(2012) 2012 Brides to be

nefariouskat

@shanna really?? sigh.. don't mind that hotel but still gotta discuss with parents ba.

@michelle ya, requested for their package and price list already. shortlisted them as well :p

@magdal: thanks!!!

btw, in case you gals are not aware, there will be a bridal fair by The New Paper @ Vivocity this weekend. Sheraton will also be have wedding show next sun.

homama

http://elasdress.blogspot.com/

hi all, this is the website which i did my S$180 cheongsum with... i just provide them with a photo, and they duplicate even better than the picture...

shannat

kat: hmmmm thats what i heard she say, but i think cos of that incident, their "reputation" not so gd, thats why they r more negotiable?

actually i'm still thinking.. but not sure can nego to change the beer to to free flow anot, gotta check with the coordinator. actually most of my frens who had their wedding alr told me that 2 barrels of beer is enough since not all their guests drink, even those that drink prob drink one glass only. and trhe same goes to wine. argh~ stress~~ so many guests, not sure how much they will drink also~ dont wanan end up with wastage of the drink n money!

mrsho: keke! i also thought of getting them to make my gowns if i were to ala carte!

yyiling

Hi Claire, I think Oriental is a great hotel - beautiful ballroom with a cozy intimate feel, and the food is from Cherry Garden. Heard good comments from friends who've attended dinners there.

chinzilla

thx julia !

was looking for sth like that !
btw has anyone seen vintage / paper suitcases I can get ?

On the topic of alcohol =p think most hotels will give at least 1 bottle + 30l.(4 seasons was giving this much at least). Some might have more during the bridal shows.

Guess that should be sufficient. what ive seen ple do is to delay the servings of alcohol during the reception. guess it will last longer that way!

thx mrs ho for the link!

@mag: cant really remember.. but i think it's within 2k? if bring over i think they'll do extra charges..

@kat: good luck in finding the ideal venue!

@mrs ho: thanks! so we just show them a picture, give them measurements, etc & they'll make it? will there be fitting after it's made or alternation provided if it doesn't fit well?

@natty: lol..! i know right.. the cheapest i saw is like 99bucks? probably can really try far east/haji lane, etc .. places that sell 'hip/artsy' stuff.. hee

magdal

natty: there's this company call 'TTMD' time taken to make dress, is 2 gown designer open.
they custom make dress starting from $600. and they having a open house his week show case cheongsum

michelle: when you taking ur PS?

nefariouskat

oh no.. juz found out that 2012 is not a good year for those born in the year of Dog.. both me and my HTB are born in the year of Dog!!! :'(

chinzilla

Did not expect gown fitting to be THIS TIRING! It took like 2.5 hrs and lugging the gowns to change is really good training for the arms =p hee

Still managed to choose 2 but missing the third for now. =(

Magdal was choosing the groom's suit equally long? the dresser took like 10mins for him only. Thought it was rather short

magdal

chinzilla: haven got my chance yet. my friend hubby also only took 10min too~
But my bf soooo picky~ think he will spend the equal time

muilaman

chinzilla: guess that's normal to be tiring. I also tried like many gowns during my gown selection. Took about 3hrs too. Guys usually just take max 20mins. haha that's them.

orientalfrost

michelle: oh yah!! totally forgot about haji lane when it's just across the road from my office.. haha :p yeap.. that reminds me i did see a few shops selling such shoes there :D

magdal: thx babe
but i'm already starting on the tailoring of the dresses soon :D

@magdal: i'll be doing my PS on 26-April.. can't wait!

@kat: dont worry, there'll sure be a date that suitable for those born in the year of Dog.. not a good year doesnt mean whole year cannot get married mah, right?

@natty: haha, that's good.. it's lunchtime soon, you'll know where to head during lunch then.. =p

ladies, i need some opinions.. Marina Mandarin or Pan Pac? we're down to these 2..
however, MM's rate & bookings for 2012 is not out yet.. and when its out, it'll be a very minimal/basic package with not much room for negotiations.. so if we want more perks/'freebies', we gotta wait for promo & risk the availability of ballroom.. else, we'll gotta 'top-up' whatever we need/want for the event on top of the basic package..
Pan Pac seems al-right, but is more expensive as of now..
=s

orientalfrost

michelle: haha.. yes it's lunch soon and i'll know to head for the food first.. haha :p

marina mandarin is overused i feel, that's why i went to take a look at pan pac.. v nice lady i spoke too.. i think all of them are nice... according to the other ppl in the pan pac thread.. good food, throw in alot of extra perks (maybe it's a sales tactic or maybe it's really extra perks, who knows? just take it la :D).. so i think it's quite worth it for the price... considering the perks, the food, the service, the location and the environment

chinzilla

oops sorry magdal thought u went to fit le ! heh gd too urs and natty's bf is picky! then they will get the best stuff =p!

muilaman: heh the difference is v big right 2 hrs vs 20mins!

