(2011/12) Dec 2011 BTB

sept_09_bride

Hi any Dec 2011 bride?? share share ur wedding prep here lah...

which bridal shop, hotel/ restaurant you found for your wedding.. and lets count dwn together..

doublej

Hmm.. Let me start the ball rolling..

AD Date : 31 Dec 2011
Venue : Grand Park City Hall
BS : SG Bridal House
PG : TBA
VG : iStudio

sept_09_bride

Hi Double J..

seems like we are the only ones for Dec 2011 wedding so far.. think mayb still early to plan for nxt yr Dec thingy.. tats y here v quiet lor..

me too actually did short list Grand Park City Hall too.. and also did select 31 Dec 2011 too.. wat a coincidence.. bt end up opt out fm both, coz future MIL thinks 31 Dec 2011 too near sch reopen liao..so for sch gng children, no so nice.. and Grand Park City Hall cannot accomodate my guest size..

AD Date : 2 Dec 2011
Venue : Amara Hotel
BS : Cannes Bridal (Taiwan pre-wedding photoshoots) Yvonne Creative (AD BS)
VG : TBA

me too is Dec 2011 BTB.

AD Date: 3 Dec 2011
Venue: Amara Sanctuary Resort, Sentosa

So far only settled with banquet, as the rest no need to rush. Hehe.

For the BS, do you go studio by studio to try out the gowns before deciding or go to wedding shows?

Coz i find wedding shows the BS very aggressive. Very scary.

sept_09_bride

i nv go wedding show.. juz happen tat we pass by suntec on my hubby bday in jan this yr.. then he saw this taiwan pre-wedding package and he's v interested in it.. usually he dun like to sit dwn and listen to those BS talks at roadshow lor.. bt this 1, surprisingly, he pull me to sit dwn and listen.. then after bargaining for an hr, we sign with them lor..

then the local 1 is i saw this YC webby and love their gowns, so end up, sign with them lor..

me too feel tat we can relax on the BS alittle for the time being, so long as our banquet settle liao, then ok..coz more ppl will cheong for hotels and snatch for dates esp if the hotel is hving mre perks or promo lor..

singyan

AD Date : 10 Dec 2011
Venue : Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
BS : SG Bridal House (Not confirmed yet)

michi

Hi SingYan, u intend to sign up with SG Bridal House? I've just signed with them last sat, pleased with their service, highly recommended! Do let me know, if u need any info

sept_09_bride

Hi Elaine>> welcome to Dec 2011 BTB...

any budget for ur Venue?? im with Amara, is a nice cosy plc.. their package is very reasonable.. and depending on the no of tables u taking, they are hving different perks for diff no of tables.. bt their perks are really good..

so far our AD dates as follows :

CH : 2 Dec 2011
Anastasiazen : 3 Dec 2011
Sing Yan : 10 Dec 2011
Elaine : 12 Dec 2011
Double J : 31 Dec 2011

Non of us choosen the same date yet.. hehe..

Happy plannings gals..

shanawawa

Hi babes,

Mine will be in June 2011 =)
CH: I am going for photoshoot in Taiwan this coming June. can i ask.. so for actual day, you will go for another photo package?

Actually last year I was sorta planning and I also felt it's abit too early to plan. Now time is just passing so quickly so I'm sure all of you will feel more at ease if start planning now

So far, I only book my photoshoot package in Taiwan and book my church venue. dinner banquet still headache. I want a small dinner.. less than 12 maybe. are all of you planning for 30+ tables and beyond?

missvonnie

can i check with u guys...

do u have any suggestion of place to check on wedding dates? as i went alot of place, all said tong shu not out yet cannot calculate... then what u all used to calculate?

I need to confirm my dates asap...

anyone can help?

Thanks so much...

doublej

v0n> i got Master David Tong to 'calculate' the dates.. =)
his service is excellent. and his pricing is very reasonable too..

missvonnie

Hi doubleJ,

Thanks for yr advice... but other than him... any other place or pple who can calculate oso & u tink is gd?

cyndishi

Hi guys, i'm a dec 2011 bride too!

