(2011/11) Nov 2011 BTB

shining

i'm also a BTB in Nov 2011. However, i really don't know where and how to start. Anyone who knows of any good guidelines etc? TIA!

chloe11

shining: welcome!! it's great that your joining us....just want to know what kind of guidelines do you need?

I guess the most important thing is to fix your date followed by booking of your banquet venue if your having one....I'm sure most of the hotels are open for booking and maybe fully booked so you should get that done first.

The next thing is to decide the bridal studio you want...make sure that you like their dress. I suggest you go during bridal fairs to get the best deal but then again you can also visit their boutique to take a look at their gowns. You need to know what you want from the BS.

Then later on you probably would want to find a florist if it's not provided by your BS but try to negotiate for it or unless your having a church wedding or maybe you decided to have your banquet in a restaurant but they don't provide much flowers. This i'm not sure as i'll be having mine in a hotel where flowers are provided.

Hope these info helps. There's a lot of other things to do but probably booking your venue would be the most important as others can be done slowly.

shining

Thanks Chloe11 :D
ya, I thought of getting the hotel first as I'm worried that the hotels are booked -.- and all the church stuff.. It seems so far yet so near.
Anyway, anyone with any suggestion for divorced parents? My dad and my mum are like total enemies. They can't meet at all. Big big headache! Faint.. Will greatly appreciate advise!

chloe11

shining: the church stuff would be more i guess...your a catholic or christian? i'm having a catholic church ceremony as well and there's slightly more things to do....

Think you should source for hotel already and don't delay anymore. So when is your wedding? Will you be registring on the same day as your wedding?

shining

Chloe11:
Catholic. Same day.Which church have you decided on? My htb still like dragging the hotel thingy..-.- Told him hotel sure not much slots.. Somemore we would like to have it on 11 nov(the day we started) think should faster draft letter to hotels ya? If not have to change date.. Headache

chloe11

shining: I'll be doing my ROM on the 11th and my church and dinner on the 12th. I've booked St Teresa.

At least your on the same day won't have to look for JP and another venue... I think a lot of hotels would have been booked for that date which is really popular and also the marked up the price.

You really should start asking the hotels already because that's the most important booking to make.

Then you need to go for CEE or MPC before getting married in a catholic church. I'm attending CEE which is a 3 days camp whereas MPC is a 6 Sunday course. This you can do next year but must be 6 months before your wedding. I've also booked for Oct intake.

Besides that I think you would need to do you own mass booklet and would need to find a caterer for lunch reception. Hope these info helps. Think you should start nagging your HTB to settle the hotel. Maybe you can start emailing or calling hotels then narrow down for him to make the choice. I'm sure you wouldn't want to change the date right?

shining

Chloe:
thanks for the advice!! I guess I won't want to change the date unless really no hotels left

As for the cee and mpc, it's both compulsory? I'm having rcia now, plus the mpc, I'll be so tired

(Please correct me if wrong), mpc is something that must be attended 6 months before my wedding which consist of 6sessions of sundays?

chloe11

shining: you need to choose either CEE or MPC. For whichever course your choosing, you need to do it 6 months before the wedding as I think they only have a few session a year.

If you choose CEE, it'll be 3 days (Fri nite till Sun evening).

If you choose MPC, it'll be 6 consecutive Sundays.

bluelove

I am a Nov bride to be too!! So excited!!

But am lost too!!

What am i supposed to get done by now?

Pls advised.

happylilone

Hi Marilyn Yolanda & bluey, welcome!

Bluey: dun be lost and yes it's exciting! Yup... For now, have u gotten your AD venue? Cos it's really snapped up for hotels next year.. And btw.. Are u doing ROM separately?

cookimon

I am a 12th November bride and finally booked my wedding lunch venue today... so tired but excited.

Nice to meet all of you

chloe11

Welcome Marilyn, Bluey, Weiting and Eileen...

