(2012/07) JULY 2012 BTB

rainz

I heard that getting married in July (Chinese June) is no good for the couple.

Anyone heard of this? I have actually booked Banquet for next year July already and now there are people in the family against the date and when I check with my fren's mum she said the same thing too.. sigh....

shanfeng

Hi rainz,

My AD is 1st July 2012, and chinese calender is May 13. Its calculated by those 'fortune teller', which my future FIL consult with a temple.

Even in those chinese calender (june, July) there still bound to be some auspicious day, so dun worry!

crabbyluv

haha 1st july is my bday
my AD is just a rough 1 as all things not cfm yet
might postpone

ladytai

dun worry rainz, i'm a july 2012 btb too. the date 07072012 was calculated by david tong (geomancer), who calculated based on both our bazi and parents' horoscope. always seek professional help to keep the 'old wives' from nagging. kekekekekeke.... good luck!

shanfeng

Hi Kelvin,

I have booked and paid deposit for Banquet.
As for Bridal Studios, PG, VG, Cards, not done yet.

What about yourself?

rainz

Hihi.. mine is end of July which they say is 6th month in lunar chinese calendar... Sigh.. big headache...

Getting married in the 6th mth is called " Ban Lu Xing Niang" direct translation : Half road wife meaning married half way only... seriously.. got such tihng meh?? I dont wanna believe but those aunties are nagging...

Maybe we will do the chinese customary on another day instead....

Wedding is really not about the couple.. its about the entire family as well.. sighh...

kelvinpang78

Hi Esther,

I've paid for banquet deposit too..where's yours going to be? Mine will be at Mandarin Oriental.

My bride's from HK so we're getting the gowns over here.

PG and VG almost finalised...can rest awhile before starting again next year...

When's your wedding?

shanfeng

Hi Kelvin,

Mine's 1st. At Four Seasons Hotel.

I am intending to take a break already, without finalising the gowns, PG VG Cards.. Haiz im a procrastinator..

kelvinpang78

Hi Esther,

There's still time to finalise the PG and VG. You've been to the bridal shops to have a look alr?

I'll be back in S'pore next Jan for my pre-wedding shoot.

shanfeng

Kelvin,

Ive been to one or two, but thinking of the long sales pitching session really turns me off, for now. But i know sooner or later I would have to confirm with one.

I was also thinking of PS in Jan. Coz mine's 1st July, so technically speaking, i have only till June to prepare. And time flies...

kellybb21

Hi all, I'm a july btb too. jus wanna check any one doing a buffet dinner at the hotel poolside instead of those normal chinese banquet?

dreayh

I'm a 07/07/12 BTB, decided on the date after lots of negotiation and arguments with my mom :/ My HTB is Indo, so we will be having our Indo wedding on 12/06/12!

lovelyday

Hi, I'm looking to buy a past issue of Her World Brides (March 2011) as my wedding gown was featured inside. Anyone has a copy and is willing to sell?

coreenlee

mine is also july.. but i guess it's a matter how we negotiate with parents... try to convince them not to be so superstitious.. plus im telling them i really dont have so much time to keep changing my dates and redo all the booking etc...

ariesci

im a july 2012 bride too.
got the date from a master, so no issue with our parents.
7 months plus to go... so excited, gonna go for gown fitting this weekend.

enjoy the preparation, guys! =)

sinfuljas

mine too falls in July.. MIL insisted we get Geomancer checked and the original date (anni) happened to be the the Double Xiong date. haha! This kinda thing, take it with a pinch of salt.. As long as not in Lunar 3rd or worse, 7th month, should be ok.. Happy wedding prep. to all BTB! =)

crabbyluv

Polkadotsfreak: i haven got my bridal too.

?????
Now only left 6 mths to go wor kelly.

anyway you can go see see look look along the tanjong pagar bridal street.
I gotten mine and am satified.

Most imptly is the coordinator is good!!!

Jiayou! ^^

ladylenn

So many 7/7/12 brides! I'm one too, have been super procrastinating on my wedding preparations, finally going to do something abt it haha!

sianzting

mine is at Hilton.

I have confirmed my PG/VG, done PS..
Have not collect wedding cards, arrange for food tasting, view my album layout.. so many things to do.. but duno where to start.. hehe!

shanfeng

Winnie, I have yet to cfm VG !!!! I have taken my PS last week too. The rest is the same as you. Wedding cards, album layout, wedding car, food tasting, cakes, etc....

dreayh

I"m a 7th July BTB too...

