(2012) 2012 Brides to be

magdal

Ernie: welcome welcome~~

like to join us in FB??

minmin: since you are buying the JM dress. then dont have to give an extra angbao. just have the gatecrash angbao will do. after all parents will give them too

wow~ so many couple getting married in jan and may

chinzilla

its included. He'll give u a few samples to choose from. but if u have specific cloth u want or have, just let wilson noe. he'll charge accordingly for workmanship

shannat

AP wise, my sis told me besides gate crash, need to give a seperate AP for the JM, cos the gate crash is something like husb give or what.. cant rmb what she said. for her what she did was the amt she wanna give her JM right, she remove $XXX amount from the gate crash then bao from there.
for example u hv 5 JM, then u wanna give them $100 each, so its $500 total, so can take $50 out, then gate crash is $450, then bao $10 AP each to them. something like tt.

crystalin

hi jamie: welcome~ yup, the banquet needs to book fast cause the hot dates are only those few dates!

yo girls, is it advisable to buy taiwan bridal packages from a third party? anyone with experience?

revlis

welcome jamie and ernie

crystaline : hmm up to individual? cos for me i would prefer not to but i noe there quite a fair bit of saving if took over another person's package. cos watever that was negotiated was between that couple and the sale coordinator, all items will be listed in the invoice, but whether u and that coordinator got the "chemistry" to liaise in future realli depends on luck and duno whether easy to negotiate for certain things that is not in the package in future. so realli got cons and pros

julia85

welcome jamie!
you better book fast...
nowadays must be more KS... hahaha...
if not the date & venue tat u wan will kena snapped up..

shannat

hi jamie! welcome! yup, like the girls alr said, faster book! i book 1.5 yrs in adv, but a few of the initial hotels i wanted was alr taken up! esp the popular ones!

min_min_87

Shanna, Julia: I think i will see what my jiemei says about the angpow thing.. if they are very happy they are getting a dress then maybe I will not have to bao so much for angpow..

anyway one of my jiemei getting married in July before me so I will see how much she bao and will use it as a gauge ba

min_min_87

liquidzza: when's ur wedding date? I also havent book my wedding date.. marina mandarin told me that as my wedding date is on a weekday i can jsut softbook and confirm like one yr ahead.. urs is a popular date?

jellyfish1234

New to this forum!

I'm a June BTB, and is shortlisting some hotels for weekend dinner currently.
Anyone got any reviews on these places?
Amara Hotel
Carlton Hotel
Holiday Inn Orchard
Hotel Rendezvous
Traders Hotel

liquidzza

Minmin: my ad is 11.11.12. Yours? Now Im worried that I cannot find my preferred venue! seems like most of you have already booked yours! and discussing about JM's dress and angpao!

Donna: Wow, you went 12 in 2 days!super efficient!

Magdal: I change my username from jamie to liquizza...pls add me in fb [email protected] okies!

I'm sourcing everything by myself, coz htb is stressed n busy with his business..=( initially i felt so lost n unhappy i gotta do all the research!!but im slowly enjoying the process with so many helpful brides n btb posting reviews and tips here!thank god!=)

gosh, maybe im particular. want to look good with MUA n BS, want to take nice PG, VG. I want the best yet dun wan to pay the price!i didnt expect bs n photos can cost so much!some pple advice me not to spend so much for bs & photos because u wont look at it after awhile, but others say it's once in a lifetime event n u dont want to regret!

crystalin

my feedback:

Amara Hotel:didnt go recee

Carlton Hotel: not bad, especially the newly renovated ballroom with high ceiling and pillarless. but need min 28 tables. however it shares the common reception area with the smaller ballroom.

Holiday Inn Orchard: fren say food no good.

Hotel Rendezvous: under renovation, so maybe the new ballroom is going to be good?