AD Date : 10 Dec 2011
Wedding dinner: Grand Park City Hall
Church: St Andrew's Cathedral
BS : Thomson Wedding D'sign
PG : Envisage Photography

Wooohoooo!!!

sept_09_bride

Hi Shanawawa>> yah, for my AD, ive signed with YC for AD package only..actually, ive already signed with YC for full package, then my hubby suddenly chance upon taking pics in taiwan, then he signed tat lor, and we also think is something diff fm taking in spore lor.. hehe so we took tat up and change our YC full package to AD package only lor.. luckily YC willing to change for us lor..

Hi Von>> me also got master Tong to calculate for us too.. as we also rushing to 'book' with Amara lor.. we booked with amara in early April, coz they hving v good package with good perks, therefore, we dun wana miss it or b disappointed if our wanted dates are taken up by others lor.therefore, i went to master tong lor.. u look at the thread under " Advise fm expert" column lor..he can get the dates for u v fast.. we gave him our infos, then within 3 days, he gave us a list of dates that are suitable for us liao..

homama

dear btbs,

i have a comprehensive bridal package to let go due to last min intention to go for overseas PS instead of local PS... other than MTM gown include, there's also a MTM pants for groom to bring home afterwhich... most impt RESHOOT IF UNSATISFY!

i'm open for any reasonably offer from any keen buyer who wish to save more on their wedding planning or on tight budget... pay less yet enjoy the full package...

email me at [email protected] if you would like to know more details!

cheers~

shanawawa

Hi CH!

What is YC ah?? sorry very blur with all the short forms here.

I'm so overwhelmed with the bridals.. so many to choose from!

I also got Master Tong to calculates dates.. he's really nice and professional

doublej

shanawawa, ur AD is also in dec 2011?
Seen from the previous post that you havent got ur banquet venue yet.. i guess u got to do it quick, so most hotels are almost snatch up by kiasu brides like me.. =)

what date did u choose?

missvonnie

wah... seems like alot of pple find master tong to calculate dates...
seems like not bad ah...
anyway i happen to know one more (goodweddingdate.com) which i find it not bad oso... no need to wait for next yr tong shu to be out oso can be calculate... as i tink they are not looking at tong shu de...
maybe i will try to use that... & is a online service...

minestrone

hello leticia

may i know how much you have to pay for st andrews cathedral church rental? i am quite keen to have it there..

cyndishi

hi nat,

it's about 1.4K. u've to be a member of the church and also attend the marriage prep course.

r u also a church member? ;)

cyndishi

hi double j,

i signed up b4 the wedding show thus entitled to the 10% discount off total bill. weee~~

what bt you? seems like a lot of people here are from GPCH too! not bad not bad~ thought the hotel was quite ulu in e first place.. :p

doublej

Leticia > I signed up b4 the wedding show too.. =) Hence, I got 10% discount too.. Who is your coordinator??

bbpanda

Hi Double J & Leticia,

I also tot of getting Grand Park City Hall. =)
Who is yours coordinator?
Any extra peak should i ask from the coordinator?

Anyway my wedding date will be on 15 Dec 2011.

cyndishi

My coordinator is Janice. What bt you?

The stuffs they included is considered not too bad already. I didn't ask for any more peaks except more complimentary parking coupons..

I'm quite satisfied with their service so far.

doublej

Elaine & Leticia > My coordinator is Christopher.
I didnt ask for more perks too. Like wat Leticia had mentioned, GPCH's perks are very comprehensive.. Nothing much u can ask for.. I also ask for increase in parking coupons..

bbpanda

Hi Leticia & Double J,

I went to view the ballroom last friday and it was janice that i met up with. Understand from her that the ballroom will be unrenoveration this September. I was thinking shld i book after the reno is done so that i can view the ballroom. Pondering. But the price is really comprehensive.

doublej

Wah.. u still wanna wait ar.. HAHAHA..

coz, i think by the time september comes.. Dec 2011's weekend will be so full.. =(

cyndishi

Ya Elaine, it's quite a good offer.