Hope you ladies have at least booked your AD venue because I belief most of the hotels are pretty much booked.

Happylilone: hey...it's been a while since you've updated here..so how's everything going??

happylilone

Chloe: hey! Nothing much for the time being, the only thing is that I'm handmaking my crystal bouquet.. All 1200 stems of crystals and pearls..

And will be tailoring my cheongsam in mid aug! Yar... So prob gg for cloth-scouting on National Day.. Jus collected my engagment ring as well, since there wasn't a proposal.. We went e-ring shopping..

Anyways, I got quite a good deal from my jeweller.. So any gals here.. Like me hunting for a solitaire engagment ring.. Can pm me for contact ok? My FH was so happy our ring was value for money..

chloe11

happylilone: wah.......i'm sure you bouquet will be very very nice...for your ROM or AD?? must show photo of it....

Your tailoring you cheongsam this year? Isn't it too earli? or your getting it for your ROM?

Can PM me your jeweller....searching for a bigger diamond...hehehehe.... how come no proposal one?? it's once in a lifetime you noe.....

I'm like un-motivated...got the software to do my own montage and scanned the photos...but i've been dragging and dragging...hahahaha...

Luckily we've settled his white shoes and the "brother's" tie alreadi....still sourcing for design for my BM's dresses...decided to MTM for them since MTM and OTR is of similar value...

Have you found a tailor for you cheongsam? you need to source for your own materials? they don't provide?

happylilone

Chloe: both the bouquet and the cheongsam are for ROM and AD.. A bit wasteful for only once mah.. Yup.. Sure thing, I will post the bouquet when it's done..

We applied for flat when we were tog for abt only 4 mths.. Heee.. Yar so apply for flat oso means will get married so no need for proposal.. The jeweller's is a wholesaler and the webbie is vivodiamonds.com... The service is great and the prices of the stones are v transparent online.. Even than u can arrange an appt to view the diamonds..

They have a facebook page called loose diamonds and they showcase their works there as well.. My ring's up there too.. I hv only good comments of them..

Yar.. I always thought mtm is a better choice.. At least u get wad u really have mind.. I'm doing my cheongsam with Wilson.. I call him the Master.. Hahahha.. The fabric is included but I would like to see the various kinds of laces and colours.. Since I'm paying good money for it.. Might as well do really to my liking

ahger83

Chloe: Mind sharing which software u use for ur montage?
Was thinking of doing mine too but dunnoe whether can manage anot?
If no then need to find someone to do??

How about the songs u use in the montage? about the lisencing thingy..

chloe11

happylilone: the bouquet is ok but you make the cheongsam now means you need to maintain your figure loh....

4 months and apply for flat already..that's really fast...BTW does Wilson MTM BM's dresses? How is his charges like? cause i'm considering this online tailor...can't remember the website now....

Eileen: I'll let you know again later cause the software's at home....i'm just printing the help manual so not sure if it's easy to use...

As for the song...i also don't know leh...

happylilone

Chloe: yup.. Got to maintain.. But I'm not too concerned abt it.. Amendments can be brought back to Wilson.. He does bridemaid's but I think his rates start from 200 up.. Can be a lil pricey.. His forte is still cheongsam.. Which I think is gonna cost me 1k.. For my bridesmaid's I'm shortlist made2measure bridal couture.. I think it's a blogspot site.. The prices seems reasonable too..

Yup... I hv to admit that 4 mths is a lil short.. That's the prob with my FH.. He himself admits that he's a v selfish person.. So for him to spend time and effort for me meant that I mean quite a bit to him.. Tts why he decided I should be the one for him.. Anyways.. It's also due to this planning that we'll be able to get our flat next year...

chloe11

happylilone: wow...that's ex for your cheongsam..... I think it's the same blogshop that i'm looking at too......

i totally agree with you...because BTO takes years to build finish and your lucky to have your own place once your married...more privacy....

happylilone

Chloe: yar.. It's not cheap.. But Wilson's workmanship is thumbs up.. Went to his shop twice.. And he assures that there's no regret.. So many happy brides too! It's ex cos of the laces that he use.. Some of which can be as costly as 400-500.. I'll be doing one with train.. Of which can be tailored to just a long CS for future occasions..

