(2011/12) Dec 2011 BTB

katsigner

That's a good start Anastasiazen!!!

What I did is to visit their websites to know more and email them for quotes... If you want to know how a good gown should feels like, try Amanda Lee at Orchard Delfi... She makes very nice and light gowns... I tried 4 of hers!!! However, I'm a little disappointed in her evening gowns range which apparently it's not her strength...

Another thing to keep in mind, you should also factor in how your evening gown should look like... I realise that at the initial stage, I spent a lot of time finding my ideal wedding gown and have no idea how my evening gown should look like... You should start thinking and searching for both, not just your wedding gown...

You should also justify the quality base on the price quote.. There're some studio which quoted you ard 3k plus but a lot items are at hidden cost, so have to ask and check... Even those that you think it's reasonable and easy on your pocket, don't compromise over the quality & design of gowns... It doesn't makes any sense to pay a little less to get a sub-standard gown... I've met some designer gowns that charge alot with really bad workmanship, so you have to take note...

Well, happy planning... Anything just ask, I'm most willing to help...

Cheers!!!

Thanks Katie...

-------------------------------

Dear gals,

I have a problem here.

My best friend have just texted me over the weekend that her bf just proposed to her and they gonna get wed next year...(which of coz im very happy for her)...

But the prob is my parents is quite superstitious and told me that I can't attend her wedding and neither can she....coz they say both of us are doing "XI" shi (auspicious occasion) and scared that we will 'chong' (clash) each other. And they say I should avoid attending wedding within the whole year.

I'm not particular about this and of course we have been wanting to be each other's jie mei. But I don't want to go against my parents too.

Any advice? (though I know is a deadlock). And I have yet to inform her yet. Thought want to let her know face to face.

Dilemma!!

amanpp

anastasiazen, to what I know of is.. usually 3 months before and 3 months after of your wedding date, you are not suppose to attend any white or red occasions of your fren/relatives.. to avoid 'chong' for both parties.. I dun think is a year..

Thanks pp for ur reply.

I guess I just have to face it. Each family have their own "rules and regulation". There's nothing I can do. Just cross my fingers no misunderstand or whatsoever.

amanpp

No worries.. =)

Yup yup.. Basically all these are to suit the family.. I saw u booked Amara Sanctuary Resort, Sentosa for your big day.. I guess per table should be expensive right?

Hi pp,

sorry for the late reply.

Actually the per table price depends on the menu u choose. They have different pricing for different menu. However, their per table price is nett. And we went thru what is given, quite a few stuff are included in the package, e.g the rental of the projector and some misc stuff, where other hotels charge separately.

And most importantly, both of us felt we like the place...

jaslynkpl

I am currently deciding between Mandarin Oriental luncheon and Grand Park City Hall (luncheon/dinner). Prices vary alot! MO luncheon is $828++ while Grand Park dinner is MO's luncheon cost.

I know that MO food is really nice but i am not so sure about GPCH. Need some advice. Care to share? Thanks!

sept_09_bride

Hi Jaslyn, ur AD also in Dec 2011?? tink u shld ask urself this 1st.. u prefer ur wedding banquet to b lunch or dinner??

if u hv no much preference betw lunch n dinner, then go for the 1 u prefer lor..

if u prefer a dinner, then settle for GPCH lor.. ive been to GPCH for wedding dinner.. the food is good too..

I just heard from my fren that she attended a wedding dinner at MO and that the display of the food is really unique and nice...but that of course comes with a price tag....

sept_09_bride

Cupcakes & Cream >> relax.. nw till nxt dec still got 17mths mre.. relax.. n get those tings that nid to chop dates done 1st..eg, book banquet 1st.. thats the 1st n fro most ting u nid to settle 1st.. then follow by informing ur bridal shop ur AD.. so that u they can arrange a date for u to select gowns, n arrange date to take ur wedding pics.. then follow by ur AD videographer n photographer.. the others, can slowly wait..

actually, tats wat ive done so far.. hehe.. then wait till early Nov then go taiwan take my wedding pics.. then the others, will wait till early nxt yr then do again..

hope these helps..
cheers..

cupcakescream

Hi CH,

Yeah I'm taking it quite easy coz I think it so far away that's why looking at Katie's post, I was like super blown away. I've got lots of talented good friends and I was just planning to get them to chip in with the wedding preps.

My FH has decided on the wedding location in Melbourne already so that makes it really easy for me. So when we go back at the end of the year, we just have to decide on a location for the tea ceremony for the extended family members that could not fly down to Melbourne.