Like what DoubleJ mentioned, just worried that u might not get an available date in Dec by September this year.

Why not go for it? U like the ballroom so far? Anyway, it's the only ballroom avail. It's all yours on that special day of yours.. Very private!

bbpanda

Double J & Leticia,

Haa...i will be viewing M hotel tml, after which i believe i can decide already.

Hmm...i like the ballroom becuz its pillarless n high celling, but i dun like the chinese word and lighting, but understand from janice all this will be change after reno. hee

doublej

Elaine> Oh.. M Hotel is NICE too.. The bridal suite also very nice.. I actually tot of having it at M Hotel, but.. the location is not as good as GPCH.. So, thats why, i chose GPCH in the end.. =)

minestrone

hi leticia

nope.. i go to other churches. but i love the architect
how do they prove that you are a member of the church ?

katsigner

Hi Dec 2011 BTBs,

I'm new here... Very excited for my whole wedding planning... I started planning & conceptualisation of my wedding early in March this year and the plan thus far:

Wedding Date: 10th Dec 2011, Saturday
Theme: Opulent Orient
Colours: Fuchsia red, black & white with tinge of pink and brown
Wedding Stationery: Self-designed & Handmade
Wedding Cake: My Fat Lady
Wine Selection: Straits Cellar (TBA)
Flower of Theme: Fuchsia red Peonies
Venue: Tung Lok Classic @Orchard Parade Hotel
Venue Set-up: Simply Flowers/Flores Inc. (TBA)
Bridal Gowns: Euzart Wong @Jawn Happy Ever After
Hair & Make-up Artist: Jyue Huey/Ophelia (TBA)
Pre-wedding Photography: Monica Eng by Vividshot
Actual Day Photography: Bryan Jean Photography (principle) & West Shooterz (group)
Videography: Ichiro Films by Christopher Tay

A word of advice after attending lots of weddings: Your wedding can be very well-planned & grand and you can look drop dead gorgeous on your big day... But w/o a good photographer to capture those essence and moments, it's as good as wasting all your time, effort & money for your wedding... For that very day is solely your event, you can't repeat the entire event if the photos don't turn out well... I've friends who complain on how ugly their wedding photos are and till now they're still crying over it...

Happy Planning!!!

Cheers!!! =)

pinkscrump

i am also thinking of holding my dinner in dec 2011, but we have not look at the dates yet...so no dates=no hotel?

fortune tellers that i went to ask, told me not to ask them so early...but but but,you ladies have done all your preparation = (

what should i do now?

i am planning to ROM this dec, and the wedding dinner next dec.

sept_09_bride

Hi Katie>> welcome.. wow, seems like u hv done quite alot on ur wedding preps.. for me, my AD is on 2 Dec 2011.. ive also done or rather cmf quite a bit on my wedding thingy..

banquet : Amara Hotel
Bridal Shop : Yvonne Creatives (AD)
Cannes Bridal (Taiwan for photoshoot)
Videographer : Kevin
Photographer : Sam Wong

Pinkscrump>> if u r looking at nxt Dec for AD, think u gona find some1 to help u choose date then chop a hotel liao.. i got Master Tong fm this forum, under advise fm experts thread to help us choose a date. many couples in this forum also got him to help them choose a date.

same as u, many fortune tellers will tell us to wait till jul this yr, wait till the tong shu to b out then can choose date, bt according to Master Tong, he choose for us using ba zhi lor.. so he can get the dates faster.. coz some hotels dun wait for us lor.. if we wait longer, most popular hotels, or hotels hving promo, will b all taken up liao..

pinkscrump

hi CH: ohhh...i see what i need to do now...but i have not even settle on my date & venue for my ROM (hoping to rom in dec 2010)..which is why i am kind of still slow. = (

thank you very much for your advise = )

katsigner

Hi CH & Pinkscrump,

Yes!!! I feel it's very important to have an idea on how your wedding should be, which I always tell my friends that a wedding w/o a theme can be very hard to coordinate and has a tendency to lose focus... With a theme in mind, you'll only look out on what you want and everything will fall in place...

