(2012) 2012 Brides to be

chinzilla

nt getting all new. just a new desk. heh n gotta clear my wardrobe for his clothes. ugh.. he complains i buy too much stuff le =p

feels abit weird having to share my space from AD onwards.

julia85

renee> sorry i cant comment much on TA yet as i have yet to utilise their service..
my ROM in this nov... haven make appt with them yet.. haha...
but generally, they are friendly ppl =)

shannat

i think by "tradition" need to get new bed. for me, erm, i will be getting everything, cos we r moving to a hse of our own. erm, his old hse de stuffs are really old, so.... im so not gg to bring over to my new place! as for bed, my mum told me to buy a new bed closer to the an chuang date, so i think most prob we gg to get a queen mattress to slp on first, then when the date comes nearer then we buy a bed.. ZzzzZzz.

missvonnie

Just settled our wedding bands with Soo Kee few days... luckily both our size are in normal range... so plus engraving, we should be able to collect it within 2 weeks.... yeah... Heng is in time for our ROM in May...

Currently, they are having 20% on wedding bands... those who are looking for it can try seeing ard for their design ya... abit quite simliar to Love & Co as they are "sister" company...

smilem

Hi shanna

yes, it better to purchase when it near to an chuang date .. coz we cun slp on the new bed.. so no point to buy early

shannat

smilem: actually can, just that after the an chuang ceremony then the bride cannot slp on the bed but the groom can.

just that older gen more "pantang" abt this, they would prefer the bed is BN.
well, my mum insisted, if not i would just buy a bed. >.<"

mistyhaze

After an chuan, groom can slp on it before the AD? I thought nobody can touch?? Sorry... I don't know anything abt all these de. Hee...

julia85

after an chuang, the groom can slp on it even b4 AD..
but from wat i know is, canot slp alone..
have to get a little boy to slp with him... haha..

fel_han

huh?? slp wif a little boy? i din noe that!!!

hmmm.. my bf's room has got a platform that is abit awkward to put his bed on the floor de..a queen size bed definately wont fit in the platform coz too big..
now, his bed is on an upper deck.. n below it is his study/computer area..
And there is a huge divider in his room which is attached to his bed n study area...

i tink i might as well pu ti tan in his room suan le....make my life easier by not revamping his room =/

emilytangz

ya.. i heard from my friend also... but the thing is that i am staying over at my bf house after AD, and our new place will be ready in 2013... only 1 year, is there a new to buy a 'new' bed??

what's the implication of not doing that ah?

emilytangz

hey u girls got any idea if 6hrs of Pre-wed is sufficient in Singapore (about 3-4 location)? or 10 hrs is better (about 5-6 locations)??

chinzilla

Hi Emily! for my exp the changing of Make up/ Hair takes abt 30 - 1hr per change. And the first style took me abt 1.5 hrs.

Will you be having a new style for ea gown? If not 6cï½ï½Žã€€ï½‚e ï½ï½ï½Žï½ï½‡ï½ï½‚le. Otherwise 1ï¼ã€€ï½‰ï½“ ï½ï½Žã€€ï½”he sï½ï½†ï½…r side 

magdal

after the an chun, some say only grooms can sit or sleep on it.
but my house wont be ready by my weddng. issit ok if we get a new bed an chun, but without a bed frame?

Emily: same as you~ so troublesome to carry the bed here and there.

tanyix

Hi ladies... Can I find out what sorta ring sizes do you all get? The snug fit kind or the looser kind? Cos mine will be platinum and the sales assistant told me it cannot be resized.. And there's no half sizes! So I'm undecided about my ring size. I'm afraid my fingers will get bigger after I give birth next time. And we're intending to wear our wedding bands forever.

Suggestions/experiences?

emilytangz

Ya I think I might not change the bed, unless his parents say is a must else nvm Loh....

Oh ya I also got the same problem with the ring size... I scare lose weight or gain weight then cannot wear the ring then wasted...

Ya cannot be resize for those designer rings .. That's why was thinking if should jus get those lee hwa instead??

muilaman

yeah after an chuang, the night b4 the wedding, there are 2 options. Either both groom and bride do not sleep on the night and leave it empty. Else, groom can sleep on the bed but together with a dragon boy. Sleeping alone on the bed will cause the bride to be in bad health after wedding. My suggestion is if you can't find a dragon boy, just don't sleep on the bed at all and leave it empty. Safer la.

