(2011/12) Dec 2011 BTB

bibao

anastasiazen, Thanks!! I already had a manager assisting me but he nv mention anythin about the perks on 25th Sept. Mayb i will check with him.

theonlychild

I am also Dec 2011 BTB.

AD & ROM: 16th Dec'11
Venue: Grand Shanghai
BS: Fables Bridal @ JB
PS: Still sourcing around
VG: if budget allows, i will love to have.
MUA: anyone can recommend?

mivti

i'm also a DEC 2011 BTB.

AD Date – 03 December 2011
AD Venue – Furama Riverfront Singapore

anyone has recommendation on wedding cakes?

jlteo

Hi Mindy,

Yes I having my banquet @ Hyatt. I also just booked the package with Cangai for PS last week at the BOWS wedding show. How about you?

amanda75

I am also a BTB in dec 2011 =)

AD: 30th Dec 2011
Venue: Novotel Clarke Quay
BS: Fables Bridal @ JB (same as Prisca)
Animation: Shortlisting Coffee&Tea / BC Workz / Qing Dynasty / RM
PS: Shortlisting William Chua / Ambi Yushan / Wedding Moments / N Goh
VG: Shortliting Zephygraphy / The Montage Guy / Ichiro Films / Firewerkz Films
MUA: Shortlisting BS MUA / Pretty Box / Liren Neo

doublej

Amanda> I'm one day after u.. 31.12.11 =)

For your MUA, I strongly recommend Liren Neo.. =P I'm getting her as well.. Seen her portfolio, looks G.R.E.A.T!!

theonlychild

So happy to know so many Dec BTBs!!

Amanda> ^5 for the same BS!
i actually did not even walk into another BS to check out and compare... just merely do reading from here and there and felt overall quite comfy during my first visit & consultation in April so i went back in Aug to sign.

Oh ya,i haven't source for my MUA yet!!!!
I heard of Liren Neo from my bestfriend few yrs back when she was preparing for her wedding.
Do share her chargin rates with me if you haveany info. TIA!!

Hi JL & eva,

Congrats!! also on we having the same AD

Anyway, another item strike off from my list....we just booked our BS at Di Gio yesterday....

wintumnsky

Reporting in as a dec-11 BTB!! =)

AD: 11-dec-11
Venue: Marina mandarin
PS: My Dream Wedding (to HK)
BS & PS: My Dream Wedding
VG: still sourcing

Hopefully my PG will be good though fr BS...
Anybody know any VG ard 1.5k?

zlp2307

Hi all, i'm new here.

I'm a Dec 2011 BTB too!

AD: 13/12/11
Venue: GPCH
BS & PS: My Bridal Room
PG & VG: Pending

Any reviews on 2 of Us Photography? Quite interested in taking their PG & VG.

hey girls, do you check the dates that you booked whether it is an auspicious date before booking? i have problem cos my mom says it is not an auspicious date. how how? troubled. but we (me, bf n his parents) are ok with it. troubled

pantieileen

i did. But i sort of pick a date that coincides with British, American and Australian school holidays, major elections in the region so family and cousins can attend during Xmas break. Generally there are many good dates in Dec according to my aunt who checked. I just bought the Tong book for $2.80 and all is done.

pantieileen

huh? cannot check for u like that lah. Need the 8characters of you, husband, your parents, your PIL and 8characters cannot anyhow give people

minicupcakes

I'm a 3 dec 2011 bride...booked dinner at shangri-la and photography with ave 8 already..but the bf's parents said 3 dec 2011 is a "xiong" day for us...how..
i don't believe in such thing..tt's why i'm v angry..thought of postponing to 18 Feb 2012, but i'm afraid the same problem might arise, because by then the tong shu for 2012 come out, it'll already be in sept 2011..by then it's too late to book the banquet..

haiz

wintumnsky

Hi minicupcakes, based on wad did they say it's a xiong de for u all? Tong shu?

Hmm.. If they v padang, postponing will not solve it since 2012 tong shu is not out yet.. Mayb consult a geomencer abt how to avoid or lessen d xiong part?