Michelle: my vote is for Pan Pac! I went to the MM for dinner its okok imho, tables were abit squished.

i guess more important are the vibes u get from the hotel and the coordinator. maybe just go with who you are more comfortable with? or which menu is nicer =p

hello natty! I've yet to start on anything yet except for looking around at the ROM & banquet packages.

For ROM package, will it be too early to book like say, 6 mths prior to the date?

Anyone planning to have solemnisation in hotel suite and any idea how much will it cost?

Sorry for quite a few qns, Thanks in advance ladies ~

orientalfrost

Lyn: you should start looking now before the dates that you are looking at at the hotels that you want get snapped up, especially for hot dates and venues. After all it's the rabbit year this year and the dragon year next year

so what are your shortlisted venues?

6mths prior to the rom package is fine. I'm even afraid that it might be abit too short a timeframe. haha.. i haven't even booked my solemnization nor banquet venue yet, though i know where i'll be holding them at.
but i can't secure with the deposit now...
bf says not yet. ecks!!

Concorde & York hotel are e 2 currently shortlisted ones for banquet. ROM still looking around.. Actually prefer to hold it at hotel suite just for immed family members, but unsure if hotel has such package.

How abt urself? Where have u shortlisted?
Btw, u rom this yr or next?

orientalfrost

i'm sure they do.. they will probably give you a small function room for the ceremony and the meal after that. Got to ask for more details from them. All hotels have function rooms for such purposes. It's only whether you like the food, service & ambience there. I know Intercon has this foyer area with a staircase. Very nice. They give it to couples for solemnization purposes. If you are holding the rom on the same day and/or at the same venue as your banquet, they will throw in the function room for free usually.

I'm doing an outdoor poolside ceremony. Shortlisted Changi Village Hotel's Lvl8 poolside.
Banquet wise, most probably taking pan pac unless there's some last minute glitches.

Planning to rom at the end of this year. But I've got a feeling it might be postponed to the beginning of next year

west_ger

Anybody take up fu lin men @ queen or peony jade @ keppel for wedding banquest? Any kind soul willingly to share your view?

orientalfrost

yeap!! CVH's view is very nice!
poolside + seaview :D the package price depends on what time your event is held. Tea is $68++ Lunch is $78++ Dinner is $88++ per pax

that's good
have you gotten your dress, mua, flowers and such? my date's not confirmed yet for both rom & banquet.

Yes, I saw frm e pics indeed it's a gd plc for solemnization.

Nope, I hvn gotten anything settled yet. Haha. Intend to bk bridal package then get the trial makeup for rom, perphas ask for a rom dress too. I've only confirmed on rom date but not banquet dinner.

nefariouskat

@michelle apparently once the year clash with the zodiac, the whole year is not a good year. can only ask the master to use our bazi to find a neutral day. he warn us that when the tong shu is available for 2012, open up, everyday will b inauspicious for those born in year of dog, so gotta pre-empt our parents. but then again, tong shu is such a general thing, so we decide to carry on with our plans for 2012

i would say u go for pan pac cuz if happen u get MM and gotta top up alot for all the extras, no point already..

any of u gals gg to BOWS this weekend?

julia85

natty> wah~~ u haven book ar?!
faster go calculate ur ROM date...
CVH will be at BOWS leh... faster go book... =P

nefariouskat> i'll be gg to BOWS to look at AD venue...
number one on the list is GPCH for us..

@natty: so have you seen any heels that you like?
who is your coordinator at pan pac? when i went there i felt that mine was kinda rushed & 'emotionless', not sure isit due to all the events going on that day.. but she was kinda straight-forward & told us what she can give/increase for our package upfront..

