(2012) 2012 Brides to be

jasangelic

cluelessbtb:
ic. if thats the case maybe u can get them since ur parents had bot the bracelet for u. i tot u're buying the whole set of jewellery urself. =)

muilaman

Ms Fel: I will also be doing solemnisation on my AD. My coordinator gave me a foc function room. Why don't you try talking to your coord see if the poolside can be arranged. I guess it's flexible ba. Else, can request for a function room.

shannat

fel: i also asked for poolside ROM at my hotel, i think the extra charges are $600 for me iirc.
but i not sure inclusive of what things. havent asked yet.

bem: icic, no worries

jazz: thanks! :D i'll go thru it and discuss with htb! :D

clueless btb: i think the MUA or BS(if u getting MUA from them) will provide the accessories.

cluelessbtb

Thanks jazz =)
my colleagues say wait for MIL to give but my hubby say MIL dunno tradition..dunno that parents must give...they dun even know that female sides can ask for tables..then my parents shocked that how come they dunno....so fan....

mistyhaze

Bem: y lucky? Haha. Also, what abt the spreadsheet? Hee... Cos I seldom post here de.

Clueless: me and my bf also dunnoe abt traditions de. But our both side parents quite easy going. So we are all "discussing" what to do/buy/etc.

jasangelic

shanna:
np! lemme knoe if you're interested. =)

cluelessbtb:
np! =)
yep! your MIL will oso buy for u. hmm some parents dont knoe the tradition. like my PIL. they oso dun know what procedures to follow. so i have to explain to them on the traditions. it takes time thou. =)

missvonnie

Hey gals... Any wedding bands recommend? Cuz me & HTB are going to see see look look this weekend... need to get it ready by May...
Isit too late?

jasangelic

v0n:
guess it should be fine. unless the design you chose dont have the size u wanted. it all should take bout 4 wks, incl engraving and all. =)

but have to let the salesperson know by when u nit it. they will rush out for u.

cluelessbtb

Hi Von: there is a goldheart sales from 23-25 march @ orchard international building...can go take a look....

I myself also dunno tradition...hear a bit here and there till blur liao....

min_min_87

hello gals. anyone of you have like a clash in the traditions of different dialect? like teochew need to have a roasted pig but the other party is hokkien so no need then one say need one no need that kind of stuff :S

htb is teochew so have this si dian jin, but I am hokkien so dont need? aiyo.. the traditions so confusing

mistyhaze

Bem: y lucky? Haha. Also, what abt the spreadsheet? Hee... Cos I seldom post here de.

Clueless: me and my bf also dunnoe abt traditions de. But our both side parents quite easy going. So we are all "discussing" what to do/buy/etc.

raneejuanjuan

Halo BTB 2012,

Im new and wana check any suggestion for 15 tables restaurant below 550 nett? we are doing dinner becos of pleasing folks. any nice place with good food to recommend?
Havent decide on the BS too, was thinking The Aisle..maybe should do some studios hopping

chocolatebasket

min_min_87 - the videographer that i asked for quotation is like 4Kplus. *gulp*
I am looking at 2-4K de now. But. . not sources.

cluelessbtb - i'm not so kan cheong about not being able to decide. But kan cheong cause i exhausted all the videographer list on this website but cannot find any videographer that i have feel for.

bem - there was once i was outside and i have stomach ache - the diahrroea kind. And i had to alight from the train and afterwards i felt faint when trying to exit from the station!

ladies, i was just looking at v0n's post about the wedding band. I plan to have my ROM in mar next yr and i've not even done any shopping. Am i late? How long in advance should i give myself?

julia85

chocolatebasket> u're not late la..
i'm doing my ROM this yr Nov.. we haven shop for wedding bands yet.. haha!
waiting for GSS...

cluelessbtb

Chocolatebasket: how abt those freelance VG?
Min min: I think if the guy side send to the girl side is use girl's dialect then if girl send to guy side is use guy's dialect...the person at guo da li shop teach me

fel_han

YX (tanyix): 2K?? as in she book just the venue only? wah ex leh. Coz i am considering AD n solemnisation together. I thought if do together is cheaper.. lol

jazz & Bem: I think my mum has IBS too. She never got diagnosed with a doctor before. But the symtoms are very similar. Keep wan to go toilet lor.. dats y very difficult to bring her overseas coz we never noe when she needs to run to the ladies.. very ma fan and somemore if she is stress or if she jing zhang.. will go toilet to "jie fang" liao.. zzzz

muilaman: Hmm.. foc function room sounds not bad =)) Ok, i shall check out the possibilities after i get my AD date fixed!

