(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

Hi Lokie!! htb & I went Hilton & Concorde last Sat.. they are giving me way better perks than Carlton.. I'm so relieved that i gave up Carlton.. =)

It's either one of them le.. Orchard Parade out le!! hehe!!

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Cherry, Yes I will go check them out one by one. Hopefully will get some good packages. = )

Maggie, have you checked out Swissotel Merchant Court? The ballroom is quite nice and perks are pretty good too. Glad that you gave up Carlton as my friend had a bad experience with the sales person there. Very bad service. Anyway, happy discussing for your perks. I squeezed my wedding planner to give me lots of perks so I am happy with mine. =)

Lydia

Saw your post on the 'Stanley' thread. I feel that you really need to go chase back your deposit and entrust your wedding videography in better hands.

Don't take this kind of risk. It's a once in a lifetime thing, not something you would feel happy about if it screws up. So ya, my opinion is to take back your deposit and find someone trustworthy and do a nice job for your big day! ((:

hi sherlyn!!

thank u for ur comments dear!!

maggie! heng u minus orchard parade le! hee..
realli la whn the waiter carry the projector up and down the stage i very scared fall on the bride hehe..

maggie dear!

yes total corkage waive is def. a must!

n free flow of cos!!

why mus 1+1?! no FREE FREE FREE!

tell ur coor. u wan a price tt is nett u dun wish to see extra charges whn u sign the receipt..

they can charge u lk a corkage sum n tell u nah u opened 25 bottles of wine.. but can u confirm?

n beer esp. hw wld u noe u finished hw many barrel?

ask for ;

free corkage
free flow beer
free wine
or free 1 wine bottle for every table

if mos of us can do it, so can u! =)

Hey Maggie ! Yeah as what Lydia said go for free flow of beer !!!! Please don't go for 1 for 1 !! Why wanna spend extra $$ on buying the barrel when they can provide u free flow of beer !
hee . Waiver of corkage is a must , from I know it can range bout 50 to 80 bucks per bottle !!! That ex !! Ask fir waiver for all kinds bottle not only to wines include martell all these too
lastly , try to request a bottle of complimentary wine per table too
good luck babe !!

Most hotel provides free flow of beer or free wine...but this does not apply to Amara Hotel
I can only choose either free beer or 20L beer + 1 btl of wine each table...coz they've reduced the cost alot for each table when i sign. Maggie, of coz u can try to nego with the coordinator, it will be good if u can have all for free

My bestie is going to ROM nxt mth....Ladies, any idea what to buy as ROM gift? Something special or meaningful....hee

Hi all... I'm too a oct 2011 BTB... Still searching for a good hotel... My table is about 20 to 25, therefore do u all have any recommendations? As I too want a good march-in n good atmosphere n preferably a high ceiling...

Hi MC ur bestie wan gift or hongbao? Perhaps u can get them a hotel stay vouncher they can have spa during the stay? Hahas not sure they will like it anot but I think most of my friend dun like to have present that will "collect dust" in the end.

Any idea to take bto units or buy a resale flat which is stay near parent? Or should we wait? So confuse now.

Hi sherralyn welcome! U intend to have it on wkend or wkday? I think 20-25 tables on wkend is quite tough to find. As most of the hotel with nice ballroom req min 30 for night banquet for wkend. I like holiday inn orchard city centre ballroom and grand shanghai restaurant! Based on the tables u stated can go see grand park cityhall, orchard hotel, crown plaza. Erm for meritus mandrain, mandrain orchard, oriental, I not too sure cos all above our budget nv consider at all. Hahas

Hey Michelle.C !!! Long time no see ! You have been MIA for a while. Miss u leh.What have you busy been at ?Hey your photoshoot is in Jan right ? So have you go for your first appointment ?

Hey Sherralyn & PP !! Welcome to our big " family " hehe
When your Actual day ? Have you all confirm on any details already ?

Sherralyn ! mmm.. what your budget ? good march in means long march in ? I will recommend York Hotel for nice atmosphere. Their grandballroom is the white in colour with lots of cystal chandlier lighting and it hosts bout 25 tables or so I think . U must check out yourself , not sure about the minimum table.I been to York hotel for wedding dinner before, ambience n food is good.
and No pillars.