What's the market rate for banquets nowadays anyways? We are paying $150 per head here. Reading around the forums I just think the whole wedding thingy is so expensive... I was suggesting a BBQ & beer party in the backyard to cut cost and and I told I was crazy...

katsigner

Hi Cupcakes&Cream,

Haha... Relax... Don't have to be blown away... I'm planning early is 'cos I didn't engage a wedding planner as I'm doing everything all by myself... In actual fact, most good wedding planners are booked as early as 2 years in advance for the entire prep... Especially for standalone photographers, videographers & make-up artists, they can only take one wedding a day, so if yours fall on a Saturday, the earlier you should book them as there's only 52 Saturdays a year... I only start planning mine this March...

Depending on what you're looking at for your wedding, most local weddings can actually be done w/o much prep if you're not particularly fussy on who to get and what to have for your wedding, which requires a lot of planning and conceptualisation... I worked backwards by finalising a theme I'm using prior to booking the venue, bridal designers, florists etc... With a theme in mind, it's easier for me to follow accordingly to my theme while sourcing for the right vendors...

I've the tendency to start by surfing the internet and bridal magazines for wedding concepts & ideas.. I spent about 1mth in collecting all necessary information I need including conceptualising my wedding theme... Once a theme is set, that's where I started hunting the venues, designers, photographers, videographers & florists and get their pricing, mostly via email... I only made appointments with those that I shortlisted to further understand the kind of service they offer... I finalised them based on promptness, service, frankness and most importantly my hubby & I have to feel very comfortable in engaging them...

On top of that, besides gathering the pricing, I did budgeting for my wedding as well to have an overview on how much I'm going to spend for my wedding... I find this particularly important at this initial stage as this will prep you in advance financially... So the earlier you start, the better your wedding prep... Since you've a lot of talented good friends and if they're most willing to help, why not start calling them and have a discussion...

I should say a wedding is only expensive when you want to invite a huge number of guests in a 5-star hotel with a sit down 8 course wedding banquet... Such places usually quote ~$120+++ per head/$1200+++ per table of ten and require a minimum booking of 30 tables... Imagine for 300 guests, you'll have to pay coming to $50k just for the banquet alone... For this reason, my hubby & I don't intend to have such a huge wedding and we keep it as small as possible... Given a choice, I'd like to restrict my guest list to 100 the max, but as a Chinese and the demands of our families, we just have to go through our wedding with a wedding banquet... As you could see in my prep, we didn't actually go for hotel but rather a restaurant that tie-in with the hotel for using their ballroom for our event... These places usually accept small wedding of 20-25tables at a much lower cost, ~$700-$800/table...

Your idea of having a BBQ & a beer party is not a bad one... Remember, it's your wedding, not any other people... As long as you're happy with it, just do whatever you want as long both of your families are ok with it... I feel that a semi-formal causal short wedding bustier dress suits this concept... Perhaps with some balloons as decor in your backyard... You might want to get a caterer who is good in selection of BBQ food for wedding... But again, these are suggestions and you can always discuss what you think it's nice with your planners/florists...

Hope this can help you to kick start your planning... Happy planning!!! Cheers!!

cupcakescream

Hi Katie,

Thanks for all the suggestions... my FH is the fussy one that wants the big ballroom with the grand piano in the outdoor garden and the string quartet playing Canon in D while I walk down the red carpet blah... blah... so I'm kinda leaving the main decisions to him (as long as he's paying) hahaha.

I've got close friends that are bridal designers, photographers, make-up artist, florist, chefs, musicians, dance teachers, wedding banquet managers and planners so I'm really going to tap into them once we make the official announcement to the families.

I'm keeping fingers cross that they will all chip in and help out.

katsigner

Hi Cupcakes&Cream,

Not a problem...

Oh, perhaps you want to try Mandarin Orchard Hotel... I just went to my friend's wedding last Saturday... It's a huge pillarless ballroom... I do like the new look after the hotel renovation... Another ballroom which I find it's grand looking is at Shangri La...

Well, it's great to hear that you've friends who are already professionals in wedding planning, so in actual fact you don't have to worry that much... Just relax and let your talent friends do the work for you..

Happy Planning... Cheers!!!

bbpanda

Confirm my booking with janice from Grand Park Cityhall. Actual Date: 15 Dec 2011.
Janice is really friendly and a nice lady.
Hope to see the reno ballroom soon. Hee
Double J & Leticia, mayb we can go down see tgr. =)

candycandy001

Dear Cupcakes&Cream,

How many tables do you have? I have mine with Marriott hotel (small scale), if you have more e.g. 30tables then mayb can considere Holiday Inn Atrium (HIA)? I have 2 friends hold there b4, nice food and good atmosphere ( + free flow of beer somemore!)

cupcakescream

Hi Katie and Candy,

We're having our wedding in Melbourne and FH has decided on the location already. We're having a garden wedding up on the Dendenong Mountains.

