(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

cherry: yupyup! cuz next yr is reno + dinner, so decided to do PS first and get 1 thing off our minds
I will upload when I get hold of them

Hey Babydino > my package for VG is $3k but I don't know if Damon has increase his price. Cos he was mentioning to me he will be revising his price but I don't know when . His price is increasing every year cos he is too good. hahaz.. Cos my future brother in law used him for his wedding last year is only 2.5k plus I think . But of course he booked him in 2008 .

Hey caihonglim> is the photoshoot fun ? Who is your bridal boutique? Where is your love nest ?

Sherralyn> so are you going to have another banquet in Taiwan too ?
Mm.. seem your HTB is half Taiwanese , you should go Taiwan for photoshoot! Cos u can save on accomodation! hehe

@ Maggi : that is v good.. no deadline.. mine only valid for 3 years..

hahaha.. i m also cutting down on carbos.. but not totally la.. i m also trying to do exercise.. but hard to maintain due to workload.. by the time i reach hm.. i will be like a deadlog.. move also dun wan.. hahahah..

@ Caihonglim : U r FAST! PS already took.. still have 1 yr to go.. show us ur pic once ready can?

@ Cherry : u r using Damonlow for VG.. my fren used him before.. but feedback fr her not really gd leh.. but nvm la.. mayb different ppl different expectation bah..

Hey Jim! Really ? Mmm I have seen his works, it touching
maybe my fiancé n I like his style . Different people have different liking , that y must see the VG's works then decide . I like Damon's works alot cos his wedding highlight is like a movie feel n it v touching I don't like those wedding highlights where it v mono.

haha all vg r good la!
its what we prefer!

mine the best k!!

everybody shld noe him by now
mr stanley oh fr ideal productions!

haha!

he called mi n reassure mi those couple who post on this forum are his unlucki encounters n he had sent me several recent videos to confirm he is still alive n kickin! hehe!

cherry u very on leh!!!! video >3k!!

my package wif stanley is $1888 i alr tot soooooooooo ex!! hehe!! but damon' work is an act la cannot fight!! so envy u!!

Lydia. !! Haha that not on! I have very high expectations on videography so I have set high budget for it n I already know I must engage Damon! Haha . That great to hear that your VG is assuring you n showing you his works every now n then
it shows that he is sincere bout doing your wedding ! You will be in good hands! Cos u have viewed so many of his recent works too
u can be assured that the quality will be good ! Mm I think to produce a wedding videography to our expectation , communication with the videographer is super important . Hee . Hey jia !!! Welcome ! Wah another 8 oct bride to our list !!!
have u settle your banquet venue n bridal boutique ?

Caihonglim, glad ur PS was fun...wah 10 gowns! How much is ur package? My package only has 7 gown, which i already think its alot but i may also bring 1 outfit too

Welcome Jia85..another 8 Oct BTB! Me too :D

Cherry, good to see the Oct bride list are getting longer & more BTB are joining this thread
...seems like Oct is 1 of the most popular mth to get married in 2011!

Welcome all new Oct 2011 BTB! So interesting that many BTBs having their wedding on the 1st and 8th October~ Hehez. Will see many brides on the road that two days?!

I have updated my information in the list! :D

Anyway quite happy 'cos kind of settled some logistics for my PW shoot! Yippee! Just waiting for MUA to confirm before updating Ted Collection my date of photoshoot. Hehez. Can't wait for the exciting days to come next year! :D

Hehe thank u!
I'll update the list soon, facing some difficulties trying to update using my phone.

Wow most are really fast! I only booked the venue recently, will be looking at bridal boutiques this month

Wow this thread is moving super fast! I have updated my details in the spreadsheet too!

Sherralyn> I just went to Shang yesterday to see the Tower Ballroom. Not too bad. If you want to consider Shang and MBS, I will recommend Shang to you cos' feedback for MBS is really not good (or rather so far I've heard). Shang has a good reputation for their wedding banquets so go try them out! My htb is also a non-singaporean! He is indonesian chinese. So I may have to go back indo to do another banquet too...