If not, I will recommend Marina Mandarin Vanda Ballroom, the ambience is nice , no pillars , nice food. But the march in is not that long long kind.. The minimum table for Marina Mandarin Vanda ballroom I think is 20++ . For Vanda ballroom , the cocktail reception is very nice and there will be free piano playing for u cos the venue it just above the lobby area.

My Banquet is at Marina Mandarin Grandballroom. Cos I am in love with that place . hee

Good luck in finding your dream venue soon! Better act fast cos I heard lots of venues have been booked!!

Thank you so much Jim n Cherry... Yup, most of the hotels r taken if not it's under reservation... Can't imagine that it's so fast... Will buck up on mine as well... Thanks all!!!

hahaz.. Jim all guys will think it the best gift !

Jim for BTO I think must wait superrr long leh . U ok to stay with parents in law? If yes, then wait BTO . If you can't wait go for resale, now resale COV is dropping ..

Hi Cherry..oops i've been busy with work, seldom follow this thread, but i've been a silent reader hee...think i'm abit lost track...so dunno where to start comment sometimes haha :p

Yup my photoshoot is in Jan, i intend to drop by my BS in Nov. Cherry, when is ur photoshoot? Btw, any good tailor to recommend?...guys stuffs are quite limited, dunno where to get nice shirt & pants for my hubby..i went to kingsmen, wah it's so exp.

Voucher or sexy lingerie...great ideas! Thanks ladies
My bestie prefer gift but wants something meaningful...hmm think i do abit of diy too...coz she diy a lovely bouquet for my ROM..luv it, hope i can give her something as gd too

I agree.. lingerie as ROM gift.. my friend got my other friend a sexy mee-c suit.. hehe!!

Jim, i agreed with Cherry.. my bto started in 2008.. now 2010 le.. ok la..
max is 25storeys.. now is building the 21st storey(where mine is).. est date is 2nd qtr 2012 but my htb say most prob next yr can get le..

my friend's bto at punggol was supposed to be ready in 2012 but she's getting her keys this mth.. that's super fast.. =)

ask you girls ar, when come to your wedding, dream vs rational, which will you choose??
do it as you wish or think think think where the $$ is spent on den decide??

i'm in a dilemma now.....

maggie dear

its rational DREAM for mi hehe meanin 40% rational + 60% dream hehe!

lk gg to prague.. fr a 5800 pg, we haf to choose another one tt cost 3k more.. cos e 5800 cant go prague wif us

its a dream so we wanna do it, but bein rational we decided to minus the live photography durin banquet thing & doin a mtm cheongsum

also gd cos we wan ppl to spend time lookin at our expensive photos den takin pictures of themselves at my weddin! hahaha

eh u get wat i mean? hehe.. haf u decided on a pg?
i chanced upon this guy recentli and i met him very nice guy n his work is awesome reasonable rate too..

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/melvinhophotography?ref=ts

Hi Maggie,

I am in the same dilemma as you too.

But I think gotto be realistic too. Ultimately don't live a dream and end up in debts after your wedding.

Has anyone been to the Fullerton Hotel for wedding dinner? I am comparing between Fullerton and Shangri-la hotel. Both prices the same and perks they gave are similar.

Any comments to help?

lokie, my bridal package is $3988 with Fame Bridal.. think that's the max I go.. hehe!! htb didn't wanna go M'sia for photoshoot.. M'sia cheaper..

me got wat you mean.. ;o)

me haven't decide on pg.. i'm waiting for my sis to finish her wedding next mth den see how her pg goes..
if ok, i'll take him lor.. hehe!! can ask for more discount/perks..

misypenguin, i dun wanna be in debt also.. but but... wedding once only leh.. haiz.....
i dunno abt Fullerton.. my sis's wedding gonna be at Shang next mth.. i went for the food tasting.. yumyum!! =D

Hi Maggie,

Ya I know Shang food is good. But my htb like the Fullerton Ballroom. I also scared I fall down the Fullerton ballroom stairs.. Haha! So personally I am more pro towards Shang. But because I am taking the Tower Ballroom for Shang, so it is not as nice compared to Fullerton ballroom. So, confused. Btw who do you liaise with at Shang?