shanna: yours is which hotel? Paiseh.. i see too many until i forgot liao.. 600 is stil ok ok.. reasonable for me.. Maybe u check wif your hotel got include the ROM set-up n deco anot.. better check 1st ya..if not later scarly have extra charges... =x

clueless: yes, jazz is right. Your MIL will buy for u de.
vOn: By May? hmm.. is your finger size easy to get? If your hubby n ur ring size is common, then i think should be ok. For me.. my ring need to customize coz my finger too small.. and i was told for my size need to take around 2mths..also depend on the design u choose..simpler design is faster..by the way, u can try Love & Co.. is by soo kee.. heard frm my htb they specialises in wedding bands.

minmin: i found this for the roast pig thing tradition. It seems like its only a tradition practiced by cantonese >>http://www.cherishmywedding.com/2008/02/25/chinese-wedding-customs-roast-pig-for-brides-home-visit-for-the-cantonese/

Some info on si dian jin found here >> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_pre-wedding_customs

and here

http://www.goodweddingdate.com/WG_wedding_customs.htm

It seems like si dian jin is actually a teochew's family practice but somehow nowadays, majority if the dialects will still give si dian jin to the bride, despite of the difference in dialect..

Btw, how to join this fb group?? Is there is grp for us in FB? or i must add u all individually?

min_min_87

wow Ms Fel! Thanks for the research you have done! Thanks Jazz and cluelessbtb too
I guess the key is to communicate with both sides of the parents ba..

wow chocolatebasket! you have got 4k for VG? btw, i am at expressively Joho, looking for their overseas quote and came across this article that they post..

http://primaverastudios.com/blog/2011/why-does-good-wedding-photography-cost-what-it-does/

I just have to tell myself, ok save up, if i want good PG and VG i just have to save up.. 1.5yrs more to save up!

shannat

renee: if u do not mind a not so "grand" restaurant, can try Qian Xi, their food is good, n portion is big too! shld be arnd your budget, but the deco wont be as grand, but i find it still ok, if u want a simple one.

fairical

oh.. havent been in for a while.
Btw, i managed to get a free meeting room for an hr from the hotel for solemnization / tea ceremony. So if you have not sign the contract, try asking ur coordinator.

bem

chocolatebasket: march nxt year??? u hav abundant amt of time left!!
u oso will in e morning den hav stomachache/ diarhea?
eh... u stil had the chance to exit.. i ever faint jus when i about to leave e train.. n i ls while i was unconscious!! when i woke up, its damn messy and embarassing!!

but seems we are all weaklings!

von: i jus bot mine and we need ours in May too for photoshooting... u shd start looking! its not easy to find a pair which both likes...

mistyhaze: haha lucky cos ur bf settle everything for u ma....

chocolatebasket

bem - ha...i kan cheong lay.

btw...i not every morning will like that. Mine was one off incident. Actually i exit is cause i felt like vomiting. Then on the way down the stairs i felt faint. So i went to ask help from the control station there. =/

mistyhaze

Bem: ya... actually quite true... from choosing BS... Hotel... So far, he has been doing all the stuffs... Sometimes I also feel guilty cos I like never contribute anything like that... Hahaha

mistyhaze

Btw, just to ask you all...

Is it common for Girl's side to ask for tables? How does it works? Example: We total got around 40 tables... 10 for my side... Bf side 15 tables.. then our friends and colleagues, 15 tables..

So my mummy was saying she will take half... Means she take 5 tables... Then the other 5 she will pay the cost... But all our side de ang pao she keep...

As me and my bf are forking out the banquet all by ourselves, we only get to keep his side relatives' de ang pao and our friends/colleagues de...

Is it like that??

yyiling

renee, I agree with Shanna. My FMIL likes Qian Xi a lot, the portions are big and the food quality is fairly good. If you take the one at Bukit Batok CSC it has a outdoorsy feel too.

Fel, think Marriott has a poolside solemnisation too, with a canopy so there's some protection against light rain.

MistyHaze, I think it's quite common for the bride's side to ask for tables. What I've heard is that if the groom's side is paying for the table, then the bride's side will ask for tables and keep the ang pows from those tables. All other ang pows will go to groom's side. I guess if you're not comfortable you may have to have a chat with your mum? For myself, HTB & I are paying for the banquet, we'll let our parents invite who they like to invite, but we will keep all the ang pows.

chocolatebasket, I've nearly passed out on the train before too, felt dizzy due to lack of air and had to make my way to station control. Fortunately the station staff were all very nice, they even tried to persuade me to wait and take a less crowded train. Anyway, have you checked out alvinadeline? I like their works but find them a bit pricey, though should be quite close to your budget? I'm considering 36frames, will email them for a quote soon.

