(2011) 2011 Brides

sbearie

remember in last outing, a few of u wondered wat the red umbrella symbolizes. here u go!

"Sometimes, a red umbrella is used to shield the bride as the opening of the umbrella will symbolize her bringing many descendants to the groom's family. "

"When the bride leaves her home with the groom to his house, a "Good Luck Woman" will hold a red umbrella over her head, meaning "raise the bark, spread the leaves." This "good luck woman" should be someone who is blessed with a good marriage, healthy children and husband and living parents. Other relatives will scatter rice, red bean and green bean in front of her. The red umbrella protects the bride from evil spirit, and the rice and beans are to attract the attention of the gold chicken."

hope it helps!

yuchi

Kass, Phylline,

Yup, i also feel the same. I am seriously contemplating to go to a fengshui master to get the dates instead. :D
Will talk to my HTB on this but he's a very lazy guy and not very into the planning part... i just hope he will put in more effort. LOL

Any recommendations on BS? I am keen in Di Gio and Sophia's wedding but i will nt be taking the full package. Thinking of getting my own pre and AD photographer. So was wondering how much can i deduct from their full package? Anyone has this experience to share. Thanks alot in advance.

sapphire05

HI Rachel.. thanks for this, it's helpful.

HI Yuchi, that's what I was initially thinking of getting.. as I wanted OEC for my prewedding & AD photographer... I thought of looking for one-stop-bridal-shop and omit their photography.

But in the end, I signed up with Jawn for my BS... so just nice, everything falls nicely. Dont need to haggle or ask for discount from the one-stop-bridal-shop.

yuchi

Hi Sapphire,

so in the end, you get OEC for pre & AD photography and Jawn for BS? Did Jawn give you a good discount off their package?

Think Jawn is quite good. Do you mind sharing with me the package rate of Jawn? can email me at [email protected] or pm me. :D

strikingreality

Yuchi (yuchi) >> There are 2 ways u can go about it. One way is to ask for an AD package from the one-stop BS, or u can go alacarte.

For Sattine, which is the only one-stop BS i've been to, they charge $3388 for their full package incl PS, and $2588 for their AD package. But do note that if u take an AD package but want to take gowns out for photoshoot, need to factor in dry cleaning and rental costs.

For me, I didn't like the photographs taken an one-stop BSs, so I went alacarte instead.

txl

haha Sapphire mine is next yr too around that time loooooonnnnnnngggggg wait men... was thinking of bring it forward haha

strikingreality

clint (clintomania) >> Would love to see your photos. Have added you on FB. Pls approve!

You brought your gowns from Vaughn Tan/Allure overseas for PS too?

clintomania

Yuchi: I went ala carte too.. I hired a professional PG for PS.. and getting Ave 8 for my AD PG/VG.. More flexible for me.. hate to haggle & bargain..

Kass: I've approve u.. yar.. I brought the Vaughn Tan & Allure gowns oversea.. also brought along the CS Kim tailored for me..

yuchi

Hi Clint, Kass,

thanks for the advice. Yup, i dun really like the PS from those one-stop BS, cos i find the pics rather posy and very artifical.

Clint, can add me on FB..would like to check out your pics. my email is [email protected]. And yah, i have shortlisted Ave 8 for AD photography too. Which photographer did you engage?

sapphire05

Hi Yuchi, yah you can look at the Jawn thread. Kass & I signed up with Jawn. It's standard pricing. I also dont like the posey pics from those one-stop-bridal-shop.

HI kass.. the other time I went Sattine, they gave me a package that was near 5k!

sapphire05

HI XingLi... you are thinking of bringing forward your PS? That would be fun.

I cant... as my man is not back in town from his overseas posting.

clintomania

Yuchi: I've added u on FB.. I'm engaging Bernard from Ave 8..
I also don't like those cheesy & posey photos taken by BS.. prefer a more natural style..

Thanks for the compliments Kass

skydreamie

Hello!!
din post for super long already
hehehe as those who added me in FB... u all already know im back from TW wedding photoshoot! hehehhe so funn :D

how are u all preparing?
so sorry cant make it for the BTB outings tt day~~ but so nice for u all to organize outings hehhe~

yuchi

Hi Clint,

thanks! :D saw your pics, they are really nice. Bernard from Ave 8! He's really gd but think his rates also quite high woh..anyway, it's worth the investment, hee.

Hi Kass,

Yep, i think i will check out Jawn too. Saw a couple of their designs; seem nt bad and princessy :D

clintomania

Yuchi: thanks
are u planning to engage Bernard as well? Or the other PG?

Jeanie: welcome back! Share with us your photos when they are ready ya..

yuchi

Hi Clint, I am considering Douglas Fun.
so just hope he will still be available by the time I gt my date confirmed cos he has confirmed a few Bookings already for 2nd half 2011.
N I have discussed with HTB to consult master tong or tan instead of waiting for the tong shu. Conclusion is he wants to wait.. So I guess I have not much choice.

But the only thing is, if I fail to book DF, I will make him pay for the extra cost to get a even better PG *grin*

rubbishcow

Yuchi, chen jun rong already got his own version of tong shu.. if you don't mind the cost can look for him... he is charging more than $500...

yuchi

Hi Cow cow,
thanks.. the thing is my HTB dun even want to fork out 100 bucks for Master Tong..needless to say, $500.. he will kill me. haha.