Traders Hotel: food is good but ballroom got pillar

shannat

serene: hi, welcome! im taking amara hotel, so far, i think their perks are ok, big and exclusive ballroom, food wise, have been hearing good feedback. i attended a wedding there b4, and i find the food not bad too. so decided to take it up since the others i chose was alr taken. i booked 1.5 yr ago. =X
for carlton, i heard the food is not bad, was one of my initial choices but was booked alr. for the rest, no comments cos nvr attended nor did research.

minmin: yah, good to hv a gauge. for me, hard to gauge. i asked a couple of my friends who have married n the amt they give ranges widely. so i cut into the middle and give within my means. so i will inform my JMs beforehand too, so they wont be expecting too much.

blu3girlh4m:hi welcome! u can take a look at the pricelist on the forum.
http://singaporebrides.com/banquets.php

Donna: welcome! wah~ 12 hotels in 2 days.. amazing!! so have u decided which one u wanna take up alr?

Liquid:im also planning the whole wedding myself. as in the research of everything major to the smallest details for the wedding, as the husb is overseas. sometimes can get quite frustrating cos u want everything yet need to work within the budget, or u cant decide which to choose!so usually i just shortlist what i want then ask the husb for opinions.
but i started off early, so most things also 7788 alr. jia you jia you!

rainie77: hello~ welcome!

crystalin

blu3girlh4m: u can goggle and search for perfect wedding forum which have consolidated all banquet prices. then u will be able to download hotel banquet price list there

hi rainee which hotel banquet and bridal shop did u sign with?

min_min: wait for marina mandarin wedding show to sign up then got better perks oh!

rainie77

shanna: hee thankss...I'm also planning the whole wedding myself as I'm more free than HTB =p keke same as u, gotta work within the budget...hahaa but dat seems so impossible. After signing, I always say have to cut fr elsewhere but seems like nowhere else I can cut =p

Crystalin: I've signed up with GPCH and took up LaBelle and SB as my BS

Chinzilla: Thanks!

revlis

rainie : welcome
u took up two BS? SB is selet** broadway? going overseas to take photos?
ehh why i cant type the full words?

shanna : izzit ok to tell jiemeis before hand how much they expecting? will it be v weird?

donna: wow u realli power. i visited two to 3 BS a day i already v sian hee...

shannat

chin: really? thanks! still havent decide if we wanna get the live band. haha need to "cut" from somewhere. =X

rainie: u r welcome! haha yeah! always hv to cut from somewhere to fill up the "hole". LOL! :D GPCH is a good choice, was one of my initial choices too but got booked on my day alr~

xrevlis: hmmm, my sis and some other friends did it. they didnt say exactly how much they r giving, but like give them a range (so the JM also mentally prepared and not expect too much) and also tell them that they hv a tight budget, so they cant afford a big fat AP.
JMs usually are close friends/relatives, so im sure they dont mind the amount in the AP. at least cover their taxi fare and stuff, shld be ok. haha im sure they would rather u be a happy bride than stress over the $$$, esp since most of us are forking out the wedding expenses from our own pockets. for me, i think before & after the wedding, i will treat them to something decent in a way to thank them.

min_min_87

Shanna and Chinzilla: Saw both of you talking about Yourstruly etc so I thought it was a brand for wedding gown, turned out it is actually wedding band!

There is a new couple singers who provide live band services too, I heard the videos of the lady.. very good too.. can look into them too

search for weddingbuddies on facebook. If I am not wrong, the jusband is the musician for Yours Truely and other live bands but just ventured out with his wife to set up their own company

chinzilla

hee yup i sawthem on FB too! nice voice. theya re having a promo $600 for both of them =D i think its a gd deal =)

haha keeping within budget is hard!!! im using my honeymoon as the balancing figure. so overspend = smaller honeymoon

btw minmin i met hendra and shi lei yest! they are sooo sweet. love them to bits

rainie77

Chinzilla: hee same here...HTB keeps saying we have to move our honeymoon nearer >.<

Shanna: keke Amara Hotel is very nice too..my bestie will be having her wedding this Sept too!

