside a holding area. But I find it quite narrow.. If you have a lot of guest around. The package is not that cheap but being a west person I think is a very convenient place. Nonetheless, good to arrange with them for a site visit... :) View attachment 24822View attachment 24823
Thank you for the reviews! I will be visiting genting Jurong nx Sunday... Fingers crossed as my bf and I hope everything goes well... How's the service and the perks offered? Are you signing up?

Service was quite ok..umm perks I wouldn't say is the best and price wasn't the best either as I have research other hotels too... And they seems quite rigid towards giving perks out... We asked for free wine/free beer and was told their package is the best le... And they wouldn't reduce. I didn't sign up with them as I've found better deals out there :) though is near all my friends and families but I think they may need to revise their package to attract more ppl.. Nevertheless go and see see :) maybe they will provide a better package now :)

cc313

i'm a Mar btb. getting really stressed up cos there are like 101 things to be done plus the fact that our house is coming soon. We have secured the wedding venue, but we are still undecided if we wanna take a package with SG bridal shop, or find MY bridal shop, and source for AD photography, makeup, wedding gowns and suit on our own.

Plus we are thinking of doing our own candy bar. There is also car rental and the other logistics involved. OMG..

I'm a mar 2016 btb too! Ya, everyone is telling me that I got not enuff time, but I'm taking my own sweet time.. Hv not confirm my venue yet too.. Getting it done by this month =p

I have pple to recommend if u are keen, as my friend is doing my MTM gown and she has contacts for AD MUA, my colleague is a videographer and AD photographer =)

Thinking of getting wedding invites on JB though as the hotels invites really look basic.

Trying to do one by one too.. =) Jia you tgt!

cc313

I agree with Papercupcakes.
I have heard of couples going down to MY three times just to complete the pre-wedding photoshoot (due to poor weather).

Anyway for us we do not plan to engage a wedding planner. We have been searching around the internet for information on all the rituals (GDL, Dowry etc), timeline, to-do lists etc so i guess it really helps if you do a lot of planning and discuss everything in detail.

Was looking at ala-carte services so that we can customise everything to our liking, but reality hits and we realised that it is just too much work to liaise with so many people at the same time. Barely has enough time and resources to do so.

I guess at the end of it, it is either a wedding planner or just plan plan plan!

True, I'm doing that!! So I have to keep planning and get my jiemeis to help =)

Chassy

Service was quite ok..umm perks I wouldn't say is the best and price wasn't the best either as I have research other hotels too... And they seems quite rigid towards giving perks out... We asked for free wine/free beer and was told their package is the best le... And they wouldn't reduce. I didn't sign up with them as I've found better deals out there :) though is near all my friends and families but I think they may need to revise their package to attract more ppl.. Nevertheless go and see see :) maybe they will provide a better package now :)
Which hotel have you signed up for? :) I'm a Feb bride and I haven't even booked any hotels!! OMG

I sign up with holiday inn orchard. :)
Hmm feb ah.. I think better chop chop wor.. But there are a lot of wedding roadshow around.. Get the perks at wedding roadshow is much much better :) but better find out if your ideal date is available first.. Feb date quite hot right?

Chassy

I sign up with holiday inn orchard. :)
Hmm feb ah.. I think better chop chop wor.. But there are a lot of wedding roadshow around.. Get the perks at wedding roadshow is much much better :) but better find out if your ideal date is available first.. Feb date quite hot right?
Yup! Gonna visit them next Sunday! :)) all the best in your planning! :)

iamkheypable

I'm also 2016 BTb's. Just to check if anyone have idea if let say i go for bridal PG and VG roadshow those bridal gown that they offer to be included on the package is also the bridal gown you will wear on the actual day? And if let's say u just want the ala carte which is the the photo shoot, PG and VG on the actual day then your bridal gown is from other ppl possible right? But I don't have idea how much will range if i rent gowns from other ppl for the actual day. Anyone who do like this? Coz i dun rly like if i wear the gown on the photo shoot then actual day also same.

