(2012) 2012 Brides to be

quarter_j

I'm not very good with etsy jewellery vendors.. any to reccommend? I only know veil vendors.. cuz lately i've been wistfully staring at some birdcage veils from etsy about 40usd sigh....

How much does a piece from hadasity cost?

revlis

chinzilla : oh i see
btw forgot reply u earlier, hmm i wont be shopping for accessories so soon as my AD end of next yr but if i see something i like for my rom when shopping, hee maybe will

shellie: hee i love swarovski also

btw, anyone noe is man-made diamond or swarovski more exp and which one betteR?

tanyix

Chinzilla: I just collected my wedding bands from love and co!!!
hee.. Anyway engraving of english words is $25 per ring.. One chinese character is $15, 3 chinese characters is $30
hope that helps!

chocolatebasket

xrevlis - ok, thanks for sharing~

Chinzilla - oki. I'll prob check with you on her rates later.

Crystaline - i'm heading to ling jewellery tomorrow! =)

tanyix

Crystaline: hey!
the 25 and 27 discount at ling jewellery is only applicable to rings ah? Hehe.. Interested in getting jewellery from them

evanthlyn

Hey any one has good jewellery shop to reco? I went to see Lee Hwa's Si Dian Jing - so ex!

My MIL is really nice and I dont want her to spend so much.

crystalin

YX: 25 and 27, 26 they will be at goodwood park =D
aint too sure abt the discount, but the lady told me its a good time to go shop cause its abt 30% cheaper =D

magdal

crystal: the shopping having sale. brought some shoe bra and clothes. think I spend more money in the mall
brought a tea set from Taipei dfs. ard 100. so much cheaper then we see from the mall. lucky didn't buy first.

huckle: Yap~ feel like going again! haha

xrevlis: Yap there holiday. the sun is a KILLER! 4am and 5am differ very big. once I jump up of bed and Tot 7 plus but is only 6am. and 10-11 is so hot worse than our 12pm

shellie_may

Eva: Sourcing for Si Dian Jin? Me too, feel paisay to let my in-laws fork out too much $ for it...
If u r looking at gold, u can go to:
- Poh Heng
- Ban Cheong
- On Cheong

Poh Heng: Have my eyes set on their Oro22 range. Its 916 gold. V Modern design so can wear on normal days. But it's quite expensive so still considering..btw, they charge workmanship & it's quite expensive..

Ban Cheong is @ Ang Mo Kio central.. They r a 'Lao Zi Hao'.. Been here for many years le. I recently went to c their 'Long Feng Zhuo'. D pair that I like is ard $3 k. They charge for workmanship too but its not as pricey as Poh Heng.

On Cheong: Never been there b4 but I read from forum that some btbs went there for their SDJ.

Magdal: Sounds like it's a fruitful trip for ya.
Ya, very hot period now at Taipei. D last time I was there, it was in Jul & it was so super hot & sunny that we had to use umbrella & wear sunglasses during noon time.

Btw, for btbs gg Taiwan for PS, Mar to May is d best time to go as weather is gd & it's d season where d flowers bloom. Got this info from a Taiwan BS that came to Singapore. I was v tempted to sign with them but I have a bridal package with a local BS le so didn't take up.

tanyix

Magdal: happy that you can tick one more thing off your list!!
when you gonna choose photos??

Anyway I just collected my wedding bands yest!! Wheeeeeee so happyyyyyy
but htb's one need to up one more size :/ so need to wait for another 2.5 months.. Aaaahhhhhhhhh........ Haha.. But nvm la.. Got time to wait
then also dunno what to engrave yet..

shellie_may

YX: I'm trying to keep it within $3k & it's either SDJ or 'Long Feng Zhuo'.

Ok based on d items i tried at Poh Heng,, for a 916 'Long Feng Zhuo', it's ard $4k plus. Workmanship $120 per bangle. Saw another pair which is 999 gold, it's $7k. Forgot d price for its workmanship.