Cherry> I have decided not to go Perth for photoshoot. Save the $$ up and go for a longer honeymoon. =D

I have also decided to book Fullerton Hotel for my banquet. Will be signing the contract soon. Any idea if I should be getting my JP soon? As in to book them first?

Penguin> well that a great idea too ! Going for long long honeymoon is good ! hahahaz.. Should take a break after all the wedding stuff planning and enjoy the quality time with the hubby .
Me too hope to go for a long honeymooon.

Kat> when your PS ?

Michelle C> yeah , OCT seems like a popular month esp 1 & 8 of the month , it really very popular.

Hey OCT BTBs, do remeber to update yours in the spreadsheet list yah.

I know that this weekend there HolidaY Inn Orchard City Centre & Marina Mandarin WEdding show, anyone gg ?

Wah !! So fast have an exact date for photoshoot already ! Sherralyn , u r fast !
I only know that mine is going to be round late may or early June .

Sherlyn, we have put our dates from the 1 - 3 June. Hehez. Will be on weekdays 'cos our photographer is usually taken up for wedding dinners on weekends. Hehez.

Cherry, for us we had an exact date so that we can arrange logistics with everyone since we are doing an overseas photoshoot. Hehez.

Cherry > Sure, will load up once I get hold of the copies
My BS is SG Bridal & love nest @ Punggol ... now waiting for keys to come!

pp > Yup, decided to do the photoshoot this year, cuz I wanna relax a bit next yr with reno + banquet. Don't wanna feel so stressed out

MC > I took the 6K package. Came with 8 gowns, but dunno why they throw in 2 more when i went for selection. Maybe it's their ploy of getting me to top up, haha! Since you will be tempted to choose at least 1 gown per setting

Seems like most of the Oct brides are doing overseas shoots! Must be great fun

@ caihonglim : ya.. true.. packed all the preparation at a shot.. will be a real stressful thing.. hmm.. maybe i should consider that.. lol.. wah!! 6K package.. how i wish i can afford that..

Thanks caihonglim..hope they'll give me more gowns to wear too..guess u'll be having a hard time selecting the photos hehe coz the photos will sure turn out great, dunno which 1 to choose

yeayea abt jp hw to book em huh?

i wan a funny n happy man! hehe! any reco?

haha my rom were be durin my weddin dinner at nite on 1oct after the 1st march-in in the ballroom

so all 1oct bride even if we book same jp its ok rite! cos mine will be startin lk 7+pm

hehe!

hey Maggie ! I don't know bout concorde.But if you ask me bout Conrad , yes I know ! hahahz..

So sorry I can't help you on this .

MM.. JP need to book soo early meh ? I thought it like 3months in advance? no ar?

Hi Lydia,
I am getting a be paranoid as i have seen and heard a lot of bad reviews for FB (French Bridal).
are the coordinators really so bad?
Which PG and MUA do your friend recommend? I am really getting very demoralise... =(

@ caihonglim : ahhh... ic.. LOL
@ Ellen : cheer up, ellen..
i heard feedback abt mine too.. just read thru them, take note on some pointers and see how it goes when u meet them up.. cos everyone expectation is different..

Cherry, that time when I got Dr Phua Tan Tee as my solemnizer, we contacted him more than 3 months in advance. So it actually depends on the solemnizer since some actually will ask you to contact them again when it's 3 months to your solemnization date.

Anyway for us, we emailed Dr Phua to ask him if he is available on our date of solemnization. Then he got back to us, asking for more details before he sent us the consent form which we need to submit when we made an appointment with ROM. Hope this helps some!

Mm.. okies.

sighz for mine I think I am not getting a JP lor. My fiance wants a pastor to do it for us .
I understand there a list of pastors available in ROM website to engage to do for couples even though I am not a christian.

Not sure how true is this . Anyway, I am leaving this to my fiance cos I am not very keen to liaise with a pastor . hahahz. He will do the job but guys are less excited bout wedding . My fiance finds wedding is a hassle . I think he will do this like very last minute .. cos he really not very interested . I am the one who is doing all the planning and giving the options to choose from. hahahahaz.

