(2012) 2012 Brides to be

nette24ho

Hi gals!! don't mind if i join in??

Seems like everyone here is getting a resale unit. My HTB and i managed to apply for a unit at Fernvale Palms SK. We thought that we won't be able to get it coz our Q number was higher than the number of 4bdrm units that HDB was building. From what i hear is that if you send in your application for the BTO and didn't manage to get invited to book a unit, you will get more chances on the next application.

I personally feel that getting a resale is not feasible for me. Market rate nowadays is about $350k and renovation cost will come up to about another $50k. All in all, you pay $400k to get a unit. Whereas if you can take out $350k for BTO housing, you can do up your place like a hotel.

A very good example would be my mum's place. About 6-8yrs ago, Punggol BTO only cost about $170k. Then we threw in $60k for renovation and furniture. All in all, we only spent less than $250k to get a condo/hotel feel housing complete with crystal lights and glass switches.

Jazz:
Although getting a car sounds cheaper than getting a housing in a mature estate, but you've to consider the hidden costs of a car. With COE prices going up and up and the interest rate of 3.5%. It'll end up being more expensive than getting BTO housing. Moreover housing can be covered by CPF.

p/s: Don't mean to offend anyone..just some of the things that went through my mind when my HTB & i decided to get BTO housing.

sueiz

yes, i agree wif Jean abt the car costs.. Wif the rising of ERPs, petrol and then u haf to pay for the mthly installments, season parking, shopping ctr carpark, 'fight' for parking lots, stuck in jams yada yada.. super shiong lor, thou it's convenient lar.. haiz.

prisci11a

jean / suesue, for me i really really dun want to live in punggol or sengkang, cos to me is really really too far, and the jam on kpe / sle is too horrible to even consider at all.. plus early morning cram in mrt for such a long trip without seats... wah.. .worse... so i rather get a re-sale flat in a old estate, althought have to pay a more, i dun have to worry about jams or long cramed bus / train rides ...

plus at least if i get a flt near his mum, next time if realyl got a kid, can dump the maid / kid with her... hahaha... no need to worry what the maid is doing to the kid at home and no need to wake up super early in the morning to ferry the maid and kid to MIL / mum's house...

i see my colleagues and frens with so many child care issues that i think dun want better... hahahah

sueiz

Pris: yea lor, u're rite! my new flat will be in SK and both our parents stay in the West! wahahaa.. sure got problem in future one.. but we'll see how then lor..
we've discussed tt we want to move back to the West after 5 yrs staying in SK, but i'm starting to like SK liao as i go over once in awhile to check out the progress of the building.. hehe

prisci11a

suesue, dats y we are leaning towards a re-sale...for me i think i will prefer jurong to sk lo... dunno y also.... hahaha.. maybe if you can earn a tidy profit from selling ur place in future, den can see where else is good hahaha

jasangelic

hi jean! =)

yeah everyone have their own situations. haha~ so hence having different stand. but ultimately tis still your own preference on which option is beta.

magdal

hi gers: same as pris, i really dun want to live in punggol or sengkang. i get so used to the east that i dont even go out of this kampong much. both me and my bf parents stay in the east, plus my work is in the east too. much make me no choice to buy a resale unless there's new flat coming up. but also dont forget to tampines is a mature estate even is a Bto the cost is still going to be high. compare on getting a bto which house going to half the size of resale, and future my mum might be staying with us. resale is still our best choice.
well.. also not diedie must get resale la.. but if there's a better ideal or plan, bto is sure to e the best choice for newly web and cost saving.

as for cars...
both car and flat is somthing cann0ot be miss in our life.

nette24ho

Hi Jazz!! yup yup!! Everyone is right. We all wish to stay near our parents. Which is one of the reasons why i choose SK. Other than that it is cheaper than PG. Right now the BTO pricing for these 2 places, though near each other is quite alot. At $280k, you can stay on the 17th floor in SK but only on 11th floor if it's in PG. So i told my HTB that we choose SK. Still considered close to my mum's place. Only 4km to PG. I also told him that u choose a place to stay, you gotta choose a place where you'll wanna stay for the nx 20yrs. I don't wanna keep moving and moving esp with small children in tow. I think i'll go crazy. LOL...