For those more pantang ones, don't let anyone into your room after an chuang and also don't let anyone sit on the bed.

muilaman

chinzilla: mind sharing your ps locations in TW? I will be going to TW too mid apr but still haven't thought of where to go. haha.

chinzilla

heya: We went to Taichung, Nantou area. Its abt 1.5 hrs by HSR from Taipei. =)

The locations were:

Ri Yue Tan: by the lake and at the wharf.
Cingjing Farm: Shangrila Music Villa and the Mt side there

Other locations that are popular with brides at the Cingjing farm are the farm: abt S$8/ pax entry (can take pics with the sheep) and Old England Hotel : additional S$700 per couple and Small Swiss Garden : abt $5-6

Taipei is oso very popular. like Yangming Shan, Jiufen Mirama ferris wheel, Dan shui etc etc. Not too familar with those PS locations tho =)

haha i regret not taking PS at the Ye Shi tho. Will be quite different

bem

Purplee: i have not been to both . but i've heard millions of raves for the food from Oriental. if u have the budget, can go for Oriental... Hyatt food, i have onli heard one person say no good..

Btw, is there any BS that anyone know of with good MUA?? i already have my gowns from JB.. wanna find a BS to provide car, MUA, and bouquet....

julia85

w.r.t an chuang... from wat i know..
the bed dun have to be new if u only staying with in laws like 1 yr and after tat shifting to ur own hse..
but the bedsheets have to be new ones...

shannat

hmmm what i intend to do is, BOTH CANNOT SLP ON THE NEW BED. hahaha!! so im getting hubs to slp on a mattress with me til after AD! :D must be fair ma~ =X thats what my gf and my sis did also. hehe.

purplee: my friend attended a wedding at grand hyatt recently and commented the food not bad. not sure abt mandarin oriental though.

mistyhaze

Shanna: really not bad? Hee... Cos mine will be at hyatt.. Hee. Cos it's the only one available for our date and can hold up to 40 tables. Haven't had food tasting though. Lol

magdal

Purple: Oriental food is good but the ballroom is in fan shape. the very last table wont be able to see the stage at all

emilytangz

what about four seasons?? any comments so far ladies?? =)

wah this New Bed thingy is quite tricky ah... how ah??
there's some things this feng shui lady tell me also.. that both couple must go in from the Right side of the car, the guy first follow by the lady, and also get down from the RIght Door of the car....
then go in the groom's house, both must step in the house together.....
then also cannot take out the shoes... things like that =p

shannat

emily: i think it is basically up to how much u believe? IMO, if u believe deeply in FS, then best to follow it, its the same as the pantang issues, if u believe in it, best to follow but if u do not, then not necessary.
for me, im more like 1/2 1/2, some i find logical enough, then i will go ahead and follow. others, i will just let it pass. but also up to your parents, whether they will be particular abt it anot.

julia85

emily> wah the getting in n out of car abit too much leh... haha...
u see ar... must go in from the right..
den groom go in first..
den come out must be from the right..
but will be bride come out first..
how can wor.. need the groom to help with the gown ma... hhaha...

fel_han

haha.. julia &amp; shanna, i agree with u gers..

my htb and me will do what we can.. Things like the auspicious timing etc etc.. Those easy to follow we will follow..

Last nite I was reading about the guo da li stuff.. Groom's side must buy 24 cans of pig trotters!! Hahaha.. I was telling my fren.. dat my mum can open 24 cans of pig trotters over a period of 2 yrs.. 1 mth eat 1 can!! wahahahaha!

Is it a must for bride to accept everything in the guo da li? I read that the bride must return some of the stuff back to the groom's side

fel_han

shanna: yes!!! 24 lehhh!!!
Initially when my bestie hubby tell me he gave his MIL 24 cans of pig trotters, i got a shock leh. Then after i did my research last wk. Its really 24 cans!! NO less!! lolllll
ROFLL... i wonder how my family would open each can per month.. lol.. i cannot imagine leh.. so hilarious!!

Groom must also buy 2 bottles of martell &amp; some oranges to bride.. bride's side got more things to buy lo..

anyone needs the info on guo da li items??
I have a checklist....

shannat

haha check for the ones with the longest expiry date, then at least can keep for your confinement, ask your mum cook vinegar pig trots for u! :D LOL!

julia85

fel> no need 24 cans so many la...
nowadays no need to stick with it liao..
now is modification alrdy..
haha... like wat shanna say 6-8 enuff liao..

and yup canot take all.. must return some..
this is to symbolise the bride's parents not greedy..
not like sell their daughter like tat..
same goes for PJ.. oso gotta return some de..

my mum dun wan the pig trotters can..
so sub with angbao.. haha..
actually it also depends on ur parents wat they wan la..
we r canto.. n my mum dun even wan the roast pig..
she say jus sub with ang bao...
haha... if take roast pig v mafan..
still need to chop the head n tail return to groom..
den the meat chop n distribute to relatives...

min_min_87

hi all, havent been here for a week i guess.. seems like the topic is on pig trotters now :p the pig trotters can next time cook for confinement.. then can change the martell to DOM right for GDL.. cos DOM can use for confinement too ma..

fel_han

hahaa... min_min u oso veri creative wor!! DOM sounds like a good idea too! lol

julia: hahaha.. i think i did have fren who gave 24 cans to his MIL wor... loll..
I shall tell my mum no need so many cans de lor.. can take ur suggestion to sub with other things. hahaha

i think when the groom present our side with the martell, we must give him bottles of soft drink back. haha.. dunno what is the meaning to this though..