Hey babes, are your hubby or fiance so on , on the planning ?

Hey Ellen ! Don't worry bout your bridal shop ba. Mm.. maybe what you can is drop by and pay them a visit and see their gowns and at the same time see their standard of service. Mm.. if you like anyone that serves you that time, you can request him or her to be your coordinator. Personally, I feel that the designer of the bridal shops normally their service is better.

Most of my friends including me as designer as our coordinator and we are all happy ! hahahaz.

Don't stress la. Maybe it not that bad. If the coordinator that assigns to you is not good can request to change another coordinator .

Wow thread Move real fast!

Maggie: I din go Concorde Banquet before cannot give comment. But have u settle ur venue?

Ellen: erm dun worry so much! There's sure something u like about them in the first place when u sign with them. Choose a nice gown and be happy brides. Must liase first den u will know ur bridal studio whether review is truth anot!

Lydia: I also wan a funny JP for Rom. Hmm I wanted a Chinese speaking my parent dun understand angmo. Hahas will start looking on the rom forum for info next yr!

Cherry: my bf now also resting din do anything after finalize wedding banquet and bridal shop. I trying to find a photographer I like but whenever i tell him he will say he wanted his friend! Argh but I dun like the photo style! His style is must stop and post for him to take. So fake siah!!

Kat: dr phua is popular jp. I see most of the ppl invite him to be their jp on some of the thread! Is he a funny guy?

All: my bf parent say must go my house visit my parent. They call it TI QING. Erm is it necessary? Bf mother say must ask my parent whether agree to this marriage. Find it funny.

Cherry, I guess you just have to bug him to do it since last minute preparation for wedding is really a BIG NO-NO. Hehez. As long as he is still willing to participate with you I guess should be okie? We ladies are just more enthusiastic in planning. Haha!

As for my hubby, he's actually quite active in planning with me though majority of the planning is also researched by me. But I will usually share with him and ask for his opinions/inputs. Like for photoshoot ideas, usually it's good to plan together 'cos it's really fun.
But he's mainly in charge of reading up renovation ideas for our new home and sharing with me. So we both try to do something different and plan together else it's really tiring. Hehez.

Jim: Dr Phua can be quite funny but he's really long-winded. Haha! His speech with the couple is rather long during the solemnization but at least he's able to make my hubby and I relaxed and everyone else there laughed. So I guess in a way he's really good to make sure we are in good hands and not be overly-nervous. His speech was made in Chinese while our vows in English just in case you need to know.

Anyway I don't think Ti Qing is a must but some people still prefer to do it as a formality to asking for the hand of the daughter. If the parents want to do it, then I guess you can go ahead with it since I doubt it's too troublesome. Somemore it's a good chance to meet each other and chit chat.

Hey Jim , yes it true
my mum also want that from e guy's side . But don't need to go your place , can meet outside for meal n ask for hands over a meal lo
it less formal . Hee . I just had my first parents meeting session 2 weeks ago . But it just lunch n get to know both sides so easier to discuss bout wedding the next time they meet . The Ti Qing will be like only next year ba .

Kat> yeah I will bug him . Haha but he did participate la like listening to my crazy ideas n accomodating to what I want I wanna do and discuss ideas I have propose to him ., just that I'm more enthu than him . Same as me , I'm leaving the renovation works to him cos I hate technical stuff . But then again I want to get involve in the renovation design cos i more choosy . Haha . My priority is the bedroom !
he letting me have what I want for bedroom.

Cherry: It's really normal for ladies to be more enthu. Hahaha! No choice. Every lady wants their dream wedding.
As for renovation, I also will give my input to my hubby. We both have a rough idea of what kind of theme we want to go with so I trust his taste. Haha! But ultimately everything also need approval from each other before the go-ahead. Hehez.

Lydia & Jim...looking for a funny & happy man...i highly recommend my JP Mr Alex Tan, but need to dig out his contact hehe..if u're interested. He made the solemnisation process lively & with laughter, he will ask if u prefer him to speak in english or mandarin, he is not the type of old uncle that we usually see in most ROM but yet with gd experience.