As for d Oro22 range, saw 2 rings which cost $900 & $1900 respectively. For d necklace that I like, it's ard $1900..

ashriel

Wow so many ppl sign up for Taiwan BS.. Any suggestions if 2nd week of March is better for photo taking or 2nd week of June? I'm really scared of cold weather but June might be too hot and get sunburn?

evanthlyn

Shelliemay: Thanks for the reco! I dont know what is the market rate for SGJ eh. But I wanna keep it within 4/5 k. So it's either SDJ or Long Feng Zhuo? Never heard of Long Feng Zhuo before

shellie_may

Eva: No prob *wink*

Traditionally, SDJ is for Teochew brides whereas 'Long Feng Zhuo' (Dragon & Phoenix bangle) is for Hokkien / Cantonese brides. So depends on your dialect group. But, think nowadays many parents r flexible & they r ok wif either 1 or even both.
I asked my mum decide which jewellery items she wana request on my behalf from d groom's family..& she let me make d decision as she wants me to get something that I like.

For me, though I'm a Hokkien, instead of d bangles, most prob I'll go for SDJ cos Im not a 'bangle person'. Keke, prefer to go for something I can wear on normal occasions.

evanthlyn

ShellieMay: haha I am teochew but SDJ headache. Must choose earrings, bracelet, ring and necklace. Will go checkout the items next weekend

revlis

magdal: thks

shellie : i sticking to jul for PS in taiwan cos of the blue sky white cloud, weather v hot but wan the beautiful cloud so no choice.
btw the poh heng si dian jin u refering to yellow gold or white gold for that price?

magdal

Shellie: :D kind of~~~ went to look for shops that sell chinese wedding stuff but they dont have street like us or HK that sell. too bad
me went to poh heng few times le.. the sale tell us to drop by once every few mth so we can catch the new stock before it's sold. like the Oro22 range too but the workman ship is scary~~~ too ex le
me a hokkien. my mum tell my HTB dont have to get the SDJ just get bangle will do. but my mum has aready brought a big bangle.
so htb thinking to get a the "dragon & phoenix" necklace from poh heng

Ashriel: mar to may is the best time. dont go june and july... too hot~~

event: shoe + wedding cakes viewing
date: 23 jul + dinner at 1-caramel
shop will visit: leaping lizard & Leo and behold
boy coming along??? or just us??

1- magdal
2- chin
3- shanna w hubby
4-
our FB, please let me know ur FB nick
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_119762578061284

https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0Akd01L4OMjendFl0bE9tbXo5akI0eUFDcVMwbHExQ0E&hl=en&authkey=CO_dg_YM#gid=0

shellie_may

Xrevlis: Hee, in that case, put sunblock b4 ur PS oh.

For the Poh Heng Oro22 design which i was refering for d SDJ, it's 916 yellow gold. Colour wise it is different from the usual yellow gold designs as it comes in a lighter shade. Just to clarify, d price quoted in my previous posts are inclusive of the workmanship charge.

Hee, here's d link on the Oro22 design :
http://www.pohheng.com.sg/oro22-gold-1.shtml

shellie_may

Magdal: Ya lor, d Oro22 design v nice!! LOL, I'm hoping gold price will drop but think that's unlikely to happen.

Yeah, agree with you to go for other items as your mum has bought a bangle for you.

Won't be able to join you gals for the meet up next week..hopefully next time ya.

Btw, just curious, where are you going to view wedding cakes?

shannat

crystal: no la. haha i thought u know i bought a resale flat??? i intro my agent to u too! =X gotten my keys today alr. waiting for final quotes from my contractors n might start reno work in 1-2 weeke time!! *excited*

wah the oro22 range is nice!!! i havent start looking at the SDJ/LFZ yet...

magdal

shellIe: the meet up Will be on July
going 1-caramel for cakes
hope you can come ;)

shanna: which ID you got?

arhriel: Yap very hot. unless you plan to go for holiday. but I still do see the ppl taking wedding shot too. I only been there in winter so not sure how's the sky looks like.
chin had her shot in Taiwan this year. maybe you want ask her.
evelyn going next year march-may too.

o~ I realise something about Taiwan bridal (not sure issit all). if you need your AD gown, you can actually ask them to bring over and return when they come over for wedding show.