To me, cheongsam is a necessity.. So the money doesn't matter that much anymore..

blackangel55

I'm planning to be a Nov 2011 BTB too! At first thought still early but apparantly people do start preparing way b4 their actual wedding! Currently sourcing for banquet venue but already tentatively booked and most likely taking weekend banquet. Can anyone share with me when and where u will be holding ur banquet?

bluelove

Hi happylilone,

I have already booked for my AD venue. Will be doing both together. Cos the date tat I wanted is a hot date. So am being Kiasu here. Booked before it's gone.

I have yet to source for my bridal studio. Any gd recommendation?? My gf recommend Di Gio as she took her bridal package from there.

Wat else shld I be doing other than looking for bridal studio now??

happylilone

Bluey: I would recommend that u have a list of bridals that u may like to visit.. See their gowns to hv and idea wad suits u.. And sign during a fair.. Cos fairs are places where u can get good bargains sometimes..

Alternatively, keep a lookout for ppl who may want to sell off their packages from the studio that u like.. Usually there's a lil savings.. *tts wad I did actually and I saved more den 2k*

Di Gio has got really nice gowns.. Most brides I noe got their packages from there.. So I guess it's worth considering..

Since your ROM and AD is on the same day and is still some time away.. It really depends on how much u wanna DIY your stuff... If there isn't really anything.. U may like to just flip thru pics of gowns, flowers and even bridemaid dresses jus to hv a better idea.. I started my DIY early cos there's loads for me to do..

Well, I hope this has been of help.. And happy planning!

chloe11

happylilone: since you need a cheongsam then i think it's ok to invest in it since you'll definately be wearing it more than twice....as for me..will most probably get from my BS

Eileen: the software i'm using for my montage is Cyberlink Power Director..hope this helps...

cookimon

Eileen: Nice to know we share the same day!

For the licensing thingy, the hotel people that I have met told us the same thing, got to be burnt from the original CD and to play simultaneouly with the montage (means that the montage will be silent) or something like that. Some hotel does have the selection of songs for you as well, quite cool or told us to just say that the CD belongs to them.

happylilone: Wow... your bouquet sounds gorgeous already. I am trying to think of things I can DIY but I am so not crafty :p

Bluey: I have yet to start for my bridal boutique search, now turning my attention back to the new house for a while. Another thing to do I guess, is to look after ourselves to be radiant that day!

blackangel55: Mine will be atHoliday Inn City Centre for lunch, just confirmed during the wedding show last weekend.

happylilone

Weiting: Its not difficult.. Just that it's really time consuming and takes a lot of effort.. I learned how to make my bouquet from online instructions..

anyways, I realized a lot of us are having AD on the 11/12th weekend.. I'm having mine on 13th!

bluelove

happylilone, where did you go to customized ur cheongsum?? I am thinking of doing one for my AD. Anyway am glad I was kiasu and booked my banquet early. Now the hotel has up the price. Lol...

Weiting, I hope my new house will be ready before my AD. So I can move in straight after. Keeping my fingers cross.

happylilone

Bluey: i'm getting Wilson from max couture to do my CS.. If u wanna hv a better idea of his workmanship, u can visit the cheongsam thread in this forum.. There are pics that other brides posted and the CS are jus gorgeous!

Anyway jus for interest sake, his shop is at katong shopping centre on the first floor at a corner.. Talk to him if u need to without any obligations.. He's a v patient guy!

chloe11

Eileen: NP...Haven't use it yet so not sure if it's easy to use or not but it's definately like those professional kind...

shoppngqn

I have a friend who is a freelance photographer is looking for couples to do pre-wedding shoot for his portfolio. Pm me if interested. I pass you his contact.

kitschykat

Hi Chloe, yeah I have already booked my AD solemnization and dinner venue. 11-11 is such a hot date, definitely have to book way in advance. Hee!