If not, use d tong shu to choose another date den check with hotel whether got extra charges if change dates..

wintumnsky

Hi minicupcakes, based on wad did they say it's a xiong de for u all? Tong shu?

Hmm.. If they v padang, postponing will not solve it since 2012 tong shu is not out yet.. Mayb consult a geomencer abt how to avoid or lessen d xiong part?

If not, use d tong shu to choose another date den check with hotel whether got extra charges if change dates..

minicupcakes

Thanks wintumnsky for the suggestion =)

Hmmm, they consulted someone whom they rely very much on to calculate on the dates. But this guy is not working as a geomancer for a living. Is just that they trust him a lot.

I thought of seeking for a professional geomancer (to shut them up), any idea where can i look for one? Understand that the Fu Lu Shou complex has a lot..and because i'm a Christian, i know nuts about all these, i have no idea how to go about doing it..

I was also telling my bf to ask the geomancer if there's anything we can do to lesson the xiong part..he say the guy don't know about this...-_-'...

Anyway, the latest date that the dad gave us is to have customary on 28 Nov 2011 and Dinner on 3 Dec 2011. To me, i feel that it's abit weird having to crash gate on a Monday morning?!

Hi minicupcakes,

first of all, congrats!!

my AD is also 3 Dec 2011. And when choosing dates also have lots of issue from both side parents....end up come to a conclusion that we chose 3 Dec, nothing in particular but coz it's the first sat of the mth plus dec scared a lot of pple go holidays...so better be early.

I guess u just have to do seriously discussion with ur partner and his and your parents....we took roughly a whole month of quarrels to get the date fixed....

minicupcakes

Hi anastasiazen!

Thank you! congrats to you too!

according to his parents, they say 3 dec is not a gd wedding day in general to everyone..argh! at least you decided the date more to the logical part which i am totally agreeable. but mine is all dependent on just ONE GEOMANCER who is not even anyhow related. there's so many couples out there getting married on 3 dec 2011 ma, and out of which, there bound to hv some couples who also believes in these auspicious date thingy right....

if only his parents is as rational as yours...='(

evanthlyn

Minicupcakes: I believe in the auspicious date and my parents too. Tong shu is used to check out the auspicious dates but it is just a general guide. Geomancer will use your bazi and your parents' ba zi to calculate the auspicious date. And using ba zi, will overwrite the tongshu as the bazi is the accurate and personalized one. My date is on 3rd dec

:)

pantieileen

@Minicupcakes : actually i flipped the Tong Shu it kinda says dec3 is good for wedding and i shortlisted that date as well. after my aunt check, she said this date is unsuitable for a few animals signs so you have to avoid people of this animal sign (i can't remember which) but one of the old foggies had this sign so we had to change the date. Can't be avoiding his parents or mine if the signs clashes

And yes Eva is correct, they calculate based on bazi. Tong Shu is just a guide. So all you need is to bring 6sets of Bazi to someone who can decipher the Tong Shu and that's enough. Takes only less than 1hr to calculate at least that's how long my aunt calculated.

Basically just go find someone who can read, give them an angbao of whatever amount you wise and that's it. If you can afford then go to a professional geomancer else not really necessary.

sept_09_bride

hi... we too calculated out dates as early as april this yr.. we also calculated base on 'bazhi' lor..

we went to Master Tong ( a master tat is v famous n highly recomended in this forum )... is nt really tat exp to get him to calculate for us.. he gave us a whole list of dates to choose.. as well as when to 'an chuan', 'guo da li', n time for hair combing ceremony, as well as time the groom shld come ov to fetch us..

minicupcakes

Hmmm, the bf's dad didn't ask for my parents ba zi leh.weird. they just went to calculate ours, i think. which means to say, the dates that the geomancer gave was also not reliable afterall right?

though the tong shu for 2012 is not out, can they calculate as far as feb 2012?

evanthlyn

minicupcakes: Like what eileen said, if you want the date to be accurate and good, geomancer will ask for 6 sets of bazi (you, hubby and 2 parents from each sides). Relying on tong shu only is not good enough.

a good geomancer can use the bazi to calculate the dates for 2012 already. Dont even need tongshu. Tongshu is too general. Even if the date is good in the tongshu, may not be good for each and every couple. Ba zi the best.