xrevlis: yup i also dunno why cant type in full wor..yeap gg overseas for photoshoot..last min decision after signing the local BS :p

karmene

hello everyone!! i have decided to sign up with marina mandarin though am quite skeptical about the mixed reviews!! anyone can recommend a good AD videography? too many things coming in now.. need to budget.. and thinking if I should sign up with Amanda Lee Weddings

revlis

shanna : yup true also, most are our close frens who will be willing to be jiemeis and wont be so calculative over the red pkt amt
gd idea, most prob i do the same, give them a before and after treat too

chinzilla / rainie : same lor, my HTB also say the more photos i choose, the nearer to sg he will point finger on the world map for our honeymoon -_- but ultimately i think our HTBs will try to accomodate and give us the best as long as they can afford it
hee cos my HTB surprised me by topping-up in advance additional photos for my PS when we sign the package

min_min_87

chinzilla: oh u met Hendra and Shi Lei too? haha I just love their services a lot too, and I just look at their page to see updates so that was when I saw weddingbuddies, their recommendation for wedding live band
are you going to sign up with them for your wedding photography?

xrevlis, chinzilla: seems like most brides face these antics from htb.. spend more on $$ honeymoon will get nearer.. my fren told me she went for honeymoon at Maldives for 5 days.. she went with Clubmed and inclusive of airtickets and everything it was only $1800 per pax.. cant imagine right? I thought Maldives is expensive.. but she told me that Clubmed makes things affordable.. I havent check out Clubmed yet.. but if it is really good.. i think my budget will just work out fine.. :D:D

Karmene: my friend had a wedding at Marina Mandrian and I am most prob going to hold mine there cos the weekday package is really a steal..
havent really got a coordinator yet.. and the food is decent..

shannat

minmin: thanks! i will check them out too~ hee~

i think clubmed is quite good. i nvr been to any of the clubmeds b4 but i heard from my friends that they r quite good. worth considering.

rainie: keke yup~ hopefully things go well!

serene: seating arrangement? i think shld be diff for diff hotels right? and also depend on the number of tables.

elaine: previously i was also deciding btw amara n M hotel, but i didnt take M hotel cos i felt the coordinator wasnt very sincere and abit weird too... the ballrooms also kinda small (to me) and hv a weird march in shape. so i took up amara.

as for my honeymoon, might be switching to USA instead of Kr le, cos i think i hv more things to buy in USA than korea. hehe. the husb say maybe korea can push back to the following yr instead for our 1yr anniversary! :D

kermene: if u like MM then no worries la~ all hotels hv mixed reviews de. there isnt one that is all positive reviews one. cos everyone hv diff expectations.

elainetan83

Shanna: Thank you for your post. Yes, I agreed with you on the ballroom, U shaped and short distance. But M hotel provides free flow of beer and wine during the dinner and complimentary food tasting for min 25 tables which Amara do not. This is y I am in dilemma..march in vs perks/ cost..

shannat

elaine: then i think u need to consider ur budget le. as in, if the perks given can help u maintain ur budget better than can go for it. cos the march in only last a few minutes.

tanyix

Finally paid the deposit for my AD PG.. Phewwww. Now to choose a color theme for my wedding so my FMIL can start doing flowers!
thank God for the help they're giving us!

crystalin

oh clubmed is it a tour agency? sua ku me, never hear before!

xrevlis: saw ur email reply! thanks for the feedback! so urs is mua following out for photoshoot inclusive in the package price?

magdal

rainie: WELCOME welcome~ you like to join our FB?
which date in nov? me a nov and a GPCH bride too~~

chin: 600 for both for weddingbuddies?? that save alot~
yeah i'm going to have a long honeymoon witha big save~

shanna: awww.. anniversary tour.. so good. think i should ask for 1 too

crystal: here's the link
http://www.clubmed.com.sg/cm/home.do?PAYS=362&amp;LANG=AE
mainly for relax. my brother went for reteat in Bintan was complaining boring~~ lolx

our spreadsheet, do update :D
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0Akd01L4OMjendFl0bE9tbXo5akI0eUFDcVMwbHExQ0E&amp;hl=en&amp;authkey=CO_dg_YM#gid=0

rainie77

Crystaline: Will send you when I'm home k..can't rem the details =p

magdal: My wedding is on 18 Nov
yes sure, will like to join the FB...what is the FB add?

I'm also looking to Maldives for honeymoon...keke initially thought it's very ex but seems like Clubmed's pricing is quite alrite..hehee hope it stays that way till my wedding *winks*