Pinkscrimp,
I'd suggest you arrange your ROM date after Dec... One advantage is you won't be in a rush and you'll have more time... December is a very hot month for couples to get married... Together with the x'mas and new year season, the atmosphere might be a little cramp and sourcing a venue might be a problem... I've a friend who ended up booking a chalet at changi area last year for her ROM which is very inaccessible for the guests...
Also, most year end sale occur in Nov-Dec which this is the best time you can shop for outfits and shoes at a discounted rate... You can save up to 50% of your entire ROM outfit which you can actually save the other 50% for your wedding... Together with x'mas season, you'll get to see seasonal & vibrant colours which gives you more choices in choosing your ROM dress... My ROM is last year Feb... I only start shopping in late Nov... I bought my ted baker dress at 50% off and a pair of pedder red shoes at 70% off during sale... I couldn't imagine how much extra I'd have to pay if I bought it a month before... Unless you're going for MTM, then this doesn't applies to you...

I don't believe in choosing the right date to get married, as I've seen cases of failed marriages... To me, I only believe in communicating effectively with my other half and respecting one another... It's my hubby who is very particular and for the sake of making the old folks happy, I tend to oblige... My wedding date 10th Dec 2011 is being calculated by a Thai Master based on the movement of our sign star, which according to my hubby this is more accurate and personalise than the Tong book... We were given several dates but he stressed that 10th Dec is the best for us... He also provided us the time my hubby has to carry me into the car... Well, if you need a date now you can try him, he lives at one of the landed property near Tanah Merah MRT... However, you need to be early 'cos he only sees a fix number of visitors/day and waiting time can be long as he seems to be quite popular... PM me if you need his address...

Well, instead of waiting for a date to be fixed, why not start looking ard??? You can start of by hunting your ROM dress, shoes and flowers which don't require you to provide a date to engage their services... Or even a suitable bridal studio which provides comprehensive ROM packages.. I know The Wedding Present does has ROM packages (http://www.weddingpresentbride.com/promotion.html)...

Hope this helps!!!

pinkscrump

Hi Katie,

Wow, thanks for the advise = )

the only reason i am holding my ROM in dec this yr, is because of my work = when i am free = p

another reason is because if i do not rom early, i may not be able to buy a resale flat, if a nice one happen to come along.

and for trying to hold my AD next yr dec...haha, its becos i will also be on holiday than.

shanawawa

Hi CH,you mention your videographer is Kevin and photographer is Sam. Which company are they from? How do they charge?

sept_09_bride

Hi Shanawawa>> my photographer and videographer are freelance 1.. they are v pro and v nice in their photo taking.. my hubby's bro and sis wedding also taken by them... my rom i also engage sam to take pics for us.. like his work..

cyndishi

Hi Nat, in reply to your question.. erm.. they'll need your baptism certificate as well as your confirmation certificate to confirm that you are a member of the anglican church. ;) which church r u holding it at? what time will your solemnization be? for mine, i booked at 430. will prolly end abt 6pm. then my cocktail will start at 645

etleen

hello everyone..

my bf and i intend to hold our rom-cum-wedding on dec 2011.. but yet to choose date..

bridal shop: la veil bridal @ jb..
venue: raffles marina (tentatively)
photographer: included in package but may wanna opt out and choose melvin ho.
videographer: included in package.

my bf has yet to propose.. but we saw a nice engagement ring in tiara creation jewellery @ centrepoint.. anyone knows if it's good? thanks..

katsigner

Hi Anastasiazen,

I've made a post previously, as shown:

I'd strongly advise all BTBs to try their gowns before deciding engaging them... Reason being is how comfortable you're with them as you'll be stuck with them for the next 9-12 months for your outfit... Before I decided to enagage Euzart Wong from Jawn Happy Ever After, I made at least 2 appointments at Bridal Studio to discuss what I'm looking at and request to try their gowns... If they refuse, I'll just walk out...