Venue: Raffles Marina
Bridal Boutique: La Belle Couture
VG: Tan Shi Wei
PG: Blushed Photography

Will be choosing gowns on the 1st of March!

sianzting

Wah! My BS havent call me to choose AD gowns.. Need to arrange soon! Maybe can ask them when I go down and view my layout...

lovelynn

Oh my! Just realise that there's so many 7 July btb! I'm one of them too.

A lot of VG told me they are fully booked for that day.

Wondering since 7 July is such a hot date when should we start inviting?

ladytai

Hi all, been out of action.
Happy Leap Day to all!

Now that we are approaching march (GASP!), it seems like more things need to be done!! oh dear.. not to stress u gals, but i'm feeling a bit more anxious now.. have been relaxing since Nov/Dec.. now need to kickstart engine again. kekekekeke...

wanna check with my fellow July BTBs, have you gals engaged a solemniser already? my sis said must book now liao, but i still think it is too early. wanna see how many of u have already booked... pls share ya? thanks!

kellybb21

LadyTai: book your solemniser 3 mths before. if too early some solemniser will ask u to ask them again when date is nearer. ;)

I have ROM last year dec. wedding on 07 July. ;)

Lynn: ya lo. i heard alot of ppl say tat on 7/7 got quite alot of wedding. ;) i have send save the date to my guest on jan. ;P

lovelynn

Lady tai- on hot dates can try to ask like 4 months earlier. Else usual practice is 3 months before. Like Kelly, I did my Solemnisation last yr in nov. so left the banquet only.

Kelly- I just did the save my date 2 days ago. And I actually key in 2011 instead of 2012. Haha! When I book my bridal and banquet they said 7 July ain't a hot date. But when I ask bridal yesterday they told me cuz this date is still lunar 5 month. So very hot!

I've done my photo shoot, did my save the date & photo selection so far. What about the progress of other BTB?

kellybb21

Lynn:I did mine save the date to my guest during Jan. LOL! oh. are you in my FB? your name seems so familiar to me. haha.

I have done my PS in feb. have already book photo booth, wedding performance(singing), actual day MUA(due to my bridal in JB, i have to pay for the MUA to come out which i think is ex. so i engage local one.), have arrange balloon man for kids. cos my venue will be a poolside dinner. we wan to make it like a party instead of those veri formal kind.

next week gg for photo selections and end march to see invitation cards.

Everything for AD actually done booking it already. left with may or june for the GDL.;)

shanfeng

Hi all BTBs!

Feel like ive been sitting on wedding preps too long!!

Im a 1st July Bride, so far have booked the venue, taken PS, this sat will be selecting photos, met my solemnisor. Thats all!

Have yet to send out 'save the date'( Would Apr be too late?), yet to book AD Videgrapher, Wedding Cards, Entertainment..signz...

kellybb21

Hi Esther,

same as you, i'm selecting photo this sat too. ;)

Actually i think you can send out now already. at least you got some time if ppl never come you still can find more ppl.

Entertainment like? only finding Videographer? photographer provide by BS?

shanfeng

Hi Kelly,

What a coincidence! Which BS are you with? Kinda worried about the photo selection as im not photogenic, and that im afraid if im pressured to top up =(

How did u go about doing your 'save the dates'? By Softcopy via FB?

Entertainment like maybe live band or what.. if not its the conventional march in, montage, highlights, champange popping..

Yes only VG, as my AD PG is provided by BS =)

kellybb21

Hi Esther,

I'm with Fables(JB Bridal). my worried is scare tat i will top up alot which i have promises my hub when signing the bridal that i wun top up. after photo taking, i think i will top lo. seems all nice.

Save the date i use via FB event page.

icic. this year, alot of ppl get married. is better for you to find your live band or which entertainment you wan and place deposit to secure the date. if not scare tat your wedding date is being book already.

ginaliu07

My AD is in jan 2013. Was thinking of booking the banquet from Pan pacific (pacific ballroom) .anyone booking that venue too? Hows the food?
I have also booked my photoshoots from cannes wedding , taking pics in may. However, i need help in renting of AD grown, either from sg or jb. Any recommendations that is good and reasonable price? Thanks in advance

shanfeng

Hi Kelly,

So u have already seen the pics? Ive only had a quick glance in the camera after the PS, so did not see the pics yet.

Ya i think i'd better book fast =(

Hi Gina,

Ive never been to Pan Pac for dinner, and dunno about rental of gowns too, sorry i cant be of help !

kellybb21

Hi Esther,

I manage to see some from my pg cam when we waiting for 1 of the venue to take pics as got other couple there. as for indoor nv see but we use our personal cam took some. haha.

yes. you should. jiayou ya. ;)