I heard that there'll be lots of BTO coming up this year. So hang in there. maybe everyone will get their choice locations? =) With costs of housing going up, we all have to be very careful. The most shocking news was the $1m mansionette. Who would wanna buy such an expensive public housing? Even if i stay there 20yrs, i might not even get back all my money not to say make money from it. Think the property market a bit crazy at the moment.

happigg

Well ....Staying with parents seems to be the best option now for me. Housing nowadays are priced too high. Hopefully it will come down soon in 1 yrs time.
Both of us have been staying in the east since we were born and I find travelling in the west really troublesome (Maybe coz I am not used to the transport system there) :x So no choice but to hunt for flats in the east.

nette24ho

hopefully like what they say.. that property prices might take a dip after mid yr. what matters most is both you and your HTB happy with the housing that you guys choose can alr. I always believe in having a good and happy start to life together as a married couple.

prisci11a

chinkerina... i just saw your post... hee... i not looking to buy a expensive car.. n i think the ppl that can afford such expensive cars should go buy private lah... leave the hdb prices low for young couples that are looking for a start lo... cos 1 day their kids going to face the same problems as us or even by their time will be worse..... even sk also become over valued already.... no more such thing as affordable n comfortable housing.. just japan style box units...

jasangelic

pris:
we've managed to get a q number for the paired units. it happens that b4 we collect the keys we have to pay off the whole lump sum for the studio apt. which costs approx. 130k+ depending on the lvl. no loan is allowed. hard cash or parents' cpf.. my htb's parents aint realli comfy wif this arrangement. hence we let it go. =)

as we're staying wif his parents in future, so decisions have to be made together. else sure got conflicts. so must b more accomodating on such issues for me. =)

nette24ho

prisci11a: haahaahaa... but i notice that all those staying in private majority driving japanese car wor.. not continental leh.. maybe their housing alr killing them so no money go buy big big posh posh cars.. hee.. Hmm..some financial advice given by my HTB colleagues is to buy 2nd hand car coz the depreciation not as bad as buying a brand new car.

Jazz: wah... HDB give this kinda ruling ah? this is like worse than buying a studio unit w private developer leh.. but maybe coz they know that sure have to sell the current housing so they tht no problem loh.. 1 name cannot have 2 hdb units mah.. hmm..i'm sure got more BTO coming up.. hang in there k?

jasangelic

jean:
heh. i guess we dint really do enough research. but tis a good lesson learnt thou. =D althou tis abit wasted that we let go but we feel much beta after letting go actually ahha! at least we knoe that we are cash rich instead of asset rich LOL~ but still we'll keep a lookout for upcoming btos and some resale flats in wdlands area.

prisci11a

jazz, hur, how come like dat???? pay cash up front without loan.. sgd130k lor, not sgd130.00 lor... how they expect ppl to make cash up front payment..... issit cos either of you already got ur name in ur family hdb flat?

jean, heard that 2nd hand car prices will go up as well cos coe control and more ppl will be expected to buy 2nd hand now...

private buy jap car becos they are ppl who give up trying to buy hdb....and the rich cats that buy expensive cars and stay hdb are cheapskates... :p

nette24ho

Jazz: hmm...hdb alot of fine print and conditions not stated. the 1st time my htb and i go and apply also face alot of problems. appeal to mp also no use. they dun reply one.. that time i was so upset loh..coz the place we initially applied was just opp my mum's place then when we move, i dun have to move all my things at one go.. can slowly move.. oh well..at least the place we got at SK is near Jalan kayu.. lots of things to makan.. LOL...

pris: now is a bad time to buy car.. be it new or 2nd hand.. but if wanna sell away car now is quite a good timing. my friends either made a bit of money or break even the cost.

haahaahaa...how true..so many new couples are so tired of all the high COV and rejection/long Q at HDB. As for those that have expensive cars in HDB..i guess coz public housing is still cost saving and actually continental cars have higher value on paper than other cars. Given a choice, i'd also rather save up money and get continental car. Nowadays must really plan ahead and be smart with money..

jasangelic

pris:
i think tis due to the SA being loaned from HDB. not buy from them, hence gotta pay off up front. and SA is meant for elderly. maybe they assume they are CPF rich. LOL~ only those above 50 or 55 yrs old can use cpf to deduct for the SA. initially i tot my bf's parents can have an apt of their own (meaning under their name) so that in future they still have this asset with but but i forgot tis a "loaned apt" =S

this procedure applied to all those who are applying for the SA. so i guess tis not in relation with having a name in their current flat. but i believe theres alot of rich folks ard. haha! cos the take up rate is close to 100% left only 2 units vacant out of the 39 units avail.

haha! yeah mani ppl get jap cars recently. LOL~ my friend's dad just import a camry from jpn. real rich. haha~

jasangelic

jean:
yeah all hidden phrases that only appear when u get the catalogue. haha but tis a process and something to learn and take note i guess. aniways u've got ur flat so no nit worry bout it for now. hee. yeah i oso wanna stay near my parents too thats why we applied for dawson. LOL~ but nvm that area is revamping. so there's gonna be more btos coming up. now we can only wait and see. whats coming next. heh.

yeah i like the prata there~ haha! nice~!!! =)

yep. i guess with all these commitments we gotta plan well in adv and save wisely. =D

prisci11a

jazz, oic.....yuan lai there are hidden conditions of sale ... :p

jean, yeah... i think the new theme for all of us is save smart, and spend smarter.... we need to make our many work hard for us liao... wedding planning also got to apply the same theory ... :p

nette24ho

Jazz: yah loh.. lots of hidden clauses. But sometimes also have to depend on luck la.. if you meet those dun wanna help kinda ppl in HDB doing your case, then sure difficult to get. But if you meet a very informative and helpful officer who'll inform you about everything, then everything will be easy liao..