In my opinion, these are the following factors I consider when choosing the right studio:

1)Approach of the biz - some studio can promise everything you from the sky to the sea, but when comes to actual cost of material (esp. on a full lace gown), a lot of brides feel cheated... My understanding is that with a package of $3k plus, it's not possible to have a full french lace gown unless with a top up of ~$800/m and above... So look for someone who don't over promise...

2)Style - every studio has very different styles and variation of today's gowns can be so wide that we've given too many choices to choose... Prior to getting the right one, I'd suggest BTBs to buy bridal magazine and pick the style you like most... Once you've gotten the look you want, head down to the studio for further discussion... Not all studios can accept very personalised requests just like mine... So it's impt to get the right studio to do the style you like... Do take note on those studio who just take in whatever you want... Unless you're a fashion geek, in general most brides won't know how good they'll look like in the style they like... This will ended up you wearing wrong kind of gown and usually it'll emphasize the body part which you hate to reveal... A good studio will advise accordingly to your body structure...

3)Workmanship of the gown, esp the bodice - a well-made gown should hold the body upright and you should feel light in wearing the gown...When wearing heels, even your train is super long, you should be able to walk comfortably w/o giving you the feel of tripping over... Choose a studio that make gowns with build in corset with boning which will give a structure to the gown as well as a strong support on your body w/o you spending extra to get a good supporting lingerie (which can be very expensive)...

4)Make-up artists & florists - these 2 are mostly tied-in together with your package.. Always ask and request to know who is your make-up artists and florists, and whether do you have a choice in choosing your make-up artists... If possible, request to view the portfolio... It's impt for you to know who is your make-up artist as he/she is the one who is drawing on your face on your big day which you can't repeat the event... You wouldn't want to appear like a doll and get a shock out of your life on your actual day... Rightfully speaking, a good studio will offer a trial session... Check whether can you keep the flowers of your car decor.. Some even offer fake flowers and require to return despite the fact you've paid part of it in your package... This doesn't make any sense... Also, a good florist should know how to get the right flowers to compliment your gown and outfit...

5)Photography - most mass-market bridal studio usually throw in this as part of the package, and in most situation, brides will cry over at how blown up they look in the pictures... The sad thing is that these studios will never tell you who is your photographer... These photographers usually don't conceptualise and if you take a closert look along tanjong pagar area, you'd realise the styles & poses are basically the same throughout... Look for a studio that will give you choices of photographer.. Most good studios will have their photographers' portfolio for your viewing...

6)Lastly, your HTB's suit - this is often the most neglected area 'cos most brides only concern on their gowns more than how their other half look... You man should look "blend in" with you in your big day, not another guest of yours... I've seen groom's suits so badly matched and made that it's either he's the talking point of the event or he's simply transparent in the eyes of the guests as all focus will be on the bride... In order to compliment you, it's crucial to get your other half's outfit to match yours... As Asian guys are usually smaller in frame and their shoulder width usually varies, no single suit will fit all... Therefore, it has to be tailor-made... Never choose one over the rack 'cos your other half will look as though the suit is wearing him rather than he wearing the suit... Get a studio who has a good tailor for your HTB's suit...

Most importantly, you've to be comfortable with the bridal studio you choose... And I strongly encourage BTBs to try their gowns before deciding to engage them 'cos it's important that you feel comfortable in the gowns they made... A bride should feel at her most comfort in the outfit she's wearing...

Hope these helps...

Enjoy!!!

Hi Katie Z,

wow thanks for the very detailed explaination.

I have actually bought a few bridal mags. I guess still have to go down to the studio to physically try out still.