(2011) 2011 Brides

pinkglove

clint: buy bags pass sg customs must pay gst ah? anyone here can confirm this? I've bought bags a couple of times before from overseas in paper bags but never experience this.. this time i will be buying quite a few bags n i def can't squeeze them into my luggage..

clintomania

I'm not very sure about that.. coz for postage etc need to pay gst.. and i was quite worried lah.. in the end i took 2 bags handcarry and managed to get away with the gst..

i unpacked all my clothes into my hand carry bag.. so the luggage has space for the bags..

candycandy001

Each person 1day (24hr) can buy &amp; bring back S$50 value of items into Singapore (considered tax free). 1-2days then is S$100. Extra amount need to pay GST. Normally custom will not check unless have a lot of bulky items then they will start asking for receipt. Last time there is one couple bought a car booth of items from Jusco (ard RM300+) then the officer asked them to pay tax (<S$5) at counter b4 releasing their car.

See how lucky you are as seldom heard ppl kena.

joyle_t

Hi maimuki>> depends on what u want actually.. haha~ got 2 main types, 1 is the “bao ga liao†another is the “ala carteâ€..

The “bao ga liao†will include almost everything and anything you can think of including your father/FIL suits, your mum’s dress for rental and sometimes rental of bridesmaids’ dresses.

"ala carte" sometimes dun include photoshoot, but have recommendations and partners. mostly just the gowns/suits, sometimes with corsages/bouquet/make-up.

Clint>> guess the box is the best place to keep nubra!

Siy/clint>> yeah… I totally agree. I think she super expert. Summore the way she demo was when the Nubra had the protective cover, so not really attached to you.

Pinkglove>> dun think so leh… I bought quite a few Coach when I went to US, even brought back the boxes.. no issues.. shouldn’t be a problem!

styleinyou

Pinkglove> Avoid taking boxes with you &amp; if u dont need those receipts, throw it away or keep it far away from the item. I heard frens frens got too much of branded from Europe &amp; when they back got fine 7%. But officers say that they only tax those they see receipts, those w/o they will leave it...

Fingers crossed to my item which my fren is bringing back from Spain for me...its too cheap to resist even though AD &amp; hse is around the corner :p

Heard that many branded going to increase price starting from Jul/Aug. Ladies be sure to grab what u need before this increase. Even Cartier wedding bands going to increase too in Aug i think.

styleinyou

RV> no worries, u sure can have some effect based on how Dorothy works...

Its located at Sunshine Plaza quite out of the way. Near to Mr. Bean there. Open till 6:30 or 7pm. If got no discount, mayb can PM me &amp; use my name there cos my bulk orders is huge think few thousands dollars so she remembered me clearly

Got a nice dim sum shop around the corner called Victor Kitchen. But only got a handful nice items to eat eg.custard bun, carrot cake with XO sauce, ice milk tea (very special), Glutinous rice very soft with salty egg. others cant remember. But porridge no taste.

rubbishcow

Hey girls... recently my friend and I tried out the Nubra from a cheaper brand and we gain zero effect from that... so I took that as a lesson.. don't buy cheap brands!!

txl

Juz wondering can Nubra be kept without lousing its stickiness? Coz my wedding is next yr not sure if it is too early to get now though it is a gd time hee hee

clintomania

Siy: I mentioned your name but no further discount on top of the GSS 10% discount leh.. but overall i'm still quite satisfied with the nubra I bought..

cowcow: i read from some fashion forum that those cheaper ones don't stick well too.. especially when you perspire..

styleinyou

clint> my name discount is only valid when there's no discount at all. What I get is only less 10% which is what u gals are getting now

Xingli> No worries Nubra can be kept for a long period as its count by no. of times used. I been using mine &amp; bought it 2 yrs ahead of my AD. Regret since their promo. so good now

prisci11a

congrats Siy!!!