Could I just check what's typically included in an AD photography package aside from hours provided? Should I be looking out just a DVD return of photos or there'd also be a coffee table album included?

bem

mistyhaze: haha ur hubby is one of a kind!!! v few men are interested in all these.. but den, he choose for u, u no preference de ar? u all v ok w his choices?

chocolatebasket: u super gan cheong lor!! ring 1 year in adv??!! my advise is to jus slowly go ard first.. no hurry to buy cos will hav new designs de.. later u regret.....

salaine

hello! im new to posting here but have been following the threads for sometime now

i was wondering if anyone here is doing a banquet in Marriot during Jan/Feb 2012. cos i would like to find out a bit about the package/deals before gg down to meet with the coordinator.

thanks much!

mistyhaze

Bem: haha. As in, initially, he will go look around, source and "research" on those hotels, BS, etc. And then shortlist those preferable ones then discuss with me le then we go see and book lo. For the BS, cos he more particular abt the photography, so I let him decide cos I know nothing abt PG de. Lol. He must look at angles, Photoshop skill, exposure, etc de la. Haha

shannat

mistyhaze: yes, quite common for the bride's side to ask for the tables. i think in ur case still OK, cos ur mum paying 5 tables for u, so its like, u only "lose" 5 tables of AP? but if u dont feel comfy abt it, maybe u can discuss with ur htb n mum abt it. make sure everyone is happy n comfortable. if your mum takes the 5 tables AP, then your PJ can jst give a small amt as a token.

julia85

mistyhaze> yes it's common for bride side to ask for tables..
for my sis case, mum is not taking pinjin.
so the tables will be the pinjin..
my mum is asking for 5 tables as pinjin...
and my parents will pay for another 4 tables...
so bride side is 9 tables and the AP for these 9 tables will go to my parents..

missvonnie

Ms Fel (fel_han): Hmmm i think my finger size is ok bahx... common bahx... cuz the Proposal ring am wearing now... took quite fast to get it...

bem (bem): Ya, that is wat i scare of... that why scare not in time to look for a pair...

MistyHaze: my banquet will be same like yyiling... wepaying for the whole events ourself so hongbao will be keep by us...

fel_han

misty: wad angpows are u referring to?? The AP $$ which is given to u during your banquet? Or, the $$ given to u at tea ceremony??

LOLL.. i am so confused lehh...

erm, actually, by right, say if your parents asked for 10 tables.. den these 10tables's ang pow $$ should go to your parents.

Sometimes, i think it depends on your parents. For some parents, they would give u the ang pow $$ for your reno+ future after-wedding expenses.
For some parents, they would want to get the ang pow money because its a tradition...
For my mum.. she tell me she would take the ang pow $$ as a protocol n tradition. And when its time to do my reno, she would pass me back the money.

I'll see how bah.. sometimes very difficult to communicate with parents if they are too traditional... zzz

bem

von : u shd hurry!! we took a few mths to find one we both like.. and even then, its not say SUPER like.. its jus ok like.. hahaha....

julia85

mistyhaze> yes, usually relatives will pass the angpaos to parents...
and since parents are keeping angpaos of the 9 tables..
so yup, angpaos given by relatives parents will keep.

tanyix

i agree with ms fel.. i think the angpao tradition is really dependent on the parents themselves. my bro kept all the angpaos so i think that's gonna be the same for me too.

mistyhaze

Mummy did mention that tradition is they will keep the ang pao given by relatives. But I dunnoe whether is for tea ceremony AND banquet or banquet only. Will have to discuss lo. Haiz...

tanyix

mistyhaze: if i'm not wrong, if the parents wanna keep the angpao given by relatives, it will only be banquet. cos they go by the mentality that they invite them one, so they keep the money. but as for tea ceremony, the couple is acknowledging the relative's status kinda thing, so the angpao/jewellery is a gift from the relative to the couple.

shannat

if tea ceremony, whatever ur elders/relatives pass to u, be it AP or jewelry, all kept by u.
as for the banquet one, if they asked for 10 tables, by right, all the APs from tt 10 tables u give them, belongs to them. but then again, some parents (like mine) wont keep the AP money, but some they will.
i alr discuss with my parents, and they will return us all the AP money, after i count and see how much im "left", then will give my parents another sum of $$.

mistyhaze

Ya. Initially we also thought of that. All APs received that day, we will keep. Then after that, give them a sum of money as a token. But after discussing with bf, we still able to afford, so we decided to go with the "tradition".

chocolatebasket

yyiling - yup! the staff at the control station was very helpful!
yes...checked out alvin&adeline already. They are 4Kplus.....
i feel very ex..

with regards to ur album question...for my photography...i'll be getting a photobook album back...

YX - gd question! i wonder too... (about the groom's make up)

bem - heh. Thanks for ur consolation...

tanyix

Anyone knows if the MUA will stay around to touch up hairdo/makeup when we change from wedding gown to kua? Is it necessary? Haha cos I'm scared wil ruin it when I change out! Hee..