(2011/12) Dec 2011 BTB

ratachocho

hey CH

very kiasu hor.. hahaha.. everyone was shocked when they know I got my gown.. I got it from a bridal shop, make downpayment already. Now waiting for it to arrive in Feb, then my first fitting.. *I'm trying to go on a diet.. but it's not working.. so stressed!

sept_09_bride

wow.. ur gown flown in fm where?? me too trying hard to loose some weight.. been eating yoghurt almst everyday for brkfast.. bt like no much effect though..haha.. :p

so hw much u paid for ur gown??

me gng to taiwan for photoshoot end oct tis yr..

evanthlyn

Hi girls, newcomer here. Planned to have wedding in 2012 but seems that my house is going to be ready dec 2011. So prob having my wedding in Dec 2011.

Have not done any preparation yet. No BS no hotel so now it's time for me to do some research. Sigh. So many things to do I am lost.

Btw, wanted to have my wedding on a weekday but am afraid that it is very inconvenient. Will it be?

All the best to all BTBs :)

sept_09_bride

Hi Eve,

If you planning to hv ur wedding in Dec 2011.. tink u gona start planning le.. bt if u planning for a wkday banquet, tink nt tat diff to get a date for banquet bah.. bt for wkends, i tink alot of dates towards the last quarter of 2011 has been taken le..

many ppl says me kiasu, coz i book my banquet for nxt Dec in Apr tis yr.. so is like 20mths before my AD.. haha.. v kiasu rite.. wana get things set fast asp those whereby i nid to chop date ones.. haha..

so nw is like there's still 14mths away fm Dec 2011.. u really gona act fast woh..

for me, wkdays definately is abit inconvenient for us, coz we hv relatives fm msia as well.. tats y we had our wedding on a wkend lor.

evanthlyn

CH: house supposed to TOP in 2012 so I planned to have it in June 2012. However, the progress seems to be kinda fast and may TOP in dec 2011. Hence, the sudden change in plan. Sigh.

I guess most prob we will have it on weekday since no difference for us.

haha but it's great you got your settled already so dont have to worry much. Where are you holding your banquet?

pinkscrump

Hi all btbs,

i am deciding between these 2 hotels' ballroom to hold my AD. Which hotel do you think is better & why?

Regent on a friday night: min. 30 tables
Pac Pacific on a friday night: min. 45 tables

What do you guys think of the food & service there?

I would really appreciate all your valuable feedback.

maureenseng

hi hi, i also the join the ranks of kiasu brides, i paid deposit for bridal shop already =D feels like i strike off one thing from my list! for the rest who haven't, have fun shopping! i know i did =)))

for the rest who did, who did u sign up with? the first place i went was Silhouette, then i went to a few others but still love the gowns over there, so me and fiance decided to sign up with them =)

sept_09_bride

i sign up with a taiwan bridal shop n i will b flying to taiwan at end oct tis yr for photoshooting le.. hehe.. me mre kiasu..

then for AD, i sign up with Yvonne's Creative...

jlteo

I'm also having my AD on 3rd Dec 2011. So far, only booked my banquet at hyatt. Was thinking to do the remaining preparations only early next yr. Will it be too late?

sept_09_bride

wo.. seems like alot of ppl hving their AD on 3 Dec... for us, we alittle mre kiasu.. we gng for our pre-wedding photo taking this nov le.. hehe.. then hv ample time for them to do layout n thingy./. hehe. :p

ratachocho

hey CH,

Got my gown from Vera Wang.. heee.. burnt a hole in the pocket..

And we just confirmed on the wedding date.. 16 Dec..so excited.. although its still so far away..

ok la.. i am planning to have the shoot in May.. but to be confirmed..

muilaman

pinkscrump: I've attended a wedding at Panpac too and the food is great! Ballroom is a long one so you can have a long march-in. Only thing is the carpet that doesnt really match with the decor cos its "green/blue" in colour!! haa. as for regent, I've visited that hotel before too. I love their decor themes and i heard the food is not too bad too. Service wise is needless to say, their coordinators are very friendly. But the hotel has 2 pillars which makes the ballroom looks smaller. They seem to have up their pricing for 2011 which makes me feel bo hua esp. cos the location may not be that convenient for many who doesn't drive. Two cents worth. hehe. hope this helps you in your planning.