@chinzilla: yea, i agree that MM ballroom will turn out looking squished considering that we're gonna max out the tables.. but somehow i feel more 'connected' with MM's ballroom & coordinator.. haha.. it's what the package offers holding us back..
i love pan pac's reception area & themes, but ballroom doesnt wow me.. i guess our decision will still boils down to budget/worth, gotta wait patiently for MM's price & compare

@kat: oooh.. good good =)) if both of you & families dont really mind shouldnt be a problem lah.. heehe
i may be going BOWS just to see see look look.. haah

@lynnie: hello! its good that you start early.. so that wont get too stressed out when the day is nearer too.. enjoy this process.. ;)

Hello fellow BTB, have anyone enquire or signed package with "y" wedding? Their gowns showcased in the website are so pretty! How's the pricing like for their package?

Those considering MM for AD, is 2012 pricing out?

Michelle: Hello! Yes, looking thru the forum pg here makes me feel like im abit slow in researching. U too, enjoy e process =)

thanks so much in advance!

orientalfrost

lynn: wow.. you better get your bs pkg soon... i'm doing everything a la carte.

julia: haha.. no date yet still.. cannot book

michelle: nope... haven't taken a trip down to haji lane yet.. but i remember where i saw the shoes.

diana was my coordinator. yah... perhaps they were too busy that day. she was pretty upfront about what she can give us as well

binary

it has been quite a while since i last chat here.. Happy new year to all..

its 2011 .. abt 12 mths to go for those in Jan 2012 and for me, abt 22 mths to go for Nov 2012..

How's everyone wedding prep?

nefariouskat

@julia good good.. should be able to get a good deal for ur AD
i'll juz be gg to look at the bridal package cuz i still dunno the exact date for my AD. will oni be meeting the master next tues :p

@michelle yup.. if wait one more year, i will be an old hag by the time i get married le. hahaha.. u have already gotta everything? ur bridal package and venue?

actually i think i very kiasu leh.. the date not fixed yet but i will b going to BOWS and sheraton towers wedding show this weekend. hehe.. go look see look see..

binary

yup.. time really pass very fast.. imagine that i started talking about wedding back in 2009 after we booked our flat..

currently, my plan is to secure AD venue first before looking for bridal package, MUA if any. while my htb will be looking for PG/VG and service like montage, instant print, live band, live feed etc..

Dun know what to do currently.. just wait and see.. hahah..

i will be going for Sheraton too.. not sure if they open for 2012 booking..

binary

in past posts, we did contribute and come out with a listing of our wedding detials, but it quite empty as we are at planning stage.. think should the list will be growing..

missvonnie

As for me, mine is 12 months to go... haha... so fast!

anyway luckily i had settled my PS last november... & now just waiting for time to pass... browse & look ard for PG & VG... as i had booked my AD venue ler... (Sg Expo)...
Anyway planning to ROM this May so not too sure whether will there be another celebration...
What u gal think? should i have a chalet of sumtink as the date we planned to ROM is a weekdays hence if got chalet for sumtink will be in the weekends...

nefariouskat

for me, still dunno how many months to go yet :p but definitely after the 1st quarter of 2012 as my job doesn't allow me to take leave in the 1st quarter

@v0n wow! ur venue is at SG Expo? u will be inviting a lot of people?
ya, i think u should hold a chalet or something cuz ROM is a joyous occasion! invite your close friends and family to join in the celebration
but of cuz, if organising the chalet is too much of an hassle, then, do w/o it ba

missvonnie

@ nefariouskat: actually no leh, not alot of pple but will be more than 25 tables lo...
hmmm actually i oso tot of sharing this joy with all my frens... but at the same time, i think... my ROM will be on the weekdays then weekends is just so called normal chalet... will it be weird? this is wad pulling me back.. cuz i wan a meaningful date then the date happens to fall on weekday...
btw... how come company does not allow u to go on leave in 1st quarter... so weird...

binary

@v0n: do you need the ROM cert urgently?
I even have a few friends had their ROM at their own houses.. Simply relax and at ease..

but for me, i dun need the cert urgently so i will have my ROM during my AD.

nefariouskat

@v0n ok ma, a gathering for them to share yours n ur HTB's joy.. the first weekend after u guys become husband n wife

erm, cuz i'm an auditor.. and 1st quarter is our peak period.. ya.. so..