Btw ladies, there is a bridal showcase at Suntec this weekend. So I am going bridal shop shopping tomorrow. =D

Hi penguin most of the guests will be more happy to have nice food!! I vote for Shang! Hahas! Shang VIP tables is at the centre and can sit up to 20 person so brides and groom family can sit together! Hee Fann Wong wedding that time telecast on tv is awesome! Lols but that dream for me. But overall penguin the choice is still belong to u n ur hubby!

Thanks Maggie. Hahas I dun wan stat so far sengkang. Hmm quite familiar to east coast area where katong siglap all the good food can be found. Haiz tat why in delimma. Maggie where's ur love nest u mentioned? Congrats 21 storey! Tats tall! Hee. Hmm fame bridal is at yishun right? I hear there's good comment for the bridal shop. But what's ur package includes? Local photoshoot or oversea? How many posses

Penguin tml F1 think traffic at suntec area will be crazy! Hahas. Take ur time to select a good bridal shop u like! Ask for more things okay. More poses and the album must be good quality! Rom package included foc/ hand bouquet/ wedding shoot able to split to two days eg one day studio one day outdoor. Mua / photograhper on AD? Can we get back all the photo soft copy? What u can think must ask them and written incontract!!

penguin, i not sure who my sis liaise with.. - sis, if you reading this thread, pls reply penguin.. thank you!!

but i know my sis gonna use the 20 person VIP table.. hehe!!

Jim, my new place is at Sengkang.. near my PiL who stay with my SiL.. PiL can choose my place or SiL's place... =)
my package.... 60 poses... hmm...... the usual lor.. hehe!! can't remember cos signed in 2008..

i mayb spilt my AD.. htb called to ask if any extra charges if we do it on 2 diff days, no extra charges juz no veh.. we can live with that la, cos relatives driving, we riding.. hehe!! MUA also no extra charges for 2 days.. juz got surcharge for AD cos i gonna leave house by 8am.. me teochew so got to leave house early..

Hey Ling !
My AD is on 23 Oct 2011. What bout you ?

Michelle.C , yeah DIY something is also a good idea. Some more it your bestie ! You must be excited for her. hee . Wah your gown selection is on Nov !! It coming soon !! Do update us your first appt experience. heheh

Penguin , mmm for me I think going for a bridal showcase is very irritaing . Cos the bridal show people will just grab you and keep hardsell their package when you walk down the event hall way . I will still recommend you to go to their shops and look at their gowns cos you still can try on their gowns!
Mm.. trying on gowns are soo fun but v tiring too. Sometime what you see, it not what u expect , or what you expect to be , is not what really is . Example, you see this gown like not very pretty, but when you wore it , it might look super stunning on you . Or you find this gown very pretty but when u wore it, the gown doesnt look so nice at all . So going to their shops and try on the gowns are the best ! I mean for us gals most importantly is the gowns right?
We all want a very dreamy pretty gowns cos it once in a life time thingy.

Maggie , I think it will be more dream for me than rational. hahahz.. For me my bridal package also costs $3988, I am going for 1 stop service . Mm.. I want pretty gowns , nice ballroom & actual day very good Videography . hahaz.. So I choose to forgone MTM cheongsam and engaging live band for my wedding . If my budget is a constraint, I will choose to delay my honeymoon. It not so important that must be together. I will rather focus on house renovation and gown n venue. hehe

Hey the rest of OCT BTB when you all going for the first appt for your gowns selection?

Hi Jim, actually Fullerton also can sit up to 20 pax as well. The thing is I am not taking the ballroom tat Fann Wong is having her wedding. Cos' hers is the bigger ballroom. Mine is the smaller.=( Thus the hesitation too.

Yeah I expect that it will be crazy. Will take public transport. Hopefully better. Thanks for the pointers to take note of. Will definitely bargain and bargain. Cos' I dun wish to spend so much on the packages. Lots of my friends tell me tat all their albums sitting in the store room at home now. (-_-!) So I might as well cut down and use for my honeymoon.

How much did you gals pay for your bridal packages?