Eve: where's your new house? my hse is also initially TOP-ing in 2012 but looking at the progress, seems like it will be done by next yr too. my wedding has been fixed in early 2012 already.

muilaman

Eve: yah I'm in 2012 thread too. Heh. My new house will be at bedok reservoir. hee. So where will you be holding your banquet? Or have your shortlisted?

evanthlyn

Muilaman: at first wanted 2011 in grand park. But the remaining date left master tong said not good for us. So thinking 2012. But exceed our budget liao. Sian man. Where are u holding yours?

muilaman

Eve: i see. I am in the same situation as yours too. My geomancer said 2010 and 2011 are bad years for us to get married so 2012 is better. I will be having mine at Meritus Mandarin. At least better for us as well so that we can space out the house and wedding expenses. Else, it will be very xiong.

yuki84

Hihi.... i am a btb dec 2011 too.

ROM Date : 30 July 2011
AD Date : 10 Dec 2011
Venue : Hilton
BS : La Belle
PG : La Belle
VG : My brother is doing for me FREE!

I need to slim down..... I havent decide when to take PS

Hi jlteo,

my AD is also 3 Dec...me too only booked dinner venue...the rest haven....headache man!!

Who's goin to the BOWS Oct 2010 in 15-17 Oct?

katsigner

Hi Lee, my AD is on 10th Dec 2011 too!!!

Venue: Tung Lok Classic @Orchard Parade Hotel
BS: Jawn Happy Ever After
PS: Vividshot by Monica Eng
PG: Bryan Jean Photography & West Shooterz
VG: Ichiro Films
Wedding Stationery: self design & create (katsigner)
Venue set-up & florist: Flores Inc.

I've booked all the necessary vendor and people already... Now seems to be kinda of too free except to do some research for my wedding gowns & new nest...

Happy Planning!!!

yuki84

What is the diff between BS and PS?
BS - bridal studio
PS - photo shoot?

thought they are the same?

For VG right, how much did u spend? Does it include a video for the night?
Coz if i ask my bro to record for me, i do not wan to trouble him to rush the video out coz that day he still have to help me with some admin. But again, i not very persistent on a video at night LOL. Just wanna see see how much

katsigner

Hi Lee,

I booked my vendors on an ala carta basis.

My pre-wedding photo shoot (PS) photographer is to be booked separately from the bridal studio (BS) I engaged... I got Euzart Wong from Jawn Happy Ever After as my sole designer to design & make my gowns & cheongsam for my AD... My make-up artist (MUA) is to be booked separately as well which Euzart has booked Ophelia Tan from Pretty Box Makeup Studio for me...

The VG package I got is a basic $2500 for 6hrs coverage from Ichiro Films which includes day highlight, with 2 custom dvds & all DV tapes returned... For full day coverage of 10hrs, pricing is at $3500, which includes an additional wedding highlights on dvd...

Well, it'd be good to get friends and family for help...Personally, unless they're good in capturing the event live, I wouldn't mind... Otherwise, I wouldn't want the video to turn up to be something I'd be upset about when I saw it... That'd be something I might regret later although it's really their kind intention to help... It's only that one AD and after that, it'll be gone and I can't repeat the whole event... That's why we're willing to spend to get someone who is professional to capture our very best on our day...

yuki84

Wahaha... my brother is a professional.
I just dun wan to rush him for the video for the banquet.

Ok, got to think about whether i wan to engage another VG or use my bro's "service" LOL

pinkscrump

hi Muilaman,

thanks for you feedback = )

I have already decided on Regent, and i paid for my deposit yesterday..more like, i asked my bf to pay for the deposit.

dun think i am feeling excited about planning for the wedding...maybe its just the weather ba...

I think for now, i am kind of sick of planning for my wedding, as i didnt know that looking for a venue was sooo tiring.

but my gfs are ALL very excited about wedding gowns, and i think they are EVEN MORE EXCITED than me = (

yuki84

hi pinkscrump,

just relax and rest a while before doing the other preparation. Esp since now u have at least settle one of the big thing.

My bf and i also quarrel quite often when we are sourcing for the hotel and BS. Was really so sian until i wanted to call off the whole thing. But now that both is settled, i cant wait for the actual event to come.

Ultimately it is UR BIG DAY and a day where everyone come to witness the love between the 2 of u. Hehe...