CH: I went to Master Tong too :)

wintumnsky

Hi minicupcakes, i went to Master JS Liew for my auspicious dates computation.. He used our Bazi to compute the dates n gave us up to Jan'12 dates.. so i think it is possible to compute 2012 dates...

imo, i feel dat tong shu is general too... using bazi consider all d elements using our exact date n timing... den using the elements dat we have, our geomancer choose those dates which we lack the element / need the element to balance our 2 bazis...

pantieileen

I'm probably ordering mine from Fullerton. 5tiers of real cake $75/kg. So they are estimating 1kg can feed 6pax so 350pax will need about 60kg which will make it about S$4400.
According to them, this price includes cutting and serving of the cake to every guests.

I'm guessing it'll probably be cheaper to order outside but then hotel will charge for cutting and serving and come up to be the same.

Safe budget = 5k sgd

johnandlayla

wow eileen thats expensive for me but the cake must be nice..

I found cake supplier already
my cake will be one medium size cake for cutting
and below it are cupcakes.
will have a taste test this week

think saves the time to cut the whole cake and serve to everybody
while we are cutting the cake most of the cupcakes are behind the kitchen and ready to serve to guest.

Now im looking for things for my souvenirs.

pantieileen

@JohnandLayla : it seems everything is expensive these days. Just paid for my deposit at Fullerton last friday everything else think can't be bothered

My 1st wedding anniversary was on Monday and the govt sent my bf away permanently and i ended up having to jet set weekly. So actually real cake or no cake also i don't care since its my MIL who's going to pay for it..

johnandlayla

@eileen fu yeah everything is going higher and higher, my wedding coordinator helps me get good finds and worth for money. she said the most important is photographer then video cos after all done thats the one will remind u of everything, food must be good for your guest, cake also cos most cake specially fondant ones dont taste good and so so so so expensive will be wasted if snob by guest

Tried my cake supplier and after taste test I choose red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting and vanilla cake with swiss meringue buttercream...tell you man they are so good.

Im looking for chair rental those wooden type that can be folded were having hard time looking for that one haiz...

pantieileen

@JohnandLayla : I'll be flying in my photographer from NYC but not sure about video yet. Actually cost my photographer isn't going to charge me for her time but i offer her accommodation for 2countries and 2pairs of air tickets and that's about all.

My wedding planner was telling us to think about theme for our wedding video but i'm not sure how we are going to do it since i'm the only one in Singapore and i still have to do renovations and furnishing for 2homes and still work at the same time. Maybe will skip the video part.. What theme did you have for your video?

I felt like just going to Lana cake and get my wedding cake there...at least i know the cake will taste good hahaha

What do you want wooden chair for? Garden wedding?

johnandlayla

@eileen fu: wow your flying your photographer from USA! that cost a bomb right?
me love my photographer and videographer, cost bit higher than normal but its totally best. im bringing them here also from philippines via my BS
Dont think you need theme for video if your video is good then he will know

let me know if you want their contact I can PM you.

yes wooden chair for garden wedding, do you know where to rent?

pantieileen

Wooden chair : Don't know but maybe can check with your wedding planner or some event planning services? I'm sure they do have contacts.

My cost for photographer is approx 4k usd for air tickets and hotel (considering exchange now good) so i'm guessing less than 6k sgd. I show you, i using her website http://www.noeyehasseen.com/index2.php

is 6k sgd ex or not? Coz i didn't bother to check sgd rates. Just went with our gut feel since we used her in NYC.

johnandlayla

helping them to look for chair since everywhere only have the plastic or something with cover.
looking for the wooden foldable kind.

my photography is think about S$2,500 for ROM, Prenup and AD
for videography its $3K for rom and ad
I like the style and I want to watch my wedding besides looking at the photo after everything is finish hahahaha