Cherry, i'm also the 1 doing most planning & giving the ideas....my hubby tried to contribute ideas but usually end up rejected by me...since he knows i enjoy doing & is better at it, so he will leave everything for me to coordinate..but i'll still need for his final approval hehe.

yoyo!

1stly;

ellen dear!! my fren loved french bridal la! she is very happie wif their service minus tt ugli can-can part haha!! dun worrie k!! the last thing u wan is to meet ur coor wif a black face!! give ur brightest smile whn u meet em! best is brin some cookies?? hehe! win their heart althou they r the service providers but if they dun provide well we still at losin end!!

hehe!

i will find out fr my fren whose service she used for pg and mua oki!

@Lydia: Thanks Darling! You are so sweet! really scare loh... now i heard they arrange a MUA for u evesn thou they say let u choose... =( i think i will be calling them soon... now HTB not free as it is the school orientation season...

my htb was that enthu till i got pissed & told him off then he started reading the packages i printed for him... that took 6mths.. haiz....

abt confirming the venue (yes, we haven't confirm)... haiz...
we quarrelled quite abit... but ok now... i finally told him how i felt..

me ROM-ed almost 3yrs ago.. can't remember much.. it's a simple affair at my fren's condo function room.. close friends & relatives attended.. Food was catered.. nice cos got my favourite - potato salad.. htb specially added it in but i din get to eat much that day.. was mingling ard & my gown was fitting so nothing much can go in.. hehe!!

Lydia> you are so enthu on JP
hehe . Yeah I also like a JP who likes to say more on the ROM, it makes it special and meaningful . Mm.. some JP can say till very touching . It a special moment for you & your HTB , a day , a special moment that 2 becomes 1 . hahaz

Hey Joos! Welcome

When your AD ? Perhaps you might want to update your details here at this link :

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AlqjkCYsTj48dElJNmkwbVE2U2tiQlNHMlRjTjR5R2c&hl=en#gid=0

Hey Cordie , what about actual day videography & Photography?
Perhaps you can start look for VG if you are intending to have 1.

Mmm maybe you can start to think how many jiemei(s) & xiongdi(s) you will like to have . Decide on the theme of the wedding etc?
Cordie, do update your details on the spreadsheet yah .

Hi Cordie,

Maybe you can go into the details now that your major issues are settled.. some stuffs include ur wedding theme, programme of banquet, and i think the photographer also told us to flip thru mags and think of poses.. can rehearse at home first so that u will be more comfy during PS

Hi Chirpy! Thanks for the warm welcome!

I havent looked for my BS and I'm not sure if Im slow.. haha.. Not sure wheter or not to do ala carte or package.. any advice?

Hi joos welcome! You settle ur banquet. Where? Hmm I go for bridal shop cos I'm lazy! But i think kat is doing ala carte??

Hi cherry and kat thanks. Hope the Ti Qing will be a pleasant meet up of our parents. Not awkward. Hahas

Maggie I doing same day. Separatel will be troublesome like tat mua and pg will have to pay extra??

Cordie perhaps u can plan for honeymoon!!

Where you gals plan to go for honeymoon??

Hi joos !
mm it really depend on your expectations , budget & preferences . If you like everything the best of the best like prewedding shot , don't mind have only 1 wedding gown n 1 evening gown n have high budget can go ala-carte.
if you want to save on cost n hassle n have many gowns to wear , go for 1 stop service
cos they also take care for u from pre wedding shots to actual days , even wedding cars decorations , bouquets , bestman suit N let u have at least 5 gowns for wedding shots . Do note that ala carte package , only provide 1 wedding gown n 1 evening gown
don't worry , they are very good
1 stop service bridal around , you need to shop around n try on their gowns n look at their package n service before u decide . I suggest u go for 1 stop service bridal n ala carte bridal to take a look yourself n compare . For myself , I have been to many bridal shops n I have chosen My Bridal Room n I'm v happy with them . Hee .