So just relax and enjoy the rest of the process =)
I think the reason that we feel so sian is because we put too much emphasis on it.

muilaman

hey pinkscrump, like what leefamily said, better rest a while from all the wedding prep first b4 starting again. Initially I also felt the same way as u girls and don't know what has gotten into me as I seem to pick things to quarrel with my bf too on wedding prep stuff. But after postponing my wedding to 2012, that's when I had the time to think and i realised i was throwing my temper alot. So i started to tone down and be nicer to my bf. haha. Now I am just excited and looking forward to the big day.

sept_09_bride

for me n my hb.. we are getting on fine with the planning part.. address him as my hb coz we rom last yr le.. n customary only nxt Dec.. must plan early... so tat u hv sufficient time n $$ to do alot of things...

we are ok with our wedding prep so far.. we din quarrel during our prep thingy till nw.. so far, we hv settled our banquet, BS.. we had 2 BS.. 1 for our pre-wedding photo shoot in taiwan, another is for our AD... we also settle our photographer n videographer le..so far, all these are ok..

nw left those small items to settle lor..small things will leave to nxt yr lor.. we nw loking forward to this nov..czo we will b flying to taiwan for our phototaking le..

shanawawa

that's exciting, CH

Which TW bridal u took? i took with Lishe ;)

I will have to say TW service is superb! surely not as ngiao as in SG.

muilaman

CH: nice. I will be going to TW for photoshoot next year April too. Hehe, maybe we can share share ideas on the locations to go in TW for the photoshoot. Which BS you signed up with? I am with JWN.

jlteo

Hi Cupcakes & Cream,

I having my dinner at HYATT on 3rd dec 2011, so far i would say the coordinator is real good and prompt so far and i must say their price is really quite reasonable. Heard from my coordinator that there will be a new ballroom available in Nov this year. It's real nice but too bad the max it can accomodate is only 25.

When is your AD? My FH and I are now sourcing for BS might be going JB, heard from friends is cheap. Anyway, any ideas what should we look out for when sourcing for BS and any freebies that we can get? Lol

sept_09_bride

Hi Jiali,

u interested in getting yvonne creative?? i hv a v good package from yvonne creative... my package is 3088, ive given 1088 deposit... bt im letting go only at 888.. meaning u only pay 2888 for my v v extensive package...

my package consist of 32 pcs, either WG or EG MTM.. if both gowns dun wan MTM, can exchange for 4 poses... then there's 100pcs of thank you card, n if you dun wan thank you cards, u can exchange for 2 poses...

if u prefer photos, u exchange those items above for photos... means, u pay only $2888 for 32+4+2 = 38 poses.. v v good deal..

im letting go coz im gng taiwan for photo taking n my sis gave me another package for AD already.. therefore, my YC package, is additional 1.. therefore, thinking of letting go...

u interested to knw mre.. email me at [email protected]

cupcakescream

Hi Jiali,

What's the name of your coordinator? I've been in touch with a few of them but they all take a few days to get back to me when I email them my questions...
I've been corresponding with Marriott too and they seem to be a lot more prompt with their replies. My FH works with Hyatt quite a bit so that was why we were considering Hyatt.

My AD is on 17 Dec 2011. My friends used to be designers in Silhouette so one of them have agreed to help me with the designing.

When sourcing for BS, I think you need to know what you want as different BS are known for different things. Some are known for embroidery, some are known for lacework, some known for their couture look and not all brides can carry that off so its really finding a BS that has gowns that suit your personality and you feeling comfortable with your designer coz you will be working very closely with him/her for quite a bit of time.

jlteo

Hi Cupcakes&Cream,

My coordinator is Clara, maybe you can look for her
. I was quite keen in going to JB but they dun provide MUA on AD which makes me abit worried. Also, car deco is either we drive ourr car to JB or they pass us all the deco then we tie over the car, but of cos all arranged nicely already. Most prob will visit the wedding show in Oct, think we still have quite a bit of time to look around. Dun like to rush and end up not getting the things i want

cupcakescream

Hi JL,

You can call me cupcakes. Yah Clara replied to me today. My email got lost in her mail and she only found it after a week. I wrote back with some new questions. Hopefully she won't take another week to reply...

I know what you mean by not rushing... My fiance and I decided to ROM during our hols back in Singapore in Jan last week so I've got about 3 months to plan the Singapore Wedding. Kinda rushing now but thank God for friends! My dress, hair, makeup, photography, cake etc will be done by them... :D

pantieileen

Hi, I'm new here.