binary

welcome to the new btbs joining us here..
(as i have been reading these'posts' via email notification, i din keep track who join... )

think more heads means more idea to brainstorm to share your idea, concern & preparation..

think i joining you gals for shoes session.. not joining my friends to malaysia via Car due to the crazy jam at causeway..

so dinner after that shoe activity.. if that the case think i will get my htb join us for dinner bah.. shoes session not sure if he wan to join.. but end up will it be too many of us gg into the shop??

i will be going to TW coming 1week of March.. think no change in our plan.. planning to go 4 March before 1 week school holiday..

my BS claim that they are not confirm if they are coming over for wedding show.. but i feel they will so not sure if they willing to bring over for us.. hopefully 2 ways la.. but it not i dun might paying just 1 way ship back to TW..

i believe that still have blue sky and white cloud.. but just whether can we handle the cold weather with bare back.. cos that day they show us ablum when we ask how the weather like.. and they mention that a place that have this green algae tat appear on the big rock only available during Feb or march timing.. so quite nice but they mention very slippery..

binary

i have just settle my mattress too.. another big ticket item down...

for me, i have settle my BS sourcing, venue confirmed, wedding band & mattress buy liao..

in next Qtr, will settle MUA, PG, to lock 2011 pricing if possible..

what else should we look out for but might be instant print, live band, animation montage.. still yet to confirm if we wan or not..

revlis

magdal: bit confuse. this taiwan trip.. u go there for PS or just holiday? cos saw some ppl ask u how the PS?

Ashriel : my taiwan BS told me if wan blue sky and white cloud gotta be in may to aug but may is their raining seasons.

chocolatebasket

Crystaline - the discount you mentioned is for all items?
Anyway, generally the price there should be higher than the regular jewellery shops.
Their rings are also heavier - if you know what i mean.
The lady at the shop say it's because their rings have more gold.
Base on my boyfriend & my preference, we managed to c a few nice pieces but only have 1 in mind.
Have you popped by Ling jewellery already? Can go have a look~

ashriel

Xrevlis: Oh may is raining season ah? Then not a good idea to go in may... if go to the green algae place that Evelyn was talking about, a bit hard ya? Wet and slippery..

My biggest concern is the cold... March dunno if I can tahan cold with all the bare back gowns... but if say go in June.. htb will probably sweat like crazy if taiwan is as humid as sg.. but I personally like blue sky white clouds too!

Btw if anyone is interested, Hyatt is still running on 2011 pricing.. so cheaper than the rest out there who already running on 2012 pricing..

nixi018

hi girls, i am 2012 btb too.. My AD is in Jan.. Just wanna check with you all whether you can share your beauty regime.. wanna look best on the wedding day! Hee.. I have been taking Fancl Tenseup Ex.. Any other good recommendation?

tanyix

hx: i'm a jan 2012 btb too! when is yours? heh actually now i'm just putting moisturizer on my skin only cos i've got pretty dry skin! other than that, no

hucklebeary

Chinzilla take care!

Just to share, i went SKII boutique and spa on friday for their signature facial... the place was posh and u r really treated like a VIP. they served TWG tea and snack. the facial was comfortable.. and the facial bed very comfy.. i flip open and see they put a thick feather mattress pad below... first class service... but the pricing is not economic.

ashriel

I just use skinfood toner and cream to cleanse and moisturize.. but i feel is not good enough... I'm getting alot of freckles due to prolong sun exposure and despite putting sunblock it didn't really help.. wondering what product is good to remove freckles..

nixi018

YX - high five! Mine is on 7 Jan.. what about you? Hehe, it's important to moisturize so that's good.

Hucklebeary - wow, SKII facial.. Sounds like really VIP service.. Just wondering how much is per session? Did you sign up a package with them?

Ashriel - Do you have to be under the sun frequently? Maybe it's time to change your sunblock? I'm using lancome one and it's quite good so far.. My friend also recommended me to use the Spot targeting serum from Shiseido for dark spots.. maybe you can go to any shiseido counter and try the texture first. ;)