We're just planning to have a Tea Ceremony in Singapore for the family who will not be able to fly down. Does anyone have suggestions on where to host a simple high tea or lunch for about 80 people which will allow us to do a ceremony at the same time?

Katie, you seem like a lobang queen. Would you have come across any place that would be able to accommodate our requirements?

cupcakescream

Hi Candy,

I saw from another thread that you are having about 8 tables at Marriott. Could you share with me more details about your banquet please? Thanks!

candycandy001

Cupcakes&Cream (cupcakescream) > Yup, 8tables with Marriott lunch (the room is min 5 tables, max 8). They also offer place (another smaller function room for tea ceremony). Can I have your email? or you drop me an email at [email protected]

katsigner

Hi Cupcakes&Cream,

Well, for ~80pax, you can try going for restaurants... There're actually a few nice & posh looking restaurants around where you can book the entire place... Some require a minimum booking of ~100pax in order to take your event, some require you to pay a certain booking fee on-top of your food...

There's one very nice restaurant within an oriental boutique hotel which I'd love to hold my wedding there, but they can only cater to 100pax the max... I heard food is not bad and per pax is ~$60pax, serving chinese food... It's at New Majestic Hotel, www.newmajestichotel.com. You can email them for enquires...

If you want to synchronize your garden theme, I strongly recommend Halia Villa at the Botanical Gardens that serves very nice fusion food and I really love the environment, www.halia.com.sg or The Green Room Cafe at Bishan Park (if you like greens as they serve only organic vegetarian food), www.greenroomcafe.com.sg.

For nice western food and classic ambiance, you can try PS cafe at Harding Rd (at Dempsey area),www.pscafe.sg/. Their price range ~$100-160/pax depending what kind of menu you're choosing...Nice BBQ food with live jazz band (more applicable for night), you can try Bar Stop at Devonshire Road, http://www.imaginings.com.sg/. They've nice housewine selection.
For fine italian food, you can try Forlino at One Fullerton, www.forlino.com/

These are places that cater to such small events but some of them can be expensive due to the kind of food served, so you've to check with them in terms of menu selection. There're actually more but I can't recall and list them all out for you... Haha...

Should you need more contacts, I'll try fishing them out. Well, these are the more popular ones and really nice places I love for weddings, that's why it leaves me a deeper impression.

Hope these helps!!! Enjoy...

cupcakescream

Hi Katie,

Thanks for all the good lobangs!
My FH loves Raffles Hotel and was thinking of having it there. Do you know much about Raffles Hotel and what they offer?

katsigner

Hi Cupcakes&Cream,

You're welcome...

I don't know much about Raffles Hotel, why not you email them for more information and see what they can offer for your event...

Hi cupcakes,

I have emailed RH before....and their prices go according to the no. of tables you want.

You can email them to ask for the package. Their response is quite fast!!

cupcakescream

Yeah i've emailed them to arrange for a meeting at the end of the year. My FH might have a job posting there for a week soon. I'll probably go back with him and meet up with the banquet manager while he trains the staff there

queenzephyr

Dec'11 btb too!

AD Date : 03 Dec 2011
Venue : The Regent
BS : Romantic Life(Taiwan) and Dawn's Wedding (JB)
PG : Lightbox Productions
VG : iStudio

queenzephyr

Thanks CH!

Hi anastasiazen, such coincidence! How's ur preparations? I admit I'm kiasu. :p our date is hot. Quite a no. of my shorlisted venues been booked before I book mine.

Hi queenzephyr,

you are really fast!!

so far we have only booked the dinner venue and church.

About to go down to check out the bridal studio....kind of decided and will book....and also for the PG

just to check...

do we need to source for separate MU artiste for AD or we can use our BS's MU artiste?

TIA...

sept_09_bride

dun wori, it wouldnt b outdated.. anyway, take this yr or nxt yr, also gota take 1.. for us, we will b gng to Taiwan in end of this Oct to take our pics.. ehhe.. at least give the bridal shop ample time to slowly do the layout of the album nicely.. hehe.. :p

queenzephyr

It's better to have photoshoot early so you got ample time to vet the layouts and make changes if there's any you are not satisfied with.

maureenseng

hi all, we've just gotten our date... 3rd Dec 2011, which is similar to queenzephyr and anastasiazen! now i'm a bit worried as we haven't book venue yet, seems like its a popular date! =/

ratachocho

Another Dec 2011 btb..

The exact date not been set yet but we're tentatively looking at mid dec, although kiasu me had already gotten my gown last Sunday.. -_-"

Venue/Photographers to be confirm soon *I hope* .. as we are still in the midst of neg with them.