Actually I think as long as you are a 11-11 btb, you have to hop onto the express train and start planning, shopping and booking your planners, photographers, dresses, florist and etc...

Very kiasu, but no choice. Haahaa!

chloe11

Marilyn: same here...my solemnization on 11/11 but church and dinner on 12/11

So you have booked everything? Your getting a planner as well? But I thinking the most important thing to book is your venue...Going to view my gowns nx yr around March only..such a long wait....so now can also do those minor minor stuffs...

kitschykat

Hey chloe, yes I have booked the venues, makeup & hair already. Hmm, dun think I'll get a planner...unless I desperately need help. Hee! As for the gowns, yes already looking around.

Yeah though its still a long wait but even popular makeup artist like TG Goh has already been booked up on 11-11....

blackangel55

Hi gers!

I'm also a Nov 2011 btb! Booked photoshoot already, gonna confirm banquet venue by this week, AD photo/videographer already had one in mind...will see wat else to prepare as time goes by...do give me any advice! =)

chloe11

Yol: Your doing ala-carte for your wedding? As for me, my make-up and hair will be done by my BS make-up artist which includes my ROM. In fact you should sign up during those bridal fair then can get more perks. We asked them to throw in free bouquet and ROM gowns too. So just waiting till next year besides trying to find my will to do the montage

blackangel: welcome! Guest the next thing to do is find your BS which should include everything unless you want to ala-carte. Then I guess nothing much to do already.

blackangel55

chloe: Yup I booked PS and AD bridal package with the same BS already. The AD package does not include AD photo/videographer and bridal car though. When and where is ur AD gonna be? Which BS? can share?

chloe11

blackangel: oh...my BS includes the bridal car and stuffs.. my AD PG is also external..my AD will be on the 12th and i'm with Bliss Bridal at Four Season. You?

chloe11

blackangel: wow! It's good to go Taiwan for PS and at least you'll be able to wear different gown on your AD..Mine will have the same gowns for AD as well.

Your at Four Seasons as well?

blackangel55

ya I like Taiwan. My banquet is not at four seasons, mine is at conrad. I was asking u coz u mentioned u r with bliss bridal at Four Season hee.

kitschykat

Chloe :: Yeah, going ala carte for makeup, hair, florists, photographer and videographer. I went for Silhouette The Atelier wedding show recently and sign a package with them for the suit and gowns - wedding gown and cheongsum. They included the flowers and makeup/hair in the package but I told them I dun need, so they just minus those costs away lor.
Ehhh ROM gown and evening gown am planning to get them elsewhere. Thks for the tips, will take note of it. Heehee. ;)
Wahhhhhh you so fast do montage already?

blackangel55 :: nice to meet you! :D I love the gowns at bluebay... very pretty. but they only allow you to borrow the gowns and shoot in Taiwan right?

blackangel55

Yol: Nice to meet u too! Taiwan photoshoot will be borrowing their gowns...I also sign up AD package with Bluebay, it has a singapore outlet so the gowns for AD will also be from them as they bring all gowns in from taiwan. When/where is ur AD?

cookimon

Just went for my first appt with HDB today... signed a lot of papers today and paid up my COV.

Expensive signatures!~

summer_dream12

Hi Yol, mine is one day after u at the same hotel.. are u taking prewedding PS from Bluebay too?? may i know how much are u paying for ur hotel banquet dinner based on per table?

pinkscrump

hi all btbs,

have finally decided to hold my AD in Nov 2011 after much thinking = )

been trying to look for a venue, but realized that many venues are all booked up. and its quite a big headache looking for a venue too, as my bf is currently working overseas.

I know that its the 7th month now, but is it still possible to search for venues now?