(2013/12) Dec 2013 BTB

simplyberries2

I'm new here, have you all booked your wedding banquet, photography and all? I'm planning to have it out of the norm, any nice venues to recommend?

simplyberries2

Thanks Melissa! I thought of Chijmes hall but my in law are quite strong believers of Buddhism and we all know Chijmes used to be a church. How to convince them so as not to have unhappiness?

yeo_melissa

Simplyberries2, I agree with u that chijmes hall is nice. Pertaining to your in laws, I don't see it a big problem because chijmes is just a event venue. it's your big day, I hope they respect that.

smufs

I'm a 7 dec BTB, anyone else?

ocling

Have you all booked your PG & VG??

I am looking for a package that includes both at a more reasonable price. Any good recommendations?

clover21

me too!

oh gosh i have a dilemma, my cousin just told me he is planning dec 2013 as well! now we don't know can we attend each others' wedding

ocling

actually that time we went to see a shifu to help us calculate our dates right.. He told us actually this is only a myth that two couples getting married around the same time cannot attend each other's wedding.

He say in the olden days, there is this practice is because back then people are poorer and after preparing for own wedding, they do not have additional money to attend other people's wedding. Thus eventually, it became like a tradition and also and excuse that its not good to attend other peoples wedding.

But ultimately, its up to individual beliefs

ooh..so that's how it got about.. But then again.. most parents in law or grandparents will be superstitious bout it. SO it's a tough choice.

mintt

hi gals... am also a dec 2013 BTB...
have still not chosen the date yet...
like don't have date can't seems to settle anything...

Yeah. Once you have the Date.. you can go for the bookings in these sequence...

1) Hotel/Banquet
2) Church for ROM if any.
3) Photographer (PG), & Videographer (VG)
4) Bridal Studio

dumbelle

I'm a Dec 2013 BTB too. Planning to tie the knot on 13 Dec. Have already settled the Bridal studio and now working on the banquet..But gosh! everything is so expensive!

sundownprince

hello! i have 2 amanda lee WGs and one taiwan designer EG for sale! can be use for photoshoot! WG selling for $400 each EG $900 price nego. let me know if u r interested!

kiatzmingz

Hello I am a new BTB. Plan to have my wedding on 14 Dec 2013. Just 1 day after Melissa Lee (dumbelle). Has everyone booked their banquet already?

Thinking whether should I book at Concorde Hotel. Anyone has any experience there who would like to share?

By the way, saw that there was a fb page too. I would love to join in. Do let me know how...

cool! same date as me! concorde ballroom looked really nice! but we didn't choose it cos the exterior of the hotel looks quite old.
We chose Novotel Clarke Quay in the end... give me your email add.. i will ask admin Grace to add u in

kiatzmingz

What a coincident! Haha... Did you count your dates or was there a reason for choosing this day too? *Just curious* :p

Yea that was one of my reasons why I need further support from the brides here whether to go for Concorde Hotel as my banquet choice.

Sure! Thanks. My email add is [email protected].

ocling

I went Concorde to take a look before... but didn't take into consideration. Like what Sheila said.. didn't like the exterior too..

My future in laws went to help us get this date..it was a calculated auspicious date and happened to be my mums birthday. So é›™å–œè‡¨é–€ï¼ How bout you? Okie I've given Your email to the group owner (grace)..wait for her to add you in.Oh and theres a couple of other brides with the same date as us too. Yay!

kiatzmingz

Oh...ic. Thanks Ling for the feedback. So which hotel you chose in the end?

I also went to count my dates and chose this date as the day before is my english birthday and the actual day is my chinese birthday. Also like you...feel that it is åŒå–œä¸´é—¨ ^^

Thanks for helping me to inform the owner.
Other brides too? On other forums?

kiatzmingz

Hi Kit, what you mean private fb?

Hi Ling, oh...? Haha. How come the sudden decision? So what's ur package like? I haven book mine...

Ling chose conrad wor..not concorde. Conrad has good food..the Wah Lok Restaurant has won awards and their food is super yummy.. i'll have about 40 tables.. that's why couldnt fit conrad. The fb page is set to private and only upon invitation will u be able to join in. Admin Grace is quite busy lately.. she'll add u in shortly i guess. Have told her bout it.

ocling

Haha actually not really a sudden decision lah.. I did a lot of research on different hotels before that and went down to view the ballrooms and also met the coordinators to see what they can offer for some hotels… like Sheraton, Holiday Inn Orchard, Merchant court.. We didn’t consider Conrad initially but just wanted to go take a look.. It was the last hotel we visit actually.. haha.. I like the feel of the hotel.. the reception area.. and the ballroom… and the food is quite good.. so in the end we decide to choose them.

I think its better to arrange some time to go down to the hotels that you shortlisted and take a look. It helps.. And talk to their coordinators as well..

kiatzmingz

Hi Sheila, so paiseh. That shows how sleepy i am. Haha... Wah both of u rich families and big invitations. I only set at abt 35 and conrade is too high a cost per table for me le. =(

So how far has each of you plan your weddings till?

No la..I'm not rich.. my fiance and I are still saving at the same time.. his parents got many friends to invite though...plus we got huge families. We quite kiasu.. booked everything from pg vg bridal church and hotel..basically all's done..only waiting for pre wedding Photoshoot next year and for the final big day to come.

ocling

LOL.. I am also another kiasu BTB... settled our banquet, church, VG & PG... also chosen our bridal studio.. next important thing is wedding band.. Cause I dont want to leave them till last min... I wanna be a happy & care free bride! :D

Yay hifive! Oh ya we also haven't bought wedding bands. Good to plan early. Got more time to slowly execute everything! Three cheers to being a stress free bride and let's zumba all the way tonight ling! Lol.

kitminish

Just settle banquet, ring, PG+VG, PS, MUA & gown+suit.. Now I only left with florist & Car..
Hopefully can settle florist soon and concentrate on house renovation early next yr.

Kiatmingz, its a facebook group for all 2013 BTB so everyone will contribute information and update their wedding status. I think Sheila will add you into it.