Andes

Can I check when should we send out save the date and invitation cards??

Hi papercupcakes

I remember reading online that save the date should be ~3 months in advance and invitation cards should be ~a mth before.

For us, we will be doing church wedding invite instead of save the date. Should be sending out approximately 3 mths before as well and ask informally if relatives and friends are available for the banquet.
Invitation cards will then be sent out to confirmed banquet guests about 3 weeks before.

Anyone else doing it differently?

caren_c

I'm may 2016 btb too! ^^
we have decided on our venue (Holiday Inn Atrium) & will be starting to source for our BS soon!

Any one looking at HIA for their wedding banquet venues too? :D

Hello! I just found out about this brides forum.. and i am a MAY btb too :)

i just confirmed my banquet place, and bridal studio..

what is HIA? Might be good to start sourcing for your banquet venue as all the dates that i wanted initially were all fully booked.. so from Jan, pushed until May.

caren_c

Hello! I just found out about this brides forum.. and i am a MAY btb too :)

i just confirmed my banquet place, and bridal studio..

what is HIA? Might be good to start sourcing for your banquet venue as all the dates that i wanted initially were all fully booked.. so from Jan, pushed until May.
Hi Strawberrie Shortie! :)

HIA is Holiday Inn Atrium! I'll be confirming it this weekend on the roadshow as there will be roadshow perks.

Could you share your Banqurt Venue and Bridal Studio? :D
I've yet to start on my Bridal Studio hunt hehe

@caren_c ahh i see! okok.. we looked at quite a number of venues.. from mandarin orchard, carlton, chijmes hall, pickering, orchard hotel, but decided to go with Crowne plaza at changi airport in the end.

I just signed my bridal package last week, with Yvonne creative. they just recently opened another outlet at Ang Mo Kio.. their rates were pretty competitive and i must say, they were super sincere! they allowed me to try the dresses even before talking about the packages.. that's the service i am talking about.. i went to a few others, but they were all like 'show me the money, then we talk dress...." -_-

now venue and bridal package is done, i need to start sourcing for a good JP! the ones i wanted all not available ;(

caren_c

@StrawberrieShortie Crowne Plaza and Pickering were my top choices too! Until i realised i need around 40 tables. haha but Crowne Plaza is so nice and has so many good reviews. :) Congrats on confirming your venue!

Wow, thats nice! I didn't go down to Yvonne Creative grand opening last weekend. Can share some of the perks and the package they offer to you so I can do comparison? But if you're not comfortable, its okay. <:

All the popular ones are either not available or their licenses are not renewed. :( Hope we both secure one soon!

@caren_c pre-wedding photoshoot and make up and gowns with 45 poses, actual day make up, 2 gowns, 1 rom gown,1 kua, at all at 3888 ;)
no limit on the racks of dresses etc, all dresses included. they will also print a big poster, a big framed photo, the photo album, as well as a duplicate of the photo album into a mini album... when you are looking at bridal studios, remember to check on the number of poses.. cause that's the expensive part.. if you want more poses into your album, it's usually charged at $95 per edited photo....

Hello 2016 brides who hav done your pre-wed shoot, is there any bridal shop you'll recommend for really good photography? Hav looked through quite alot of bridal shops' pre-wed photos on fb but nothing appear really striking to me. Hope to hear from you! :)

bonbons

Hello 2016 brides who hav done your pre-wed shoot, is there any bridal shop you'll recommend for really good photography? Hav looked through quite alot of bridal shops' pre-wed photos on fb but nothing appear really striking to me. Hope to hear from you! :)

Hi Foohappybride, if photography is important to you, I would suggest not to go with bridal studios, but to do ala-carte.
Photography is important to me and my fiance, so we decided to splurge on this area and save on others. After visiting roadshows and looking at the albums of bridal studios, we also find that none is really outstanding. And sometimes when you sign with a bridal studio, you won't know and can't choose your photographer.
So if you are willing to spend, do it ala carte so that you can find a photographer that you really like!

