(2012/10) OCT 2012 BTB

zsw

hi all, i sent to everyone via my hotmail already. let me know if you didn't get it.

crystaline, it's about $250 to draw the image on hi-res with a background that the artist will draw based on you and your hubby's character. like if you both like sports, she will draw something to do with sports. this excludes printing. but i asked around and it's about $200 to print a cut out poster.
not sure how much will she charge you but you can try looking for her FB page: Shakes Caricature

liquidzza

Shiwan, u r fast! Can share with me too? My email is [email protected]. Thanks very much!

I bot serta bed n bedframe. haven't buy bedsheet yet, looking for something I can reuse so probably not the red wedding one..

Parents met once but nv discuss much coz first meeting they shy, thought of arranging 2nd one during food tasting, a month before GDL maybe..

I just bought bridesmaid dress, n haven't get best man bow tie.. bought Marc Jacobs necklace as thank you gifts for my jiemeis! Coz I need a lot help from them!

@jt: I bought glass bottles n will be DIYing my candy bar SMS photo booth. Did those moustache n lips props already. Intend to use 2 or 3 polaroid camera. Using them as my guest book , got pens to ask guest to write on them, but I'm still looking for idea to hang them! Films bought 20boxes (200films)and cost should be half of photo booth vendors.Usially they take in hroups, n i will allow guest to keep extra photo on request! Ha.. I only have 20tables, but if u have 30 tables I think engaging photo booth vendors should be more value for money.

zsw

Jamie: sent. Haha im quite free at work so got time to do all these things.. in a way lucky if not i will get very gan chiong for my wedding.
we also bought serta bed and bedframe.. and looking for bedsheet. looking for those cutesy ones..
wow marc jacobs necklace? ex? how many jie mei you got? and how much ang bao you giving them since you bought the dress, and necklace?
our parents also nv discuss much. everything settled by hubby and me. since we pay for everything, they also dont really need to discuss anything..

crystalin

wah nice
i also got serta bed and bedframe^^ bought a cute one from m'sia at $28 (quality is so-so). now headache over guest list cause i realise 6 oct is such a popular dates that some guests have already been booked!

liquidzza

@shiwan: thanks again for sending! ha looks like all of us bought serta!more value for money!hehe...oh, my marc by marc jabobs necklace fr states about usd20 each only, and i bought 5 for them..hehe...i dunno about ang bao rate yet..coz i got diy candybar and photobooth, need alot help fr xd jm..but i think xd just give alil more angbao for them ba!heheh....

myob_angie

Hi shiwan!

You're fast! I like the caricature idea! Btw can you share w me your list of task for sister? You also have te AD schedule? Please share w me? My email [email protected].

I'm gg to Kota Kinabalu for my PS nx mth. So excited! Those who had their PS done, do you have any tips or stuffs to bring along PS? Mind to share with me?

Countdown to 3 more mths!!!

zsw

@crystaline: guests are booked already? omg... i dont wish for a 80% turn up rate leh.. must at least 90% since all are only close friends and relatives..
@liquidzza: no worries.. haha yeah serta is not ex.. i was thinking oh no, these brands are so ex but my queen bed with frame plus a free bench cos less than $3k. oh from US, no wonder.. haha that's very nice.. im thinking i will give about $38? then the main person in charge maybe $68. XD - better be the same as JM cos 2 of his XD are my JM's husband/bf. oh.. yeah you got more stuff during reception.. not sure if $38 is too little though cos i buy dress for them and they will get $ from the chuang men mah..
@angie: i just sent you the file. Hahah we got engaged 2 1/2 years ago so we got plenty of time.. and im very gan chiong type of person so constantly chasing my hubby to do this and that. we did our PS at Universal Studios so only brought along casual wear and a director's the "action" prop and cute glasses. it really depends on how you want your shoot to be. Cute? Romantic? then bring along the props to suit that mood..

javhui

@Shi Wan

Thank you for the spreadsheet! Very useful! Your JM dress is mtm or? I am still looking for dresses. Hopefully there's still enough time :) How about catering? Can i check which catering you getting from?

crystalin

shi wan: so far 80% have responded. Going to call up the remaining 20% to get a reply. Just received my wedding invitation cards! I think our bed may be the same. Also less than $3k for mine!
Javhui: i rent jie mei clothes at $40 each. I have yet to decide on catering, thinking of neo garden or rasel catering. how about you?
ladies: can ask any recommendation on where to buy suits? Also where did u all plan to buy your GDL and cakes stuff?
angie: mabbie can personalise some signages and wear causal attire for the ps~ Effects can be quite nice!

zsw

@Jayhui: Nope i planning to go city plaza and get. i already saw one that is not bad and quite general looking so different body shapes should be able to wear and wont look funny. cos my JM all very tall and some skinny some not so skinny. It's only $35 each. But not very formal looking. Those more formal ones are at least $80 which i don't think is necessary and i also dont want my JM to pay for the other half that I not sponsoring.
Why need catering? For the guests when they come? My parents and PIL settle themselves. they never ask us..