Went to Amara Wedding show ystr, though have to pay $28...i'm happy & quite pleased with the overall theme + food + service..gonna upgrade my package to 9 course with better menu

Thanks Cherry, sure will update my gown fitting experience in Nov/Dec

Same as Lydia, think's 50% rational & 50% dream for me...spending more on PG, VG & Montage while saving on BS, which is in jb. Wish to have a fairytale wedding while trying to be realistic & yet different, still looking for inspiration on diy items.

Penguin, my bridal package in jb is about $2,500 + car rental(AD) + mua(AD) + misc = $4,000 (estimated).

Hi Cherry, I just booked my bridal package. First appointment shld be in Dec this year.

Jim, suntec was super quiet yesterday and I got a super good deal for the package becos the turnout for the show was terrible. I signed up with this shop call The Aisle Bridal. Whole package $3688nett, with 1 MTM rental gown, 1 MTM EG + 1 teadress or kua (AD) + car rental with driver (AD) + MUA (AD) + 4 bridesmaid dress + 4 brother jacket etc. Super good deal!

I am also a Oct 2011 BTB, need some advice too on the planning. I have decided on my date and venue, but details wise on AD like venue set-up & florist.. how does it go? Hotel will arrange or we can liase with the florist for the flowers to be used etc?

Penguin u've got quite a good deal!

Sherlyn, i think for the first appointment, i'll be having discussion with my coordinator, trying out some gowns & see what type of gown are suitable for me...to shortlist photoshoot venue, confirm date & time, selecting my indoor photoshoot theme, confirm photographer & mua..hope this helps

Sherlyn, the lady told me that during the first appointment, you will try out gowns and they will help you decide which gown u like and wat u wan. They will also give you an overview of the timeline, intro you to photographer and MUA. That's my understanding.

Michelle, yeah I am happy I got the deal. Hope it is great!

Wow, this thread is moving really fast. Hehez.

Renee, for the venue set-up and florist usually the hotel will have their own vendor. So if you want to have a change of set-up and stuffs, I guess you can discuss with the wedding co-ordinator and from there you find out how the cost of having the set-up. We might probably be having a theme set-up so maybe asking the hotel the cost before looking for sources outside.

Cherry, I will most probably be having my first appointment in Feb next year to discuss 'bout the gown designs so I'm surfing the net almost everyday to look for gown designs that catch my eyes. Hehez.

Currently looking at all the overseas wedding blogs and am so envious of their lovely wedding set-up! Am trying to get some ideas for my own photoshoot. Hehez.

Penguin: hahas u got a great deal!! Hee how many poses/picture u can have?? That important cos everything eventually have to return we are left with photo albums! Hahas. I dunno there's wedding show until u posted comments saying there is one at suntec!! So u finalize ur wedding banquet? Fullerton or Shang?

Hey.. Thanks for the warm welcome from Jim n Cherry.. This thread is really moving fast..
My AD 08 Oct 2011.. Venue @ Holiday Inn Atrium.. Currently looking around for PG /VG.. Ladies, any recommend?

@ Penguin : First appt to BS? so early? i thot the usual is like 6 mths b4 hand? u gg to have ur ROM n Banquet on different date?

Michelle > me too thought of attending Marina Mandarin wedding show again . hahhaz. But I scared later my fiance said I am mad.

Penguin > Congrats ! you can save on the jiemei(s)& xiong Di(s) attire !
I never heard of Aisle Bridal before but glad that you find a very good deal.
What bout the poses they giving u ?

Renee> Welcome !! When your AD ? Mm yeah for the florist & venue & theme set up will be done by the hotel coordinator . Of course you can particpate and tell them what you want .

Sherlyn > for the first appointment , normally is to select your gowns !
You get to try on different gowns. hehe Then your coordinator , will advise you the timeline and what to do next . For PG disucssion & trial makeup normally is another appointment .

pp> it really depend on you when you want the first appointment ? where your bridal ? I want to take things slow so I start in DeC , cos I foreseen I have many things to do next year esp with the house renovation. Beside , I am gg to have my appt the next day I am back from my long holiday trip . hahahaz.

@ Cherry : ya.. but i thot it might be a little too early.. cos need time to slim down.. fufu..
I am taking it slowly too.. my BS is Z Wedd.. House reno*? wah.. where is ur flat? BTO?

When is ur long holiday?