Hi Foohappybride, if photography is important to you, I would suggest not to go with bridal studios, but to do ala-carte.
Photography is important to me and my fiance, so we decided to splurge on this area and save on others. After visiting roadshows and looking at the albums of bridal studios, we also find that none is really outstanding. And sometimes when you sign with a bridal studio, you won't know and can't choose your photographer.
So if you are willing to spend, do it ala carte so that you can find a photographer that you really like!
Thanks bonbons for ur advice :) which photographer did u end up gng for? Isit much more expensive when u sum up everything vs a bridal shop package?

bonbons

Thanks bonbons for ur advice :) which photographer did u end up gng for? Isit much more expensive when u sum up everything vs a bridal shop package?
It is more expensive. I think bridal packages at roadshows are 3k-4k for pre-wed + AD gown rentals, pre wed photography and makeup (Other brides on the forum who signed packages can advise you better on what is usually included in bridal package). When you do ala-carte, a good photographer for local photoshoot will also cost you 2k to 3k at least. Then add cost of gown rental and MUA.

For me, I am engaging Douglas Fun from Avenue 8 for my overseas photoshoot.

I found some cheap gown rental options though, so if any brides are interested, can check out the below 3, which are really affordable:
1) Bqueens Wedding (at amk)
2) K Gown (at sengkang, find them on facebook)
3) Landy gowns, or called J&L SG Bridal (at sengkang)

Hi foohappybride, I agree with bonbons.

Photography is important to us hence we eventually chose our own, multifolds, after hearing positive reviews from friends and online, and as we really like their photography style.

It will very likely be more ex unless you manage to find cheap gowns. We went to bridal affairs and the gown warehouse but unfortunately found the gowns quite meh as compared to Rico's (the only other boutique we tried). So eventually went back to Rico's. But our package without photography is really ex, we were perhaps too hasty.

If you r choosing your own photographer, Maybe go for gown past season sales to see if you can get any bargains. Frankly, I don't think there's a big diff in new designs.

Hi girls! I've been a silent reader but now the fact I'm getting married is starting to sink in. Just signed up at the sheraton wedding show for the topaz ballroom. Our date is still tentative though, waiting for the tong shu to come out in august .

Any other sheraton btb here?

twinklez

@Jacqueline.sst: woah congrats! aug is so fast! i m prob havin PS in nov/jan..
I need to start watching my foood intake yet..haah!

@strawberriesshortcake: ya.. let's hope we can secure a JP soon! :)

@kinkedtail: congrats! ^5! i also signed up during e wedding show ydae :)
u can start lookin ard for gowns while waiting for tong shu too..

DJ2016

Anyone bought their wedding bands from venus tears? Would love to hear some comments
I got mine from them at Tampines Branch. Just collected recently. We wanted something simple and comfy enough for everyday wear and yet not just a plain band (very troublesome i know :p). In the end we selected a simple pair from the Storys series, a combination of platinum and rose gold. Less than $2k for the pair.

caren_c

@Jacqueline.sst Wow, august is coming so soon! :D which bridal studio did you sign up with & have you alr booked your wedding venue?

@twinklez i suggest you start sourcing for your JP now, dear. I've searched for so many and most replies are negative. Only 1 replied can do soft booking for me but confirm again when closer... and i dont quite get what that means. means not confirm he may back out anytime ah? :( you found your bridal studio alr?

Any btbs here attended the Holiday Inn Atrium wedding fair last weekend? :D

Yeap! My htb will be going reservist on December. So will be taking our bridal shoot in end of August! I sign up with My Dream Wedding.. wedding venue booked also
I haven find my JP yet, did u all email or call them to book?

caren_c

Hi I have booked 12 loves for my wedding in Nov 2015. I'm attracted to the pricing and my friend who engaged them for her wedding gave positive reviews.
I met kevin last month to look thru the portfolio and he's really a cheerful and positive guy! Puts us at ease.

Hi! could you share about the package you have with 12 Loves? Just happened to chance upon them and im quite keen. :) thanks alot in advance!