@crystaline: oh so fast you ask them already? just verbal ah? we did verbal too but haven't give out cards.
btw, rasel is good, i used them for my 1st house warming and tmr 2nd housewarming also using them. neo garden i know is good but heard some bad feedback after the mum's kitchen case.
as for suits, go G2000?
GDL we bought at bedok point. the lady explained everything to us and got promo so we bought there. another shop at katong shopping center basement also not bad. haven't seen those at chinatown though..

crystalin

shiwan: yup ask them for address. thought of sending out invitation card 2nd week of August. that's good, mabbie i will get rasel then seems like a lot of positive feedback on rasel.

liquidzza

crystalline, wow ur guest list looks good..me and hubby like friends 9 tables only 60% confirm the rest not sure...sian

n i havent ask my relatives side about confirmation coz the both mothers are handling them mah...

Ya i think we might have gotten the same bed. serta diamond suite? freebies include mattress protector, 2 normal pillow, the bench (which we change away for 4 pillows- 2 nano gel and 2 normal pillow), Sheep (we change for extra mattress protector), and got the high thread count mattress (using uob card during gss),

ey i remmeber my gf didnt give jm angbao becoz gatecrash have liao. anyway my mum say she will pao $88 to xdjm so im not so stress...only will ask my bf bao xd himself!hahaha...sisters already got a dress, a felt flower for hair, pearl bracelet corsages and the marc jacobs necklace.. xd only get bow ties...lol..

myob_angie

Thanks for all the tips ladies! So looking forward to my PS!

Anyone have gate crash games to share? I notice dressing up is the trend nowadays! I saw a few grooms n XD with avengers props! lol

Shiwan: sorry I think there's typo to my email. Coz I didn't receive your mail. Here's the right email [email protected]. Looking fwd to your mail!

zsw

liquidzza: you manage to change the sheep for extra mattress protector? that's good. cos we took the sheep and just threw it in the cupboard. we like the bench cos we can sit extra people in the living room.

Coco: sent

Angie: not sure if you received it this time. i sent it again. for gate crash, my sisters dont want to tell me what they have planned but something to the extent of dressing up as hello kitty cos i like hello kitty.

Also my sisters told me that they don't keep the chuang men red packet. she said she will return to us so the amount can be 4 digits. have any of you heard about this?

zsw

@JT: I sent already. Let me know if you didn't get it.

My ROM was done in Dec last year at ROM itself due to us getting our keys early and we cannot wait till this year Oct to ROM. Our keys came in Oct so by right hdb rule is that within 3 to 6 months.
anyway we nv look for a specific JP so jus booked on the website.

crystalin

J.T: can try asking Zenoh Teh. Met up with him to have short briefing and find him quite approachable. Jiayou in your search!

yanting

Hi ladies! Hope u r having fun preparing for your wedding as much as I am
I'm a fellow BTB this dec. juz wanna share that I'm doing customized cupcakes n other bakes and/or sweets packaging as part of my passion
do let me know if any of u gals wanna get favors or stuff for your wedding
u cn also chk out my fb page - The Patio Baker for more pics

megal

Hihi! I have been missing in action for a while. How is planning going for everyone?

I am meeting my JP tonight for a briefing. Hope it goes well!

crystalin

hi J.T: My JP: [email protected]

hi MeGal: hos your preparation going? I am now writing invites and targetting to send out next week! will u be ordering catering for morning ceremony? which company will u be going?

javhui

I am still sourcing for catering too. How many pax you intend to order. My side only got 30 pax and my htb wants to order 50 pax each for my side and his side. 50 pax is a lot I think. He say must feed them full full cause our dinner starts at 8pm. Is it like that?

megal

Preps ok I hope. Haha. Food tasting next week and need to choose ballroom theme then. I have sent out most of my invite already. Ordered way too many cards though. Didn't plan that well enough. Still need to sort out my flower arrangements.