Pris: yah loh.. but i think wedding is more about saving up la.. once you've the money saved up then everything will be much easier. Guess everything is about planning bah. from now till 2012 still got some time so can save up.

I am lucky as my MIL house is in hougang, so SK or Punggol for me is ok. I never thought of getting resale as its not new. I live in bukit batok, don't wish to move away from west too but have to follow my husband. hehe..

There are more BTO coming all over singapore, really just have to wait. My sister also wants woodlands or west area nearer to my mum place.

The expensive car is example from my future neighbours la, not me. My husband got a red plate honda city very cheap only. Many friend sugguest that if wanna buy car get a 2nd hand car, cos COE really too high.

Anyway HDB will have half yearly and quarterly sales, they do have flats that already build up. Normally this kind of sales have more units and its all over singapore. I got my flat in half yearly sale.

suesue (sueiz)
When will it be ready for Fernvale Residence?

My coral spring hopefully jun 2011 get key so by 2012 can get married. hehe..

happigg

Well , I think from this stage until at least the children reach 20+ is very costly. First we save for the wedding, den for the flat/car and finally in the end is the children expenses/education/their extra classes such as piano and stuff. :x .
Hopefully, our parents can take care of our kids in future so as to save on the babysitter's expenses.

prisci11a

gen... haven settle wedding... haven got a house,... i dun want to think about kids...... that's like another money sucker... i dunno how my parents can afford us last time... hao wei da...

chinkerina, is ok, there are really alot more merc & beemers and now even porsche parked in HDB parking lots....so its a irritating reality...

nette24ho

i think last time our parents can afford to have children is coz entertainment comes in the form of fishing/cycling/kite flying etc etc etc. but nowsdays the entertainment are all electronics. Mobile phones.. iPhones... iPads.. Wii.. Xbox.. who knows what else is gonna come up in future. But i'm sure just like our parents, we'll also be able to cope. Chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zhi.

As for the expensive cars, i still think it's coz ppl nowadays look further than what they can afford but more of how much they can get back when they sell off the car. So eventually, continental cars win hands down.

happigg

Pris :
Me and bf tend to think further than needed always :x in case of emergencies and we have no choice as both of us attend the same pri sch in the past :X
Jazz :
Well, not all kids are that into gadgets. During our time we all have to have all the classes such as piano and stuff which is similar to the gadgets the kids are into nowadays. However i think kite flying is coming back already. Saw a lot of ppl flying kites at tampines the other day.

Well I think nowadays a lot of ppl go into the extremes . They either buy cheap cars or really expensives ones. I see a lot of china/malaysian cars as well as those really expensive japanese/continental models at my house void deck.

sueiz

chinkerina: there is speculations tt Fernvale Residence will be ready by end 2011.. now it's at 7th floor liao.. hehe.

i juz attended the Marina Mandarin wedding show yesterday.. the food is GD, the ballroom is not bad n the service is excellent but it's ex leh.. for 2011, Sats is $1,088nett..

happigg

Pris :
Erm , Actually I didn't know of his existence until after my poly . We only attended the same pri sch. haha. guess we were in totally different groups then.
Sue :
I think the wedding tables for this two years will be ex - yr of rabbit and dragon :x

prisci11a

gen... orh, i misunderstood ...hee...

sue, MM got good service & food, but they are very inflexible about alot of small small things, fren had her wedding there and everything must do the hotel way de .... but the dinner was good, so despite all the niaoness of the staff, my fren was still quite happy .... if your min is more then 40 tables, den u could shortlist them ba...

dragon year cannot be cheaper lo.. especially they expect the market to improve = higher pricing

prisci11a

Gals, the upside of prices for banquet going up is that APs will also go up.... especially frens since around our age there is going to be alot of ppl getting married or just recently married so they know market price.... hahahaha

happigg

Pris : I disagree. Depend on your friends actually. Some of them have to 'raise' money for their own wedding so they won't pao much. We also have to set aside loss from those niao people who pao super little one.