Clint, sooooo goood!!!! 5 bags!!! last time i also brought about 6 bags and 3 wallets from Europe (buy for frens), all put in my luggage, lucky customs didn't check...

sapphire05

Congrats Siy.. you've got 1 thing down!

welcome back Clint... cant wait to see your pics

Customs will impose all goods brought back from overseas as long as the value is more than SGD 500. So best to cut out all tags etc... make it seem as if it is used or you brought along with you to overseas in the first place. Ive heard of gf's friends who got slapped with such, and it was hefty considering the price of branded bags in the first place.

styleinyou

Thanks gals...now got other headache issues...PG/VG book of PS schedule to taiwan, honeymoon - to go or not to go, etc etc....thinks girls always got more to think than guys

Pinkcoral> Booked with MM

joyle_t

hmm... make the bag look used wld be easy.. haha~ i stuffed the bags with clothes so that they keep their shape.. and look used!

Xingli>> in addition to what Siy said, think the most impt thing is not to let dust settle on the sticky portion cos' quite difficult to remove dust.. Dorothy will tell u how to keep it clear!

joyle_t

Siy>> something done better than nothing done! honeymoon must surely go, even if no time for long and far far away hols, must go for an official honeymoon..

actually guys also got alot to think -> think of how much more money we girls gonna spend when we think of more weird ideas for wedding.

mikadozy

I called today and Dorothy told me they are having a very special promotion for Silicone this month so I am going this weekend.
They are closed at 8pm except for Sunday.

txl

thanks joyle =) cant wait to get it this weekend!!!
Btw is it a must to make an appointment before dropping by?
Can i have the number?

sdcl

hello all,

I wonder if any of you are thinking of buying an off the rack evening gown for your wedding dinner? cos I was quoted something quite exorbitant for rental of a gorgeous evening gown for my wedding, and when my fiance knew about it, he suggested that with the same amount of $, I could easily buy a branded, designer gown - and I'll get to keep it too!

so I'm wondering if any of you are planning to do it? if yes, where have you looked at? anybody getting a gown from an online shop? e.g. jcrew, bloomingdale etc

candycandy001

smilem (smilem)>> I said like only mah.. I m not sure whether it suits me or not. I planned to go BS selected my AD gown in Jan, if there is similar design then I can try &amp; see whether I suit this pattern b4 I ordered. Ha... How do you think? Actually I have no confidence on whether I can maintain my figure within 2 mths. Ha... Last time I took PS, I tried gown 1 wk in advance, end up a getting fatter (a bit), feel a bit tight for some gowns when taking photos. Ha

I also like this EG... main point is only S$85! Ha...

1450741.jpg

sapphire05

Hi Candy..... guess... best to have gowns from BS, then perhaps have a dress from this website as an additional gown?

Good for those who signed up with designer BS... coz designer BS only provide 1 WG &amp; 1 EG, so this additional piece can add on as variety... hee..

clintomania

DL: I bought both my EG and WG otr from 2 different BS.. Didn't sign up with any BS coz I'm doing my PS overseas..

Candysiew: the gowns are lovely!! Love the 1st one.. Like a Greek goddess

candycandy001

clint>> Greek goddess! Yes, I think so too.

I think buying MTM gowns need to onhold le. Ha... I go do PS with my Jiemei, drag them to BS. But my hubby a bit not happy, he said even wan to take photos also must take with him mah, why with jiemei, waste of $. Wuwu... But I treat it as a gift to myself mah...

strikingreality

Have you guys bought your rings yet?

We went to all the mainstream jewellery stalls, but have not seen anything that we really like...

Do I need to make an appointment for Fairy's Inc or Ling Jewellery?

rubbishcow

kass, think its better to make an appt with the shops before you go just in case they close the shop since tehre are no appt for that day..

jacqurine

sapphire: my AD is on 1 Jan... so far i hv onli cfm on my banquet, PS, PG &amp; VG. the rest will hv to wait till after parent session which is nxt mth den can start to prepare... I use to be in Jan 2011 Thread but nt so pop as 2011 Thread so decided to chat here haha...

when is ur AD?