Not sure abt catering. Any recommendations? I think u girls had a discussion abt this earlier. A friend recommended Neo Garden.

quek_sk

Hi Jiahui,

I ordered Neo garden on several occasions. The food is good and they usually give more than what is ordered. U can apply membership n get immediate discount on ur order. The curry chicken is a muz order! hope this helps

crystalin

Javhui: don't think got to overcater because u need to spend time to package the food if there's left over!

MeGal: i might not have enough invitation cards! gosh.. worried worried. when ur big day?

my boss recommended me: http://www.yelianghow.com.sg/

so might be ordering from here.

what else need to be done? I am still doing up my montage and AD schedule...i havent buy GDL stuff, plan to buy after 7th mth. should be quite fast right? as in buy and go, few hours can settle?

summer_evening

Deposit paid $5,000. Willing to let go at $3,000.
Date: 12 oct 12, Friday evening
Venue: Garden Suite
Minimum table: 8
Maximum table: 12
Price: $1,188+ (minimum spending of S$9,504, equals to $11,186.20 nett).
Additional perks: free flow of beer, 1 table per wine, additional parking coupons, early check in, including floral decoration in the ballroom and solemnisation room etc

Interested please text me at 9788 5013 for more details. Please note the date is fixed.

megal

@cystalline - better go book ur GDL now before 7th mth! Can pick up the day before ur GDL. When's ur AD? If early Oct, there might not be enough baskets left for rent. Plus do u need any GDL cakes? Also depending how much extra stuff u need, easier to get it sorted now than on last min.

My AD is 6 Oct.

zsw

Jayhui: you can try Rasel too. Their laksa and sheperd's pie is really good..

Crystalin: if your cards not enough, can get more from hotel right?

Megal: mine's also 6 Oct, left with 2 more months! my parents' side wedding invitation not out yet.. hai.. they keep thinking can give after GDL but i keep telling them, our GDL is 1 week before the AD.. How can you give ppl the card 1 week before...... Everything settled from your end? From our side, think we only left with the fittings of jackets for my FIL and BIL. Then choose our 2nd march in song, food tasting, speak to hotel for dinner prg, invitations for my relatives and all the ceremonies before AD..

megal

My mom also only giving out invites after GDL. I made sure she rang all of them abt the date though. I am doing my food tasting this Wed. Still haven't prepared any music or chosen my florist. Eeks. Also need to organize catering for tea ceremony.

Have to go for my final fitting but will do that right after 7th lunar mth.

So little time, so much to do!!

zsw

Florist for church? Music, only the march in songs are difficult to choose.. must be unique yet nice and meaningful...
my food tasting is next Monday. tea ceremony catering i will leave to my mum to decide. PIL side will also order their own.
My final fitting is just a few days before the AD.

Don't worry! As long as you know what is left, then you will definitely settle it. im only worried if i left anything out..

crystalin

to all 6 Oct btbs, its exactly 2 mths to our wedding! ok, i am now left with catering, GDL stuff (ordered cakes but not the traditional stuff), picking march in songs, montage, parents also havent send invitation cards, catering and AD schedule, oh i havent bought my shoes! where did u buy shoes?

liquidzza

@jt did u manage to get a jp already? have you done your food tasting? I'm waiting for SSS to give me the agreement for florist decor.

Just had my food tasting at Mbs, food was good n hope they can maintain it on ad!

Haven't order catering too, still in midst of doing my DIY candybar decor, arranging jm to meet soon. It's two months to wedding! Starting to feel time is not enough! Ha
Still looking for emcee, doing ad itinerary too..

Have you btbs got your hens night yet??

Hi ladies!! I haven't been checking on this thread. It's 2 months to AD and I'm very stressed now! I realised I'm really SLOW. LOL~

I have a lot of things not done and have been really busy recently.

Are you girls renting your bridal car? Any recommendations? I'm looking for emcee too.

zsw

@crystalin: I bought my shoes from city plaza.. i went sinderella to see, it's pretty but it's also ex. one pair of no brand shoe cost $150 to $170.. i bought my ROM one with swarovski crystals at only $160 from Tangs so i felt it wasn't worth it. In the end i went city plaza and bought at $66.