Sapphire,

Yep, he's quite good for a junior PG. I am choosing him cos i want a different style for my AD photographs from my pre-wed. For Pre-wed, i really like Gabriel M. :D

sbearie

Hi Yuchi,

If u really do not want to spend this kind of money, can go to any chinese temple they can give u a date basis ur "ba zi"

my friend went and only gave a small angpow like $12.

yuchi

Hi Pinkglove,
yes yes... GM is really fantastic but to hire him for AD will burn a BIG hole in our pocket.. sigh! if only i can strike some money from TOTO..haha

Hi Rachel,
but to get the dates from Temple means got to wait for Tong Shu to be out right? Anyway, haha... i managed to convince HTB to spend that 100 bucks cos i kind of 'threaten' him to spend additional 1K to get PG of the same league as DF, if i cannot get DF due to the delay.

phylline

sapphire: when is yr actual day?

rachel: u bought yr red umbrella from hong kong right? was it u? i remembered someone bought a very chio umbrella from HK. im so tempted to go search for a chio chio umbrella for my AD now too! hee

Yuchi: ive went to both sophia and di gio. between these 2 i prefer di gio. n sophia is more pushy as well. hee

cowcow, yuchi: my family went to chen jun rong when i was very young and all i can say is he is very accurate! Almost all the things he said about us came true. but over these years, chen jun rong has increased his rates so its now pretty ex to engage him already. but i must say he is really quite good.

I love GM's pics too. His photo speaks a thousand words. to many ppl's surprise, GM charge pretty cheap (as compared to many other well known PG) for PS.

I engaged him for my ROM and i love the pics to the bits. Even when my mum sent some photos for framing, the owner of the shop could tell that the PG is very experience

shoppngqn

Hi, I am helping my friend to post. He is looking for couples to do pre-wedding shoots for his portfolio. Anyone is interested here? He do have some experiences taking wedding photos but not much that's why he need more portfolio for his website. If interested, pls pm me for his contact.

rubbishcow

phylline... he was the one which my FMIL like to use... I waited very long for my date also... So i can say he was the reason why the empress dowerger dont wana buy Natura Loft inoitially oso...

phylline

cowcow.. looks like she really believes in him wor! but he is really pretty good. hee

rachel: thanks for the link! are u thinking of printing into a book as well?

yuchi

Clint: I'll PM you his package rates shortly. :D
Cocotintin: yes, in fact, he's been shortlisted for my pre-wed too. He really wow me with his work. I have been following his blog and FB for quite long.
Sapphire: Congrats. is it on 11.11.11 or 20.11.11? Hee... i hope i can secure mine soon.
Cowcow, Phylline: wow, seems like Chen Jun Rong is really very good. *thumbs up* will prob try to consult him should my budget allows or can kiv for future, when my house is ready.

qiuling

Clint, u r a OH btw too?? My AD is 23 Jan. How abt u?? Okay I will on my PM.

Btw I'm actually looking for PG n VG for my AD. Any recommendation? N where is GM from?? N wat is the market rate like for PG n VG. I'm quite afraid to meet some fake VG or PG tat will r ruin my big day.

Yuchi: yup, even until now i am still following his FB and blog. haha.. so who else have u shortlisted for PS? It will be great if you engage GM, he is a very nice guy with no airs. In fact i confirm him without even meeting him and I was so worried that i will feel very awkward with him on my ROM but thank god, he turn out to be very friendly and even take the initiative to help me take some personal shots at a corner prior to the commencement of my rom.

yuchi

Hi Qiuling,
Gabriel M is a standalone PG cos he's not tied to any photography studio. His rate for AD is at $6,000 but that's because he's really very good in my opinion. :D but photography is rather subjective cos diff ppl have diff perspective. If u are interested, i can PM you.

You can also try to check Ave 8, 39East image, One Eye Click.. etc. as they are the more reputable ones. My frenz engaged OEC n the photos are quite nice.

Coco: wow, u just engaged him without meeting up. But i think he's quite a easy going guy cos from the pic, you can tell that all the couples feel totally at ease n natural. Another one i have shortlisted is DF from Ave 8 and Steph, a PG from KL.

yuchi

Sapphire: yep.. i wld luv to hold my AD on 11.11.11 too, cos it's a nice date but in order to attend my gd frenz's wedding, i have to be earlier than her or later. Hers will be on 8 Oct most likely.

yuchi

Think so or have to wait for future MIL to give green light for us to go ahead with Master Tong.
HTB will talk to her first. *keeping fingers crossed*

Anyway, if gt to wait, according to Master Tong, the tong shu shld be out soon in August bah, hopefully.

clintomania

Rachel: I'm planning to print my PS album at just1book.. been there twice and was quite satisfied with their work.. the lady at the shop also showed me some albums that reputable PG printed.. they do print flush mount albums as well if any of u are interested..

Yuchi: Thanks for DF's price.. I went to look at GM's blog.. His pictures are really nice!

Qiuling: yeap i'm a OH bride too! my AD is 6 aug..
do u have a budget for PG/VG? from there I guess, we can give u more recommendations..

Yuchi: haha.. yup. Guess i really like his photos so i didnt had to meet up with him to see more of his works. We exchange a few emails and i confirm him. On the contrary, I dont think i have so much budget to engage him for my AD so i engage him for my ROM.

skydreamie

Wow.. GM charge so high for AD! i thought my PG charge 2.5k is already very ex =x lol~~ most of my frens got their PG for only 1k... max is 1.5k.. so hmm~ think they feel i splurge too much on PG! but yea like u all mentioned..dif ppl diff perspective.. hehe we love photos hence we dun mind the splurging.. but wow, 6k!! can i see GM's work???

btw i didnt engage VG... hehe.