Recently went to 1 wedding which is done buffet style in a restuarant. Maybe that is another idea that we can consider.

nette24ho

Pris: i agree with Gen. Prices are going up but people are getting more and more niao. My htb's friend actually received empty AP and some even give RM$ loh.. not to mention those that bring the entire family of 4 or 5 and only give AP value of 1 sitting or at most 2...

Am thinking of doing it in a chalet loh. But once in a lifetime event. Like machiam short changing myself. Sigh.. Money and dream wedding really dun go together..

prisci11a

jean, he was very very unfortunate to know this type of cheapskate freeloader.. only can wish that the person will kenna the same in return, even better, get hell money in his AP.... cheapskate....

Gen, if you doing buffet, dun mention in your invite cos cheapskates will cut ang pow by half de....
possible that some ppl are cheapskate anyway... i dun do that cos i only go to really good frens weddings and i belief in karma, i give small den i will get cheap back...
maybe a good idea is to narrow down your invite lists to only really good frens, no need to invite all the dog n cats.... i dun plan to invite most of my office colleagues although there is only 30 of us here cos i only close with a few... hahaha....

nette24ho

Pris: Wah...hell money?? lol... cannot step on your toes man... if not sure die a very horrible death.. heeheehee...

hmm... i guess if half the cost of the wedding is alr saved up for, then not so bad la.. coz money put aside = not touching future money = easier to start a family..

prisci11a

jean, yeah... i can b very vindictive.. hahahaha... so bf dun dare to bully me de lo...

but most definitely there can always be the possibility of such people.. to be honest, i only hope to break even, no need to earn $$ lo....

o yeah, i went to meet a VG last night and his package not bad
also he very frenly... very likely to sign up with him cos he is easy going and i like his VG style and the express highlights he did before.. he has a PG partner and he already reserved our wedding date for both himself & his partner...
He was still very nice even after i told him that i actaully want to meet up with some more before i confirm, which is good.. no pressure to sign up from him at all

++ he did mention that, if couples want to use music not licenced with the hotel, we may need to pay $50-100 per song!! also the VG / PG will probably have to get the licence if we want the songs on our videos..
but he said they are looking to sign up with a company to get songs that don't need licencing...

prisci11a

suesue, met emotoinpix, got to typo error or else i cannot post....

so far mmany frens tell me that they earn abit mainly from frens... i thinking if i can dun invite kids.... hahaha...den i can save on tables.. or another idea will be having a children area... den no need to include kids in the main tables liao... dunno if possible...

Actually if kids are not invited i think some parents will be happy too. But family members cannot choose leh, confirm whole family.

I also think that its our job to really called up to see if they really coming as a whole family. So as to arrange the tables and seats for them.

I am going for restuarant. No need to think of hotel, need to save up for my renovation and MTM gown. =)

Anyone confirm their date or month in 2012 already?

Prisci11a is 2011 bride le right? hehe

Agree with prisci11a that kids are not in the planning list at the moment.

2012 is dragon baby, its only good becos its dragon and then only long queue for schools.

I want my own world before and planning for kids. hehe Hopefully everything goes as plan ba.

Health is wealth too.. so just stay happy and healthy..

suesue (sueiz)

You know about sengkang (dot) com>proptery talk> fernvale bto.

mine is coral spring just hit the last storey only, then hopefully jun 2011 get keys. you start on interior design already?

nette24ho

hi gals!! hmm.. i'm thinking more of getting a cinematographer(maybe can refer to as CG here...heehee) than a VG..coz CG effect is like MTV like tt.. so i quite like it..

hmm..yah loh... break even can liao.. even if really need to top up on top of all the AP, i hope it's no more than 5k... come to think of it, pay 5k to hold a wedding banquet is considered cheap liao wor.. heeheehee...

after attending so many weddings, i realise that although venue is important, it's no more important that good food.. if the restuarants picked serve better food than the hotels picked, i rather hold at restuarant.

Chinkerina: if last storey built liao then i think you'll get your keys in 1st Q of 2011.. my fren getting her keys this jun and from application till getting of keys only take 2yrs..

sueiz

Chinkerina: yea, i agree wif Jean tt u shld be getting ur keys 1st Q of 2011. hopefully mine can get laz Q of 2011.. LOL

I'm going for the GPCH's wedding show tomo! so exciting!!!!

sueiz

hi Jean, not yet.. they only got package for 2011, $50 more than 2010's.. but, abit disappointing.. the ballroom is quite small, max can squeeze 32 tables oni..

nette24ho

thanks suesue... hmm... my friend's sis who's getting married soon told my friend that the banquet planner told her that it's better not to fit the max amt of tables coz that will be quite a squeeze for your guests and when you go round the tables to take photos,it's gonna be quite challenging...