*sorry~ din read thru the whole thread, way too many*

Hey Pp ! ehhh no lor. My house not here yet . Hahahaz.. hope that I can get the balance units if not I am getting resale already .

Ohmy friend also using your bridal shop. Her AD is in Nov at Marina Bay sands.
where your bridal venue ? sooo weird, unable to key in the name of your bridal shop

My long holiday is in Decemeber. hahaz.. going for 9 days trip to Taiwan n Hk
I am soo looking forward to it cos I love cold weather.

Yup.. I know.. I tried to key in also.. cant.. i think it is banned.. heehee..

so u are still balloting for flat? where u gg to stay then after the wedding..

bridal venue? what u mean?

wa.. 9days sia.. that's nice.. I m also gg holidays in Jan.. hehehe.. :P

Pp > sorry I mean banquet venue . I missed out your earlier posting . So u having it at holiday inn ! Wah we do have lots of 8 oct bride to be
yeah I'm gg to buy resale worse cone to worse .

PP> Ya my first appointment so early cos I wanted to have my MTM WG in my photoshoot as well and they need 3 - 4 mths to tailor. =)

Jim> They gave me 38 poses on a 24 page album. I haven't finalise my banquet but I think I may be going ahead with Fullerton cos' Shang is pretty rigid in alot of things. Sigh~

Cherry> Yeah I can save on the attire of the brothers and sisters! They gave me 38 poses. I also never heard of the bridal boutique to be honest. But they are the ones who sponsored all the gowns on this Mediacorp show 红白喜事. The designer was also featured in the show 3rd Ep of Marriage 101 too. I went to read their feedback on the other pages of SGbrides and their feedback was very good. Thus I signed up.

Btw will you gals pay extra to have PS overseas?

Cherry> Hihi, I have not confirm my date with my geomancer yet. But it will be a weekday.

Wow! Most of you have already booked BS/Photographger etc. I have not confirm any of these yet. Am I considered late?

Anyone attending BOWS coming Oct?

Hey sherralyn ! My good friend is having her wedding banquet there this nov
I thought u have budget constraint for venue ? Cos marina bay sand quite ex , my friend shown me the package cost , it bout $2k ++ per table !!! But the food is v good
bird's nest for desserts n she got 3 nights bridal stays I think cos her package v ex . Hey ling> weekdays is ok
u can take your time to
Slowly choose venue
cos weekend , u must react fast
cos the hotels are snapping up fast . My colleagues have problem finding their ideal venue next year .

@ Cherry : ya, i notice that too.. alot of 8 Oct brides? is that a super good date? kekeke..

@ Penguin : i see.. ur package is a very gd deal.. got bridesmaid's dresses n brother's jackets and somemore 38 poses.. mine is only like 24.. i guess i need to spend $ on the additional photos..
ur package still got included what kind of gd lobangs? really worth of $3688.. oh.. have seen the BS on some bridal magazines before.. i guess should be fine..
to ans ur qn, at this moment i will not consider go PS oversea.. as my hse is coming soon.. need to save for reno as well..

@ Ling : i guess weekday should be alrite to get compare to weekend date.. most impt is, both of u must be comfortable with the venue.. agree with Cherry, weekend date at most hotels are snapping fast.. currently, i have a gf who is having problem to look for venue for her Nov 2011 (weekend) wedding, as alot of the hotels are fully booked already..

@ Sherralyn : wa.. MBS? it is ex..

Pp: how much is ur bridal package? How come they only give u 24 poses? Z wedd where's is it located?
Where's ur future love nest? I also wan my own house no need to stay with disgusting hubby's brother wife. Haiz. Anyway whose ur coordinator at holiday inn atrium? I have bad experience with them!

@ Jim : my package is S$3388.. Z wedd is at Tanjong Pagar.. my place will be at Punggol..
only ready in 2012.. are u n ur SO intending to move out? take ur time to find la, since u already have a place to stay after marriage.. recently got a new launch BTO @ woodlands.. can go see see look look if u r interested.. hmm.. we have not meet up with anyone yet.. we signed at their wedding show, the one who took my sales is a director.. i doubt he will be my coordinator.. but he assure me that if we have anything not satisfied can always email him..

hmm.. bad experience.. who is the coordinator that liaise with u? mind sharing what happen?