@liquidzza: my hen's night was last year before my ROM. had dinner and drinks with my girls at over easy followed by butter.. totally smashed.. haha.. but it was fun! with all the dares..

@shannie: dont stress yourself out! it won't help. do up a list of things to do and cross them out so you know what you are left with. my bridal car comes with the BS package so we thought might as well. emcee will be my brother and hubby's best friend.

zsw

btw anybody doing any surprise? i feel like giving my husband a surprise by singing to him after our 2nd march in. but not sure if have enough time to practice. and what if i go wrong tune or cant hit the notes or sing wrong words... basically make a fool of myself?

okm1951

Gals, you can try Rasel Catering. Their Shepherd's Pie & Laksa yummy!!! I use them often for my company event too. Never fail me!

cosyz

Hi ladies.. I would like to find out the ang bao rates for sisters.. If I'm getting the sister dress for them, how much should I give? Thanks..

zsw

Cosyz, i am also buying the dress for them so planning to give each $38. Plus my mum will prepare for them and the chuang men.. So should be a decent amt i think. And for the main sister coordinating everything, i will prob give $68 for her efforts.
same goes for the brothers. but my hubby says he will give another $18 thereabouts for those who drive to cover their fuel.

liquidzza

where do u all arrange sister meeting? my sis ask me when im gonna treat them *_* already broke then headache about spending extra money...

zsw

Hi babes, i just went for my food tasting yesterday.. so glad hotels provide this cos both parents were very unhappy with the dessert choice.. so make sure when your food tasting comes, both side parents definitely have to be there.

Liquidzza: haven't arrange yet. prob sometime in Sep. we doing 1 meeting with our emcees, brothers and sisters. yeah we also broke and have to spend $ to treat them. but if they are all good friends, then it shouldn't matter mah.. if you have any good suggestions, let me know too.

ice: not too sure. depends on how pantang your families are. for me, im gg buy my jiemeis' dresses on 1 sep so it's 7th mth already. but nth else. only waiting till 8th month to complete the rest..

megal

My sisters are all around the globe, so it's prob difficult to coordinate a meeting until at least maybe a few dys before wedding.

I will still buy my Jie mei attires during 7th mth though.

Only a few more weeks and counting!!

javhui

Just realise Megal mentioned that it is good to get GDL stuff before 7th mth, if not no more basket left.

My parents and PIL planned to get it only in 8th mth. Now a bit worried if there is no basket for rent.

I am having my first meeting for the JM next Friday. Is it a must to treat them? Can I only treat them after the wedding? How to tell them?

jenovith

@ Liquidzza - yup, finally found JP.. meet up with him to get his signature, nice man.. =)

Ladies, wanna ask you guys on something.. beside Bride Parents & Groom Parents to give AP to the bro & sis.. do the bride n groom themselves have to give AP to the bro & sis?

Was thinking of buying them (both Jiemei & Bro) dinner before the wedding to discuss on the plans and also a small gifts for my jiemeis..

zsw

My JMs are all my really close friends so we always see each other but till now we haven't had an official meeting with them and the brothers to talk about the wedding prog.. Hubby say will treat everyone so shall see how when we arrange for the offical meeting ba.

J.T. - we are also planning to give AP to JM and XD cos they are helping out so much. but since im buying a dress for them, i will only give $38 each. the main coordinator will get $68. bros who drive get extra $18. then my emcees will get $68 each too. but since you are giving them small gifts, i think shd be fine. I think in the end, it depends on how close they are. if they are super close friends, they won't mind not getting anything.

my friends even told me that they dont plan to keep the AP from chuang men and will return us after that.

cosyz

@Yuen shi wan, Thanks for the reply! My sisters don't need me to buy the dress anymore now. Is $50 ang bao enough?

@Megal, I feel you! I'm having a hard time coordinating the meet up for my sisters. Someone bound to be not free on the days me/someone elsa suggest..

@J.T we would be giving both jm n xd ang bao.. To cover their expenses n a token of appreciation. Plus a dinner treat after the wedding. I would be treating my jm dinner when we meet for discussion.

@jayhui, it's up to you.. I'm gonna give my jm a treat when we meet for discussion. Hth also thinks that i shd treat. If you're on budget, you can go for something cheaper. Like 1 of my jm wanna have soup spoon so it's something not ex

hiccup_kaiser

hi all, need some advice on where i can get cakes for the relatives as part of giving the wedding invites? Do you have any bakery to recommend that does nice motifs with wedding bells or something?