actually the kua which the bride wears is also a cantanoese tradition.. but lots of ethnic follow suit.. so i think our traditions in SG is abit rojak liao.. haha
nvm.. once in a lifetime only.. if simple ones.. can jus follow.. too ma fan de.. can skip it if parents dont mind.. make things easier for us oso.. haha

so many things to learn from a wedding!!

julia85

fel> hahaha!! ya now abit rojak...
like the si dian jin only for teochews...
but some other dialect oso give SDJ...

as for the soft drink.. usually orange..
da ji da li meaning ba...

shannat

fel: lol!! yupyup, can just sub for AP, i think that will make things easier too.
and i didnt know can change to DOM leh! haha maybe i will do that for my GDL, use DOM instead, the 2 chivas my sis gv to my mum for GDL is not even touched.. n i doubt it would be touched lor. cos i dont like chivas, and no one else drinks at home! haha, can give vodka or baileys or wine anot?! =X

min_min_87

Shanna, fel: Lol, I think these days, anything practical and we like goes.. better than to let it sit wasted on the shelf ma
Chivas nice leh.. but I add it with coke la..

fel_han

hahahah. U all very funny leh!!!!!baileys somemore lor!! and add coke somemore! ROFLL!!

but hor.. i m the type.. take abit of wine/alcohol, my neck will turn red n will hav rashes leh..

So far.. haven tried martell or dom.. I noe baileys made my head spin.. And I was having chocolate baileys nia leh.. My fren all laugh at me.. Say I so easy can b knocked out.. Wo mei you yong one….. hahaha

ah... finally reached mid-wk!

anyone going for upcoming hotel fairs?
I think crowne plaza &amp; holiday Inn &amp; grand park wedding fair is coming up

shannat

fel: try baileys with green tea. very nice! its my fav drink now!
haha taste like milk tea with a tad of alcohol! maybe u r allergic to alcohol?

min: i dont like chivas,the taste really very off for me now.. martell still ok, but i seldom hv that now too. keke. usually will take vodka, but i prefer the ones with added fruit flavours.

oh ya, anyone booked corpthorne king? im attending my friend's wedding there next mth! can give feedback if needed!

homama

my mom asked for 36 cans for pig trotters... ar well, actually it's not a lot after giving out to the relatives together with the cakes... :p

homama

it's not for self-taken... most brides' mothers will give 1-2 cans each to the relatives together with the cakes... and do take note if u all order many boxes of cakes, it's best to set your GDL in the morning like 9am, then immediately set off to your relatives' house to distribute the cakes... i dont think ur hse's fridge can fit in more than 20 boxes of cakes, right?

this is something i did for my GDL few mths ago...

homama

if your mother cooks, u can consider martell... martell can be added in the chicken soup, etc... it wont be a wasted..

homama

hmmm sometime it's not abt the needs... but more to the traditional want... do talk to your parents before deciding on anything or taking anything away from the list without their known... previously i also thought why must have this and that, so waste of money etc... but one day my father tells me it's a tradition that we cannot abandon, if not, we might look "not worth" or not marrying well, etc...

this could be the starting point to show your parents that ur future hubby can attend to what you want... to let them have a reassurance on who u are marrying to -- definitely not someone who is stingy, etc...

ar well, just care a bit of what your parents' requirement ba, so long as it's not too over from them..

my 2 cents of view~

fel_han

mrs ho: thanks for the info! Last night i asked my godma.. she also told me the pig trotters have to distribute to fellow relatives.. pheww.. i tot hav to eat 24 cans sia.. LOLLL

shanna: yar, u r right.. i am allergic to alcohol.. i rmb once i took alcohol diluted with ribena but still gave me rash around my neck. My face was as red as a tomato =/
I cant even take rum &amp; raisin ice cream!! My head will have a throbbing pain . den will hav difficulty in breathing oso... jialut one leh.. =/

corporthorne king? pls feedback! I haven considered this hotel in my shortlisted namelist yet.. coz i heard the hotel quite old..pls feedback aft u attn the dinner k!

i loooove crowne plaza.. anyone ever attended wedding there?

min_min_87

mrs ho: you have a point there.. guess chinese traditions better keep cos will be just once in a lifetime.. i didnt know the pig trotters have to distribute to relatives! thanks for sharing!

shannat

fel: keke, sure. i think it shld be ok, but hor, my friend's wedding is towards the end of May oh, i will let u know after i attended it.

crowne plaza is nice, my sis mention the food is yummy there! i initially wanted to book there, but i was thinking the location not so convenient to me, thats why i skipped. one of of btbs here is holding her wedding there!

keke, i also didnt know need to give to relatives. but for my mum, she everything also suibian, as long give yi ge yisiyisi can alr. so not much trouble. as for GDL cakes, i am considering maybe wanna get the more traditional ones instead. hehe!