Date : 16Dec
Venue: Shangri La, Fullerton or Conrad (TBA)
BS: Martini G (MTM gown &amp; cheongsam total <3ksgd) yet to make kebaya
Wedding Planner : Truly Harmony
Pre-wedding photoshoot : New York City done by freelance photographer (USD600 for 300photos digital only), Tokyo (yet to find photograher)

miss_rabbit

Hey girls..

I am also a Dec 2011 BTB.. =)

My AD is on 24/12/11 and the wedding dinner will be held 17/12/11.

Any venue to recommend for dinner about 15 tables?

evanthlyn

Eileen: I am :) just settled banquet. Now searching for bs. Too spilt for choice

Wanyi: I am holding in meritus mandarin orchard. Small ballroom ard 15-20 tables

pantieileen

Eva : See that you are almost set. I'm still stuck between Shangri La vs Fullerton. Had so much problems planning my tokyo photoshoot, probably i'll just give it up...
By the way, could you share what does bridal shop (BS) offer? Sorry this sounds stupid but I've never been to one before and i don't want to get hounded by them since i've already made my dress.

miss_rabbit

Eva: Thanks for your reply, hmm.. may i know how much is it per table? Cos i have some tight budget.

My hubby is a Malaysian, so we will be having dinner both sides. So there will alot of plannings to be done. *faint* Seems like most of you had already done alot of things, making me abit worried already...

jlteo

Hi Katie,

Wow u have already plan everything. So far I have only booked my venue.

Am I on the right timeline??? Have been walking around some BS but feel abit to soon to confirm the package. Any idea what should we look out for when signing the package?

evanthlyn

eileen: haha i have not been to one either. Just read reviews online and filter out some. Going down to some BS tmr and then going to BOWS later this month. I hate BS which hardsell! Where did you make your dress?

Wan Yi: it's around 1200. You can try Traders hotel they have smaller ballrooms too. And less than 1K if I am nt wrong. Wow dinner on both sides. Planning must be tedious?

JL: so far I have only booked venue too. BS too difficult to choose

pantieileen

Eva : What is BOWS? Why are there so many things i do not understand? Hmmmmm...am i missing out on something?

Oh on my dress, i made it at Martini G (The Wedding Mansion), it's at Emerald Hill. Found this lady from Facebook couple of years ago...technology very powerful these days! Bought a cheongsam from her long long time ago for a party and found the workmanship very good. Then subsequently i got my NYC photoshoot dress from her too. Guess the price is similar to places like Whitelink when you go rent. Ok i know WhiteLink as the only bridal place coz it's next to my office bldg. Personally i was quite shocked when i go look at their dresses for rental. How do i explain, inside of every dress had many rubber bands (those white color kind you find in your PE shorts in school). The lady explain that the rental dress are very popular and had to fit girls of all shapes and sizes so use rubber band more flexible. So finally went to buy from Martini G instead. Brand new!

evanthlyn

eileen: is martini G ex? can I have the contacts of that lady? thank you girl!

BOWS is like a wedding show with different merchants. You can have a look at this website. http://bows.sg

Different bridal shops will be there and some photographers and videographers as well :) Can look under BOWS merchants to see who is taking part

pantieileen

oh btw, i'm using this lady as my wedding photographer, i mean actual day. Used her for my NYC photoshoot so we decided and she agreed to fly down to Singapore for us.

Since she's isn't a local so i guess i'm not advertising for her, nor was she introduced by anyone, i simply googled and found her, i could share her blog?

http://noeyehasseen.com/blog/

pantieileen

Eva : I don't know what is the market rate for bridal shop's gown but i paid <3k for dress and cheongsam. Actually i've been eyeing the cheongsam for months but didn't want to buy a maroon red one coz besides CNY, no event to wear so i got her to make a cream/pink version for me for my wedding...super duper happy!!! White can wear to parties and still look hip not obiang like waitress...but my gfs say white will look like ghosts so i added some pink

Ada Teng 6392 3495 i think she was featured in some tv program before.

Oh before i decided on my wedding dress design. I bought $70 worth of magazines from Borders then i tear out the designs i want and paste them into a black book (those like art students use) and then sat down and talk to her. She'll discuss with you afterwards, give her time for inspiration then she'll show u her drawings at a later appointment (1-2weeks). Take quite fast to make...1-2months?

bibao

I also 2011 Nov/Dec bride. Still haven founbd venue yet. Still sourching around. Also have some quarrels woth my hubby... Sigh... But now better a bit liao...

Wonder anyone know the perks from Amara Sanctuary Wedding show on the 25th Sept?